We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Station Hostel Backpackers

Hostel | Marzellenstr. 44-56, Cologne, Germany 50668

81.9% Overall Rating

601 out of 680 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

David Batchelor thinks…

"The bedrooms are very large nd well lit. The beds are proper beds and not bunk beds."

Read all Station Hostel Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

INDIVIDUAL BOOKINGS: "Please note that we charge your credit card one day prior to arrival. This is not for our benefit, but it enables us to contact you in order to find an alternative solution if the credit card payment fails, instead of cancelling your booking because of a declined credit card payment." PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION POLICY FOR GROUPS: - The invoice needs to be paid by bank transfer or credit card (only visa or mastercard) at least one week prior to arrival - A delayed or not completed payment releases the Hostel from the said booking. However this does NOT release the guest from the booking, in particular the responsibility to pay the invoice. - A refund (minus a cancellation fee) is then only possible if and when the beds/rooms are sold further to a third party. - Up to two months prior to arrival all cancellations are free of charge. - Up to two weeks prior to arrival 10 % of your booking can be cancelled free of charge. - For further or later cancellations we have to charge the full accommodation rate. - Cancellations are only accepted by email, fax or letter. "Bookings of 15 or more people are considered Group bookings and must be booked with the Agency Group bookings" "Dear Guest, due to the latest constitution of Colognes City Council we have to charge from 01.12.2014 onwards all guests who cannot prove that the stay is due to vocational or business reason a supplement of 5 % as City tax! We feel really sorry but there's no option for us to avoid these extra charges from the Cologne City Council. We also feel very sorry that our City Council is not even able to provide the form in english, you have to fill out the german version."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cologne

A&O Köln Dom (HBF)
28.11 USD

Hostel 83.1% 43 reviews
Pathpoint Cologne
17.84 USD

Hostel 87.9% 402 reviews
City-Pension-Storch
22.44 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 37 reviews
Hotel Engelbertz
49.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.6% 21 reviews
King Georg
42.63 USD

Apartment 86.7% 48 reviews
Cologne Downtown Hostel
26.92 USD

Hostel 92.8% 109 reviews
Bermuda Triangle B&B
89.75 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 65 reviews
A&O Köln Neumarkt
17.35 USD

Hostel 78.4% 192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

601 out of 680 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Station Hostel Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 431 of 567 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jowen Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2015 Jowen would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean and Comfortable. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Toilet is quite far.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

David Batchelor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2015

Liked: The bedrooms are very large nd well lit. The beds are proper beds and not bunk beds.

Disliked: Very unsafe. Each room has keycard entry however somebody got in, presumably with an old card, and picked lugguge locks and stole ipads and more from people in my room duing the day. The staff were unwilling to change the key card access when asked to do something. There are lockers outside the rooms but there would offer little help if locks are being picked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Supple

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 August 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the main train station and in the really beautiful old part of the city. The 5-bed dorm was really spacious and on the first floor the big windows opened onto the roof. The receptionists were really sweet and helpful.

Disliked: The bathrooms are so tiny and had no ventilation. The common room felt more like a lobby than a meeting place, and the bar was almost dead on a Saturday night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mbanefo ezenwa

Alone

Business / conference

16 August 2015 Mbanefo would recommend this property

Liked: near main train station and able to leave your bag at storage after you cheek out to pick up after

Disliked: non

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: i didnt feel any integration between visitors in main lobby everybody sunk in the cyber reality :(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff & central location

Disliked: cleanliness not very good BUT only 2 showers for a complete floor was far too few At least 6 needed + more toilets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yoonjae Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2015 Yoonjae would recommend this property

Liked: It was good enough for the money. Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The lobby area is too hot.. Wifi only working in the lobby also doesn't make sense to me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and excellent bar next door

Disliked: The lobby was very small and requires modernising.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luisa Sie-yan Lo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Luisa Sie-yan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff free computer hair dryer! fully equipped kitchen clean room comfortable beds

Disliked: lockers outside room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015

Liked: Location and cost

Disliked: Location beside an active train station

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Octavio Rodrigo Osorio Ramirez

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2015

Liked: no comment

Disliked: I booked the hostel..and received my confirmation number with the quantity that i had to pay at my arrival. However at the arrival at midnight they told me they had cancelled my reservation!!! turns out that at the bottom of the reservation page it says they charge you the first night to your credit card..and since it didnt go through they cancelled it without even emailing me or calling me. They said they called but i never received a call or even a lame email. It was midnight and all we felt like doing was sleeping. If they charge you like that it should tell you before you book it and should be stated in the hotel info .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Savio Poovathingal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Savio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly, lots of services and lockers. The hostel is rather quiet which I like.

Disliked: No WiFi in rooms, the showers take a little while to warm up and I had to keep it running and wasting water :-( worth the money though!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bright dorm rooms with no bunk beds!

Disliked: Room was noisy with the window open but too hot when the window was closed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason snidar

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2015 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanne Low

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2015 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and affordable stay

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Xiaomin Yu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: Location was good. Bed and sleeping equipments were clean.

Disliked: The common area was really poor and a bit noisy. No one would like to stay if there was not wifi connection. Yes there was NO wifi in rooms!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was nice and clean. Location near the Central Staion was amazing. Shower was good.

Disliked: Wifi only available in lobby and lounge. Many people were sitting there using wifi at night. Bad smell in toilet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for a quick stopover, right next to the train station. Clean and fairly comfortable.

Disliked: Lockers are out in the hallway instead of in the rooms and they aren't large enough to hold a backpack.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Radge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, staff were very helpful with any questions I had, beds were very comfy!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city and the Hauptbahnhof

Disliked: A lot of travelers who are not prepared

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zhe Wei Teng

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Zhe Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Each bed has a lamp.

Disliked: The cleanliness of some toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leticia Zuil Castillo

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 March 2015 Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: 5 minutes walking from the Hauptbanhof (central station). Friendly staff and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Leticia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Рядом с Hbf.

Disliked: Wi Fi плохо работает.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean Pierre Daquila

Alone

City break

26 January 2015 Jean Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: It is downtown.

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms, loud people in the corridors are not monitored.