HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Hostel Hamburg

Hostel | Kieler Strasse 645, Hamburg, Germany 22523

79.7% Overall Rating

47 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

catherine mason thinks…

"Really chilled-out hostel, great value for travellers and small groups on a budget. Fittings and facilities very basic, ( although there are hairdryers and soap in bathrooms, and a TV in reception)…"

Read all The Hostel Hamburg reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Arena Hostel Hamburg
28.08 USD

Hostel 91.5% 71 reviews
MEININGER Hamburg City Center
19.33 USD

Hostel 84.7% 805 reviews
Bedpark Altona
30.37 USD

Hotel 74.4% 20 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Pauli
22.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 96.2% 54 reviews
Altan Hotel
32.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 83 reviews
A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn
16.59 USD

Hostel 75.8% 104 reviews
Kiezbude
27.61 USD

Hostel 89.1% 56 reviews
Budapester Hof
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 254 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

47 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hostel Hamburg'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 54 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IRINA SHCHEGLAKOVA

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 IRINA would recommend this property

Liked: Вполне отличное место, недорого и добротно.

Disliked: IRINA left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Customer service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean

Disliked: only a little bit small rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

catherine mason

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled-out hostel, great value for travellers and small groups on a budget. Fittings and facilities very basic, ( although there are hairdryers and soap in bathrooms, and a TV in reception) kitchen facilities with cooker and fridge/ freezer. Apart from small but comfy bunk rooms there is space to eat and v. limited space to sit in reception area. A cute, well-behaved hostel dog. S bahn 15 mins walk. very friendly and helpful owners - supermarket and takeaway food very close.

Disliked: nothing to dislike if you have a sense of humour and are realistic about what to expect for the price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Those guys are really friendly

Disliked: You must pay 3 euros extra foir the bet sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gina Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013

Liked: the owner was really helpful and friendly, recommended loads of great places for eating and also sightseeing. The bedroom was clean.

Disliked: It was really far away from the centre of hamburg, and the facilities in the room were poor... the room itself was absolutely tiny, nowhere near big enough for 4 people, and if you wanted to use the showers/toilets they were quite far away from the bedroom on another floor, inconvenient. Also there was only one plug socket in the room, and there was no mirror in the room either

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 October 2013

Liked: friendly staff and good transfer to the city

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graham Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, really knew what they were talking about and great if you need directions or suggestions Supermarkets close by that are open until 8 and 10pm. kitchen had stove oven and all the necessary kitchen stuffs Showers only "leaked" when the curtain wasn't kept in the stall. Be sure to keep the curtain inside the ledge! Someone always at reception 24/7 to open the door for you Only a 15 min walk to the nearest train station

Disliked: Kitchen and guys bathroom sinks didn't have hot water. (Guys showers and sinks do- they are in a different room) Some people didn't wash their dishes (pls do your own freakin dishes people!!)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice and helpful stuff. The room was small, but clean. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Some of the rooms are located in the basement, so I'm not sure, if it would be warm enough there in winter, but for late summer/autumn it was ok. The hostel is also pretty far away from S-Bahn, so you would have to take a bus what I don't find very convenient as the bus net is not on the widely available city maps.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Graham Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, cheap rooms, generally quiet.

Disliked: Quite far out from the city centre and about 15 minutes walk to the nearest train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys that run the hostel really work hard to make the guests feel comfortable and go out of their way to help in any way to make your stay better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gregory Pennypacker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went above and beyond to make sure that I had everything that I needed and even some things that I didn't know that I needed. They were always offering advice and opinions on things. There were several times where I thought I had a good plan and they pointed me in an even better direction. Great staff!

Disliked: The only real downside about the hostel is it's location. It is a bit further out of the city, but this isn't a real problem if you don't mind taking the metro. It is just a few stops from the city center then and I had no problem making the most of my trip to Hamburg even though the hostel was outside of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Murray

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, brand new and the coolest owners

Disliked: Nikita left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl Grabowecky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff there are wonderful and friendly. We weren't too sure what to do in Hamburg once we got there and we were given tons of advice and suggestions. We were given maps, directions and help with transit schedules. The beds were clean and comfortable and the hostel was in a quiet district.

Disliked: My only complaint would be that the shower rooms need a little bit of work. The showers were good, but they leaked into the hallways and the staff would have to use a shop vac to clean up. Sometimes very late at night. Otherwise, one of the best hostels we've been to.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Nickell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a very good price and the owners were extremely helpful.

Disliked: Josh left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MUHAMMAD ZUBAIR BHATTI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 MUHAMMAD ZUBAIR would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Management was very friendly and even they upgrade my single bed to a private room at no cost because they were having an empty room that day. They gave me a trip plan and even they dropped me at my Central Train Station to catch my next train.

Disliked: MUHAMMAD ZUBAIR left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new. Therefore, lots of things are still installing. However, The staff there are nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is really nice, helpful and gave good tips regarding the Hamburger nightlife and other things. the rooms are okay and as it opened just a few weeks ago the furniture was new.

Disliked: From outside it doesn't look like a Hostel and we were rather confused when we arrived there because of it. The rooms etc are not completely ready, but it did not bother that much: only smaller things were missing or were incomplete.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had just opened when we stayed there so everything wasn't done yet. Disregarding this, the rooms were nice, especially for the extremely low price. The staff was super friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.