HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jugendherberge Düsseldorf

Hostel | Düsseldorfer Str. 1 , Dusseldorf, Germany 40545

87.7% Overall Rating

24 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/10/2012)

"the hostel is located very conveniently very close to dusseldorf downtown, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is very good: value for money is just great"

Read all Jugendherberge Düsseldorf reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that the prerequisite for each guest staying in hostels connected with the German Youth Hostel Association, is the Hostelling International membership. If not obtained beforehand from your local Hostelling International headquarters (see listings at: http://www.hihostels.com/web/membership.en.htm ) then each person may easily purchase hostel guest cards with installments of 3,10 €/person/night upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dusseldorf?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dusseldorf

Hotel Villa Oberkassel
57.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Backpackers-Duesseldorf
27.14 USD

Hostel 79.9% 385 reviews
Hotel Haus Hillesheim (since 1894)
100.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews
Hotel Diana
30.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 45 reviews
A&O Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof
19.05 USD

Hostel 84.8% 196 reviews
V.I.P. HOTEL
33.32 USD

Hotel 77.1% 7 reviews
City Apart. Hotel
38.71 USD

Apartment 81.0% 84 reviews
Hotel Acon***
44.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

24 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jugendherberge Düsseldorf'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff!! Good breakfast! Great choice for youth traveller!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is located very conveniently very close to dusseldorf downtown, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is very good: value for money is just great

Disliked: the biggest problem is internet: you are only offering internet in the lobby and the connection is very poor: for 1,50 euros per hour it is very expensive as it is not a high speed band and you get a lot of cut-off

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mel Moore-Hart

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 Mel would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to just a quick train then tube and a short walk. It is across the road from the river and 10 minutes from the altstadt

Disliked: They allow minors to stay there.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yvonne Eller

Alone

Business / conference

13 May 2012

Liked: Good family atmosphere, though this might not appeal to certain types of travellers. The place is very big, with a large canteen. To be honest, I'm struggling here. I booked it because it was close to where I needed to be.

Disliked: I didn't find the staff were particularly friendly, though they were helpful when I asked for directions. The food was very school-dinner-like and the whole place lacked a cosy atmosphere. My room smelled terribly of body odour, to the extent that I made every effort to spend as little time in it as possible, though I think that was due to a roommate rather than a fault of the hostel, so perhaps not worth mentioning... My main criticism, however, is that there was no free wi-fi. I've stayed in many hostels all over the world, and this really surprised me. Most hostels include free wi-fi via a password; it's pretty standard hospitality. I needed to use the internet to keep up with work emails (this was a business trip) and found having to fill out a form and pay 1.5euros for an hour every time I wanted to use my laptop to surf the net incredibly inconvenient. It seems very old-fashioned to me and, along with the overall sense that the services are not built to make a traveller feel comfortable and convenienced, means I would be unlikely to stay here again unless quite desperate for some reason.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanko Djinkov

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2012 Yanko would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect

Disliked: they changed my room after first night with no reason!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: Very clean. Beautiful bar and garden cafe. Excellent view of the Rhine River all along the way to the hostel from the train station. Great selections for buffet breakfast.

Disliked: I checked in about 2.30 pm and they told me that my room wasn't ready! I was told to come back in 30 mins time and it was ready then. That's very poor service considering that the check-out time is 9.30 am! If they expect you to check out so early but check in late, that's very unfair!! And the only power plug point they have in such a big room is on the wall right next to the room entrance so i have to take the risk that someone may step on my mobile phone if they check-in at night or when anyone walk in to the room without the lights on !!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

matthew woodfield

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 October 2011 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: very nice :)

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CLENALINESS, NEAT

Disliked: Kind of boring, too many old people and families

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmospeher was really great and the location as well

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miguel Angel Alvarez Gomez

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff at desk, nice location on Oberkassel, clean facilities.

Disliked: Some of the staff from the dining room is a bit too serious.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heljä Heineman

As a family with children

Events / festivals

16 May 2011 Heljä would recommend this property

Liked: On the meals maybe more to choose from (for instance on the breakfast was mostly only totally white bread and on lunch/dinner I would have wanted more different kind of sallads and vegetables). Using computer was quite expensive, 1,5 euros for one hour. The could be cheaper price for heavy users, we used our own laptop almost every day to meet FB-friend because of Eurovision.

Disliked: nothing - but the telly could have more channels to select from, or the digital connection was partly out of order the moment we were there?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jason Correia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern. Good selection of breakfast. Very comfortable bed with clean linens and own secure locker provided. Helpful staff.

Disliked: A little too expensive for our budget, but the only hostel available when we booked. Across the river from main Dusseldorf shopping/ nightlife area, but only about 12 min walk or less to the nearest rail station.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2011

Liked: Clean new facility

Disliked: very cold atmosphere Need to pay extra 3 pounds on top of what listed No wireless No sockets next to bed to charge phone etc

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

kevin memmott

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010

Liked: I liked how clean the hostel was.

Disliked: The location was terrible. It's a 7 minute walk to the metro then another 2 stops to get anywhere for food, sights. When I got there I was forced to pay for stamps on a hostel international frequent stay card which cost me 6 euro for 2 nights. The girl I asked about a place to eat at the front desk sent me to a place that didn't exist (I am very good with directions and looked for 15 minutes). There was no bar and no food sold. Bottom line: I would not stay again which is the first time I've said that about any hostel I've stayed at.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.