HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Station Hostel for Backpackers Cologne Hostel

Marzellenstr 44-56, Cologne, Germany

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 93%

Safety 79%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.06USD

Important Information

INDIVIDUAL BOOKINGS:
"Please note that we charge your credit card one day prior to arrival. This is not for our benefit, but it enables us to contact you in order to find an alternative solution if the credit card payment fails, instead of cancelling your booking because of a declined credit card payment."

PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION POLICY FOR GROUPS:
- The invoice needs to be paid by bank transfer or credit card (only visa or mastercard) at least one week prior to arrival
- A delayed or not completed payment releases the Hostel from the said booking. However this does NOT release the guest from the booking, in particular the responsibility to pay the invoice.
- A refund (minus a cancellation fee) is then only possible if and when the beds/rooms are sold further to a third party.
- Up to two months prior to arrival all cancellations are free of charge.
- Up to two weeks prior to arrival 10 % of your booking can be cancelled free of charge.
- For further or later cancellations we have to charge the full accommodation rate.
- Cancellations are only accepted by email, fax or letter.

"Bookings of 15 or more people are considered Group bookings and must be booked with the Agency Group bookings"

"Dear Guest, due to the latest constitution of Colognes City Council we have to charge from 01.12.2014 onwards all guests who cannot prove that the stay is due to vocational or business reason a supplement of 5 % as City tax! We feel really sorry but there's no option for us to avoid these extra charges from the Cologne City Council.
We also feel very sorry that our City Council is not even able to provide the form in english, you have to fill out the german version."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 93%

Safety 79%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location, Very helpfull staff.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Not much

Disliked: This hostel is one of these new hostels that has removed the kitchen In favour of an overpriced bar. Reception staff were mostly rude and unfriendly apart from a woman (possibly the owner). I asked for some hot water from the bar and was told I should be charged (?!) And then received some rude jokes about Asian people. They kept putting me in the wrong bed and then my keycard failed to work. All in all an overpriced headache

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: near rail station

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The hostel is located in a good - looking modern area and it is not far away from the major tourist attraction.

Disliked: Nothing to mention.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, and nice cleaned big rooms

Disliked: No wifi on the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Very welcoming, cosy

Disliked: Credit card was charged for the first night prior to my arrival without even ascertaining if I had arrived. I would have preferred to pay on the spot in Euros so as to avoid the surcharge imposed by my bank. No wifi in the rooms. Also, although clean, the shower-room could get flooded without being able to drain off.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Great location located right near the train station. The people on the desk were always helpful, especially the chick that did the night shift. Pretty clean, I liked that there were no bunk beds. Free padlocks for lockers with deposit. Easy laundry facilities.

Disliked: Whole bathroom area smelt like a urinal because of the proximity between the showers and the urinal (and the female type toilet as well). Place was full of creepy old men rather than the young backpacker crowd so don't go here if you want good atmosphere or to make friends as a solo traveller. Wifi only worked in the lobby.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to transport

Disliked: I think the common room needs a little more TLC or rearrangement of furniture. Would be nice to have wifi throughout upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location near to rail station

Disliked: needs a little TLC

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability