We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dresden hostels

Reviews of Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop

Hostel | Erna-Berger-Str. 8-10, Dresden, Germany 01097

89.7% Overall Rating

332 out of 350 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

Rachel Fisher thinks…

"The staff was seriously so helpful and friendly. We asked about good hikes in Saxon Switzerland and she gave us tons of maps and wonderful information!! The rooms were quiet at night. 5 minutes from…"

Read all Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.58
  • Linen USD 2.19
  • Towel USD 0.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

We don't accept credit cards - so please pay in cash. There is an ATM just around the corner from the hostel. In case of cancellation - until 2 days before arrival free of charge. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dresden?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dresden

Hofgarten 1824
18.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 222 reviews
Louise 20 Dresden
17.56 USD

Hostel 91.1% 164 reviews
Hostel Lollis Homestay
18.60 USD

Hostel 90.4% 282 reviews
Hostel Mondpalast
16.46 USD

Hostel 86.7% 216 reviews
Cityherberge
23.32 USD

Hostel 91.3% 216 reviews
A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
17.21 USD

Hostel 79.8% 307 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
17.56 USD

Hostel 80.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Burgk
32.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.5% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

332 out of 350 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 235 of 306 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was seriously so helpful and friendly. We asked about good hikes in Saxon Switzerland and she gave us tons of maps and wonderful information!! The rooms were quiet at night. 5 minutes from the train station, 5 min to the student quarter, and a 25 minute walk into the old town.

Disliked: I wish breakfast was offered, but you can find it cheaply at nearby grocery stores.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leamrot Tesfa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Leamrot would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place and nicely decorated :) The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful :)

Disliked: Leamrot left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aleksandar rangelov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good organised.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Callum Snell

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2015 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to Dresden Neustadt-Bahnhof in a street that is fairly quiet, but still close to all the nightlife and reasonably close to the Altstadt centre by foot. Cool, quirky with the Australian theme, there are hammocks in the main lounge area. Toilets/bathrooms are clean and the hostel is well presented.

Disliked: Add-on costs for linen, towels etc. Nothing personal against the property but I wish all hostels would just factor it in towards the overall price and be done with it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsea Weir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: I arrive after a long over night train early in the morning and was greeted by a very happy young German guy, he was very helpful with tips on the area. Great locationbinbthe new town next to the train station. Clean, great showers, kitchen, lockers and WiFi all good. Great common room, a little bit quiet in terms of atmosphere, but all the more reason to go look around! Thanks to all the lovely staff, they really make this place!

Disliked: Chelsea left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tereza Srbová

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Tereza would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first time at hostel.. So I was quite scary about how it gonna look like.. But I was suprised, in good way..staff are really friendly, the chilli out room + kitchen are cozy and have amazing atmosphere, whole place was really clean..:) I would definitely recommend stay in this hostel..:))

Disliked: Internet connection in room could ve better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great. Amazingly friendly and helpful! The common room is awesome. Met some great people here

Disliked: Had to keep pushing the tap in for the shower. Water would only come out for about 15 seconds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Lord

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 William would recommend this property

Liked: Ok location and good facilities.

Disliked: Slighlty dated and very quiet - but it was very off seadon!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAEEUN SONG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2015 JAEEUN would recommend this property

Liked: It was the same and really really nice kitchen, big. And common room is also big and cozy. Room is clean and nice. Toiley and bathroom are also good. Laundry service was nice too. Haha nothing much to complain. Worthy

Disliked: Nothing much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohammed Misbahuddin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 January 2015 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: An amazng place wid a lot of freedom to move around, specially da kitchen.. Must stay here if visiting dresden..

Disliked: Internet might b a problem

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from the Neustadt train station with signs on the telephone poles.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tajna Langlois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2014 Tajna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel beat my expectations. On arrival, the owner was a great help when advising things to do around town and gave a clear and detailed map of the town. I suggest for those who only have a couple of days, rent a bike! Lucky for you the bike store is just around the corner. Dresden has so much to show! The hostel has a great living room/meeting area with tv's, couches, hammocks and more. Although not many people stayed in during my stay as the hostel is centrally located within the bar's and clubs zone. Whether or not you like to party, young or old, It doesn't matter. The area accommodates for all types; hippies, party rockers, cafe coolies or just wonderers, and would suit older travelers as well! Yes you too oldies! I really could go on and on about my stay explaining great facilities, superb cleanliness, chilled atmosphere however I suggest you just go and check it all out or yourself. Book before because no doubt if your going in high season, everyone will want to stay here. Truly, being an Australian (hence why I choose the hostel by its name) I loved the hostel and would recommend the hostel to anyone, regardless of your age or likes.

Disliked: Nothing!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tina Sever

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Lisa the receptionist is a really cool and nice girl! It was very clean, the beds were comfortable. Kitchen is nice and big. It's really close to the more hipster-ish district.

Disliked: The shared showers are a bit small with nowhere to put your things. It would be nice if the dorm rooms only had a knob on the outer side, so you would have to use a key to get in when people don't lock the room (I got a feeling it never was).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matheus Lehnen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

07 September 2014 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very helpful and the location is very good

Disliked: Matheus left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were super friendly and helpful, comfy beds, big kitchen, big common area, wifi in the rooms, close to the train station and new town- which is were the bars are.

Disliked: Not much to be honest, but i would have to say the showers could have been better!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

luke cosgrove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 luke would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. Clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and only a short walk from all the bars and cafes. The WiFi worked well throughout the hostel. I'd stay here again any time.

Disliked: luke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beverley Newing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Beverley would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was awesome! It had a lovely atmosphere and was really well decorated and themed - the walls were painted in our room, the lounge area had hammock chairs and the whole hostel was decorated in an Australian theme. It was also really clean, and the rooms were really spacey and comfortable. It had a lovely atmosphere and we met some lovely people whilst there. We loved this hostel! The hostel is also really well located, just in the middle of the old and new town and when it says that the walk from the train station to the hostel is 3 minutes, it really means 3 minutes. The staff are also really helpful and friendly! Dresden is really pretty and this hostel is awesome and I really recommend staying here!

Disliked: The wifi was a bit patchy - but there was a sheet in the lounge asking for feedback on it, which meant that the staff were aware and collecting information and doing something about it. It also did still work, just not constantly, so this is a really minor point and one I'm sure that is sorted by now.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful in giving suggestions for places to go! They also let us use the BBQ to host a canada day BBQ which was really nice! The common room was great for meeting people and also awesome for just chilling! The 10 bedroom dorm was large with lockers and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen also had loads of equipment. It was just a very nice and welcoming hostel that I 100% recommend :)

Disliked: The kitchen was a little messy and the wifi was under repair so it was pretty slow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only 5 minutes walk from Dresden-Neustadt train station. Walking distance to Old Town and New Town. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. kitchen is very bright and spacious.

Disliked: Wi-Fi is available only 6 hrs per day (but you can always use their desk top next to the reception). kitchen floor was a bit too dirty while I was staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe! It's always nice to have a kitchen to use

Disliked: Overall I thought it was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO MARQUES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Large rooms with good beds. Really nice staff. Great commons room and full kitchen.

Disliked: Bathroms far away! No curtains, so prepare for sun on your face at 6am during summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Staff were so friendly; showed me to my room, offered to help with my bags and gave me a marked map to make sure I knew where I was. Massive kitchen and lounge area. The people staying here are extremely friendly. Nice little outdor area. The best hostel I've been to!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

WANG DUK KOO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 WANG DUK would recommend this property

Liked: 위치 좋음 & 해결책을 제시하는 스텝

Disliked: WANG DUK left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interior design very nice and staff was very kind

Disliked: Wifi use only 6hour.It'too short


See all Dresden hostels