We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of United Hostel Frankfurt City Center

Hostel | Kaiserstr. 52, Frankfurt, Germany 60329

80.1% Overall Rating

166 out of 199 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

"It is in a brilliant location, right beside the main train station. The staff are very friendly, the rooms were a good nice and a very comfy sleep."

Read all United Hostel Frankfurt City Center reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please find the dates and policies below for cancellations. Non-fair dates: 1 day prior to arrival, after which the first night will be charged as No-Show Fair dates and special dates: 12 weeks prior to arrival, after which the entire stay will be charged as No-Show Following fair dates. To confirm your reservation for the following periods, we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. >> 29.08.2014 to 02.09.2014 >> 15.09.2014 to 19.09.2014 >> 07.10.2014 to 11.10.2014 >> 01.12.2014 to 04.12.2014 and 31.12.2014 Please note: Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards, EC Karten, Maestro Check in from 14.00 Check out before 12.00 Breakfast not included Taxes included Please find the dates and policies below for cancellations. Non-fair dates: 1 day prior to arrival, after which the first night will be charged as No-Show Fair dates and special dates: Fair Dates / Special Dates 2015: 13.01.2015 to 16.01.2015 29.01.2015 to 02.02.2015 12.02.2015 to 17.02.2015 09.03.2015 to 13.03.2015 13.04.2015 to 17.04.2015 03.05.2015 to 06.05.2015 18.05.2015 to 21.05.2015 05.06.2015 to 07.06.2015 14.06.2015 to 18.06.2015 27.08.2015 to 02.09.2015 14.09.2015 to 26.09.2015 13.10.2015 to 17.10.2015 23.11.2015 to 26.11.2015 and 31.12.2015 • To confirm your reservation for the following periods, we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of Reservation, which is not refundable. • A free of charge cancellation is only possible 12 weeks prior to arrival. Later Cancellations or No-Shows will be charged with 100% of the total amount. *****United Hostel Policies******** Cancellations will be accepted free of charge until 24 hours prior to arrival (local time) Cancellations during special dates: Special Dates Cancellations will be charged with 100% of the total stay. 09.03.-13.03.2015, 27.03-29.03.2015, 13.04-17.04.2015, 03.05.-06.05.2015, 18.05-21.05.2015, 05.06.-07.06.2015, 14.06-18.06.2014,27.08.-02.09.2015, 14.09.-26.09.2015, 13.10.-17.10.2015, 23.11.-26.11.2015,31.12.2015 No Shows: In case of no show, the first night will be charged. No Shows during special dates are charged with 100% of the total stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Ramada Hotel Frankfurt City Center
32.64 USD

Hotel 4 star 82.1% 15 reviews
Hotel Elbe
21.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.2% 235 reviews
Comfort Hotel Frankfurt City Center
30.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 28 reviews
Angel Hotel
44.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Union
34.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
City Hotel West
30.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.4% 50 reviews
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
19.91 USD

Hostel 87.1% 963 reviews
Frankfurt Hostel
19.91 USD

Hostel 78.9% 2209 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

166 out of 199 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'United Hostel Frankfurt City Center'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 196 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a brilliant location, right beside the main train station. The staff are very friendly, the rooms were a good nice and a very comfy sleep.

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station Nice rooms

Disliked: It was a bit too loud with noise coming from the courtyard / smoking area until very late

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachit Bhardwaj

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Rachit would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a lot better than the ratings suggest. It was very much like a hotel, with a separate information desk just to help you with getting around, sightseeing, and finding good places to eat and go out. The bar wasn't expensive, and the location of the hostel was very good for the price.

Disliked: Rachit left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location - super close to the main train station and right near great shops and restaurants. Very clean and quiet. Loved the free coffee!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015

Liked: Some of the staff were really friendly. Also security wasn't bad, lots of swipe through doors and a big locker in the room.

Disliked: I was poorly when I was in Frankfurt so spent most of my time in the hostel/didn't really like Frankfurt itself so this may affect my view of the hostel. But it was the most dusty place I've ever stayed in my life. It wasn't cleaned properly at all and the didn't wash the bedding, I witnessed this as I was in bed most of the time. There was also no toilet in the rooms!!! So you had to walk quite far down the hall to get to one which isn't great in the middle of the night. There was a shower in the rooms but I think personally a toilet is more important. Also the WiFi was bad, and they advertised a kitchen, but it was just a kettle and a microwave. I bought food to cook so it was annoying to find there was no hob or pots and pans. I didn't realise also that the hostel was in the middle of the red light district and so I didn't feel very safe in the few times I did go out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds

Disliked: The lights in parts of the hostel (United diner & near lift) are very glarey and give the hostel a harsh/sterile feel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Overall most of the staff were lovely and were patient with my sort of OK German.

Disliked: One of the staff members was impolite. The wifi is basic and not too fast. OK for email and light browsing but not much more.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 April 2015

Liked: I liked the order, the clean and well furnished environment. I also liked a lot the location, two steps from main train station and city center.

Disliked: The receptionist were not very patient in explaining eventual problems. There was not sufficient furniture for self kitchen area. The rooms were not too large.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

patchaporn sriklai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 patchaporn would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff nice place easy to go to hostel from hbf. near hostel has alot of food or beverage .security is great ,one card to open every room ( door to dome,kitchen,toilet,shower room ,room etc.) / เดินทางสะดวกจากสถานีรถไฟหลัก ตรงดิ่งผ่านถนนแล้วตรงมาเรื่อยๆ บล๊อกที่2 โฮสเทลซ้ายมือ พนักงานทำงานเร็ว เป็นมิตร ห้องสะอาด มีอ่างล้างหน้าให้ อยู่ในย่านของกินเยอะ เดินไป โรเมอร์ใกล้ๆ ความปลอดภัยสูง ก่อนเข้าหอก็ต้องรูดการ์ด ถึงชั้นตัวเองต้องรูดการ์ด เจ้าห้องรูดการ์ด ครัวรูดการ์ด ห้องน้ำ ห้องอาบน้ำก็ต้องรูดการ์ด ปล.ข้างโฮสเทลมีร้าน 18+ ค่ะ แต่ติดๆกันจะเป็นแมคโดนัลกับร้านอาหารเอเชีย

Disliked: toilet smell bad / ห้องน้ำมีสองห้องต่อชั้นและกลิ่นค่อนข้างฉุน

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Red light district and loud doors

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2014

Liked: The location is fairly good despite it's in the red light district

Disliked: Located in the red light district… a strip club is just 2 shops next to the hostel, and this hostel does not really look like a hostel from the outside, there's no door at the entrance but colored led-ligts all over the place and a night club in it actually. Staff will help you when you are in need but I didn't feel them very friendly as in other hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Killock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. Everything was clean, amazing location, great staff, nicely kept building and plenty of bathrooms. Common room and kitchen were adequate.

Disliked: Kitchen could be a bit better equipped... but overall I enjoyed staying here

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephanie Staples

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for a quick night's stay

Disliked: Bathrooms were alright, but not the best

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good service, friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YongJoo Moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 YongJoo would recommend this property

Liked: it was the one of the best Hostel I stayed. Every staffs were so nice and room was always clean! I will stay there if I went Frankfurt more times! I very appreciate for making good remember in Frankfurt!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated some years back

Disliked: Staff or the other roommates were not very willing to help another person in a emergency situation at night. The hostel area was pretty noisy also at the night due to the location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabrina Conway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 August 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the style of the hostel, was very safe and secure, good common area space with pool table and huge smart TV and lots of board games etc!

Disliked: my only issue was that the bathroom floor didn't have any mats so often the bathrooms were quite slippy and gross after a couple of people have had showers. There is no air conditioning either and so at this time of year was very hot in the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and clean, and I felt very safe and secure in it. The staff could have been a little more forthcoming about where facilities were in the building and what to do I'm Frankfurt, but they answered every request I came up with. The dorms are really well set up (lockers right beside the bed), with lots of privacy measures in place so you can sleep really well (major bonus for those of us recovering from jet lag).

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty pathetic. No stove or oven, only two microwaves and a kettle for cooking, and not much room in the fridge (plus someone stole my cereal!). I did find it hard to meet people, everyone was kind of doing their own thing (fine, but sucks if you're looking for new friends).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bróna Haughey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Bróna would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely and clean and had really good facilities. Rooms were comfortable and showers etc were good. The common room was also very useful as was the kitchen.

Disliked: Too warm! There was no air conditioning, it was very hard to sleep at night with the heat with the windows open. Other than that excellent,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rachel Schmied

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: location, kitchen

Disliked: no noise control - they let some drunk d-bags from the hostel shout outside the window (which doesn't close) until 4am and too many locks - you need to use your keycard three times just to get from outside to your room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSIU-LING LIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 HSIU-LING would recommend this property

Liked: It's really quiet convenient to find it. And no problem on security.

Disliked: I think the shower room is no privacy for me. It's a open area for men and womem to use and without lock on each shower place. When I was taking a show, was worried and can't really enjoyed it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: It was clean and new

Disliked: There is no privacy in the showers. Each is a TINY cubicle where your elbows are always touching the sides with no shelves to put your soaps or clothes. The walls to the cubicles are clear with only a plastic skyline sticker that covers the middle, leaving your legs and shoulder up exposed. This was bad for me because I'm tall and it wasn't really hiding much. Then because you have to hero your soaps on the floor when you bend down to pick them up people can see you from the bottom section of clear glass. ALSO the kitchen is so unequipped. No stove or oven. Had to cook only in the microwave but there was no Tupperware or knows for cutting, only buttering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere and good value for money

Disliked: nothing to note

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it. Very very clean (as least the common areas, the bedrooms and shower rooms were ok but not always perfect). Decoration is OK, although a bit tacky (lots of neons and a jazzy vibe). Everything looks new and in very good gondition. Staff is nice and friendly. Location is really nice, very close to the central station and to all the sights in the center. The city is very walkable and all places are easy to get to, you shouldn't need to use public transportation. The hostel is around the corner from the red light district and the station area is not the nicest but I didn't find it problematic at all, there's always a crowd on the street and many cheap and/or nice restaurants (including McDonalds next door). It feels really secure, the main entrance is always guarded and you need to use a magnetic key to access all rooms. The kitchen is quite ok (no stove though) and the dining area is cosy and confortable. Dorm rooms are really simple, only the bunk beds and the (spacious) lockers, not even a chair or a table.

Disliked: Biggest negative thing is that the free internet is reallyyyy slow. It is difficult to have a quiet sleep night in a big dorm room; not only people come and go during the night not caring about disturbing others but also the room doors are quite noisy. It was abnormally hot during my stay and it was difficult to sleep at night, given that the beddings were quite warm and the room was too hot too. Not too cheap but competitive in the city's context.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Doherty-Penzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a great first stay on my trip. The staff were very friendly and helped me find the cheapest way to get to Berlin and they even booked it with me. Rooms were nice and clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Great location just near the main train station so it was easy to find.

Disliked: There wasn't to much I didn't dislike. Except you had to buy a towel you couldn't just rent one. The main street is also loud at night but that didn't bother me to much