We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of King Georg

Apartment | Sudermanstr. 2, Cologne, Germany 50670

89.3% Overall Rating

39 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2014)

"This is not a really hostel, it is more like renting a small appartement in a house full of appartements.Therefore you are never disturped by other guests. It feels luxury and the furniture is beautiful. The location is…"

Read all King Georg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NOTE: We don’t have a reception, so you have to email us you’re arrival time and we hand over the keys. We will wait for 30min for you. if you don’t arrive you have to call us to make a new date that day. (André) Check-in and check-out: Let’s talk about your arrival & leaving times, we are easy about this...

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cologne

City-Pension-Storch
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 32 reviews
Pathpoint Cologne
18.98 USD

Hostel 90.2% 359 reviews
Station Hostel Backpackers
21.94 USD

Hostel 83.9% 624 reviews
A&O Köln Dom (HBF)
28.79 USD

Hostel 82.4% 40 reviews
Hotel Engelbertz
56.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.9% 19 reviews
Cologne Downtown Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 94.7% 90 reviews
Shiva´s CitySleep
21.51 USD

Hostel 79.4% 48 reviews
Bermuda Triangle B&B
101.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

39 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'King Georg'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 42 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a really hostel, it is more like renting a small appartement in a house full of appartements.Therefore you are never disturped by other guests. It feels luxury and the furniture is beautiful. The location is fantastic (next to the UBahn, so you are in the centre withing 3 minutes or, if you like walking 20 minutes to the centre) and there are many small stores, supermarkets and restuarants within 5 minutes of walking. The staff gave us restaurant tips upon arrival, which was very useful. You could not hear the bar, which is on the ground floor, in our appartement

Disliked: The communication about the checking out was not very clear, but still ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen 0neill

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 October 2013 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and well worth the money to stay here

Disliked: Could do with a micro wave in kitchen area but that's just me being very picky as there was nothing bad about this place ;-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the "Garden Room" which was decorated very nicely, it was clean, it included a fridge, some dishes, tea pot, etc. It was a very cute room. The bed was not exactly plush but it was clean and large and I slept well. I needed to print a train ticket and Jan took care of that for me, which was much appreciated.

Disliked: They only accept cash, so plan in advance (however there is a bank machine right next to the hotel so this should not be a problem at all).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rachel Cetlin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: We liked the area around the hostel, even though it was not close to the main touristy section. There was also a tiny kitchen area that was nice.

Disliked: We got the 80's themed room. It was strangely decorated and did not seem very clean. The bed was not comfortable at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The King Georg's quirky rooms are fun and the location above a bar helps add to the atmosphere. It's located just slightly off the beaten path but close to mass transit, which makes getting anywhere a cinch. I'm in Cologne several times a year and would likely stay here again.

Disliked: The taxi rank and bar can get a bit noisy -- you have to close the windows. But you're in a city, what do you expect?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurent Guerguy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Laurent would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very nice and very well decorated. Arty style

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 80s room was fantastic, we had lots of fun with the shell suit. The club downstairs was very cool and atmospheric. The bar staff were very helpful providing extra items we wanted upstairs.

Disliked: Perhaps a rare occurrence, but we were overcharged by about 40 euros on arrival. We tried chasing this up but got no reply from the owner after several calls, texts and emails. We had to leave without our money. Make sure you pay the right amount and everything else is great, but I get the feeling our messages were ignored intentionally.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are decorated in themes which is nice to see! The beds are comfy and the rooms have what you need to have a comfortable stay.

Disliked: The area is a bit noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price the themed room good heating

Disliked: the room smelt a bit like cigarettes when we arrived

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really individual and quirky appartments. Got to choose which appartment we wanted after a tour of all the decade themed rooms. We opted for the brilliant 70's Garden Room which was off the street, so it was quieter and was all kitted out with 70's teapot, corockery etc making it that little bit more special. All the rooms have been indovidually designed by a local artist. Shower was lovely and hot after a day exploring a cold and drizzly Cologne. The downstairs bar has great music and atmosphere too - we ended up having a couple of nights there. Andre catered for a late arrival too, a quick phone call when we arrived at 10pm and he came and met us within 5/10 mins in the bar! Loved it and would highly recommend staying there, would definitely return as great value for money and location too.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miroslava Simic

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference
City break

26 September 2010 Miroslava would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice place to stay,near the center of Cologne and Cologne Fair,either go by feet or metro or train .

Disliked: there are no dislikes :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool place, I've stayed in NIZZA suit, with toilet room, freezzer, tv, enormous double bed, even with some cooking implements. All very clean, I think even new. Great location - 100 m to underground trains, 300 m to suburban trains. So trip to Kologme Messe usually takes 25 minutes and cost 2.40 Euro.There ares grocery shop in the same buildind (great watermelons and so on) and REWE supermarket (100m), several banks, eateries, Saturn electronics and many other shops around.All for 65 Euros per night.

Disliked: No personell on site. You have to call local number for check-in. In my case i had to wait for 25 mins for arriving of manager. I had to pay in cash, though during booking I was warned that I'll be paying with my credit card. I was assured that corrections will be provided on the booking sites though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bastien Vaucher

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 July 2010 Bastien would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed at had a 50's style, it was very cosy. It was a minut away from the metro station and at a walkable distance from the main station.

Disliked: It wasn't really a problem for us, but since the hotel is located right above a discothec it can get quite noisy long through the night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and spacious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms well very well decorated and clean and the shower and toilet were inside the room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sam Scarmardo

22 March 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay in Cologne.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very stylish, and the location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a very good localtion and large clean rooms for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ++ Located close to underground station ++ Our 80's room was really clean and cosy++ NO wall-to-wall carpet++ Own toilet and shower (even really small)-- Check-in / check-out was sligthly cumbersome-- A bit noisy (this was described also on King Georg's details so it wasn't a big surprise =) and we were prepared)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: verygood, would be better to have a refridge

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.