HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Hamburg

Hostel | Steintorweg 3, Hamburg, Germany 20999

83.1% Overall Rating

727 out of 773 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"It was all great! The breakfast, the bedroom, the kitchen, the bar, everything Is a very big hostel, and the design is so good!"

Read all Generator Hamburg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:

All taxes are included in the rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Kieler-hof
33.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Hotel Nord
47.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.4% 101 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
30.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.0% 62 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
25.43 USD

Hostel 79.3% 573 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
51.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
Wikinger Hof
52.37 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
21.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
A&O Hamburg City
19.05 USD

Hostel 79.9% 194 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

727 out of 773 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Hamburg'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 370 of 756 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Crook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Not the nicest location but is really near the train station, has a decent bar

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was all great! The breakfast, the bedroom, the kitchen, the bar, everything Is a very big hostel, and the design is so good!

Disliked: ....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauricio Ceballos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, just in front of the central station. Staff is very friendly and beds have personal plug to charge your mobile.

Disliked: too small bathroom and showers. functional though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels that I stayed at. The location is superb, the staff friendly, and the building clean.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in the bathroom.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter chapman

Alone

City break

10 July 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: vibrant and fun-loving character , location next door to main railway station,

Disliked: the surrounding area may seem slightly sketchy at night and Hamburg seems to have more than its fair share of nutters and alkies but that isn't the fault of the hostel ....

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yik Kan Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Yik Kan would recommend this property

Liked: very comforatble and clean

Disliked: not including breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jessica Lomazzo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: Great location - super close to the main station, so it was very easy to get everywhere. Although it was convenient, the location wasn't exactly "scenic." Quite an industrial location, but close to many things.

Disliked: There were sketchy people constantly walking around outside... many of them and at all times of the day. Not once did I comfortable walking around outside of the hostel. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. There was someone sleeping in one of our beds in our room when we got there, and the staff had a hard time understanding the situation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Røste

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! very nice and clean. Located like 100 meters away from the train station!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The World Cup started while I was staying at the hostel, so they heavily promoted it. They would even play matches in the bar area for everyone to enjoy, so it helped bring people together and really remember the experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Macro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I like the modern cool design and the friendly helpful staff! I also like how you can get involved in a free tour of the city I liked the open plan designs (helps make friends)

Disliked: I would have liked the bar to be 24hrs or at least until 2am The bathrooms in the rooms were too small The breakfast could have had a little more on offer (I would have paid a bit more) Make some kind of dinner?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Sagadin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for every public transport, therefore almost near everything! Nice, clean rooms, some with great view!

Disliked: In our 2-bed private was no nightstand or anything likely to put down phone, watch, books. Also a bedside lamp would have been nice!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean & friendly, feels more like a hotel than a hostel in the common areas

Disliked: The room was very hot with no air con, also the toilet & shower walls were paper thin!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 June 2014

Liked: - Beds/rooms have enough outlets. The rest of the hostel has many outlets as well. - WiFi is free (which is impressive because everything else in this hostel isn't and it also costs money to use the internet in the public library). - The cooked food from the restaurant portion of the hostel (well, the bar) is good. - The non-security and non-reception employees are generally nice and helpful.

Disliked: - Everything costs money and is usually overpriced. Bottled water, for example, is 2 euros, while if you go to the local grocery store you can buy a larger container for 0.50 euros. One of the employees also told me Hamburg tap water is unsafe (a lie) just so I would buy theirs. - One of the security guards (the African one that never smiles) made me feel like I was staying in a prison rather than a hostel. - There is no kitchen, because if there was you wouldn't buy their food. - The continental breakfast costs 4.90 euros. - The bathrooms in the rooms are remarkably small. In most cases you must stand sideways, at least until after the sink. - The cleaning staff does not do a thorough job of cleaning the bathrooms in the rooms. - The location is not good. Not dangerous, but calling it a good location is a lie. There are many better parts of Hamburg. - Reception was generally rude and/or uninterested when I talked to them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Baechinger

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: modern and nice, next to main station, desktops with free internet

Disliked: strange people in the neighborhood

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Each bed had a headboard with a light, a plug and two USB sockets for charging things. That was really nice. Location wise, just opposite the train station, is hard to beat.

Disliked: The bathroom and shower cubicles were tiny, little different than an airplane bathroom.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: This hostel has a ready made social atmosphere and is in an excellent location in the centre of Hamburg

Disliked: If you want to see the 'real' Hamburg, don't stay here. The hostel is corporate and basically just designed for stag dos. That's fine for some people, but wasn't really suited to our purpose.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryuhei Hagiwara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Ryuhei would recommend this property

Liked: Everything looked pretty new, especially the card keys. Right across the street from the Hauptbahnhof.

Disliked: Shower bit small. Staffs weren't so friendly & welcoming in the evening when I arrived, but I guess you can't help that when it's busy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect located and clean. The building looks brand new and the beds are very comfortable! Good cakes at a reasonable price.

Disliked: No safe lockers to leave your luggage with valuable belongings after check out. No common area to relax or read in the afternoon or evenings, cause the loud music from the bar it's heard everywhere. Extra small toilets in the rooms and you can hear everything from the rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

olivie scuderoni

Alone

City break

25 March 2014 olivie would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and the music in the front entrance are great and create a good atmosphere. The location is central next to the main train station, which is very convenient. There is enough space to move around in the hostel, I stayed in a 6-bed room, the size of the room was average but it had large big lockers, bed lights and plugins.

Disliked: I didn't like the toilet in the room, too small, couldn't use the sink properly, walls are probably made of cardboard. Fortunately there were toilets outside in the corridor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice athmosphere, nice bar, nice people

Disliked: small showers for big dorm rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location (and easy to find, it is really next to the station). I booked a 6 bed dorm, but stayed in a 4 bed-dorm for the same price - just as some of my roommates. Everything looks new and clean.

Disliked: Prices of drinks in hostel bar are quite high, I think it's cheaper to drink in most local bars. Not hostel-like. But that is just a minor detail, everything else in this hostel was great.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heyvon Herdhayinta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Heyvon would recommend this property

Liked: Location, faclilities

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a fantastic location and the private rooms were very similar to a good standard hotel. i was pleasantly surprised! I particularly liked the security doors needed to gain access to upstairs and private rooms. I felt very secure. I also liked the freedom to control the temperature in the room. Excellent stay, and I will most definitely use the chain again.

Disliked: Would have preferred a desk chair and not a stool for back support.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohammad Jakir Hosen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014

Liked: Location, facilities ans services

Disliked: It was first time for me this property. I aspected they give a clear view info about ir.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amira Kong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2014 Amira would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: The bathroom is a bit tiny.