HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Station Hostel for Backpackers Cologne Hostel

Marzellenstr 44-56, Cologne, Germany

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.13USD

Important Information

INDIVIDUAL BOOKINGS:
"Please note that we charge your credit card one day prior to arrival. This is not for our benefit, but it enables us to contact you in order to find an alternative solution if the credit card payment fails, instead of cancelling your booking because of a declined credit card payment."

PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION POLICY FOR GROUPS:
- The invoice needs to be paid by bank transfer or credit card (only visa or mastercard) at least one week prior to arrival
- A delayed or not completed payment releases the Hostel from the said booking. However this does NOT release the guest from the booking, in particular the responsibility to pay the invoice.
- A refund (minus a cancellation fee) is then only possible if and when the beds/rooms are sold further to a third party.
- Up to two months prior to arrival all cancellations are free of charge.
- Up to two weeks prior to arrival 10 % of your booking can be cancelled free of charge.
- For further or later cancellations we have to charge the full accommodation rate.
- Cancellations are only accepted by email, fax or letter.

"Bookings of 15 or more people are considered Group bookings and must be booked with the Agency Group bookings"

"Dear Guest, due to the latest constitution of Colognes City Council we have to charge from 01.12.2014 onwards all guests who cannot prove that the stay is due to vocational or business reason a supplement of 5 % as City tax! We feel really sorry but there's no option for us to avoid these extra charges from the Cologne City Council.
We also feel very sorry that our City Council is not even able to provide the form in english, you have to fill out the german version."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: near rail station

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The hostel is located in a good - looking modern area and it is not far away from the major tourist attraction.

Disliked: Nothing to mention.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, and nice cleaned big rooms

Disliked: No wifi on the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Very welcoming, cosy

Disliked: Credit card was charged for the first night prior to my arrival without even ascertaining if I had arrived. I would have preferred to pay on the spot in Euros so as to avoid the surcharge imposed by my bank. No wifi in the rooms. Also, although clean, the shower-room could get flooded without being able to drain off.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Great location located right near the train station. The people on the desk were always helpful, especially the chick that did the night shift. Pretty clean, I liked that there were no bunk beds. Free padlocks for lockers with deposit. Easy laundry facilities.

Disliked: Whole bathroom area smelt like a urinal because of the proximity between the showers and the urinal (and the female type toilet as well). Place was full of creepy old men rather than the young backpacker crowd so don't go here if you want good atmosphere or to make friends as a solo traveller. Wifi only worked in the lobby.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to transport

Disliked: I think the common room needs a little more TLC or rearrangement of furniture. Would be nice to have wifi throughout upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location near to rail station

Disliked: needs a little TLC

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is close to Cologne central station and well-known in the area: just had to ask the first railway staff I found at station for hostel and he sent me on my my way right away. The receptionist was well-organized and friendly, giving me all the information I would need without having to ask (including what restaurant was open nearby at that time of night). I had made some last-minute changes to my reservation which they graciously accepted. The 6-bed dorm has real beds with lockers nearby to give you some semblance of personal space (not bunks). There are also lockers in corridors that have security cameras pointed at them that you can lock with a padlock, so its safe as it gets. Shower rooms and toilets are well maintained and so is the kitchen. It has a real kitchen where people can make food and eat it sitting down, not a microwave on a shelf. You can do your own laundry as well. There is a bar too though I never visited it.

Disliked: The wifi was not available in the 3rd floor where I lived. Had to come down for web access. The life only goes down up to the first floor (doesn't reach ground floor), a bit difficult if you have lot of baggage. But to be fair, its a hostel for backpackers, who are expected to travel light.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location, 2 minute walk to supermarkets, 3 minute walk to the train station and 5 minutes to the cathedral and centre. Good wifi in the reception/lounge/kitchen but none in the rooms. All very clean with a good kitchen with a great range of cooking utensils (except a baking tray). Other hostel members were friendly and kind and staff were always happy to help.

Disliked: Small prints state that an extra 5% tax is to be paid and makes the bill higher and very confusing to understand. They also charge you the first nights stay in advance.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability