We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Hamburg City

Hostel | Spaldingstraße 160, Hamburg, Germany 20097

83.1% Overall Rating

207 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2015)

"VERY nice room, bathrooms, and common area, cool book exchange, nice looking breakfast (if I had actually been able to try it), friendly staff, cool display about historical location"

Read all A&O Hamburg City reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.86
  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 € free WLAN in the entire building

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
20.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
Wikinger Hof
49.34 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
15.66 USD

Hostel 78.4% 576 reviews
Hotel Nord
43.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.0% 106 reviews
Kieler-hof
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Generator Hamburg
14.55 USD

Hostel 86.5% 813 reviews
Boulevard Hostel Hamburg
31.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

207 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Hamburg City'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvana Meinerz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Silvana would recommend this property

Liked: It has many facilities to offer

Disliked: As it is very big, there's no "hostel atmosphere"

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good public transport

Disliked: noise from the street in the night, lounge smells like burned pizza

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY nice room, bathrooms, and common area, cool book exchange, nice looking breakfast (if I had actually been able to try it), friendly staff, cool display about historical location

Disliked: The line for check-in took over 30 minutes. If I didn't already have a reservation, I would have gone somewhere else. When I woke up in the morning for breakfast, I was told that I would have to wait in the same reception line to pay for a token, and for some reason, the line was just as long as the night before. There was no other way to pay for breakfast, even though I wouldn't have made it in time if I waited in line.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ernesta Jakaityte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2015 Ernesta would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just great ,atmosphere , people around , very crowded place. Stuff is friendly and helpful , just I dont know why to pay for Bed sheets 3 euros , if they are actually in the room. Also there is some tourist payment , which was not mentioned before

Disliked: Ernesta left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is just as it says - a hotel/hostel. For that reason, the atmosphere is quite cold and difficult for solo travellers. The Dorm rooms were large and super clean and having a bathroom and toilet for the room is super handy. Id recomment this hostel for groups rather than solo travellers or pairs.

Disliked: Tha tmosphere, but for such a large hostel/hotel, it is to be expected

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Small

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleaners stole my crate of beer. One of your barmen retrieved it from him

Disliked: One of the cleaners stole my crate of beer

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very big, it's like a hotel.

Disliked: The location is not perfect, you have to use public transport to come to the city center. It has almost no personality that the smaller hostels have, but it is realy clean and tidy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jip van Ham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 September 2014 Jip would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was near the train station, and near the metro station so you could go easily from place to place. Furthermore the common room was equipped with enough games, and the bar has a good happy hour. And it's great that you can buy pizza for €5 at the bar.

Disliked: It was too big for my taste. The hostel was meant for all kinds of people, so if you want to meet fellow backpackers this is not the best place to go to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Avolio

Alone

City break

06 September 2014 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Gr8 hostel, and gr8 international atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan short

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2014 alan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Good bed and shower.

Disliked: Little bit out of the way of the main attractions.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2014

Liked: Interior

Disliked: No blankets Stuff wasn't interested in support Late check out only in advance bookable No soap Not really clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FILLALI Saad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 August 2014 FILLALI would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jakob Ström

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms and a close up supermarket.

Disliked: When we arrived the line to the reception was very long, it took about an hour to get to the desk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice and clean for a dormitory.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the center of Hamburg.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Fraga

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Near from one of the most important train station, nice staff, good facilities.

Disliked: The street was so loud I couldn't sleep. But this was not their fault.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bethany atack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: Fairly cheap, perfectly clean and secure, reasonably well located by the transport links.

Disliked: Huge and completely lacking character; a place to crash for the night but don't expect anything else from it. I'd avoid this place if you're travelling alone and want to socialise. Also the queue for check in was more than half an hour.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Robert Potter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Traffic noise!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly clean & cheap.

Disliked: Huge, crowded, hectic, anonymous big city hostel... I have some doubts about the security of the surroundings... (industrial zone, very empty at night - though certainly better than the drug & prostitution quarter behind the main station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hip, lively, and fun place with a terrific breakfast, free wi-fi in the lobby, a great 24-hour bar in the lobby, and even a terrace on the roof! Rooms are very very clean and comfortable. Staff went out of their way to address any problems we had and offered courteous and helpful service. Excellent value for the money.

Disliked: We liked everything!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luca Levato

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Each dorm has a private bathroom. Very close to the metro station.

Disliked: The dorm was extremely hot, the windows are locked so you can't open them completely. It's very big (hotel in the same building) so it lacks a bit the hostel atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean.

Disliked: Not a hostel atmosphere, more like a hotel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lasse jaakkola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 lasse would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice common areas. Diffent games, big tv and bar. good Place to meet people.

Disliked: no warm water sometimes! during the day and the morning i left was no warm water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a very low price (I think there was a discount, as I paid less than ten euros) I was put in a 4 person all female room though I had paid for a 6 bed dorm, so I guess they were pretty empty that day which was fine with me! Lockers were free if you asked and put down a 10 euro deposit that you got back after returning the key, and wifi worked well throughout the building. The room had a private bathroom which was very clean and nice with soap & towels, the shower was warm and had decent water pressure.

Disliked: The neighborhood was a little far/kind of randomly located, which was fine, but once I was in I didn't really feel like going out again in the late evening since it would require getting on the train. But if you get there by S bahn, it's only a 5 minute walk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sonja Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014

Liked: It wasn't to far from the station. The wifi was good. It was clean.

Disliked: Check in took 40 minutes and they didn't even seem to try and speed anything up. Linen costs extra and they actually check your bags if you say you have your own. It's massive and an absolute maze with little signage. The elevator is slow and tiny. The breakfast looked good but was way overpriced. There are rules everywhere. You have to give a €10 deposit to get a key to the poorly stocked guest kitchen...and then you have to find it hidden away in a sub level at the other end of the building.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wengchew soong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 wengchew would recommend this property

Liked: It like a big school dorm. Met alot of good people. It had alot of facilities like bars, pool table etc. The place is really big.

Disliked: Think they may need to have more staff to handle the place. The queue at the reception is like never ending. So if you required any help or query prepared to wait n queue.