We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dresden hostels

Reviews of Louise 20 Dresden

Hostel | Louisenstrasse 20, Dresden, Germany 01099

91.3% Overall Rating

156 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Isobel Rigg thinks…

"Fantastic location - near a variety of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. Near a main train station and a minute's walk from a tram stop. The building was very secure - we had to use three keys to…"

Read all Louise 20 Dresden reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.59
  • Linen USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

Starting on 01.02.2014 the city of Dresden is introducing a visitor’s tax of 1,30 Euro per person (18 years and over) per night. The visitor's tax will be charged upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dresden?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dresden

Hostel Lollis Homestay
18.60 USD

Hostel 90.3% 280 reviews
Hostel & Backpacker Kangaroo-Stop
17.96 USD

Hostel 90.6% 337 reviews
Hostel Mondpalast
17.87 USD

Hostel 85.1% 210 reviews
Apartment Dresden Neustadt
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hofgarten 1824
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 221 reviews
Cityherberge
26.88 USD

Hostel 93.4% 199 reviews
A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
13.80 USD

Hostel 79.8% 305 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 79.8% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

156 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Louise 20 Dresden'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 134 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Rigg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location - near a variety of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. Near a main train station and a minute's walk from a tram stop. The building was very secure - we had to use three keys to get to our room. The room was comfortable, clean and although it faced onto the main street, pleasantly quiet at night. We had two undisturbed, comfortable nights' sleep. The staff were friendly, welcoming and it was easy to communicate with them. They provided us with a local map, towels and a student discount on the bed sheets, which was very convenient. The shower in the bathroom was very powerful.

Disliked: There was no wifi in our part of the building, which meant we had to go to the main building to find restaurant addresses/train times etc. The main building shut at 11pm so we were unable to use the wifi after that time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Mclean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome single/double rooms, very private, simple but neat. Interesting wee night buzz down the street makes it an interesting location. City centre within a 30min walk

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice Koon

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 January 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the helpful staff there. They have free tea and biscuits at all time. I feel very homey.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Tracey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized dorm with plenty of room, small but very well equipped kitchen, nice dining/common areas. The streets around the hostel are really cool with heaps of nice cafes.

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice property, very clean and comfortable. One of the best rooms I've stayed in in Europe so far!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my room was the living room of a 2 bedroom apartment. Roomy, with balcony. Really excellent. the bathroom was modern and clean. Location was excellent, a short walk to the old city

Disliked: the internet was only available in the main building - not where my room was, This just meant I had to wait till 7am to get access.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good location and good value for money, modern and clean facilities.

Disliked: The staff were not particularly welcoming, there is no lift and the door to the bathroom (adjacent to the showers) is mottled glass so not ideal for privacy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johannes Wurzbacher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfest!

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You're at the right place, if you want to party. It's the place to be. But the atmosphere there is just not as good as it is in other places. Thats due to the building. It has a bit of a hotel character just withmore beds in it.

Disliked: The far to much do and don'ts sighns everywhere are annoying

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable. Good (but small) kitchen. Free tea/coffee and biscuits! Staff were pleasant. Near a train station and supermarket. Small lockers available. No linen fee for students!

Disliked: The location is quite far from the old town- at least a 20-30 minute walk. The common room space was quite full despite the hostel being quite quiet. Staff did not provide recommendations and when asked for advice told you 'to go to the info centre'. Showers were merely cubicles (with a shaded glass door) in a bigger bathroom and did not offer much privacy. Internet was VERY dodgy and cut out a lot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nuri Han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Nuri would recommend this property

Liked: sehr angenehm, Steff war sehr nett, ruhig

Disliked: keine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, large rooms, clean

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit pricey (5.50€)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Louise 20 very well located -- the Dresden Neustadt has a funky, alternative vibe, and the location of the hostel is right in the heart of it (but in a quiet courtyard). It only takes 15-20 minutes to walk into the old city, and a tram line hub is nearby. My room was very clean, and the staff were friendly (some more than others). There was a great selection of tea available all day, too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Tsarov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

04 March 2012 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: Its all I wanted from a hostel with no fuss and great customer service.

Disliked: Its not that I dislike it but I am not used to mixed sex accomodation. I am a man and there was a woman in our room. I felt perfectly fine myself but I can also imagine it can be odd and difficult at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good location, biscuits, coffee and the for free, realliy great room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011

Liked: Nil.

Disliked: The price of the room may not be suficient in terms of the quality.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really cheap and does all it needs to. The location is good: pretty close to Neustadt station and around lots of cheap food places and bars. Free cookies! You get free Wi-Fi for the first day and it's good.

Disliked: It was very quiet when I was there, actually half empty. There was only one other person in my 5-bed dorm, and I barely say anyone else around the place. So definitely not a good place to make friends or have a lot of fun (but obviously therefore good if you want a quiet stay). The door of my locker was partially bent back, so that was a security worry. Not enough electrical outlets or lamps in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent. Comfy beds. They make a real effort to keep the place clean.

Disliked: Strict policy about losing keys.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very quiet peaceful place, and everything felt comfortable.

Disliked: Slightly hard to use the showers as there are limited hooks around. No kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

blair slingerland

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 blair would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The rooms on the street side of the hostel are very noisy until very late at night to early hours of the morning. We have stayed in many hostels and have never known linen to be an option!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in very lively area full of nice bars and clubs,alsoi walk to the center was very nice.hostel itself was very clean and quite. we appreciate the check out till 11:30.

Disliked: there is nothing what we really dislike about ourb stay there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katrine Hillebrand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Katrine would recommend this property

Liked: Great area to go out, many restaurants nearby, the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Noise from "the clubs" in the night

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gustavo canto da silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: Room was very good, high quality. Friendly helpfull staff

Disliked: Location is too bad. Neustadt is an ugly place, we didn't feel safe walking around and it is not so close to city center or Hauptbahnhoff. Considering those Dresden trams really suck, it is a major problem. Despite the high quality of the place itself, wouldn't stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat, nice neighborhood.

Disliked: -


See all Dresden hostels