HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Hostel | Moselstraße 40, Frankfurt, Germany 60329

92.8% Overall Rating

892 out of 926 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

"Good combination of location, price and facilities. Breakfast was ok, not exceptional but the fact that they even include breakfast is exceptional for a backpacker hostel (they do not have a kitchen accessible for…"

Read all Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

please note: our terms and conditions apply. We are a Backpacker Hostel, not a group travel or business client budget Hotel. Thats why you can book maximum 6 persons or not longer than 7 nights with one booking. We will not honour Group bookings split into smaller chunks to get around that, and we reserve the right not to honour bookings of age groups younger than 18 and older than 45 years.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Clarion-Collection Hotel Frankfurt
50.72 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 16 reviews
City Hotel West
37.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.4% 50 reviews
Angel Hotel
47.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Rossija
32.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 28 reviews
Frankfurt Hostel
27.05 USD

Hostel 83.2% 2154 reviews
Hotel Elbe
25.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.1% 232 reviews
Hotel Union
40.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Hotel Frankfurt City Center
40.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

892 out of 926 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 722 of 867 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Good free breakfast. They have ll you need in a hostel.

Disliked: Location is not so good. Red light district...but not as bad as one would think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good combination of location, price and facilities. Breakfast was ok, not exceptional but the fact that they even include breakfast is exceptional for a backpacker hostel (they do not have a kitchen accessible for guests). Internet worked well even from my bed. Staff was friendly and well-trained. I noticed that they were constantly cleaning/disinfecting the place to stay ahead of any problems. I had a visibly challenged gentleman sharing our 6 bed room so I observed how a staff person accompanied this guest from check-in to our room and gave him an orientation to the entire facility.

Disliked: This is clearly a youth-oriented facility. Except for the visibly challenged gentleman mentioned above and myself, I did not see anyone (guest or staff) who appeared to be older than 30-35. That's not a complaint just an observation, since it determines the embiance of the place. I would stay there again when I am in FRA for the same purpose (easy access to a morning flight)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the train station, which was extremely convenient for someone who just needed a place to stay for the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliane Bendig

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2014 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: location, organized, clean, amazing breakfast buffet which was hotel-like, nice bar area with reasonably priced drinks, newly refurbished room, toilet and showers

Disliked: nothing! I think this was the most comfortable hostel I ever stayed in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moungjin Kang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Moungjin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean. Very helpful staff. What more can I say

Disliked: Nothing much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximiliano Licciardi

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Maximiliano would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: It is situated in the red light district

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Molina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and kind staff

Disliked: sometimes internet on and off

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Baylis

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: efficient and smart

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GILLIAN CARKEEK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 GILLIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, it coul not have been better. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. They offer more that is advertised. Pity there isn't a category for 'excellent' in this survey because they are way up there.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khalipah Mastura Abd Rahim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Khalipah Mastura would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: Non

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The uniqueness of it

Disliked: Only the red light but I didn't dislike it jus isn't the best feature.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice hostel, really close to the train station. It's really secure (it needs to be considering it's in the middle of the red district) and clean. There's about 8 rooms per floor and 6 floors. The shared bathroom and kitchen were clean (2 bathroom, 1 shower for guys and the same for girls). The rooms are big enough, with big personnal lockers under the beds (on wheels), big enough to fit a big traveling backpack and a second small one. There's WIFI on all the floors, a pool table and babyfoot table. There's an elevator so you don't have to walk up all the time. The hostel is really cheap during the weekends as any other place in Frankfurt from what I got. Prices go up during the week and festivals.

Disliked: The hostel is in the red district, which means tons of casino, strip-clubs where each doorman ask you to get in, a few junkies at all time of day, etc. It's really not that bad, but you don't stick around too long when you get out of the hostel. The red district is only 1-2 blocks by 2-3 blocks. The terrasse is in a parking lot at the back of the building, it's not that nice and lots of people use it to smoke, non-smokers won't like it. The WIFI stopped working on our floor the first night I got there and was never repaired. It was working fine in the looby/dining room/bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel! Clean and safe and located very conveniently right by the main station (if a little awkwardly between some strip clubs). Heaps of activities, pool table, movie area, free breakfast, bar, best showers i've ever experienced in a hostel. Highly recommended!

Disliked: The only thing i can honestly say was not awesome was that i had a half-bad mojito in the bar. The red light district thing is probably a bit weird for some people but it's seriously not that bad. This hostel rules.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location near train and bus stations, clean, friendly, good facilities, tasteful fit out, excellent and free breakfast, secure storage for bags both in the bedrooms and in the basement storage area, evening social activities and very pleasant bar/cafe, very reasonable price.

Disliked: I really can't think of anything negative to say

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Na

Disliked: Na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean and staff was super friendly. Beds we comfy huge secure lockers you could lock with your locks no curfew and wonderful breakfast!

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathis Koschel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 April 2014 Mathis would recommend this property

Liked: though in a not so nice area, the hostel is very nice. I totally recommend.

Disliked: Mathis left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff available 24/7 and the cleanliness of the bathrooms

Disliked: Room was slightly too cold

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is really centrally located close to the main railway station. The staff is friendly and helpful and the facilities are really nice.

Disliked: The only minus point would be that the are was quite noisy especially during the night when we stayed there as our window was facing to the street so it was a bit difficult to sleep well but that might have been just that night and rooms with courtyard facing windows certainly would not have this issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with directions.

Disliked: Location si a litro unsafe, speciallly in the evenings.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only a hostel, so you can't expect very much. It's cheap an near to the central station, that's it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kelly lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel made my visit to frankfurt a good one. The facilities are good. Staff are great, food is nice. Great stay, thanks!!

Disliked: kelly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perect. Nice staff, Clean shower room and Good breakfast. Especially, security is good, so don't worry about the safety. :)

Disliked: There is only one women's dormitory room. It's a little bit competition to book that room.