We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of United Hostel Frankfurt City Center

Hostel | Kaiserstr. 52, Frankfurt, Germany 60329

85.6% Overall Rating

156 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

John Killock thinks…

"This was a great hostel. Everything was clean, amazing location, great staff, nicely kept building and plenty of bathrooms. Common room and kitchen were adequate."

Read all United Hostel Frankfurt City Center reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please find the dates and policies below for cancellations. Non-fair dates: 1 day prior to arrival, after which the first night will be charged as No-Show Fair dates and special dates: 12 weeks prior to arrival, after which the entire stay will be charged as No-Show Following fair dates. To confirm your reservation for the following periods, we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. >> 29.08.2014 to 02.09.2014 >> 15.09.2014 to 19.09.2014 >> 07.10.2014 to 11.10.2014 >> 01.12.2014 to 04.12.2014 and 31.12.2014 Please note: Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards, EC Karten, Maestro Check in from 14.00 Check out before 12.00 Breakfast not included Taxes included Please find the dates and policies below for cancellations. Non-fair dates: 1 day prior to arrival, after which the first night will be charged as No-Show Fair dates and special dates: Fair Dates/ Special Dates 2015: 13.01.2015 to 16.01.2015 29.01.2015 to 02.02.2015 12.02.2015 to 17.02.2015 09.03.2015 to 13.03.2015 13.04.2015 to 17.04.2015 03.05.2015 to 06.05.2015 18.05.2015 to 21.05.2015 14.06.2015 to 18.06.2015 27.08.2015 to 02.09.2015 14.09.2015 to 26.09.2015 13.10.2015 to 17.10.2015 23.11.2015 to 26.11.2015 and 31.12.2015

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Ramada Hotel Frankfurt City Center
44.96 USD

Hotel 4 star 83.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Elbe
25.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.1% 233 reviews
Comfort Hotel Frankfurt City Center
38.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 27 reviews
Angel Hotel
51.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Union
38.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
City Hotel West
35.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.4% 50 reviews
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
23.12 USD

Hostel 88.2% 939 reviews
Frankfurt Hostel
23.12 USD

Hostel 88.8% 2167 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

156 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'United Hostel Frankfurt City Center'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Killock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. Everything was clean, amazing location, great staff, nicely kept building and plenty of bathrooms. Common room and kitchen were adequate.

Disliked: Kitchen could be a bit better equipped... but overall I enjoyed staying here

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephanie Staples

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for a quick night's stay

Disliked: Bathrooms were alright, but not the best

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good service, friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YongJoo Moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 YongJoo would recommend this property

Liked: it was the one of the best Hostel I stayed. Every staffs were so nice and room was always clean! I will stay there if I went Frankfurt more times! I very appreciate for making good remember in Frankfurt!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated some years back

Disliked: Staff or the other roommates were not very willing to help another person in a emergency situation at night. The hostel area was pretty noisy also at the night due to the location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabrina Conway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 August 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the style of the hostel, was very safe and secure, good common area space with pool table and huge smart TV and lots of board games etc!

Disliked: my only issue was that the bathroom floor didn't have any mats so often the bathrooms were quite slippy and gross after a couple of people have had showers. There is no air conditioning either and so at this time of year was very hot in the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and clean, and I felt very safe and secure in it. The staff could have been a little more forthcoming about where facilities were in the building and what to do I'm Frankfurt, but they answered every request I came up with. The dorms are really well set up (lockers right beside the bed), with lots of privacy measures in place so you can sleep really well (major bonus for those of us recovering from jet lag).

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty pathetic. No stove or oven, only two microwaves and a kettle for cooking, and not much room in the fridge (plus someone stole my cereal!). I did find it hard to meet people, everyone was kind of doing their own thing (fine, but sucks if you're looking for new friends).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bróna Haughey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Bróna would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely and clean and had really good facilities. Rooms were comfortable and showers etc were good. The common room was also very useful as was the kitchen.

Disliked: Too warm! There was no air conditioning, it was very hard to sleep at night with the heat with the windows open. Other than that excellent,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rachel Schmied

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: location, kitchen

Disliked: no noise control - they let some drunk d-bags from the hostel shout outside the window (which doesn't close) until 4am and too many locks - you need to use your keycard three times just to get from outside to your room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSIU-LING LIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 HSIU-LING would recommend this property

Liked: It's really quiet convenient to find it. And no problem on security.

Disliked: I think the shower room is no privacy for me. It's a open area for men and womem to use and without lock on each shower place. When I was taking a show, was worried and can't really enjoyed it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: It was clean and new

Disliked: There is no privacy in the showers. Each is a TINY cubicle where your elbows are always touching the sides with no shelves to put your soaps or clothes. The walls to the cubicles are clear with only a plastic skyline sticker that covers the middle, leaving your legs and shoulder up exposed. This was bad for me because I'm tall and it wasn't really hiding much. Then because you have to hero your soaps on the floor when you bend down to pick them up people can see you from the bottom section of clear glass. ALSO the kitchen is so unequipped. No stove or oven. Had to cook only in the microwave but there was no Tupperware or knows for cutting, only buttering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere and good value for money

Disliked: nothing to note

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it. Very very clean (as least the common areas, the bedrooms and shower rooms were ok but not always perfect). Decoration is OK, although a bit tacky (lots of neons and a jazzy vibe). Everything looks new and in very good gondition. Staff is nice and friendly. Location is really nice, very close to the central station and to all the sights in the center. The city is very walkable and all places are easy to get to, you shouldn't need to use public transportation. The hostel is around the corner from the red light district and the station area is not the nicest but I didn't find it problematic at all, there's always a crowd on the street and many cheap and/or nice restaurants (including McDonalds next door). It feels really secure, the main entrance is always guarded and you need to use a magnetic key to access all rooms. The kitchen is quite ok (no stove though) and the dining area is cosy and confortable. Dorm rooms are really simple, only the bunk beds and the (spacious) lockers, not even a chair or a table.

Disliked: Biggest negative thing is that the free internet is reallyyyy slow. It is difficult to have a quiet sleep night in a big dorm room; not only people come and go during the night not caring about disturbing others but also the room doors are quite noisy. It was abnormally hot during my stay and it was difficult to sleep at night, given that the beddings were quite warm and the room was too hot too. Not too cheap but competitive in the city's context.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Doherty-Penzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a great first stay on my trip. The staff were very friendly and helped me find the cheapest way to get to Berlin and they even booked it with me. Rooms were nice and clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Great location just near the main train station so it was easy to find.

Disliked: There wasn't to much I didn't dislike. Except you had to buy a towel you couldn't just rent one. The main street is also loud at night but that didn't bother me to much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Corrales Mora

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! People is helful! Many places to eat! Very clean and good for a Hostel!

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: having a bar made it easy to meet other people. was clean, fun, had a great time. location was good also

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014

Liked: Printing is free.

Disliked: Staff are creepy, you have to show your key every time you enter and to open any door. Key card deposit is 5 euros, you need to deposit 20 euros to use plugs to charge things. No air conditioning. Also there is nothing to do in Frankfurt so don't bother going.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the access cards for every entrance > was quite safe.

Disliked: The kitchen should have a kettle and an electric stove. The cases should have a padlock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient. Next to the main train station.Easy to find for first timers. Good value for money. In the city center.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Hope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location close to train station, nice decor, big lockers, clean, breakfast is the usual for €4.50, not bad!

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Milos Tabic

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very conveniently located close to the main train station, few U-Bahn stops away from both Zeil and Messe. The area has grocery and cosmetic stores, coffee shops, several nice and inexpensive restaurants and of course a lot of adult entertainment:). Staff is friendly, hepfdul and the hostel is fairly well maintained. There are many bathrooms and showers and I never had to wait to use one. Storage boxes are enormous but make sure you bring your own lock! I visited one lounge which was very spacious and had the biggest TV I've ever seen.

Disliked: The hostel itself is clean, but 14 people sleeping in one room is simply not hygienic, so the room was quite stinky. It was loud during the night, because someone is always coming in and out, banging doors, snoring, unlocking their storage boxes, brushing teeth, using the shower. You have to use ear plugs and face mask if you want to get enough sleep. You have to deposit 20e to use electricity and light in your bed. So charging devices will be an issue. I suggest you make the deposit, because it is fully refunded after you check out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Piia Ronkainen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Piia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Two blocks from trainstation and short stroll from pretty much everywhere you want to go (museums, bars, shopping, old town...) Room was big and very clean. Nice and soft bedlinen provided, no towels. Locker next to bed is big enough to fit backbag and lot's of other stuff. Very professional and friendly reception and staff. Keycard system works well and it gives secure feeling.

Disliked: The most expensive hostel I've ever been and I have travelled pretty much non-stop for 5 years! Also reading light was greatly missed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the city centre, the ambient and good athmosphere. Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Most of the staff seemed to be bored, slow and uninterested but friendly. When we asked for help we didn't get all the info which resulted in us wandering around looking for facilities. Electrical plugs in rooms only work if you get a small lamp from the reception which you cannot turn off. Breakfast ran out towards the end.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelly McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great for a place to get to know other travellers. Staff were great, and had lots of delicious wine to share! Despite having a crazy person in my room hiding behind the curtain whispering about God (obviously not the hostels fault) I still slept well in a comfy bed.

Disliked: None what so ever.