HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Hamburg City

Hostel | Spaldingstraße 160, Hamburg, Germany 20097

78.6% Overall Rating

177 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2014)

lasse jaakkola thinks…

"Very nice common areas. Diffent games, big tv and bar. good Place to meet people."

Read all A&O Hamburg City reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.38
  • Linen USD 4.02
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 € free WLAN in the entire building

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
21.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
Wikinger Hof
52.25 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
50.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
25.62 USD

Hostel 79.3% 573 reviews
Hotel Nord
46.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.7% 102 reviews
Kieler-hof
40.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Generator Hamburg
27.47 USD

Hostel 83.1% 773 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
23.45 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.0% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

177 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Hamburg City'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 190 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muriel Beaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Muriel would recommend this property

Liked: near to the "Brandenburger Tor" station very central clean

Disliked: smell in the reception/lounge room atmosphere in the lounge a lot of noise 'cause of the cars

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandr Strecha

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Alexandr would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Very nice lobby, The check in was very quick and easy

Disliked: Unable to open the window, so in the room is unbreathable air

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and close to the public transport (S1).

Disliked: It can be very noisy at night when people have their drink in the lobby or bar and your room is close to it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part was, that the bathroom is in the rooms .

Disliked: I can't decide who to live with

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really new. The room with its beds and bedroom was really clean and in good shape. The floor was wood instead of carpet, that was great!

Disliked: Bedsheets and towels weren't included for what I wasn't informed about.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: The presence of football fans.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carlos Reed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: I already did.

Disliked: Hiden costs, like thé bad sheets

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: Rooms are very clean and also the rest of the hostel. It has some socia places.

Disliked: Check in was really slow. They get extra money for linen and wifi if you want to use it in your room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: The room was really clean and confortable. Almost like a hotel

Disliked: The worst location of all A&O hostels in Hamburg. The staff was really slow working.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

David Cullington

Alone

City break

25 March 2013

Liked: It was available and cheaper than the others.

Disliked: Its, big, unpersonal, unfriendly, noisy, slow service and the location is a little far out of the main city. They don't have enough staff on reception so checking in is very slow and slow to get any other help, not the staffs fault but more of a management problem. Ive been travelling for 4years and I could'nt wait to leave this place. Theres so many other nicer places to stay in Hamburg so take a look at the other options.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nataliia Bielova

Alone

Business / conference

19 March 2013 Nataliia would recommend this property

Liked: Location. relatively cheap, good breakfast

Disliked: Loud, no lockers in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to a U-bahn top (Berliner Tor), so travelling there was straightforward. The dorm room was clean and a decent size, and there was plenty of space to sit and relax downstairs.

Disliked: There were a lot of children and older adults around - it wasn't really just a youth hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vignesh Janakiraman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Vignesh would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely clean, and gives a very nice atmosphere to interact with others!

Disliked: There are hidden charges that don't popup on Hostelbookers - like for example, you need to pay 3€ extra to get linen in dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Korey Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 Korey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the Hostel is really enjoyable and probably one of the best Ive stayed in in my 6 years of traveling

Disliked: nothing at all, everything was great

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: shared room with private toilet and shower, quite convenient.

Disliked: too less staffs in the repository. waiting in a long line when check in and check out.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brandon dayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012

Liked: It had nice facility's

Disliked: they didn't give good directions by foot. There fees and charges that they don't t tell you about. It was also to much like a hotel, and it did not feel like a hostel at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, silent, quality/price = ok

Disliked: Breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom

Disliked: Internet connection in the room is extra charge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, excellent location - 3 minutes from subway, Free wifi at lobby. Generally a good place, but bring a lock of your own and a big one, because you need it to lock your cupboard.

Disliked: The optional breakfast for 6 euro's is very disappointing. Instead of lockers there are small cupboards with the possibility to put a lock on them, if you have one.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Reinhard Nowak

Alone

City break

12 November 2012 Reinhard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly

Disliked: To much noise from the street by close windows

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2012

Liked: I liked the on-site restaurant, especially given that there was very little nearby in terms of restaurants in easy walking distance in bad weather.

Disliked: I really hated the room I was staying in. First, it was an awkward set-up: it was a large, long room with two single beds at the far end and a bunk bed by the door. There was someone who had been living there for the past seven weeks already, so it was like I was staying in his dorm room. He had, naturally, claimed the little table for himself, so I couldn't use that for my laptop, and all of the plugs were on his side of the room, so I couldn't just sit on my bed with my computer. In the end, I had to go downstairs to the lobby to use the internet, simply because there were no plugs that I could use in the room, even though I had paid to have wifi in my room. There were no regular-height tables in the lobby either, just low coffee tables, which isn't easy if you want to actually type something. I was in Hamburg on business and had work to do, so I didn't like this. I also had no reading light by my bed, unlike in most A & O hostels, and that really bothered me. The only bedside lamps were by the two single beds, so when my roommate turned off the overhead light at 10pm while I was still trying to work, it meant I couldn't possibly continue. Finally, I am an opera singer on an audition tour, and normally hotels and hostels are very understanding about this and will allow me to warm up for an audition (just for 30 minutes or so) in an empty room somewhere after check-out time, when people aren't around. There is always a space that isn't needed and normally people have been very good about this. The front desk staff were not helpful in this regard at all. The best they could offer was the luggage room, which isn't great because there are always people coming and going and it's right off the lobby, which means that my singing will disturb people. They could have found almost any other place - the hostel wasn't exactly full when I was there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miquel Torres Oliver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Miquel would recommend this property

Liked: Big, confortable and clean. Bathrooms and toilets in the rooms. Close to the city center.

Disliked: Breakfast not included, linen not included. Early check out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilla Frederiksen

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2012 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: stayed together with 10 other friends in twinrooms and 6-bed room and all 4 rooms was clean and in good condition. We had a lovely time at the lobby bar and the staff was very helpful both before and at the stay. takes about 5 min to walk to the trainstation and the location was fine...

Disliked: Camilla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogdan Spiru

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Professional Staff, clean, everything you need in the bathroom, FREE WiFi in the lobby

Disliked: Bogdan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for Money and most importantly - It was clean and neat with those friendly staff at a central location.

Disliked: No internet available in the room