HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hamburg Hamburg Hostel

Steintorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.86USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:<br />


<br />


All taxes are included in the rates.<br />



Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 113 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: dowhtown

Disliked: the toilets in the room was very small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey,

first of all we are glad you took the time to give us a review on Hostelworld.com!

Unfortunately we are located in a historic building and therefore limited when it comes to building restrictions! Beside the bathrooms in the room, we do also have communal bathrooms on each floor!

We are happy that you overall enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,
Patrick Nieznanski, Front Desk Shiftleader

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: There are many places to hang out in the hostel and meet other friends

Disliked: The showers and bathroom in the rooms are tiny...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for the review.
I would be delighted if you choose Generator also in the future.
Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Clean and nice staff. Good common areas

Disliked: Room was very hot. Also no kitchen

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

thanks for the review.
After receiving your comment, we have increased the amount of fans that you can borough for free from Reception.

Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


20 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location is a great start point for your city tour, and it is near the main bus and train station. The staff are helpful and nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,
Many thanks for the great feedback.
A new Events Coordinator has just joined us, so that we
will be able to get also the remaining point in Atmosphere.
Whenever you return to Hamburg, we would be delighted to be your host again.

Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: All-around good hostel, stay was enjoyable.

Disliked: Breakfast was bit too expensive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

thanks for the review.
Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg.
Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: the location is perfect..just next to Hauptbahnhof and its clean

Disliked: the toilet/bathroom is really small. and the breakfast is quite expensive for a bowl of cereal and bread

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,
Thank you for your review.
Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our
services and facilities.
The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we wanted to offer comfort beyond the regular hostel standard and have an en suite in every room. Therefore we have chosen the units you have experienced. In our newer Hostels, such as Amsterdam and Paris, we build in larger bathes.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg.
Until than we wish you all the best for your travels.
Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: You need to add at least a shampoo or soap in the toilet or shower, You make us to clean or dishes after the breakfast, you need to add some activities during the bad weather & everybody in hostel,

Disliked: Everything


The property's response is

Hello,

Thanks for the review. To my surprise I saw that you had to clean your dishes yourself. It is correct that we ask our guests after breakfast to return their trays to our service station. But from there we take care of it. That is normal in hostels around the world. Shampoo and soap is currently not offered. That is right. Still we take the comments serious and work on a solution, that brings us ahead a regular hostel, where it is normal, that you have to bring your toiletries. In terms of events I have some good news. We have just a new Events Coordinator on board, who is working on fancy new events to make everybodys stay a bit nicer. I hope we can welcome you soon again at Generator.
Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was clean, well situates and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been a ittle bit more varied

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
Thanks for the review. Just let us know the next time what you have missed on the buffet. We constantly try to improve our offer on the buffet.
You and your friends are always welcome to stay with us again.
Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Super central location, super friendly team.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

Good to see that you had a good time in our hostel.
If you ever return to Hamburg, come and visit us again.

Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Perfect location, very cheap and warm place! Very friendly and kind staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.
I am especially happy that the team left a good impression. The staff is what makes a hostel unique.
Whenever you are around again, you will be welcome to stay again.

Regards,
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

Check Availability