HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Hamburg Hamburg

Hostel

Steinorplatz 3,, Hamburg, Germany

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.52USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:<br />


<br />


All taxes are included in the rates.<br />



Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 180 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent value in a great location.

Disliked: Kitchen would be nice to have.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: metal trunks under beds to keep your stuff in. bring a lock and your posessions are safe!also, every bed has a little lamp, 230v socket and two usb sockets for charging overnight. good stuff.

Disliked: no kitchen and no external food allowed. breakfast is €5.50, so i was lucky the weather was good so i could eat in the park.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location!! Just across the main train station. Very clean and nice.

Disliked: They don't accept credit cards if the amount is less than 10 € - very annoying. They also charge 6.5€ (if I remember correctly) for the towel which is way too much.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

Thanks for the review.

Your comments are very important to us . We will check on the negative feedback and see internally what could be changed.

I would be delighted if we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg

Regards,

Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Alles ist neu

Disliked: Schade fand ich nur das alle etwas gestresst gewirkt haben und man im hostel nichts zu essen mitnehmen darf. Das versteht ich nicht. Es werden keine großen Mahlzeiten angeboten, deswegen wäre es zuvorkommend wenn man sein gekauftes Brötchen unten im Eingangsbereich/Café auch essen darf.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hallo,

vielen Dank für die Bewertung.

Ich verstehe die Verwunderung über die Hausregel zu eingebrachten Getränken und Essen. Wir hatten in der Vergangenheit massive Beschwerden, besonders aus den gemischten Zimmern, wegen der "Trink-und Essgewohnheiten" der Mitbewohner. Wir mussten zum Schluss den von dir beschriebenen Schritt gehen. In der Bar und im Café bieten wir aber Speisen an.

Herzliche Grüsse
Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Comfortable beds. Power outlets at each bed. Good storage space for bags in the room. Good communal areas. Good wifi.

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms in room really small. No towels provided unless you want to buy one for 7Euro. Staff not particularly friendly. Nothing free - not even water. Expensive for no amentities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Location it's great

Disliked: The price got to high for saturday

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Common areas are nice

Disliked: The bathrooms in the 8 beds rooms are incredibly small. The staff is really rude.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean quiet

Disliked: We paid for late check out but got two cleaners angrily telling us they needed the room at 10am. They didn't believe we paid for late check out and another two guys from reception came it and told me to leave. I said they could check te CCTV and see me paying for late check out and they laughed and said 'it's only €5, don't worry' as though they were doing me a favour!!!!Hardly a lie in!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

Thanks for letting us know about the incident with the booked late check out. I will def. follow that up to prevent other guests
of making the same experience.

As I am unable to turn back the clock, I can only apologize for the inconvenience at this stage. I hope you will chose Generator also in the future.

Regards,

Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Bar and restaurant

Disliked: Location and neighbourhood is very rough

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

H'ello,

thank you for your feedback.

I regret that you did not feel safe in our hostel. We have every day a security in house who is guarding the door.
He should make sure that the guests and the team do not need to worry about the "neighbourhood"

I hope you will visit Generator also in the future.

Regards,

Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and front desk staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

many thanks for the nice review.

If you ever return to Hamburg, please come and visit us again.

In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels.

Regards,

Sven Heberling
Assistant General Manager

Check Availability