HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Youth-Hostel Cologne-Riehl - City Hostel Cologne Hostel

An der Schanz 14, Cologne, Germany

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.16USD

Important Information

"All rates include VAT, taxes, charges (without visitor tax) valid at the current date of booking. The City of Cologne is raising a visitor tax of 5% per person per night of the room rate for private travelers as from 01.12.2014, which has to be paid at the Youth Hostel.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When I first arrived I thought I was in the wrong place as it was far too grand to be a hostel. This continued through out my stay. Which says everything about the value and quality of this establishment.

Disliked: Although it is right next to a metro stop and the metros are excellent and cheap. The distance from the city centre may be an issue for some

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: the breakfast

Disliked: the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: It location and its proximity and easy accessibility from the centre of the city.

Disliked: none at all

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice building, very clean, top facilities and easy to get into the city with the underground. Great breakfast buffet.

Disliked: Atmosphere is bad. Bar is not cosy. Everything extra must be paid for. No free wifi,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wifi-costs are due to company policy. But we will take your advice to discuss it again. Thomas - hostel manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very friendly staff, large clean room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot! Thomas - hostel manager

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: There is a really cool very large bar and bistro with a great deck on the main floor as well as a coffee bar and a disco in the basement

Disliked: when I checked in there was no screen on the window in the dorm and though there was nobody but myself staying there it was wide open and because of that my bed was full of little flys. Also the girl at the front desk was quite rude, when I asked her to point out a couple of good night spots to go to she made it seem like it was the biggest chore in the world. Also there is absolutley nothing to do near the hostel and have to get on the subway for a few stops before you find anything. I won't be going back


The property's response is

I am sorry that you did not feel well and of course for the flies. As the hostel is not in the city center it is necessary to go there by train but the connection is very good and it takes only 10 minutes to the old town. Thomas - hostel manager

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location is okay.

Disliked: Ao hostel has no atmosphere and the fact you have to pay extra for a lot of facilities.


The property's response is

??? Was this your rating for the A&O hostel? That's not us! Thomas - hostel manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, very good breakfast. Easy to get to by Ubahn.

Disliked: Difficult to find at first. Instructions sounded like it would be easy but were incomplete. Especially difficult to find at night (it is hidden from view); surrounding area is very dark at night. Also, while easy to get to by Ubahn, it is a few stops away from center so not the type of place you can go back to easily during the day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am sorry for the difficulties. There were some days when the lights of the car parking area did not work. To make the information complete: The hostel is right opposite of the tram station at the end of the parking area. If you are walking or going by car from the city centre we are located right behind the big AXA-building. Thomas - hostel manager

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: The environment was terrible. It feels like your at a summer camp for badly behaving children. It was full of school kids, old people, and families. On the web site it says mixed rooms, web really it's male and female rooms, which for a couple sucks. Reception was not helpful in recommending where to go.


The property's response is

The group mix was typical for the last week before summer holidays. You met the whole variety of our customers!
Sorry for the problem with the mixed room. This was due to the summer sale offer as we usually do not offer mixed rooms and we obviously had an internal communication problem. Won't happen again! Thomas - hostel manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Lage am Rhein, netter Empfang

Disliked: es war alles in Ordnung

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Vielen Dank für die Bewertung! Thomas - hostel manager

Check Availability