HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel Cologne Hostel

Allerheiligenstrasse 15, Cologne, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.32USD
  • Towel 1.08USD

Important Information

„We do NOT accept direct bookings for groups more than 8 persons. Those groups must book through the Hostelbookers Group bookings- department. Just hit 'Groups' in the navigation. We do not accept Stag or Hen parties. Please note that on December 1st, 2014 an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Cologne. This is 5% of the rate per person/night and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Special Event Booking – Special Cancellation & Payment Conditions:
Please note that we have special conditions during IDS period (21.03 – 25.03.2017): For cancellations 0 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 100% of the total booking amount.
Payment: We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Showing 71-80 of 184 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The kitchen was amazing! As were the staff. Good location. Close to shops. Just everything was great!

Disliked: nothing really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Awesome! Thank you very much for your lovely rating. Hope to see you again soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and safe place

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for your nice review!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a lovely, quiet space in the old church building that's part of the hostel to hang out in. Excellent location.

Disliked: Internet required getting a new code often and didn't work very well. Lots of loud, drunk groups of people, but easy enough to find space to get away from them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment! Our free WIFI requires a new code after you have used up 10 hours. This is to ensure that as many guests as possible get access to the internet. The WIFI usually works quite good here but if there are so many people around using internet than it often only works in the common areas.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: i was really impressed with this hostel. It is convieniently located near the HBF train station, Dom and other tourist attractions. Property is kept clean, great communial kitchen facilities for everyone staying there. i would recommend it very highly to anyone who wants a clean, safe hostel.A++

Disliked: WIFI only available in the common rooms, which just encouraged social interaction which is certainly not a bad thing, but that is all i could think of.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your lovely comment and rating! Hope to see you again!
Greetings from Cologne!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Местоположение только, рядом с главным вокзалом

Disliked: Очень неприятный персонал. Приходишь и тебе сразу говорят: это нельзя, то нельзя, за то и за это штраф...никакого желания оставаться там нет....грязно, маленькие комнаты, завтрак, по сравнению с другими немецкими хостелами, ужасен.


The property's response is

It would have been great if you could have wrote your review in English so that we at least know what you have disliked! We hope that you still had a nice stay in Cologne!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the station, staff were awesome. Most things covered well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment but that doesn't really fit to the rating.
What do we have to do to get full points?
Please tell us next time you visit us. Best regards from Cologne! :-)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very close to the station and the city centre, and in that regard, quite cheap as compared to other places i looked at for my stay. Staff is very helpful, and breakfast was good for the price.

Disliked: Internet is very problematic in rooms, I could hardly get signals for 15 minutes in my 2 nights stay, You could hear the road noise and music (from i dont know where), so not very great for light sleepers. The deposit for every little thing (hairdryer, even towel) was a little annoying, and nothing I have seen somewhere else.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your rating and comment. Sorry, that we have to take deposit for every little thing, it’s annoying, we know. But we lost already 2 hairdryers, 1 electric iron, about 100 towels, 3 adapters; someone even stole the TV out of our laundry. It’s a crazy world.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, location, location. It was so easy to get to Hbf.

Disliked: Deposits for key, towel, lock... Too much.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your comments. Sorry, that we have to take so much deposit for everything, but actually our guests took a lot of all that stuff accidently with them. We just had to react somehow. You are right, it's enjoying.
kind regards form Cologne
Team Pathpoint Cologne

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: This hostel had the best guest kitchen I have yet experienced in a German hostel, a good size and with everything I needed. They also provided free Wi-fi which is always appreciated. A good location, really close to the train station and main attractions.

Disliked: They didn't have a lift so you have to carry your bags up stairs. When I arrived there was no record that I had made a booking, although after some searching they did find the message from hostel bookers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for your rating. Sorry but due to the historical heritage of the church we are not aloud to make any structural changes to the building sorry for any inconvenience.
Greatings from Cologne
Team Pathpoint

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was very good - only 10 minutes walk from the Hbf (station) & Dom (cathedral). The staff were helpful & even let me park my car in the small & secure car park adjacent.

Disliked: The stairs!! :-)Our room was on the 4th floor & there was no elevator!That's a long way up when you've been visiting the brewhouses!! :-)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yes you are totally right but due to the historical heritage of the church we are not aloud to make any structural changes to the building. Sounds like the beer did taste quiet good! Sorry for any inconvenience.
See you next time in Cologne
Team Pathpoint

Check Availability