HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Leipzig hostels

Reviews of A&O Leipzig Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Brandenburger Straße 2, Leipzig, Germany 04103

85.4% Overall Rating

102 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2013)

Tassio Cortes Cavalcante thinks…

"Really close to the train station (Leipzig HBF), cheap, bathroom inside the dorms."

Read all A&O Leipzig Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.45
  • Linen USD 4.05
  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Leipzig?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Leipzig

Central Globetrotter Hostel Hauptbahnhof
13.24 USD

Hostel 87.3% 153 reviews
Say Cheese Leipzig
14.85 USD

Hostel 90.9% 80 reviews
Sleepy Lion Hostel, Youth Hotel & Apartments
19.17 USD

Hostel 93.4% 84 reviews
Hostel Unschlagbar
20.25 USD

Hostel 85.1% 15 reviews
B&B-Hostel-Elisa
16.20 USD

Hostel 76.7% 31 reviews
Guesthouse Apartments Leipzig
16.20 USD

Apartment 68.6% 100 reviews
Homeplanet Hostel
17.82 USD

Hostel 90.0% 6 reviews
Auenwald-Pension
23.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

102 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Leipzig Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tassio Cortes Cavalcante

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Tassio would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the train station (Leipzig HBF), cheap, bathroom inside the dorms.

Disliked: Tassio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It' right next to the railway station.

Disliked: The wifi in the room did not work. You buy a wifi ticket for an hour, and spend most of the time waiting for the pages to load. On the first night, the tv in the room went on suddenly, which was really weird. Also: we booked a two-bed-room, and were placed in a four bed room (which we had all to ourselves). The whole hostel/hotel does not have double beds, they said. You can put two beds together, but cuddling in bed is less comfortable, when there's a hard wooden part in the middle.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Claire O'Donoghue

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice rooms, bar and breakfast rooms.

Disliked: Most staff were lovely but we were a little put off by the person who checked us in - our attempts at German were quickly disregarded!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find if you come from the main train station. Clean. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to the station

Disliked: No lockers in shared room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very central location, clean and modern facilities, good price.

Disliked: It is right beside a major road and the traffic can be quite noisy. Also, they have no shelves beside the top bunks where you can place important belongings. I wear glasses and like to have these within arm's reach in case of an emergency, but sleeping in a top bunk, there was no where for me to put my glasses case, alarm clock etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room with a nice bed and bathroom. I had a single room for my stay, so I can't speak for the group rooms, but it was very, very nice. More like a hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Lufau

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: i was really clean and the staff was friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: The covers were too thin and we were cold during the night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Bender

Alone

Business / conference

08 November 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I particularly liked the fourth floor rooms. I also really appreciated the helpfulness of the front desk manager - I recently had knee surgery and when I arrived at my assigned room, the only bed available was a top bunk, something I currently find impossible to climb into, and the manager let me change rooms with no hassle whatsoever. That was really great.

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

elena limmer

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

31 October 2012 elena would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, lots of travellers

Disliked: sometimes the bar was too crowded, and there were not enough bartenders... but it's a minor issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Limanjaya

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second visit to Leipzig, and as I was satisfied with my previous stay here, I decided to do stay on the same place. Room was nice and comfy, very very nice bathroom, they have soap, two towel for each person (included in the price which is great!) and many trivial stuffs which is good like numerous free plastic glasses next to the washbasin. This is an ideal place as well if you intend to stay in Leipzig as a hub to do one day visit to nearby towns (as for me, I visited all the places related to Martin Luther and JS Bach), as it's exactly located opposite the main train station ("Hauptbahnhof" in German).

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, good atmosphere and clean rooms

Disliked: Breakfast cost 6€, wifi wasn't free

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms , very clean , good location.

Disliked: there isn't a system to refresh the air. somebody closed the windows during the night and after few hour the air got unbreathable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everytnig was ok

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Euro 5 for 24hr of internet WiFi is the most I have paid any place i've stayed in the past. Stairwells and breakfast room outer areas look like a stassi detention center. But kind of goes with the history of leipzig.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewelina Kieltyka

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

13 September 2011 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: Great localization, nice and helpful stuff!

Disliked: additional payment for breakfast and linen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ning Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Ning would recommend this property

Liked: Easy for transpotation and good price.

Disliked: no free breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is in a good localication and it is very confortable.

Disliked: The brakfast isn't include.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy, the toilet is nice

Disliked: should provide free internet service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melvin Taylor

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2011 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Very nice dom

Disliked: To pay for sheets

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean and had lockers big enough for my big backpack (needed own lock). There was wireless internet which needed to be bought by the day or hour and the location was right next to the Hbf.

Disliked: Our room was quite bright from a light outside our window and it would have been great if the hostel gave better overviews of things to see and do in the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean, and across the road from the main station, which was really useful. It is also a short walk into the main city and shopping district. Beds were comfortable and clean. A great hostel, i really enjoyed my stay there

Disliked: Nothing


See all Leipzig hostels