We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Hamburg

Hostel | Steintorweg 3, Hamburg, Germany 20999

86.4% Overall Rating

784 out of 833 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2015)

"very calm, just as i like it. Might be because i stayed there from sunday to monday. thank you!"

Read all Generator Hamburg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:

All taxes are included in the rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Kieler-hof
31.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Hotel Nord
38.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.0% 106 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
24.70 USD

Hostel 77.5% 577 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
41.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
Wikinger Hof
42.46 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
17.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
A&O Hamburg City
17.95 USD

Hostel 79.3% 251 reviews
Boulevard Hostel Hamburg
27.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

784 out of 833 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Hamburg'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 401 of 816 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice clean Hostel, pretty central.

Disliked: The doors of the rooms are really loud while closing always getting a shock when people next door shut their doors. And there is not enough storage places for belongings.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very calm, just as i like it. Might be because i stayed there from sunday to monday. thank you!

Disliked: no complaints.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine!

Disliked: No essential dislikes.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and interesting common area. Lots of people to meet and the rooms were very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, very close to the main station. Nice bar and chill out area.

Disliked: No towels available. If you forget yours to bring, you have to BUY a towel for 6,50€. No locks to close your belongings in the room. Bring your own small lock!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not much. Security was good

Disliked: It's a hotel not a hostel. Not suitable for me as a backpacker at all. No kitchen and not even a place to get water without being judged by the bar staff for not buying from their bar. You couldn't be fat in the bathroom or toilet, as a uk size 8 woman I struggled for space in there. Bed sheets smelt of egg. Rooms had bad temperature control - even with a window open all night it was swelteringly hot. Staff weren't helpful. I had a man come into my female dorm twice two tell me to go to reception and check why I hadn't checked out of a bed I'd booked for two nights and had only stayed one at tha point. No hostel atmosphere of friendliness or making friends cos it's just got a lobby and bar like a hotel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Mehofer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, clean, comfort bed, many opportunities in the hostel, etc.

Disliked: too small badroom and toilet at the room

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonia Carvalho

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 February 2015 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: I like very much the environment and the location.

Disliked: Under bagpack room, there is no control in who deliver the luggage and who pick it up.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leah Lothringer

Alone

City break

29 January 2015 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and new all across the board, great communal spaces and nice private rooms, impeccably clean and maintained, free WiFi, some particularly friendly, welcoming staff

Disliked: Having to log on to the WiFi daily, be better to have a 7-day pass for guests staying longer for example and at one point, one of the cleaners just walked into my room and glared at me sitting in bed, even though I'd yelled a number of times, PLEASE DON'T COME IN

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Happy Hour, The hotel was very modern.

Disliked: The bathroom in our room was a bit dirty.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and there WiFi is so good

Disliked: The bathroom is too small

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small cramped rooms Ridiculously small shower and toilet facilities that were inadequate Unfriendly - run just like a big machine No character

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good right next to the main train station but that's further away from the main touristy parts. Great atmosphere and rooms, individual bed lights and power points, simple things like bed numbers make such a difference.

Disliked: The bathrooms in the rooms were tiny and horrible, much worse than other generator rooms i have stayed in. There is a shared bathroom for each floor (and about 50 people) to use. They were ridiculously small and a major let down for this hostel. Breakfast was also a major letdown, and cost almost 5 euros. Not worth 3...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Shoesmith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Large hostel, but still had a friendly feel and atmosphere. Staff were helpful despite being busy. Great location. They also amended our booking very quickly, when one group pulled out.

Disliked: The music in the bar was often a bit repetitive and super loud!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nelson Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: I'm staying in a 6-bed room, each person have a locker (P.S. bring your own locker) What I like the most is each bed has a power socket and light, even the upper bed on a bunk bed. Hostel is located super close to the central station and has lots of facilities.

Disliked: Problem is mainly the washroom and shower room. The washroom and shower room is super small. Water pressure is low. Water heater is not consistent. Other that these, everything else is excellent.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimya Gusman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 November 2014 Kimya would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very well designed. There was a pool where you could play for free and tons of things to entertain you.

Disliked: The fact that you can't eat or drink anything you bought outside inside the hostel, they even control your bags before you get in! Plus, it lacked authenticity in my opinion, but that's just my personal preference.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location by the train station is both good and bad. Very convenient, as you walk out of the station (train or bus) and you're right there. The same with leaving. The hostel is all modern and very comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't like the area. I might be overreacting, but it didn't seem particularly safe, and the guard at the door was something I've never seen at a hostel before. The staff was okay, they seemed rather inconvenienced when I needed anything.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mónica Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Mónica would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are beautiful, it has an excellent location quite close to the main train/subway station. The people at the bar are really nice and the rooms have USB chargers.

Disliked: The private bathroom was seriously so small I wondered how men could actually fit in the shower. If you suffer from claustrophobia seriously don't book in here. There was a one public shower outside the room (that I discovered by accident) because nobody from the hostel told us about it. It was always empty so I guess nobody else knew about it. Some of the people at the front desk were not really friendly, but the guys at the bar made up for it. Some of the lockers were not working (4 out of 6 in our room), so luckily me and my brother arrived early to fetch the two that did work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right next to Hauptbahnhof station and opposite the Hamburg ZOB bus station. Good wifi connection, clean rooms and bathrooms!

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a microwave or place to make a cup of tea or coffee. Very strict on bringing food in, even checking shopping bags at the door...got questioned about a small salad i had bought when i was out.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Really secure with a guard at the door, staff were really friendly and the rooms were pretty nice.

Disliked: I really didn't like the ensuite shower/toilet because they were not rooms but like small plastic things added to the room and they were so small it was impossible to move about in there. Also the area isn't particularly nice however it is super close to the station.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yan Kasianczuk

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 September 2014 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere yet still felt very safe.

Disliked: Very hot bedrooms.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, safe, in a great location: the location, cleanliness and safety (security guy at the door at night, because right next to the central station) could not have been better.

Disliked: There were only a few people lounging about the relaxation areas and I noticed that there were mostly older people and schoolclasses i.e. non backpacking travellers. The worst thing about this place is the check out time, you have to be gone by 10:00 am which is way too early if you spend the night at the reeperbahn.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security.

Disliked: Inefficient checking-in system, washing machine broke mid wash.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: I stayed for five nights, and the sinks and rooms were only cleaned once.

The property's response is...