HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dresden hostels

Reviews of Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop

Hostel | Erna-Berger-Str. 8-10, Dresden, Germany 01097

88.1% Overall Rating

315 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

"I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were super friendly and helpful, comfy beds, big kitchen, big common area, wifi in the rooms, close to the train station and new town- which is were the bars are."

Read all Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.63
  • Linen USD 2.65
  • Towel USD 0.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

visitor tax: 1.30 euro per person (over 18) /per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dresden?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dresden

Hofgarten 1824
22.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.3% 220 reviews
Louise 20 Dresden
18.57 USD

Hostel 91.3% 158 reviews
Hostel Lollis Homestay
19.50 USD

Hostel 89.4% 278 reviews
Hostel Mondpalast
18.74 USD

Hostel 85.1% 210 reviews
Apartment Dresden Neustadt
39.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Cityherberge
31.83 USD

Hostel 93.7% 195 reviews
A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
21.70 USD

Hostel 80.8% 304 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
21.22 USD

Hostel 79.8% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

315 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 290 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were super friendly and helpful, comfy beds, big kitchen, big common area, wifi in the rooms, close to the train station and new town- which is were the bars are.

Disliked: Not much to be honest, but i would have to say the showers could have been better!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: The location was great and there was a fully equiped kitchen !

Disliked: The showers were unclean and some did not even have a curtain (?!). You are not allowed to use your sleeping bag and they charge you for sheets. The beds do not have a small lamp to read so when somebody closes the light in the dorm, you have to sleep or go away.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

luke cosgrove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 luke would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. Clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and only a short walk from all the bars and cafes. The WiFi worked well throughout the hostel. I'd stay here again any time.

Disliked: luke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beverley Newing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Beverley would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was awesome! It had a lovely atmosphere and was really well decorated and themed - the walls were painted in our room, the lounge area had hammock chairs and the whole hostel was decorated in an Australian theme. It was also really clean, and the rooms were really spacey and comfortable. It had a lovely atmosphere and we met some lovely people whilst there. We loved this hostel! The hostel is also really well located, just in the middle of the old and new town and when it says that the walk from the train station to the hostel is 3 minutes, it really means 3 minutes. The staff are also really helpful and friendly! Dresden is really pretty and this hostel is awesome and I really recommend staying here!

Disliked: The wifi was a bit patchy - but there was a sheet in the lounge asking for feedback on it, which meant that the staff were aware and collecting information and doing something about it. It also did still work, just not constantly, so this is a really minor point and one I'm sure that is sorted by now.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful in giving suggestions for places to go! They also let us use the BBQ to host a canada day BBQ which was really nice! The common room was great for meeting people and also awesome for just chilling! The 10 bedroom dorm was large with lockers and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen also had loads of equipment. It was just a very nice and welcoming hostel that I 100% recommend :)

Disliked: The kitchen was a little messy and the wifi was under repair so it was pretty slow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only 5 minutes walk from Dresden-Neustadt train station. Walking distance to Old Town and New Town. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. kitchen is very bright and spacious.

Disliked: Wi-Fi is available only 6 hrs per day (but you can always use their desk top next to the reception). kitchen floor was a bit too dirty while I was staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe! It's always nice to have a kitchen to use

Disliked: Overall I thought it was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO MARQUES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Large rooms with good beds. Really nice staff. Great commons room and full kitchen.

Disliked: Bathroms far away! No curtains, so prepare for sun on your face at 6am during summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Staff were so friendly; showed me to my room, offered to help with my bags and gave me a marked map to make sure I knew where I was. Massive kitchen and lounge area. The people staying here are extremely friendly. Nice little outdor area. The best hostel I've been to!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

WANG DUK KOO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 WANG DUK would recommend this property

Liked: 위치 좋음 & 해결책을 제시하는 스텝

Disliked: WANG DUK left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interior design very nice and staff was very kind

Disliked: Wifi use only 6hour.It'too short

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing, the Australian theme was pretty awesome too. The staff were absolutely incredible, I had a few queries about travelling outside of town and the receptionist was beyond helpful! The common room is great with a huge kitchen, great place to meet new people!

Disliked: Just be aware of those ad on fees, e.g. linen was an extra €2, and the visitors tax was €1.50 a day.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yannick Zimmermann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 April 2014 Yannick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice hostel!

Disliked: Yannick left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zhi Hui Chin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Zhi Hui would recommend this property

Liked: Near the S-Bahn station Dresden-Neustadt, about a 5-10 minute walk. Hostel was in a spacious landed property, with enough room for parking. Had a large common area.

Disliked: Wifi was available only about 6 consecutive hours, and thus it was not enough to satisfy my daily internet cravings. Additionally the shower cubicles were only separated by curtains. Also, the hostel had an annoying habit of slapping lots of additional charges on the bill one by one instead of including everything in the advertised fee online.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kaja wenk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 kaja would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very nice stay at this hostel. I'd recommend it

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great price, great rooms. The fellow travellers I met made my experience here amazing.

Disliked: Nothing. I just wish I had stayed here longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sim Shin Ying

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Sim would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are so spacious and the toilets are so clean. The lounge and kitchen are so pretty and cosy. It is so convenient staying here as it is so near the train station and walkable distance to everywhere else.

Disliked: NA

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

thomas mcintosh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Kangaroo stop has a relaxed, cosy vibe. Things are kept clean and the kitchen is well stocked with cooking instruments. The lounge area is one of the best I've seen in europe so far.

Disliked: Coming from a backpackers point of view... The showers are button showers, the wifi is unreliable and you only get a 6 hour time frame in which to use your wifi.... Unless you pay extra and the kitchen is poorly lighted.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably everything

Disliked: The bathroom is not good enough. A few seconds water come out and you need to press the button again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good! It wasn't as close to the old part of the city, but it was central between the old part and the nightlife scene which was nice, and so close to the Neustat station!

Disliked: Nothing in particular!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paola Sandoval

Alone

City break

13 March 2014 Paola would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice lounge area

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything in particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Topping

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and friendly staff ensures a great stay. The kitchen was very well equipped and the common area was a great place to hang out. Thanks for letting us use the printer, it allowed us to save a LOT of money on bus tickets back home!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the coolest hostel lounges I've been in. Great kitchen, helpful and friendly staff and good atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Dresden hostels