We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Steffis Hostel Heidelberg

Hostel | Alte Eppelheimer Str.50, Heidelberg, Germany 69115

90.4% Overall Rating

213 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2015)

Jung Hyun Kin thinks…

"Especially location is really fantastic! Just 4min walk, you can reach there! And room is really big. You csn feel comfortable evdn in dormitory. And other facilities are clean."

Read all Steffis Hostel Heidelberg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The reception is open between 08h00 – 22h00 Room Check–Out until 12h00 Room Check–In 14h00 You need to contact the Hostel directly in advance if your arrival time will be later than 22h00 to make special arrangements! When checking in, you will receive a key which will guarantee 24h access to the hostel. "We accept max. 6 persons per online booking. Nice and peaceful bigger groups are welcome to contact us via Email. We would like to keep the relaxed atmosphere in our hostel. So we do not want/accept stag or hen parties, school classes or anything of the sort. Should such groups book anyway, we will refuse accomodation and terminate the admission contract without further notice. In such case that services are not used by the affected Customer, cancellation fees in accordance with cancellation rules will apply. "

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

213 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Steffis Hostel Heidelberg'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 180 of 220 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jung Hyun Kin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2015 Jung Hyun would recommend this property

Liked: Especially location is really fantastic! Just 4min walk, you can reach there! And room is really big. You csn feel comfortable evdn in dormitory. And other facilities are clean.

Disliked: actually in my room ( no.22) , the connection of wifi is not good. So I had to be outsidr of room, whenever I searchef somthing through it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Steffis Hostel! The double bedroom was big, comfy and quiet. We liked the old building and the vast parking opportunities.

Disliked: All good :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susie Jones

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2015 Susie would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Hauptbahnhof and convenient for public transport connections. An easy 15/20 minute walk into the main Heidelberg shopping district and old town. Breakfast was reasonable for the price. The room was airy, light and clean. Comfortable stay overall and would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Construction work at the entrance to the building. The hostel lacked atmosphere and I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking to stay somewhere with a sociable atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siu Kuen Tsang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Siu Kuen would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the main station! The room is big and the kitchen has all the things like oven, microwave and cutlery, etc. Staff are super friendly!

Disliked: The entrance is a little bit difficult to find because it is on the third floor of the building and the entrance is like a restaurant entrance.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clise train station

Disliked: Some noise at midnight

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sze Ki Yau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2015 Sze Ki would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, only 3mins walking from the railway stn!

Disliked: The wifi connection is not very stable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Callum Snell

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: 2 minute walk from the Hauptbahnof, so not too difficult to navigate unless you're poor with maps like I am! Rooms were clean and cheap enough.

Disliked: Check-in staff seemed a bit flustered and the hostel is a good 10 minute taxi ride away from the Old Town. This is not an issue with the staff or hostel itself so am not mitigating it in review but I was unfortunate enough to share a room with the rudest, angriest bloke I have ever come across.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, clean facilities, big rooms

Disliked: Not many showers in the men's bathroom, it was not a problem for me, but if you got up and had transport to catch and it was busy you could find yourself waiting.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabine Bellstedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were clean, comfortable and warm, and the rooms were quite spacious, with an extra lounge which made them suitable for just hanging out. The breakfast on offer was good and inexpensive, so I ate there both of the mornings I was at the hostel. Staff were super friendly, and were happy to print out necessary bookings for me at no charge!

Disliked: The hostel is in a boring part of town, but because it is right next to the main train station this is no problem!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yen Yi Hsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Yen Yi would recommend this property

Liked: No

Disliked: Yen Yi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma overton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Probley the best hostel iv stayed in Europe , 10 minutes from the train station but far to the main attractions however it was really clean and tidy, wifi worked in the rooms , breakfast was about 2 euros it was basic, it was a quite hostel but decorated nicely.

Disliked: Nothing just only far to the attractions , but you can get a tram there .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quite spacious. The breakfast was okay. Plus, I like the luggage keeping service.

Disliked: Nothing special.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ya-Hsuan Chiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Ya-Hsuan would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped kitchen, great location, friendly staff and nice room. The best hostel I've stayed in Germany so far.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Strange

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best. Constantly being looked after and cleaned. Good location.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms

Disliked: All ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dongjin Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Dongjin would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the train station

Disliked: a little far from the castle

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junro Kawasaki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Junro would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are warm,atmosphere is very good,and clean. They have enough to stay relax.

Disliked: Hostels wifi is not very strong but it's ok.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

HSIANG-CHEN CHEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 January 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: the day we check out we leave our luggage for few more hours... when finished our walk and come back hostel trying to get our luggage....we just find out that reception was locked. we tried to called the telephone number which is written on the door...find out that staff leave reception without phone so we have to wait her for 15 mins....because of that when we running to the train station.... missed our train for just 2 mins and spent for another 90 euro for a new train ticket

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuning Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Yuning would recommend this property

Liked: 地点就在火车站旁边 交通很便利。干净宽敞,前台很nice。

Disliked: Yuning left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: 15min walk from old town, still alright though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Barbara Hrdlickova

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located only 5minutes walk from the main train station in Heidelberg where you can take buses to the old town (20-30min) etc. Staff is very friendly and helpfull All rooms are big with personal storage but you have to bring your own lock. You can rent a bike for free after paying a deposit 20EUR

Disliked: showers&toilets (separate for men & females) are shared for the whole floor and busy during mornings. Door lockers- you have an electronic key but it is almost impossible to close the door quietly, you have to smash it. Supermarket within the same building was transported to the other part of the town. So you have to survive with the limited offer from the Turkish shop nearby

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the central station (5min walk), but it's a little far from the attractions (30min walk at least). It is a new building, clean and tidy. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staffs.

Disliked: Nothing particular.