HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Bahnhofplatz 14-16, Karlsruhe, Germany N/A

87.3% Overall Rating

20 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2013)

"Very (!) clean and just 50 metres from the railway station. Amazing quality for the small price! Felt like in an expensive hotel."

Read all A&O Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.40
  • Linen USD 4.03
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Karlsruhe?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

20 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
78.2%
Location
96.4%
Facilities
80.9%
Cleanliness
96.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.5%
Safety
87.3%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cleaned and nice located. The personal was friendly.

Disliked: they didnt give all the information from the beggining. To pay for the bed sheets it is absurd for me: it is not like you travel with the bed sheets with you! They should mae it very clear this situation from teh beginning. I would say that it was somewhat expensive considering there where ni bed sheet included and no lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and close to the hauptbanhof

Disliked: had to pay extra for wifi if you wanted it in your room and had to pay extra for bed linen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrej Visic

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms

Disliked: near a train station

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Bogdan Spiru

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 June 2013

Liked: it is clean and near Main Station located

Disliked: 1. it is not my first time in an A&O 2. it is not my first time in an Hostel at all 3. after an online booking, by arrival i have been charged extra 3 EUR for bedlinen (after that I had to go back to reception to ask for towels) 4. also, in my room was no locker to find (not good for a hostel)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very (!) clean and just 50 metres from the railway station. Amazing quality for the small price! Felt like in an expensive hotel.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paolo Sprecacenere

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 January 2013 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean. perfect location, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Simonovsky

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean; dorms are many and thus one is typically on his own if he wishes. Hotel-like feeling with just the lobby used to meet people (advantage and disadvantage). Free wifi in lobby.

Disliked: No security lockers! One has to give his stuff to the reception to keep it safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Troncin

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: near the station the staff is professional

Disliked: rooms with 4 beds are quite small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was quite ok-just a few steps from the main station. The bathrooms were new, descent and clean. There was a small bar downstairs, where you could get coffee or beer. More like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: I was surprised that staff wasn't helpful at all. they couldn't tell me how to get to the airport or just at least help me to find out. i know that i can look it up on the ionternet, but obviously i couln't find anything on the internet, so it would have been very helpful if the locals (the staff) looked it up. i asked 3 different staff members for help and neither of them even pretented to care. i stayded in many hotels and hostels but this was the first time when the staff just told me to just use the internet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paresh Vishal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Paresh would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very good. The location was THE BEST.

Disliked: The toilet fluh was not working for 2 days.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Reed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location and all the facilities you could possibly need

Disliked: All these facilities cost a little extra so you could easily end up spending more than you intended. More a hotel than a hostel, which is fine if you literally want a place to sleep but following some of the hospitality I have enjoyed across a variety of hostels, it seems more like a faceless franchise (which is pretty much is!)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was given a private en suite room that was quite a bit nicer than some hotels I've been to (although I had booked a dorm bed). Very clean, comfy bed, perfect location right next to the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.