HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Köln Neumarkt

Hostel | Mauritiuswall 64-66, Cologne, Germany 50676

84.1% Overall Rating

136 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2014)

"Close to the center. The main train station is also within walking distance if you don't want to rely on public transport. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Separated toilet/ shower in the 6-bed dorms. Didn't have to pay extra…"

Read all A&O Köln Neumarkt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.29
  • Linen USD 4.15
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cologne

MEININGER Cologne City Center
20.73 USD

Hostel 80.7% 909 reviews
Bermuda Triangle B&B
110.57 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 65 reviews
Black Sheep Hostel
28.64 USD

Hostel 83.1% 354 reviews
die wohngemeinschaft
24.88 USD

Hostel 94.9% 73 reviews
Hotel Engelbertz
61.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.4% 17 reviews
A&O Köln Dom (HBF)
30.05 USD

Hostel 83.0% 39 reviews
Station Hostel Backpackers
23.97 USD

Hostel 80.2% 592 reviews
Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel & Café
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.4% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

136 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Köln Neumarkt'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center. The main train station is also within walking distance if you don't want to rely on public transport. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Separated toilet/ shower in the 6-bed dorms. Didn't have to pay extra for bedsheets although it says so in the hostel description.

Disliked: Nothing. Didn't spend much time there anyway to judge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Zink

Alone

City break

14 January 2014 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and easy to find. A big lounge offers a cosy seat to sit or to have a beer.

Disliked: Well, the breakfast is a bit expensive and it sucks that the Wi-Fi is not always for free.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: Near to christmas markets

Disliked: No Bed Sheet included.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Booked the six room dorm and had it all to myself mostly, place was heaps clean and lobby wifi was free. Couldn't say anything was particularly broken or wrong, was a quiet place to sleep and warm inside, which was a relief!

Disliked: Super dead, no atmosphere whatsoever but perhaps because not many people were staying there at the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, new room and beds, good reception, safe

Disliked: really nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Trevor Newton

Alone

Business / conference

09 October 2013

Liked: easy to find,close to ubahn and quiet street

Disliked: huge hostel, hot rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Serocka

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the conditions - the hostel was really clear, I stayed in a shared room with an en suite bathroom. The staff was friendly and advised me what to see in Koln, gave a free city plan etc.

Disliked: i don't think there was anything. For a hostel (and low price) the conditions were really good, much better than in some hostels I stayed and paid even higher price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohamed Mostafa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and Friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Need accessible sockets for charging mobile phone especially for the ground level beds i had a very bad time with that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Passt scho

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: It's a nice looking place and clean with decent amenities. It would be good for families. On my first night I was in a dorm with people I felt very uncomfortable with for reasons I won't go in to but I told the staff and they were able to shuffle things around so I could move dorms.

Disliked: For the price I payed I would expect linen, breakfast and maybe even towels to be included. It's standard for most hostels to include these things especially if the price is this high and I could see no reason for the price being so high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Cruz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2013 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Was exactly as described. Nothing hidden except for the fact that sheets and towels are not provided. However they can be purchased for a small fee, which was fine. Room was clean and exactly what we needed for a one night stay. It was as centrally located to all of the night life as we we hoped it would be and it was a short walk or tram ride to tourist areas.

Disliked: Having to purchase sheets and towels was a bit annoying but at 3 euros per person, it was not bad and I guess maybe it's common for a hostel.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013

Liked: The completely useless and defunct bar in the basement was at least cool and quiet

Disliked: Security guards shouting at me in German despite repeatedly being told I do not speak German, it was 39C at night and the staff neglected to mention they had fans available, the common area is a large open sweat lodge with absolutely no attempt made to keep heat or smoke from outside out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cecilia Flores Becerra

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Aunque no esta tan cerca del Hauptbahnhof (20min caminando) esta en una zona llena de bares, cafés y tiendas para ir de shopping.

Disliked: En el verano hacia mucho calor en las noches porque las ventanas no se pueden abrir totalmente, aunque afortunadamente sólo fue una noche así (33c).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayden Lister

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and open, with a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Breakfast and sheets require a small fee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabet Adeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Elisabet would recommend this property

Liked: clean and calm , next to the center, only 20 min walk to the Centar Station.

Disliked: The water was very expensive, around 2 euros? no, recoveri money for the water like 0.5 euros for the plastic bag. No recycling. The tables in the hall are a little unconfortable to study or write emails...:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean place with helpfull staff. Our room (private double with bathroom) was very nice, big, clean, silent. We had a nice stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Trow

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff. Also the facilities on offer are the best I've experienced. And great Kolsch on draught!

Disliked: Too big, I felt it wasn't intimate enough to meet other traveler's.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, comfortable bed,

Disliked: No kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Quite far away from the Cologne Station

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012

Liked: the hostel is nice

Disliked: my blanket had a stain, it was far from the shopping center you should get the A&O that is near the hbf.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was large, clean, friendly, and in a decent location to go to the clubs at night. We had a six-bed private dorm, which was great. I especially loved all the outlets and the hairdryer, ha! The wi-fi was free in the lobby only, which was fine, because there was a bar and lounge area. The breakfast was not free (6 Euro), and you could probably find a better deal elsewhere. Other than that, I would recommend this property to others.

Disliked: valerie left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Wendy Hong

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: The night staff was helpful in instructing me on how to use the laundry machines and also refunding my money when the coin machine took more money than necessary for the washing machine.

Disliked: 1. Staff apathy (read below for details) 2. No free wireless/internet connection in the rooms--have to pay 5 euro for it. 3. Bed lights not available on every bed, or not working. 4. Laundry room instructions poor/no English labels on the machines. 5. Check out at 10am (week nights), instead of at 11am as the other 4 hostels I've stayed at so far in Germany (2 of them in Cologne) The reception checked me into a room on the same floor almost entirely booked by a school trip (the "boys" floor) without mentioning this to me. At 6:30am, there was a loud banging on the door next to mine, then the visitor to the next room proceeded to have a lively conversation with the residents. At 7am, I couldn't bear it any more and went down to the reception to ask the young woman there to talk with the boys or their teacher. When we arrived at the room, it was of course quiet again, but the rest of the boys from the other rooms were starting to get up to have breakfast, this is followed by about two hours of loud talking and door slamming, some quiet (while everyone was at breakfast, I presume), then more loud talking and door slamming until about 9am, when I again went downstairs to complain to the reception. This was met by the woman saying "there's nothing I can do, they are leaving now (referring to the troops of school children." So, since I only had about 4 hours of sleep, I asked for a 50% refund, to which the receptionist, followed by the manager (Dirk Salmen), followed by the quality control person in Berlin (Franziska Dessaules) telling me that it was not possible. They kept offering me breakfast, which I did not want at all, and internet, which I already had for free at the reception, and a 10% discount, the total value of which would have exceeded the 50% refund I requested. All of them also condescending told me that this is what I should expect from staying at a hostel. Well, as I informed them, I've stayed at hostels all over the world and what I went through at A&O was by far the worst experience I've ever had. After talking with them for more than half an hour, I asked for a refund of the 2nd night so I can find a bed elsewhere, which, thankfully, the Berlin quality control person readily accepted. All in all, A&O lost 150% more money in refusing to give me the 50% refund than if they had just accepted the deal. If you want to chance at being woken up in early morning by loud teenagers, then A&O is your destination of choice. Otherwise, I would suggest you go elsewhere, because once you've checked in, no one will care about the quality of your stay there.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Lola Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012

Liked: It's relatively cheap and the location is okay.

Disliked: A lot of things. First, be aware card users (visa, master, credit or debit). They charge 3 euros (never heard of such a higher card using fee)! I was jokingly complaining while the staff is getting very impatient and very unfriendly. They simply told me to email the hostel if I have complaints, and they are not responsible to take in any feedbacks. Second, like I said, the staff is not very helpful. The two customer service people at reception during my stay are very cold and rude. Third, it's not clean. It's one of the dirties place I've ever entered. The room smelled bad and the most intolerant thing is the bed. It's old and smelly...since some people dont pay extra for linen and sleep directly on mattress which make it impossible to clean off the odor. Terrible terrible experience. I have to ask for an extra linen to cover the smell..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is neat

Disliked: i think payment for twin room should also include breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Saeb Shweiki

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012 Saeb would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi access, cheap breakfast, good location in Neumarkt

Disliked: The windows are locked, unless nobody ask the service to open it !