We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Station Hostel Backpackers

Hostel | Marzellenstr. 44-56, Cologne, Germany 50668

85.3% Overall Rating

588 out of 665 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

Luisa Sie-yan Lo thinks…

"Nice staff free computer hair dryer! fully equipped kitchen clean room comfortable beds"

Read all Station Hostel Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

INDIVIDUAL BOOKINGS: "Please note that we charge your credit card one day prior to arrival. This is not for our benefit, but it enables us to contact you in order to find an alternative solution if the credit card payment fails, instead of cancelling your booking because of a declined credit card payment." PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION POLICY FOR GROUPS: - The invoice needs to be paid by bank transfer or credit card (only visa or mastercard) at least one week prior to arrival - A delayed or not completed payment releases the Hostel from the said booking. However this does NOT release the guest from the booking, in particular the responsibility to pay the invoice. - A refund (minus a cancellation fee) is then only possible if and when the beds/rooms are sold further to a third party. - Up to two months prior to arrival all cancellations are free of charge. - Up to two weeks prior to arrival 10 % of your booking can be cancelled free of charge. - For further or later cancellations we have to charge the full accommodation rate. - Cancellations are only accepted by email, fax or letter. "Bookings of 15 or more people are considered Group bookings and must be booked with the Agency Group bookings" "Dear Guest, due to the latest constitution of Colognes City Council we have to charge from 01.12.2014 onwards all guests who cannot prove that the stay is due to vocational or business reason a supplement of 5 % as City tax! We feel really sorry but there's no option for us to avoid these extra charges from the Cologne City Council. We also feel very sorry that our City Council is not even able to provide the form in english, you have to fill out the german version."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cologne

A&O Köln Dom (HBF)
31.15 USD

Hostel 82.6% 42 reviews
Pathpoint Cologne
20.74 USD

Hostel 89.5% 394 reviews
City-Pension-Storch
21.95 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 35 reviews
Hotel Engelbertz
43.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.9% 19 reviews
King Georg
41.70 USD

Apartment 87.7% 45 reviews
Cologne Downtown Hostel
28.53 USD

Hostel 94.4% 104 reviews
Bermuda Triangle B&B
87.80 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 65 reviews
A&O Köln Neumarkt
17.82 USD

Hostel 80.6% 187 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

588 out of 665 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Station Hostel Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 425 of 552 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yoonjae Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2015 Yoonjae would recommend this property

Liked: It was good enough for the money. Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The lobby area is too hot.. Wifi only working in the lobby also doesn't make sense to me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and excellent bar next door

Disliked: The lobby was very small and requires modernising.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luisa Sie-yan Lo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Luisa Sie-yan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff free computer hair dryer! fully equipped kitchen clean room comfortable beds

Disliked: lockers outside room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015

Liked: Location and cost

Disliked: Location beside an active train station

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Octavio Rodrigo Osorio Ramirez

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2015

Liked: no comment

Disliked: I booked the hostel..and received my confirmation number with the quantity that i had to pay at my arrival. However at the arrival at midnight they told me they had cancelled my reservation!!! turns out that at the bottom of the reservation page it says they charge you the first night to your credit card..and since it didnt go through they cancelled it without even emailing me or calling me. They said they called but i never received a call or even a lame email. It was midnight and all we felt like doing was sleeping. If they charge you like that it should tell you before you book it and should be stated in the hotel info .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Savio Poovathingal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Savio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly, lots of services and lockers. The hostel is rather quiet which I like.

Disliked: No WiFi in rooms, the showers take a little while to warm up and I had to keep it running and wasting water :-( worth the money though!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bright dorm rooms with no bunk beds!

Disliked: Room was noisy with the window open but too hot when the window was closed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason snidar

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2015 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanne Low

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2015 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and affordable stay

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Xiaomin Yu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: Location was good. Bed and sleeping equipments were clean.

Disliked: The common area was really poor and a bit noisy. No one would like to stay if there was not wifi connection. Yes there was NO wifi in rooms!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was nice and clean. Location near the Central Staion was amazing. Shower was good.

Disliked: Wifi only available in lobby and lounge. Many people were sitting there using wifi at night. Bad smell in toilet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for a quick stopover, right next to the train station. Clean and fairly comfortable.

Disliked: Lockers are out in the hallway instead of in the rooms and they aren't large enough to hold a backpack.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Radge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, staff were very helpful with any questions I had, beds were very comfy!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city and the Hauptbahnhof

Disliked: A lot of travelers who are not prepared

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zhe Wei Teng

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Zhe Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Each bed has a lamp.

Disliked: The cleanliness of some toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leticia Zuil Castillo

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 March 2015 Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: 5 minutes walking from the Hauptbanhof (central station). Friendly staff and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Leticia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Рядом с Hbf.

Disliked: Wi Fi плохо работает.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean Pierre Daquila

Alone

City break

26 January 2015 Jean Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: It is downtown.

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms, loud people in the corridors are not monitored.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Åberg

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 January 2015 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: God location and god service to you

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just round the corner from both the main train station and Cathedral. Rooms were really clean and no bunk-beds which is a bonus! Plenty of bathrooms, all kept clean and with good facilities. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: No WiFi or lockers in the rooms (but these were available elsewhere in the property).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015

Liked: Location is great. Good kitchen for guests.

Disliked: There was not very much to like at this hostel. The beds were hard as rocks, and very creaky, so everyone in the room heard each time a roommate rolled over. There was only one toilet per floor (not one room with multiple toilet stalls. Just one solitary toilet) and it was not very clean. The internet connection in common rooms was really bad, especially in the lounge, where it would work for 30 seconds then receive no data for 10 minutes (although the computer would say it was connected). Guests were very noisy, partying late into the night on the street in front of the hostel so that I could hear them even on the 4th floor with the windows closed. Certainly I've stayed in worse places, but not for 21 euro per night!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really near to the city centre, the dom, and the train station. very convenient and easy to find.

Disliked: toilets and bathroom are seperated. have to pay for the breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Camille Warfield

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 January 2015 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms

Disliked: Womens toilet was very dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2014

Liked: Close to Railway

Disliked: I can only echo what others said this is not a hostel if people looking for a good night's sleep.