HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Hamburg City

Hostel | Spaldingstraße 160, Hamburg, Germany 20097

79.9% Overall Rating

175 out of 194 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2014)

lasse jaakkola thinks…

"Very nice common areas. Diffent games, big tv and bar. good Place to meet people."

Read all A&O Hamburg City reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.43
  • Linen USD 4.04
  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 € free WLAN in the entire building

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
21.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
Wikinger Hof
52.51 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
51.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
24.24 USD

Hostel 79.3% 573 reviews
Hotel Nord
47.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.4% 101 reviews
Kieler-hof
36.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Generator Hamburg
24.91 USD

Hostel 83.1% 773 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
32.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.0% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

175 out of 194 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Hamburg City'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 188 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean.

Disliked: Not a hostel atmosphere, more like a hotel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lasse jaakkola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 lasse would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice common areas. Diffent games, big tv and bar. good Place to meet people.

Disliked: no warm water sometimes! during the day and the morning i left was no warm water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a very low price (I think there was a discount, as I paid less than ten euros) I was put in a 4 person all female room though I had paid for a 6 bed dorm, so I guess they were pretty empty that day which was fine with me! Lockers were free if you asked and put down a 10 euro deposit that you got back after returning the key, and wifi worked well throughout the building. The room had a private bathroom which was very clean and nice with soap & towels, the shower was warm and had decent water pressure.

Disliked: The neighborhood was a little far/kind of randomly located, which was fine, but once I was in I didn't really feel like going out again in the late evening since it would require getting on the train. But if you get there by S bahn, it's only a 5 minute walk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sonja Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014

Liked: It wasn't to far from the station. The wifi was good. It was clean.

Disliked: Check in took 40 minutes and they didn't even seem to try and speed anything up. Linen costs extra and they actually check your bags if you say you have your own. It's massive and an absolute maze with little signage. The elevator is slow and tiny. The breakfast looked good but was way overpriced. There are rules everywhere. You have to give a €10 deposit to get a key to the poorly stocked guest kitchen...and then you have to find it hidden away in a sub level at the other end of the building.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wengchew soong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 wengchew would recommend this property

Liked: It like a big school dorm. Met alot of good people. It had alot of facilities like bars, pool table etc. The place is really big.

Disliked: Think they may need to have more staff to handle the place. The queue at the reception is like never ending. So if you required any help or query prepared to wait n queue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, room was a good size and breakfast was good

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Swinkels

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: There is alot of space! And also the private bathroom is a plus!

Disliked: We arrived to early, so we couldn't check in yet. There was a shared space where we could stuck our lockage, which was actually a big space! I didn't leave my stuff with a safe feeling, cause every guest from the hostel was able to get in that space en steal our stuff and nobody would probably notice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Langan

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It was relaxed and clean

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingy Abdallah

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Ingy would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean with private toilet and shower. We had Wifi in the room. The location of the hostel is good (15 min. walk to the main train station and center). we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Ingy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefanos Nasiopoulos

Alone

City break

25 April 2014 Stefanos would recommend this property

Liked: -The room (8 bed mixed dorm) was spacious and clean. -There lounge is large with many different options: Billiard, Fusball, Driving games, TV, quiet area with books to read, etc. -Location is not the best but it is not bad either. It's a 5 minute walk from the nearest station and a 15 minutes walk to the central train station.

Disliked: -It is a very big establishment with lots of travelers staying there. With only two hotel stuff beeing available, there was a huge que at the check-in. Had to wait 20 minutes for my turn. -Free wifi is available only at the lobby. Would have been nice to have free wifi in the rooms as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matias Untamo

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Matias would recommend this property

Liked: It was nearby of railway station. There are restaraunts and normals food shops nearby. In night life is very active. In day time, everything is easy to reach.

Disliked: Elevator is not going everywhere and it is like labyrint. There are a lott of drunk people also in street and professional entertaiment people, but they are everywhere in Hamburg.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Erin Salonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: There are a ton of services available. Free wifi, 24h bar and snacks available, rooftop bar, video arcade, extensive breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The staff weren't very helpful, didn't really seem very interested in helping. Additionally, there were many hidden costs, breakfast was extra, internet was free if you had your own device to use but had to pay to use their computers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near s-Bahn and Hafen city Nice library with lots of German kids books Lots of seating in the lobby

Disliked: Very industrial feel Poor wayfindung signage in hostel Saw some people not using sheets with their beds... Maybe it could be better enforced Depressing and not well lit guest kitchen in the basement... By sure why they require people to give a €10 deposit for a key to enter the kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Seare Tesfaye

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2014 Seare would recommend this property

Liked: Easy friendly uncomplicated place to stay Definitly will recommend this hostel

Disliked: They don't clean the rooms properly apart from that Everything else is good

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013

Liked: The breakfast was tasty.

Disliked: Overpriced. No atmosphere. Mega hostel attracting big groups. Location was average. Breakfast was extremely overpriced. Wifi barely worked. Beds were very uncomfortable. Also, we booked 2 dorm beds but when we got to the room it had 2x bunks and two single beds together like a double bed. Only 1 bunk bed and half the 'double' were free, this was very uncomfortable. I was able to separate the beds but only by about 4 inches. If it hadn't been another girl on the other one I'd have asked to switch rooms. I don't think it's reasonable to expect people who don't know each other to basically share a double bed. Very awkward. Drinks in their bar very expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in public area is great! And I met nice roommates who I hanged out with. It's very close to a bike station where I used the public bike for sightseeing. Breakfast is of good value.

Disliked: The keycard often doesn't work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, freindliness of staff

Disliked: crowded rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an average hostel with good price conditions, but you'll have to pay for every extra like WIFI a.s.l.

Disliked: The building has for Ventilation reasons an open core, every room has curtains but you can see into every other room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arnaud LOPEZ

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: No

Disliked: No

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Dachterrasse und das Hostel ist nicht weit weg von der Innenstadt

Disliked: Sicherheitspersonal klopft 2 Uhr Nachts an der Tür...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked!

Disliked: Not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Petrakova

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Отличный wi-fi. Просторные 4х местные комнаты, раздельный санузел, выдают также полотенца. Удобное расположение (рядом станция U-Bahn, в пешей доступности главный ж/д вокзал, пешком можно дойти и до центра.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Good location, relatively cheap, very tidy and clean.

Disliked: Many hidden costs (which make other higher standard hostels at around the same price). Only able to open one window in the room, which made it very stuffy, especially with the temperature over 30'C. Disappointed with the customer service, it should be fast and efficient because it is a big and popular hostel or perhaps more staff should be present at the reception. It takes a long time to check in and fill in forms on arrival. Staff might be enjoying themselves too much as they chat to each other while serving customers. They try to be friendly to customers by getting into conversations about their reasons of arrival and accents etc but at the same time others are waiting with their heavy luggage. I was really unlucky because my door card didn't work when I tried to get into my room on my second day there. No member of staff was around to get it sorted so I joined the queue of exhausted hostels guests waiting at the reception. It took me 25 min to get to the till. I thought it was a good, cheap hostel but if you value your time, I wouldn't recommend.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: Non aplicable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muriel Beaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Muriel would recommend this property

Liked: near to the "Brandenburger Tor" station very central clean

Disliked: smell in the reception/lounge room atmosphere in the lounge a lot of noise 'cause of the cars