HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of City Youth Hostel Dusseldorf Dusseldorf Hostel

Düsseldorfer Strasse 1, Dusseldorf, Germany

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.70USD

Important Information

Please note that the prerequisite for each guest staying in hostels connected with the German Youth Hostel Association, is the Hostelling International membership.
If not obtained beforehand from your local Hostelling International headquarters (see listings at: http://www.hihostels.com/web/membership.en.htm ) then each person may easily purchase hostel guest cards with installments of 3,10 €/person/night upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dusseldorf?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: friendly

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: the only good thing is the location

Disliked: no kitchen! so expensive! so unfriendly! there is no enough plugs in the room.....i have to say that i would not choose this hostel any more!!!!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff!! Good breakfast! Great choice for youth traveller!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: the hostel is located very conveniently very close to dusseldorf downtown, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is very good: value for money is just great

Disliked: the biggest problem is internet: you are only offering internet in the lobby and the connection is very poor: for 1,50 euros per hour it is very expensive as it is not a high speed band and you get a lot of cut-off

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was easy to get to just a quick train then tube and a short walk. It is across the road from the river and 10 minutes from the altstadt

Disliked: They allow minors to stay there.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good family atmosphere, though this might not appeal to certain types of travellers. The place is very big, with a large canteen. To be honest, I'm struggling here. I booked it because it was close to where I needed to be.

Disliked: I didn't find the staff were particularly friendly, though they were helpful when I asked for directions. The food was very school-dinner-like and the whole place lacked a cosy atmosphere. My room smelled terribly of body odour, to the extent that I made every effort to spend as little time in it as possible, though I think that was due to a roommate rather than a fault of the hostel, so perhaps not worth mentioning... My main criticism, however, is that there was no free wi-fi. I've stayed in many hostels all over the world, and this really surprised me. Most hostels include free wi-fi via a password; it's pretty standard hospitality. I needed to use the internet to keep up with work emails (this was a business trip) and found having to fill out a form and pay 1.5euros for an hour every time I wanted to use my laptop to surf the net incredibly inconvenient. It seems very old-fashioned to me and, along with the overall sense that the services are not built to make a traveller feel comfortable and convenienced, means I would be unlikely to stay here again unless quite desperate for some reason.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: everything was perfect

Disliked: they changed my room after first night with no reason!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean. Beautiful bar and garden cafe. Excellent view of the Rhine River all along the way to the hostel from the train station. Great selections for buffet breakfast.

Disliked: I checked in about 2.30 pm and they told me that my room wasn't ready! I was told to come back in 30 mins time and it was ready then. That's very poor service considering that the check-out time is 9.30 am! If they expect you to check out so early but check in late, that's very unfair!! And the only power plug point they have in such a big room is on the wall right next to the room entrance so i have to take the risk that someone may step on my mobile phone if they check-in at night or when anyone walk in to the room without the lights on !!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: very nice :)

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CLENALINESS, NEAT

Disliked: Kind of boring, too many old people and families

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability