We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Hamburg City

Hostel | Spaldingstraße 160, Hamburg, Germany 20097

83.1% Overall Rating

208 out of 230 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2015)

"VERY nice room, bathrooms, and common area, cool book exchange, nice looking breakfast (if I had actually been able to try it), friendly staff, cool display about historical location"

Read all A&O Hamburg City reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.86
  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 € free WLAN in the entire building

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
20.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
Wikinger Hof
49.34 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
15.89 USD

Hostel 78.4% 576 reviews
Hotel Nord
43.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.0% 106 reviews
Kieler-hof
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Generator Hamburg
14.55 USD

Hostel 87.2% 815 reviews
Boulevard Hostel Hamburg
31.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

208 out of 230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Hamburg City'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 224 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, room was a good size and breakfast was good

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Swinkels

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: There is alot of space! And also the private bathroom is a plus!

Disliked: We arrived to early, so we couldn't check in yet. There was a shared space where we could stuck our lockage, which was actually a big space! I didn't leave my stuff with a safe feeling, cause every guest from the hostel was able to get in that space en steal our stuff and nobody would probably notice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Langan

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It was relaxed and clean

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingy Abdallah

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Ingy would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean with private toilet and shower. We had Wifi in the room. The location of the hostel is good (15 min. walk to the main train station and center). we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Ingy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefanos Nasiopoulos

Alone

City break

25 April 2014 Stefanos would recommend this property

Liked: -The room (8 bed mixed dorm) was spacious and clean. -There lounge is large with many different options: Billiard, Fusball, Driving games, TV, quiet area with books to read, etc. -Location is not the best but it is not bad either. It's a 5 minute walk from the nearest station and a 15 minutes walk to the central train station.

Disliked: -It is a very big establishment with lots of travelers staying there. With only two hotel stuff beeing available, there was a huge que at the check-in. Had to wait 20 minutes for my turn. -Free wifi is available only at the lobby. Would have been nice to have free wifi in the rooms as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matias Untamo

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Matias would recommend this property

Liked: It was nearby of railway station. There are restaraunts and normals food shops nearby. In night life is very active. In day time, everything is easy to reach.

Disliked: Elevator is not going everywhere and it is like labyrint. There are a lott of drunk people also in street and professional entertaiment people, but they are everywhere in Hamburg.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Erin Salonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: There are a ton of services available. Free wifi, 24h bar and snacks available, rooftop bar, video arcade, extensive breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The staff weren't very helpful, didn't really seem very interested in helping. Additionally, there were many hidden costs, breakfast was extra, internet was free if you had your own device to use but had to pay to use their computers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near s-Bahn and Hafen city Nice library with lots of German kids books Lots of seating in the lobby

Disliked: Very industrial feel Poor wayfindung signage in hostel Saw some people not using sheets with their beds... Maybe it could be better enforced Depressing and not well lit guest kitchen in the basement... By sure why they require people to give a €10 deposit for a key to enter the kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Seare Tesfaye

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2014 Seare would recommend this property

Liked: Easy friendly uncomplicated place to stay Definitly will recommend this hostel

Disliked: They don't clean the rooms properly apart from that Everything else is good

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013

Liked: The breakfast was tasty.

Disliked: Overpriced. No atmosphere. Mega hostel attracting big groups. Location was average. Breakfast was extremely overpriced. Wifi barely worked. Beds were very uncomfortable. Also, we booked 2 dorm beds but when we got to the room it had 2x bunks and two single beds together like a double bed. Only 1 bunk bed and half the 'double' were free, this was very uncomfortable. I was able to separate the beds but only by about 4 inches. If it hadn't been another girl on the other one I'd have asked to switch rooms. I don't think it's reasonable to expect people who don't know each other to basically share a double bed. Very awkward. Drinks in their bar very expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in public area is great! And I met nice roommates who I hanged out with. It's very close to a bike station where I used the public bike for sightseeing. Breakfast is of good value.

Disliked: The keycard often doesn't work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, freindliness of staff

Disliked: crowded rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an average hostel with good price conditions, but you'll have to pay for every extra like WIFI a.s.l.

Disliked: The building has for Ventilation reasons an open core, every room has curtains but you can see into every other room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arnaud LOPEZ

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: No

Disliked: No

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Dachterrasse und das Hostel ist nicht weit weg von der Innenstadt

Disliked: Sicherheitspersonal klopft 2 Uhr Nachts an der Tür...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked!

Disliked: Not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Petrakova

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Отличный wi-fi. Просторные 4х местные комнаты, раздельный санузел, выдают также полотенца. Удобное расположение (рядом станция U-Bahn, в пешей доступности главный ж/д вокзал, пешком можно дойти и до центра.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Good location, relatively cheap, very tidy and clean.

Disliked: Many hidden costs (which make other higher standard hostels at around the same price). Only able to open one window in the room, which made it very stuffy, especially with the temperature over 30'C. Disappointed with the customer service, it should be fast and efficient because it is a big and popular hostel or perhaps more staff should be present at the reception. It takes a long time to check in and fill in forms on arrival. Staff might be enjoying themselves too much as they chat to each other while serving customers. They try to be friendly to customers by getting into conversations about their reasons of arrival and accents etc but at the same time others are waiting with their heavy luggage. I was really unlucky because my door card didn't work when I tried to get into my room on my second day there. No member of staff was around to get it sorted so I joined the queue of exhausted hostels guests waiting at the reception. It took me 25 min to get to the till. I thought it was a good, cheap hostel but if you value your time, I wouldn't recommend.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: Non aplicable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muriel Beaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Muriel would recommend this property

Liked: near to the "Brandenburger Tor" station very central clean

Disliked: smell in the reception/lounge room atmosphere in the lounge a lot of noise 'cause of the cars

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandr Strecha

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Alexandr would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Very nice lobby, The check in was very quick and easy

Disliked: Unable to open the window, so in the room is unbreathable air

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and close to the public transport (S1).

Disliked: It can be very noisy at night when people have their drink in the lobby or bar and your room is close to it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part was, that the bathroom is in the rooms .

Disliked: I can't decide who to live with

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really new. The room with its beds and bedroom was really clean and in good shape. The floor was wood instead of carpet, that was great!

Disliked: Bedsheets and towels weren't included for what I wasn't informed about.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: The presence of football fans.