HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lotte - The Backpackers

Hostel | Burgweg 3, Heidelberg, Germany 69117

96.3% Overall Rating

127 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Glaucia Santos thinks…

"The place is spotless clean, the kitchen with everything one might need (without even needing to wash the dishes, because they take care of that also!), great location (just by the main shopping…"

Read all Lotte - The Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

127 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lotte - The Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONKYEONG KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 MOONKYEONG would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have stayed

Disliked: MOONKYEONG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glaucia Santos

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Glaucia would recommend this property

Liked: The place is spotless clean, the kitchen with everything one might need (without even needing to wash the dishes, because they take care of that also!), great location (just by the main shopping street), and Ms. Schmidt is very friendly and helpful. I wouldn´t stay anywhere else in Heidelberg.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This is a truly amazing hostel. The staff are some of the nicest people I have ever met, it is very clean, the bathrooms are amazing, the kitchen is well-equipped, the common room is amazing, comfortable beds with light and power point, free lockers, great location - really just brilliant all round.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Kitchen was fully stocked with every cooking utensil you would ever need. Rooms were large and clean and even had personal lights in each bed. Bathroom was exceptionally clean and new. The showers were wonderfully large and there was even provided a wooden platform to stand upon. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing. Truly impressive property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2014 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. The facilities on offer were amazing unlimited coffee and breakfast cereals, a fully stocked kitchen including dishwasher! My husband and I shared a private double room. It was a beautiful room nothing like I have ever seen in a hostel before.

Disliked: We did not dislike anything. I would advise though if like us you were travelling in a VW Transporter with roof box, parking is limited as the closest car parks are multistorey. However the owner was able to tell us where to park for free with a little walk!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in old town, not near the main station but an easy bus ride away. Staff were very friendly and didn't mind when we checked in a little late. The 6 bed dorm was spacious. Large guest kitchen where they wash up dishes for you.

Disliked: Shower temperature is constantly changing between hot and cold, and it leaked water onto the floor resulting in my clothes getting wet. The floor could have used a mop, I felt like it was a bit dirty. Wooden floor in dorm room is really squeaky, not good for a light sleeper.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were super friendly and helpful. The living room is a nice place to hang out, and they have tea and cereals all day in the kitchen. Plus it's SUPER close to the castle and old town.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PEI YIN LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 PEI YIN would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel, staff is very friendly. I enjoy it.

Disliked: PEI YIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Botham

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Although quite empty and quiet when I stayed, this could very easily be a very sociable place in summer. Ideal location at the foot of the steps to the castle and easy to get to from the railway station by bus (remember it's free on arrival and departure if your Bahn ticket says +city on it) It was very well planned out, and every detail thought of. The living room is very homely with retro furniture, piles of books and old family photos on the wall. The rest is modern and the showers even had enough hooks and places to put everything! Plus there is cereal, tea and coffee and milk left out all day to use which is a bonus. The kitchen was well equipped and a dishwasher meant you didn't even need to clean your dishes.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoting zhu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013 xiaoting would recommend this property

Liked: 有一个公共厨房,厨房隔壁是一个公共书房,在这里比较适合认识新朋友

Disliked: 没有

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Ivins

Alone

City break

25 November 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely wonderful. A cut above so many other places. It was a slow night so they were kind enough to arrange the bookings so that I had my own room.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Character. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. The location is absolutely perfect, it's right around the corner (2 min walk) from the main square. Also, the perfect location to start finding your way up to Heidelberg Castle. The hostel is so charming and has a very homey feel. Carmen (who runs the place) is so friendly and so are the rest of the staff. I will definitely recommend this lovely hostel to all our friends.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuko Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Yuko would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is well designed and equipped for guests and from guest's perspective, very nice and warm!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melodie Shaw

Alone

City break

15 August 2013 Melodie would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute. Great location. Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Only issue was not having a bathroom on the bottom floor where my room was. Hostel is small though so going up one flight of steps isn't really a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julie champion

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 julie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. it was in a fantatic location. The facilities were good

Disliked: The lack of dryer was annoying but not a big deal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All okay!

Disliked: No!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sui Oi Connie Lo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Sui Oi Connie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, near to the castle. Free coffee & tea at anytime

Disliked: nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Grasnick

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Great location, open the front door and you're on the walkway up to the castle. Easy access to any other part of the old town.

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very flexible, we booked the wrong date and they were really kind in helping us. Also the property is clean and decent. It is a real hostel.

Disliked: No complaints, it was up to our expectations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & hospitality

Disliked: I found no fault

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mayya Guseynova

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 May 2013 Mayya would recommend this property

Liked: was very clean and comfortably

Disliked: Mayya left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Picard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Lotte is situated in the absolute best location for enjoying the best that The Old Town section of Heidelberg has to offer. It is by far the cleanest and most characterful hostel I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: The size of the towels are a bit small but they were free so really there's nothing to complain about!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double rooms are definitely good value for money, bathrooms are clean and new, hostel is extremely environmental friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, common room, free breakfast, kitchen, free wifi, free computer - everything was amazing!! I've stayed in at least thirty hostels in my life and this was definitely in the top five. Carmen, the woman who runs the hostel on her own, acts more like a friendly host than a person with a business. She sent me to fantastic coffee shops, breweries, and sights that the usual tourist would never come across. The hostel is literally as close to the famous castle as you can get, and it's right next to the longest shopping street in Europe. The kitchen was great - huge, free coffee, tea and cereal at all hours, and you don't have to do your own dishes. The common room was made for chilling with other backpackers - I met lots of cool people there. The dorm rooms were huge, very clean, and came with lockers. Wifi was free and worked throughout the hostel, and there was a free, updated desktop computer as well. I highly recommend Lotte!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWON YOUNG WOONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 KWON would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities is very useful and almost perfect. Especially free milk and cereal is very very good!

Disliked: nothing.