HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kastanien-Hostel

Hostel | Kastanienallee 27, Hamburg, Germany 20359

85.0% Overall Rating

37 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2012)

"Despite being a single female in a basement mixed dorm room with a door that only locked if the occupants physically lock it with a key (meaning I had to rely on all of my roommates to lock the door behind them),…"

Read all Kastanien-Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Payment is in cash upon arrival. No credit cards accepted. - Check-in is from 15:00-20:00 (3pm-8pm) Please contact hostel in case of check-in later than 20:00 (8pm) - The bed is reserved until 20:00 (8pm). The property reserves the right to sell your bed after this time, if late arrival has not been agreed. - Luggage can be brought to hostel as of 10 a.m. - Because of hygienic reasons we do not permit sleeping bags or guests bed linen in our beds - We charge 3 Euro for bed linen per person. CANCELLATION PERIODS: - One month to reservation date: 10% of the agreed price - 29 to 07 days to reservation date: 50% of the agreed price - 06 to 0 days to reservation date: 80% of the agreed price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Pyjama Park Hotel&Hostel
29.01 USD

Hostel 95.2% 40 reviews
Kiezbude
27.63 USD

Hostel 89.1% 56 reviews
A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn
18.01 USD

Hostel 75.8% 104 reviews
Budapester Hof
27.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 254 reviews
Hotel Figaro
27.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.7% 358 reviews
Altan Hotel
32.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 83 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Pauli
22.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 96.2% 54 reviews
Bedpark Altona
30.39 USD

Hotel 74.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

37 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kastanien-Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 45 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Williams

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: comfy bed. nice location. hot showers.

Disliked: on my 2nd day I was told I am being moved to a sister hostel nearby - They told me I had been advised of this prior to my trip - I had not been advised but didn't mind as the replacement hostel (KIezBude) was even better

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mattias Hägglund

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 November 2013 Mattias would recommend this property

Liked: Close lokation to Reparbahn and help full staff.

Disliked: Colur of the wals in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Sonderegger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: DIe Lage ist perfekt, die Mitarbeiter supernett =)

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ion asenjo

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 November 2012 ion would recommend this property

Liked: Nice helpfull host

Disliked: No orange juice in the bar

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 March 2012

Liked: Despite being a single female in a basement mixed dorm room with a door that only locked if the occupants physically lock it with a key (meaning I had to rely on all of my roommates to lock the door behind them), without functioning lockers in the dorm, I am happy to announce that I wasn't abused during any hour of the day or night, and that none of my stuff was stolen or tampered with.

Disliked: The shower drain was clogged and therefore leaked water into areas with no drainaige system, leaving the basement dorm area smelling deeply of mold and mildew. There was no wifi as advertised, and the advertised "lockers" did nothing to keep your personal affects safe. The entire hostel is permeated by a thick cloud of smoke, and seems to be typically occupied by sketchy, older males. The location is in the centre of the red light district, which means it is dirty, loud and not entirely safe to walk around alone in the earlier morning or later night. The underground train can be heard and felt in the basement dorms every ten minutes throughout the day and night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andres Felipe Matiz Lopez

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Andres Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: It has its own particular decoration, fun and kinky!

Disliked: It would be nice to have Wireless connection to Internet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011

Liked: Easy to find, close to the harbour.

Disliked: I was surprised by all the positive reviews I read here. I didn't feel comfortable at that place in the heart of the red light district and with most guests being group of loud young men. I booked and paid for 3 nights, but left after the first night. Also the entrance is a smocking bar, which is not very welcoming for non smokers. Go there only if you want to party all night and appreciate red light district atmospheres.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Geißler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: great people, got abetter room then booked

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and relaxed staff. Computer with free internet available.

Disliked: No problems with the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet. Smoking in the lobby.

Disliked: No complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean. spacious rooms. near red light district. relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: not very modern

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amy Farnworth

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of this hostel was totally different to any hostel I've stayed in before. This is not to say it wasn't a good atmosphere because it was. The staff were laid back and friendly and would join in your conversations when sat in the common room at reception. The location was perfect and the fact that the hostel used to be a working brothel gave it a special 'Reeperbahn' authenticity! Thanks to all the staff!

Disliked: I would've liked this hostel even more if the bar had stayed open later than 8pm and if there had been a communal kitchen. Apart from that, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Kristiansen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Great novelty and character of the building and it's history. Staff there were amazing.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Diana wilson

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and had plenty of tips for what to do in the area.

Disliked: Although basic cleanliness was fine some parts of the hostel could do with a little spruce up. Although we had no problems during our stay, the door locks didn't always feel very secure.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Simon Buckley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Location was ok (you have to use the metro to get to everything, which i didnt bother paying for because you dont get checked), Staff were very kind and helpful when i wanted to stay an extra night and they were fully booked, they gave me a single room at a good price :D

Disliked: Well its in a bad neighborhood but that is were everything happens (bars, clubs etc), so good as well. It was not the cleanest place i have stayed in, dirt is pretty much everywere. The beds are really noisy! If you cough or move a finger the bed shakes and creaks. Please not YOUR valuables are NOT safe! They have lockers but the bed and the locker you are assigned dont match up! I walked in the room and everyone was there but when i tried my locker they said they were already using it, so i tried every single locker and i could open everyone of them! Luckily we joked about it and said we wont steal or anything but just think what could happen if someone does steal stuff! GO SOMEWERE ELSE if you can...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big common room including a bar, perfect for meeting other travellers. hostel located in hamburg's amusement and party district- couldn't be better

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Hughes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the best part of the Kastanien hotel. They have just so much time for you to give you loads of really good advice about things to do. It's a nice little hostel. It's a bit quiet, but that's quite nice sometimes. Besides, you're located right next to the Reeperbahn which is the Hamburg party district, so there's party nearby.

Disliked: Nothing really. It could do with having some lockers in the rooms and a baggage room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: one of the ladies really went all out to help me book transport and i am very grateful to her, the staff were very friendly.. the hostel is decorated in an interesting way and great for alternative people - if ur not into that then this is not the place for u..

Disliked: even though the area is great in the sense that its easy to get to, there were way too many dodgy characters roaming around and i didnt feel safe walking alone there.. this is pretty much the red light district of hamburg..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the location is realy nice

Disliked: In the evening the bat was closed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011

Liked: The staffs are kind, helpful, and friendly. Very nice!

Disliked: Few facilities provided.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Sarah Moldrich

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011

Liked: It was decorated nicely - trippy wallpaper.

Disliked: It smelt of smoke. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The shower was freezing. It was expensive - 25euros is a bit much for a bunk bed!