HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Hamburg City

Hostel | Spaldingstraße 160, Hamburg, Germany 20097

82.5% Overall Rating

157 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

Matias Untamo thinks…

"It was nearby of railway station. There are restaraunts and normals food shops nearby. In night life is very active. In day time, everything is easy to reach."

Read all A&O Hamburg City reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.29
  • Linen USD 4.15
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
22.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.3% 42 reviews
Wikinger Hof
53.90 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 63 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
52.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 50 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
31.36 USD

Hostel 79.0% 572 reviews
Hotel Nord
48.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.7% 100 reviews
Kieler-hof
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 260 reviews
Generator Hamburg
19.35 USD

Hostel 83.2% 745 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
20.04 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.8% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

157 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Hamburg City'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to a U-bahn top (Berliner Tor), so travelling there was straightforward. The dorm room was clean and a decent size, and there was plenty of space to sit and relax downstairs.

Disliked: There were a lot of children and older adults around - it wasn't really just a youth hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vignesh Janakiraman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Vignesh would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely clean, and gives a very nice atmosphere to interact with others!

Disliked: There are hidden charges that don't popup on Hostelbookers - like for example, you need to pay 3€ extra to get linen in dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Korey Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 Korey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the Hostel is really enjoyable and probably one of the best Ive stayed in in my 6 years of traveling

Disliked: nothing at all, everything was great

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: shared room with private toilet and shower, quite convenient.

Disliked: too less staffs in the repository. waiting in a long line when check in and check out.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brandon dayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012

Liked: It had nice facility's

Disliked: they didn't give good directions by foot. There fees and charges that they don't t tell you about. It was also to much like a hotel, and it did not feel like a hostel at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, silent, quality/price = ok

Disliked: Breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom

Disliked: Internet connection in the room is extra charge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, excellent location - 3 minutes from subway, Free wifi at lobby. Generally a good place, but bring a lock of your own and a big one, because you need it to lock your cupboard.

Disliked: The optional breakfast for 6 euro's is very disappointing. Instead of lockers there are small cupboards with the possibility to put a lock on them, if you have one.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Reinhard Nowak

Alone

City break

12 November 2012 Reinhard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly

Disliked: To much noise from the street by close windows

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2012

Liked: I liked the on-site restaurant, especially given that there was very little nearby in terms of restaurants in easy walking distance in bad weather.

Disliked: I really hated the room I was staying in. First, it was an awkward set-up: it was a large, long room with two single beds at the far end and a bunk bed by the door. There was someone who had been living there for the past seven weeks already, so it was like I was staying in his dorm room. He had, naturally, claimed the little table for himself, so I couldn't use that for my laptop, and all of the plugs were on his side of the room, so I couldn't just sit on my bed with my computer. In the end, I had to go downstairs to the lobby to use the internet, simply because there were no plugs that I could use in the room, even though I had paid to have wifi in my room. There were no regular-height tables in the lobby either, just low coffee tables, which isn't easy if you want to actually type something. I was in Hamburg on business and had work to do, so I didn't like this. I also had no reading light by my bed, unlike in most A & O hostels, and that really bothered me. The only bedside lamps were by the two single beds, so when my roommate turned off the overhead light at 10pm while I was still trying to work, it meant I couldn't possibly continue. Finally, I am an opera singer on an audition tour, and normally hotels and hostels are very understanding about this and will allow me to warm up for an audition (just for 30 minutes or so) in an empty room somewhere after check-out time, when people aren't around. There is always a space that isn't needed and normally people have been very good about this. The front desk staff were not helpful in this regard at all. The best they could offer was the luggage room, which isn't great because there are always people coming and going and it's right off the lobby, which means that my singing will disturb people. They could have found almost any other place - the hostel wasn't exactly full when I was there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miquel Torres Oliver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Miquel would recommend this property

Liked: Big, confortable and clean. Bathrooms and toilets in the rooms. Close to the city center.

Disliked: Breakfast not included, linen not included. Early check out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilla Frederiksen

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2012 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: stayed together with 10 other friends in twinrooms and 6-bed room and all 4 rooms was clean and in good condition. We had a lovely time at the lobby bar and the staff was very helpful both before and at the stay. takes about 5 min to walk to the trainstation and the location was fine...

Disliked: Camilla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogdan Spiru

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Professional Staff, clean, everything you need in the bathroom, FREE WiFi in the lobby

Disliked: Bogdan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for Money and most importantly - It was clean and neat with those friendly staff at a central location.

Disliked: No internet available in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oscar Vera

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place, I stayed in a room for 6 but we were only three persons. The 24hrs check-in service desk.

Disliked: The air extractor of the bathroom was not working and my key stop working, but the staff was helpful and fixed the problem.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

14 August 2012

Liked: you don´t really have many reasonable alternatives in Hamburg on a Saturday night...

Disliked: The whole building, the treatment, it´s a sad place. Everything charged extra. Your room (6x) goes for the price of a five star hotel, but they even ask if you happen to need the sheets for the night, then you go up and rush to get the best positioned bulk bed, if any left.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Débora Ferreira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012 Débora would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness and great offer of all products (from towels and food to souvenirs).

Disliked: It's not so close to the Hbf on foot as they said.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: The standard and the cleanness were more than satisfactory. There were soap, shower gel and even hear dryer accessible at the place.

Disliked: Beware!!! They would charge you an additional fee of 2,96€ just for the fact that you were paying with card. In my opinion it is totally unacceptable. The second thing is that there is no kitchen accessible for the hostel guests, there is only bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eigenes bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

28 June 2012

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: far away from center, the price too expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lijun ma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 lijun would recommend this property

Liked: There is shampoo and hair dryer which suprise me~ and there is a lovely lamp on the bed which makes me very happy! deserve to stay~

Disliked: not very easy to find, but after asking someone, it is ok to find