We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Hamburg

Hostel | Steintorweg 3, Hamburg, Germany 20999

84.0% Overall Rating

749 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2014)

"The location by the train station is both good and bad. Very convenient, as you walk out of the station (train or bus) and you're right there. The same with leaving. The hostel is all modern and very comfortable."

Read all Generator Hamburg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:

All taxes are included in the rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Kieler-hof
27.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Hotel Nord
46.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.3% 104 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
22.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 68 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
24.02 USD

Hostel 79.1% 574 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
48.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
Wikinger Hof
49.45 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
20.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
A&O Hamburg City
17.83 USD

Hostel 79.0% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

749 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Hamburg'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 780 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location by the train station is both good and bad. Very convenient, as you walk out of the station (train or bus) and you're right there. The same with leaving. The hostel is all modern and very comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't like the area. I might be overreacting, but it didn't seem particularly safe, and the guard at the door was something I've never seen at a hostel before. The staff was okay, they seemed rather inconvenienced when I needed anything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mónica Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Mónica would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are beautiful, it has an excellent location quite close to the main train/subway station. The people at the bar are really nice and the rooms have USB chargers.

Disliked: The private bathroom was seriously so small I wondered how men could actually fit in the shower. If you suffer from claustrophobia seriously don't book in here. There was a one public shower outside the room (that I discovered by accident) because nobody from the hostel told us about it. It was always empty so I guess nobody else knew about it. Some of the people at the front desk were not really friendly, but the guys at the bar made up for it. Some of the lockers were not working (4 out of 6 in our room), so luckily me and my brother arrived early to fetch the two that did work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right next to Hauptbahnhof station and opposite the Hamburg ZOB bus station. Good wifi connection, clean rooms and bathrooms!

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a microwave or place to make a cup of tea or coffee. Very strict on bringing food in, even checking shopping bags at the door...got questioned about a small salad i had bought when i was out.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Really secure with a guard at the door, staff were really friendly and the rooms were pretty nice.

Disliked: I really didn't like the ensuite shower/toilet because they were not rooms but like small plastic things added to the room and they were so small it was impossible to move about in there. Also the area isn't particularly nice however it is super close to the station.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yan Kasianczuk

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 September 2014 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere yet still felt very safe.

Disliked: Very hot bedrooms.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, safe, in a great location: the location, cleanliness and safety (security guy at the door at night, because right next to the central station) could not have been better.

Disliked: There were only a few people lounging about the relaxation areas and I noticed that there were mostly older people and schoolclasses i.e. non backpacking travellers. The worst thing about this place is the check out time, you have to be gone by 10:00 am which is way too early if you spend the night at the reeperbahn.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security.

Disliked: Inefficient checking-in system, washing machine broke mid wash.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: I stayed for five nights, and the sinks and rooms were only cleaned once.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tomas Calderon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the center and very clean and comfortable

Disliked: The price and that the breakfast is not included and expensive

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Cordoba Bou

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

15 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: all cool

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice bedrooms, nice shower

Disliked: Some of the staff is really not polite

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Botton Schmidt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 August 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good showers, good ambient.

Disliked: No kitchen, some staff is really not polite.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location Clean

Disliked: Wifi connection login required each time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sujeong kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 sujeong would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Small shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Crook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Not the nicest location but is really near the train station, has a decent bar

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was all great! The breakfast, the bedroom, the kitchen, the bar, everything Is a very big hostel, and the design is so good!

Disliked: ....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauricio Ceballos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, just in front of the central station. Staff is very friendly and beds have personal plug to charge your mobile.

Disliked: too small bathroom and showers. functional though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels that I stayed at. The location is superb, the staff friendly, and the building clean.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in the bathroom.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter chapman

Alone

City break

10 July 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: vibrant and fun-loving character , location next door to main railway station,

Disliked: the surrounding area may seem slightly sketchy at night and Hamburg seems to have more than its fair share of nutters and alkies but that isn't the fault of the hostel ....

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yik Kan Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Yik Kan would recommend this property

Liked: very comforatble and clean

Disliked: not including breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jessica Lomazzo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: Great location - super close to the main station, so it was very easy to get everywhere. Although it was convenient, the location wasn't exactly "scenic." Quite an industrial location, but close to many things.

Disliked: There were sketchy people constantly walking around outside... many of them and at all times of the day. Not once did I comfortable walking around outside of the hostel. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. There was someone sleeping in one of our beds in our room when we got there, and the staff had a hard time understanding the situation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Røste

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! very nice and clean. Located like 100 meters away from the train station!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The World Cup started while I was staying at the hostel, so they heavily promoted it. They would even play matches in the bar area for everyone to enjoy, so it helped bring people together and really remember the experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Macro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I like the modern cool design and the friendly helpful staff! I also like how you can get involved in a free tour of the city I liked the open plan designs (helps make friends)

Disliked: I would have liked the bar to be 24hrs or at least until 2am The bathrooms in the rooms were too small The breakfast could have had a little more on offer (I would have paid a bit more) Make some kind of dinner?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Sagadin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for every public transport, therefore almost near everything! Nice, clean rooms, some with great view!

Disliked: In our 2-bed private was no nightstand or anything likely to put down phone, watch, books. Also a bedside lamp would have been nice!