We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Hostel | Moselstraße 40, Frankfurt, Germany 60329

85.7% Overall Rating

922 out of 959 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2015)

Jay Malone thinks…

"Very close to main station, clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommended."

Read all Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

please note: our terms and conditions apply. We are a Backpacker Hostel, not a group travel or business client budget Hotel. Thats why you can book maximum 6 persons or not longer than 7 nights with one booking. We will not honour Group bookings split into smaller chunks to get around that, and we reserve the right not to honour bookings of age groups younger than 18 and older than 45 years.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Clarion-Collection Hotel Frankfurt
32.47 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 16 reviews
City Hotel West
30.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.4% 50 reviews
Angel Hotel
44.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Rossija
28.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.7% 29 reviews
Smart Stay Frankfurt Station
16.40 USD

Hostel 75.8% 13 reviews
Frankfurt Hostel
18.71 USD

Hostel 85.8% 2197 reviews
Hotel Elbe
20.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.4% 234 reviews
Hotel Union
28.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

922 out of 959 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 743 of 899 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Malone

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 May 2015 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to main station, clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Jay left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carissa Pickering

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Carissa would recommend this property

Liked: I actually liked everything about this property. The location, the staff, the cheap dinners, the breakfast was the best we have had in Europe so far, the rooms and facilities.

Disliked: The only bad thing I could even think of was just wishing the toilet door stayed open rather than swinging back shut when I was going in and out. That's it!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

13 April 2015

Liked: Staff was nice and helpful, room was clean.

Disliked: We had a room facing the street side, and did not get a lot of sleep because one of the bars down the street played extremely loud music all night long, up until maybe 9 in the morning, and there was a pretty loud crowd on the street. This was all very audible in the room, even with the windows closed. Admittedly, I did not use the ear plug package that the staff placed in the room, which might make it better. Still, I've never slept in a hostel in such a noisy location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIKA ESSER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 DANIKA would recommend this property

Liked: 5 Elements is everything you would want in a hostal. I had a overall Excellent experience. The staff were all very helpful- full of information- I really recommend the walking tour by foot. The rooms were very spacious, clean bathrooms- although there was only two showers in each floor I never had to wait- and the breakfest for 4.50€ was worth it- and never had any problems with wifi. If I return to Frankfurt I would for sure stay here again! :-)

Disliked: The location is very convenient close to the HBF however located in the red light district. It is noted in there profile- but as a young woman be careful wandering the streets @ night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar was great Security great Most staff friendly Pool table and fooseball Atmosphere was great Washing machine and dryer available on site

Disliked: The guest kitchen wasn't super well equipped, not many pots/pans, very small area, but clean and there was one :) The area isn't fantastic but it's not a long walk from the river and city center/market, very close to train station! It wasn't a strictly youth hostel, there was a child and some older guests around, kinda weird but didn't bother me, just wasn't sure what to think of a 3 year old running around the common areas...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ivan Titov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Small rooms and a big lobby, divided toilets add showers, free walking tour

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern. Free coffee amd breakfast was great

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diego Antunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay, but a little boring.

Disliked: Very calm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely private room which was big, clean and quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great for a hostel. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel to meet new people and just to relax

Disliked: Few creepy people around the front because it is right in the middle of the red light district

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness and the staff friendliness. Would stay in this hostel next time when am back in town. Thanks for making the environment friendly and cosy.

Disliked: I would prefer to have more unisex dorms rather than mixed. I do understand their business constraints thus if they can improve on this it would be great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are events every night, there is always the opportunity to be social and meet new people. Would definitely recommend it for people who are travelling alone. the facilities are great, however there is only one washer and one dryer

Disliked: The area is a little rough but perfectly safe especially if you make sure to take the right precautions, it's only a 2 minute walk into a mor relaxed area

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 駅から近い。

Disliked: 壁が薄いのか、部屋の外から話し声が結構な音量で聞こえてくる。

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. Nothing amazing.

Disliked: The location is quite bad as it is on a red light district and it is full of homeless people/druggies so it is pretty loud. On a friday night there was music going on till 8AM so if you're a light sleeper it might be difficult to get to sleep (however I was in a bedroom on the front side so it might be better in other places).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and open Lobby, nice staff...

Disliked: Bathroom in Doubleroom could be cleaner but it was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. very close to the main train station. good security. you need to show them your guest card to be let up the rooms. great breakfast that is available until 1130 or midday. friendly staff. this place is very clean. apparently the toilets are cleaned 3 times a day. they have great showers too. big lockers in rooms. nice mattress too . 24 hour reception is good too. a small kitchen is quite handy. pool table. nice bar area. dvds you can rent. good wifi in rooms. free pancakes sometimes at night. pay 1 or 2 euros for barbecues. pub crawl once a week. it is in the red light area, but it feels quite safe, they don't normally bother you. this place is great value for money.

Disliked: I was on level 5 and the lift was broken. to make it worse, my swipe card stopped working a few times when I was there, it was a long way down and long way up by stairs. one female staff there was not too friendly.no age restriction here. one weird old guy in my room was trying to shut all the windows in this summer heat, because he was afraid to catch a cold. doing morning exercise in the morning in his bed to keep his body going while waking everybody up. and was generally not very considerate to other people. if you keep the windows open, it can be quite noisy on weekends

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric van Sluys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best. Excellent atmosphere, fantastic location, and great staff. There's something going on every night, but if that isn't your style you won't be bothered as the rooms are very quiet. Be sure to stick around for the pub crawl on Thursdays!

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: Nice bar/common area and the bedrooms and everything really was clean. Met some great people on the night walking tour and at the bar and the bbq was very nice and also another opportunity to meet and chat to people. Nice lounge area downstairs with seats, pool table, tv/dvd's etc. But locker cages for your bags during the day which was really handy.

Disliked: It is not in the best location, right within the Red Light District, so if your are approaching it alone with a big back-pack etc, you might feel a little exposed, although nothing dodgy happened with me and I heard of nothing else, so it's really not too bad. Apart from that, the hostel is really near the train station still fairly central.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sue Shadoff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: Although the hostel is in the red light district, inside you felt safe, and the bar area had a relaxed atmosphere in which to meet other travellers. The large storage lockers were great!

Disliked: Due to the hot weather and lack of air conditioning, the rooms were quite warm, and the bathrooms were humid and musty. I also didn't like that there were two showers side by side in a room offering very little privacy.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victoria Hands

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private room that was very nice, more like a boutique hotel room.

Disliked: Very poor check in and check out, with no smile or warmth from receptionists. You check in at the bar, and perhaps because I arrived at 10pm it seemed very chaotic, with music blaring and a long wait.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jean-Sébastien Laliberté

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2014 Jean-Sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: Très propre, très sécuritaire, confortable, pas bruyant. Bon déjeuner, situé près de la gare. Très belle auberge.

Disliked: Au coeur du Red Light (tel que mentionné), beaucoup de sollicitation tard le soir dans la rue

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Good free breakfast. They have ll you need in a hostel.

Disliked: Location is not so good. Red light district...but not as bad as one would think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good combination of location, price and facilities. Breakfast was ok, not exceptional but the fact that they even include breakfast is exceptional for a backpacker hostel (they do not have a kitchen accessible for guests). Internet worked well even from my bed. Staff was friendly and well-trained. I noticed that they were constantly cleaning/disinfecting the place to stay ahead of any problems. I had a visibly challenged gentleman sharing our 6 bed room so I observed how a staff person accompanied this guest from check-in to our room and gave him an orientation to the entire facility.

Disliked: This is clearly a youth-oriented facility. Except for the visibly challenged gentleman mentioned above and myself, I did not see anyone (guest or staff) who appeared to be older than 30-35. That's not a complaint just an observation, since it determines the embiance of the place. I would stay there again when I am in FRA for the same purpose (easy access to a morning flight)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the train station, which was extremely convenient for someone who just needed a place to stay for the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliane Bendig

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2014 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: location, organized, clean, amazing breakfast buffet which was hotel-like, nice bar area with reasonably priced drinks, newly refurbished room, toilet and showers

Disliked: nothing! I think this was the most comfortable hostel I ever stayed in!

The property's response is...