HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Erfurt hostels

Reviews of Opera Hostel

Hostel | Walkmühlstr. 13, Erfurt, Germany 99084

83.8% Overall Rating

51 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2013)

Rokneddin Azizi thinks…

"the rooms is so clean and the facilities are perfect, all and all it is one of the best Hostel which I had been there. and the behavior against the guests are politely and more warm."

Read all Opera Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91
  • Linen USD 3.45
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Erfurt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

51 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Opera Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louie Nicholson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Louie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and bicycles available at a reasonable rate.

Disliked: Louie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Goeppner

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's a wonderfull place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon PORTER

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 March 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: ales allles war ausgezeichnet adanke allen da

Disliked: nichts

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rokneddin Azizi

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 February 2013 Rokneddin would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms is so clean and the facilities are perfect, all and all it is one of the best Hostel which I had been there. and the behavior against the guests are politely and more warm.

Disliked: Just the Hostel have not elevator and it makes difficult to go upstairs with the luggages.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Norton

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

23 October 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: A clean, central and safe environment. We appreciated the lock-up boxes under each bed.

Disliked: Bit noisy - but this can be attributed to the 24-hour bottle store directly accross the road - and not to the guests staying in the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the fact that it was very clean (the sheets, the bathroom, the shower, basically everywhere), friendly stuff, comfortable and warm bed. I would recommend this hostel if you travel light.

Disliked: I didn't get any key and nowhere secure to leave my luggage (very big dimensions). The breakfast was not included, there was no elevator, so i had to carry my luggage 3 floors.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The musical character.

Disliked: Everyone can enter the hostel and the rooms without any check. No room keys at all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing significant to really like.

Disliked: nothing significant to really dislike

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice relaxed place, great kitchen!! Not really a party hostel if ur into that thing, but tis good for a nice place to chill and get some decent sleep!

Disliked: the distance from the train station! its a fair walk! also u do not get a key for ur room, there is only one key per room so it has to be left at reception etc.. so i always felt a bit iffy about leaving things in the room but it was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bjorn Wastvedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Bjorn would recommend this property

Liked: A little expensive, really. But then, you don't have much choice in Erfurt, and this is a nice place. This is a nice, clean, well-managed, easy-to-use, friendly, super-plush place. They have leather couches in little hallway alcoves. The rooms are spacious. The kitchen is FREE, well-stocked with pots and pans and SPICES, and a good place to hang out with other hostellers. Nothing to complain about. I don't know what the other reviewers are talking about when they say negative things. My two nights here were expensive but impeccable.

Disliked: See above.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new and clean, comfortable beds, large locker for each bed, many nice design ideas (house is a former opera)

Disliked: lies on a pretty busy and thus loud street (we wanted to leave our windows open) - if you like it quite you should ask for a room with windows to the backyard

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little hostel, comfortable beds, good facilities

Disliked: Quite expensive plus paying for linen for one night annoying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious, large lockers under the beds (but you need your own lock), nice common areas, fun ambiance.

Disliked: It is officially supposed to be non-smoking, but they have a couple designated smoking areas inside, so the entire building smells like smoke anyways. It was so bad in my room that we had to switch to a different one.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and new. 24 hours reception.

Disliked: They rooms have no keys to get into them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds, nice bathrooms and the kitchen was amazing. A bit hard sharing kitchen space at breakfast with those who have paid for the hostel's breakfast and making your own.

Disliked: We stayed in a 12 bed dorm and only had small lockers under the beds that were not big enough for our backpacks. My biggest problem was there was no lock on the door. So anyone in the hostel could have gone into the dorm and taken anything. So on reality we were sharing our bed with the entire hostel. If you had a smaller room you got a key for your room, but they said it was a dorm, so no key. I have been in plenty of dorms with our own key!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds

Disliked: extra payments

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniness of hostel and friendliness of staff

Disliked: no elevator ;-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can fully recommend opera hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Po King YUEN

17 February 2010 Po King would recommend this property

Liked: very nice environment

Disliked: Po King left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francesco Andrea Tava

04 September 2009 Francesco Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: This is almost the perfect hostel. New structure, very well organized, very clean. Maybe it just needs some time to acquire a stronger character, which that only some old crowdy hostels could obtain. Anyway, this is on the right way. During the weeks it is very quiet; only during weekends it would probably be more active.Raccomended.

Disliked: Francesco Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean, and you can get a full breakfast for 5€. I would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Erfurt!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Massimo Fratantonio

18 April 2009 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: The Americans guys met there and the amazing fun had together..

Disliked: Massimo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception (always someone who spoke English) and the cleanliness in the bathrooms. Also appreciated that people couldn't smoke in the dorm rooms. Very cheap internet (espeically if using Wi-fi!).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Erfurt hostels