HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Hostel | Moselstraße 40, Frankfurt, Germany 60329

89.0% Overall Rating

907 out of 942 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2014)

"I like the cleanliness and the staff friendliness. Would stay in this hostel next time when am back in town. Thanks for making the environment friendly and cosy."

Read all Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

please note: our terms and conditions apply. We are a Backpacker Hostel, not a group travel or business client budget Hotel. Thats why you can book maximum 6 persons or not longer than 7 nights with one booking. We will not honour Group bookings split into smaller chunks to get around that, and we reserve the right not to honour bookings of age groups younger than 18 and older than 45 years.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Clarion-Collection Hotel Frankfurt
47.44 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 16 reviews
City Hotel West
35.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.4% 50 reviews
Angel Hotel
50.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Rossija
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 28 reviews
Smart Stay Frankfurt Station
18.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Frankfurt Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 87.0% 2168 reviews
Hotel Elbe
25.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.1% 233 reviews
Hotel Union
49.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

907 out of 942 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 734 of 881 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel to meet new people and just to relax

Disliked: Few creepy people around the front because it is right in the middle of the red light district

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness and the staff friendliness. Would stay in this hostel next time when am back in town. Thanks for making the environment friendly and cosy.

Disliked: I would prefer to have more unisex dorms rather than mixed. I do understand their business constraints thus if they can improve on this it would be great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are events every night, there is always the opportunity to be social and meet new people. Would definitely recommend it for people who are travelling alone. the facilities are great, however there is only one washer and one dryer

Disliked: The area is a little rough but perfectly safe especially if you make sure to take the right precautions, it's only a 2 minute walk into a mor relaxed area

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 駅から近い。

Disliked: 壁が薄いのか、部屋の外から話し声が結構な音量で聞こえてくる。

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. Nothing amazing.

Disliked: The location is quite bad as it is on a red light district and it is full of homeless people/druggies so it is pretty loud. On a friday night there was music going on till 8AM so if you're a light sleeper it might be difficult to get to sleep (however I was in a bedroom on the front side so it might be better in other places).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and open Lobby, nice staff...

Disliked: Bathroom in Doubleroom could be cleaner but it was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. very close to the main train station. good security. you need to show them your guest card to be let up the rooms. great breakfast that is available until 1130 or midday. friendly staff. this place is very clean. apparently the toilets are cleaned 3 times a day. they have great showers too. big lockers in rooms. nice mattress too . 24 hour reception is good too. a small kitchen is quite handy. pool table. nice bar area. dvds you can rent. good wifi in rooms. free pancakes sometimes at night. pay 1 or 2 euros for barbecues. pub crawl once a week. it is in the red light area, but it feels quite safe, they don't normally bother you. this place is great value for money.

Disliked: I was on level 5 and the lift was broken. to make it worse, my swipe card stopped working a few times when I was there, it was a long way down and long way up by stairs. one female staff there was not too friendly.no age restriction here. one weird old guy in my room was trying to shut all the windows in this summer heat, because he was afraid to catch a cold. doing morning exercise in the morning in his bed to keep his body going while waking everybody up. and was generally not very considerate to other people. if you keep the windows open, it can be quite noisy on weekends

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric van Sluys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best. Excellent atmosphere, fantastic location, and great staff. There's something going on every night, but if that isn't your style you won't be bothered as the rooms are very quiet. Be sure to stick around for the pub crawl on Thursdays!

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: Nice bar/common area and the bedrooms and everything really was clean. Met some great people on the night walking tour and at the bar and the bbq was very nice and also another opportunity to meet and chat to people. Nice lounge area downstairs with seats, pool table, tv/dvd's etc. But locker cages for your bags during the day which was really handy.

Disliked: It is not in the best location, right within the Red Light District, so if your are approaching it alone with a big back-pack etc, you might feel a little exposed, although nothing dodgy happened with me and I heard of nothing else, so it's really not too bad. Apart from that, the hostel is really near the train station still fairly central.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sue Shadoff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: Although the hostel is in the red light district, inside you felt safe, and the bar area had a relaxed atmosphere in which to meet other travellers. The large storage lockers were great!

Disliked: Due to the hot weather and lack of air conditioning, the rooms were quite warm, and the bathrooms were humid and musty. I also didn't like that there were two showers side by side in a room offering very little privacy.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victoria Hands

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private room that was very nice, more like a boutique hotel room.

Disliked: Very poor check in and check out, with no smile or warmth from receptionists. You check in at the bar, and perhaps because I arrived at 10pm it seemed very chaotic, with music blaring and a long wait.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jean-Sébastien Laliberté

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2014 Jean-Sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: Très propre, très sécuritaire, confortable, pas bruyant. Bon déjeuner, situé près de la gare. Très belle auberge.

Disliked: Au coeur du Red Light (tel que mentionné), beaucoup de sollicitation tard le soir dans la rue

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Good free breakfast. They have ll you need in a hostel.

Disliked: Location is not so good. Red light district...but not as bad as one would think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good combination of location, price and facilities. Breakfast was ok, not exceptional but the fact that they even include breakfast is exceptional for a backpacker hostel (they do not have a kitchen accessible for guests). Internet worked well even from my bed. Staff was friendly and well-trained. I noticed that they were constantly cleaning/disinfecting the place to stay ahead of any problems. I had a visibly challenged gentleman sharing our 6 bed room so I observed how a staff person accompanied this guest from check-in to our room and gave him an orientation to the entire facility.

Disliked: This is clearly a youth-oriented facility. Except for the visibly challenged gentleman mentioned above and myself, I did not see anyone (guest or staff) who appeared to be older than 30-35. That's not a complaint just an observation, since it determines the embiance of the place. I would stay there again when I am in FRA for the same purpose (easy access to a morning flight)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the train station, which was extremely convenient for someone who just needed a place to stay for the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliane Bendig

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2014 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: location, organized, clean, amazing breakfast buffet which was hotel-like, nice bar area with reasonably priced drinks, newly refurbished room, toilet and showers

Disliked: nothing! I think this was the most comfortable hostel I ever stayed in!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moungjin Kang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Moungjin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean. Very helpful staff. What more can I say

Disliked: Nothing much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximiliano Licciardi

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Maximiliano would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: It is situated in the red light district

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Molina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and kind staff

Disliked: sometimes internet on and off

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Baylis

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: efficient and smart

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GILLIAN CARKEEK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 GILLIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, it coul not have been better. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. They offer more that is advertised. Pity there isn't a category for 'excellent' in this survey because they are way up there.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khalipah Mastura Abd Rahim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Khalipah Mastura would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: Non

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The uniqueness of it

Disliked: Only the red light but I didn't dislike it jus isn't the best feature.