HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lotte - The Backpackers

Hostel | Burgweg 3, Heidelberg, Germany 69117

96.1% Overall Rating

138 out of 139 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

"The staff were friendly and helpful, and all knew the area well. The lounge and kitchen facilities were great (and unlike other hostels you don't have to wash up after yourselves!). The location was good, right near all…"

Read all Lotte - The Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

138 out of 139 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lotte - The Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 137 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice area, everything is close by

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, and all knew the area well. The lounge and kitchen facilities were great (and unlike other hostels you don't have to wash up after yourselves!). The location was good, right near all the main tourist attractions in the old town. The atmosphere was nice and all the guests were welcoming and friendly. We had a great stay!

Disliked: You pay for being in the old town - food and drinks are expensive, and there are only two small (expensive!) supermarkets within walking distance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DEIBY ALVEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 July 2014 DEIBY would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Robaczynski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and the owner is fantastic. I highly recommend.

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Stermer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well run and the staff was very helpful

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff was friendly, location was great, and the common room was a great place to hang out and meet new people.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Korranis Kerdlapphon

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2014 Korranis would recommend this property

Liked: cozy & homie

Disliked: Korranis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful. Lina worked incredibly hard to make sure our stay was a good one. The common room had a good atmosphere and there were always interesting people to meet. The hostel is in a fantastic location in the old town. Kitchen is fully equipped in case you want to cook. Breakfast cereals and milk are for free.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONKYEONG KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 MOONKYEONG would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have stayed

Disliked: MOONKYEONG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glaucia Santos

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Glaucia would recommend this property

Liked: The place is spotless clean, the kitchen with everything one might need (without even needing to wash the dishes, because they take care of that also!), great location (just by the main shopping street), and Ms. Schmidt is very friendly and helpful. I wouldn´t stay anywhere else in Heidelberg.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This is a truly amazing hostel. The staff are some of the nicest people I have ever met, it is very clean, the bathrooms are amazing, the kitchen is well-equipped, the common room is amazing, comfortable beds with light and power point, free lockers, great location - really just brilliant all round.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Kitchen was fully stocked with every cooking utensil you would ever need. Rooms were large and clean and even had personal lights in each bed. Bathroom was exceptionally clean and new. The showers were wonderfully large and there was even provided a wooden platform to stand upon. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing. Truly impressive property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2014 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. The facilities on offer were amazing unlimited coffee and breakfast cereals, a fully stocked kitchen including dishwasher! My husband and I shared a private double room. It was a beautiful room nothing like I have ever seen in a hostel before.

Disliked: We did not dislike anything. I would advise though if like us you were travelling in a VW Transporter with roof box, parking is limited as the closest car parks are multistorey. However the owner was able to tell us where to park for free with a little walk!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in old town, not near the main station but an easy bus ride away. Staff were very friendly and didn't mind when we checked in a little late. The 6 bed dorm was spacious. Large guest kitchen where they wash up dishes for you.

Disliked: Shower temperature is constantly changing between hot and cold, and it leaked water onto the floor resulting in my clothes getting wet. The floor could have used a mop, I felt like it was a bit dirty. Wooden floor in dorm room is really squeaky, not good for a light sleeper.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were super friendly and helpful. The living room is a nice place to hang out, and they have tea and cereals all day in the kitchen. Plus it's SUPER close to the castle and old town.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PEI YIN LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 PEI YIN would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel, staff is very friendly. I enjoy it.

Disliked: PEI YIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Botham

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Although quite empty and quiet when I stayed, this could very easily be a very sociable place in summer. Ideal location at the foot of the steps to the castle and easy to get to from the railway station by bus (remember it's free on arrival and departure if your Bahn ticket says +city on it) It was very well planned out, and every detail thought of. The living room is very homely with retro furniture, piles of books and old family photos on the wall. The rest is modern and the showers even had enough hooks and places to put everything! Plus there is cereal, tea and coffee and milk left out all day to use which is a bonus. The kitchen was well equipped and a dishwasher meant you didn't even need to clean your dishes.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoting zhu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013 xiaoting would recommend this property

Liked: 有一个公共厨房,厨房隔壁是一个公共书房,在这里比较适合认识新朋友

Disliked: 没有

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Ivins

Alone

City break

25 November 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely wonderful. A cut above so many other places. It was a slow night so they were kind enough to arrange the bookings so that I had my own room.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Character. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. The location is absolutely perfect, it's right around the corner (2 min walk) from the main square. Also, the perfect location to start finding your way up to Heidelberg Castle. The hostel is so charming and has a very homey feel. Carmen (who runs the place) is so friendly and so are the rest of the staff. I will definitely recommend this lovely hostel to all our friends.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuko Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Yuko would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is well designed and equipped for guests and from guest's perspective, very nice and warm!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melodie Shaw

Alone

City break

15 August 2013 Melodie would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute. Great location. Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Only issue was not having a bathroom on the bottom floor where my room was. Hostel is small though so going up one flight of steps isn't really a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julie champion

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 julie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. it was in a fantatic location. The facilities were good

Disliked: The lack of dryer was annoying but not a big deal.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All okay!

Disliked: No!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sui Oi Connie Lo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Sui Oi Connie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, near to the castle. Free coffee & tea at anytime

Disliked: nil