HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers-Duesseldorf

Hostel | Fürstenwall 180, Dusseldorf, Germany 40215

81.9% Overall Rating

369 out of 388 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"The man at reception was so helpful - he told me how to get to the airport in the morning and took my bags to my room for me. It was clean, with very roomy showers and good lockers. The location was in walking distance…"

Read all Backpackers-Duesseldorf reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dusseldorf?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dusseldorf

Hotel Diana
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 45 reviews
Hotel Haus Hillesheim (since 1894)
94.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews
A&O Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof
19.41 USD

Hostel 84.0% 201 reviews
V.I.P. HOTEL
36.37 USD

Hotel 77.1% 7 reviews
Hütte 91
36.69 USD

Hostel 90.1% 23 reviews
Hotel Acon***
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
City Apart. Hotel
36.37 USD

Apartment 81.0% 84 reviews
Hotel Berliner Hof
34.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.1% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

369 out of 388 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers-Duesseldorf'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 294 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff and great facilties. Sehr gut.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man at reception was so helpful - he told me how to get to the airport in the morning and took my bags to my room for me. It was clean, with very roomy showers and good lockers. The location was in walking distance to the main town and fairly close to the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Stansfeld

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2014 George would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and tidy and had everything you need. Nice atmosphere for young people especially but because there is no bar it means you can also get a good night's sleep if you don't want to party. The staff were very friendly and cooperative. There is also free parking and which I was very grateful for.

Disliked: I thought the breakfast was very basic but for the price of the hostel it's actually not too bad. If I had any suggestions it would be to maybe have some cheese at breakfast as well as the meat to go with the bread.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place overall is ok, with a fully equipped kitchen, a yard with table-tennis, good cleanliness.

Disliked: The place itself doesn't have a big carachter. The two girls from the staff were friendly and helpful, but the guy who was there in the morning was extremely rude and intimidating when I asked for a simple information. I think in a hostel that charges 25€ for a dorm-bed in a basement these things shouldn't happen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe, in a relatively good location and designed with social interaction in mind. The free breakfast was also a welcome addition.

Disliked: The showers were adequate but it was difficult to set the temperature.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Song Yi Back

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Song Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, rocker, and good staff

Disliked: Song Yi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kypros Filokyprou

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 February 2014 Kypros would recommend this property

Liked: Location,clean,facilities,breakfast

Disliked: Wifi sometimes inconsistent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Loconti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maryna Aliashkevich

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 October 2013 Maryna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here one night only. But it is enough time to evaluate comfort.

Disliked: Be careful: the reception and the kitchen closes from 22 to 8 hours. If you need to enter or leave the hostel at this time to warn at the reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

akhtar ali

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 akhtar would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay... Really accessible to the local tourist attractions and easy access from airport to the hostel only for 2.50 bus ticket brilliant no need to pay to taxis

Disliked: I couldn't find anything I dislike about this hotel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nicholas Cullen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013

Liked: Free breakfast and the location was ok

Disliked: Most everything else. The Hostel needs some TLC and a good clean; A redecoration as there are stained, carpets, chairs and beds. A lot of the walls were damaged. The smell downstair was horrible, like toilet cleaner trying to mask a worst smell. Our room smelt of sick (number 6) We did not feel safe when asleep. The shower was either scolding or freezing Kitchen had everything you needed but you had to cook before 9pm as it closed and the eating area (the largest communal area) closed at 10pm where you were left with a 2 x three seater sofa and chair. Walls were thin and very noisy we did not sleep well either night. Paying for sheets os ok, however putting them stain/smelly mattress/ duvet and pillow defeats the point We would NOT stay again and even thought about leaving while we were there. We based our decision to stay on other reviews and do not understand how this has been rated higher.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jude de Leon

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013

Liked: on the average, it's clean , friendly staff

Disliked: location and no life.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alejandro Varas Galvez

Alone

City break

11 March 2013

Liked: The breakfast was ok. Staff is really helpful and nice

Disliked: It won't make you feel at home at all because the furniture is really old and shitty Beds are worst I have ever seen. You have to pay for linens that do not fit bed and pillow. Mattress is so worn that you can almost feel the metal spring structure below, which is crap, it makes you sink in the centre and you can't move anywhere else. Bedrooms were very poor just beds and closets, there isn't a single chair or table. People that use the upper bed will appreciate to have a place to sit down when dressing up or looking for something in the luggage. The showers were clean but it won't make you feel that they are with old plastic curtains that you avoid at all cost to touch, there isn't enough place to place your stuff, specilly clean clothes, when taking a shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eric Pederson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: The people. Really good people. I made some friends while staying there.

Disliked: The motif is a little childish, I think (wall paintings, etc...), and the beds aren't super confortable, but it's not a hotel. It's a warm place to sleep and they feed you in the morning. All one needs anyway.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a good vibe, very chill and relaxed. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Also free internet

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hostel was very clean and has a decent kitchen. The staff were so nice they invited us out to the club with them which was really fun. Wish we could stay longer!

Disliked: The shower's temperature is a little difficult to get right, but once you do it is a good shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilja Staruhhin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Ilja would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good from the comfortable beds in well equiped rooms to the facilities in bar/reception area. Staff were very helpful and checking in and out was quick and carried out efficiently. Location and surrounding area was very good with a good tram and bus service readily avaialable.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen is clean, facilities is good. Location is quite near to Hauptbahnhof (train station).

Disliked: I really dislike the top bunk bed. It's really hard to climb up and not safe at all. It might be fall apart if you climb up in a rough way I guess. Just wondering if they can add ladders to climb up it will be much better and safer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Trubacheva

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 September 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel, esp. in the evening time. I found the location good, you can easily reach the main train station (Hpb) and Altstadt with bars and cafes.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yanan Zhang

Alone

Events / festivals

06 September 2012 Yanan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere there is pretty good, clean and safety.

Disliked: The location of the hostel is hard to find especially there is no lable which can make me find it easily.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free soap, free breakfast.

Disliked: No staff after 10 pm. They sent an email with doorcodes and you have to check your mail (with a smartphone or in a cybercafe).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Funk

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Its a really cool funky space with nice staff, a good location, and really good price point compared to what else is available in Dusseldorf. Will definitley be back if I'm ever in Dusseldorf again

Disliked: It was impossible to get a constant temperature in the one shower, its either burning you or freezing you. The other shower was great, but everybody always tried to get that one first