HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel Cologne Hostel

Venloer Str. 196, 50823 Koln, Cologne, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 81%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.48USD
  • Towel 1.22USD

Important Information

"Linen is included. Please understand that for hygenical reasons we will not allow the usage of sleeping bags. A towel can be rented for a singular extra cost of 1 Euro, as of three days it would be inclusive.

Breakfast for 4 Euro is offered from 8.00-12.00.

For the room key we will retain a deposit of 20 Euro in cash.

The cancellation policy for bookings of 1-4 people is 1 week. Cancellations must be made in written form (i.e. via email). For non-arrivals and late cancellations after this period a one-night charge may be applied.

Our hostel is a non-smoking home. You can smoke only outside the house. We ask
all guests urgently to abide by this rule.

Check-in time is from 2pm to 8pm, check-out before noon. Early arrivals do have the possibility to store luggage in our hostel. Later arrival only after prior consultation.
Between midnight and 7am the reception is closed, during this period check-in or -out is not possible."

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROPERTY WILL PRE-AUTHORISE YOUR CREDIT CARD PRIOR TO ARRIVAL

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 81%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Atmosphere, lounge cafe

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Everything was fine, hygiene, safety, location, friendliness of staff. I highly recommand this hotel

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great comfortable beds and pillows, terrific showers and an overall very clean environment. Location is quite good as well, 4 metro stops to center or a 30 minute walk. The bar/cafe offered cheap prices as well.

Disliked: Not too much of a social atmosphere. Never more than 1 or 2 others in the lounge so it's definitely a hostel for peace and quiet which is good for some people. It could have just been because of the time that I was there though

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Positive atmosphere and warm welcome, nice bar at ground level

Disliked: Weak wifi range at 1st floor room 1; weak signal from 'cafe' and weaker from 'hostel' acces pont

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people are very friendly at the desk and the rooms are clean.

Disliked: The breakfast is not worth paying for it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location, the friendliness of the staff and all the facilities

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good sized rooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really enjoyed the building and the staff

Disliked: Smelt like cake, but I had a toothache :) the place was great

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Free wifi- Socket and lamp for each bed

Disliked: - Receptionists were rude - they ignored people waiting at the counter for many minutes before bothering to help them. When I arrived the two receptionists were too busy feeling each other up to answer me. Then when I gave one of them my I.D she looked at it as if it were a turd I had picked up off the street and asked me if I had a "real" (I assume she meant "German") ID card because there was apparently no number on my I.D (there was; it was on the line marked 'licence number'). - Rooms are VERY badly sound-proofed - there was music playing in the street all night and i could still hear it with the windows closed and earplugs in. - The toilet was in what can only be described as a cupboard - a small room that smelt bad and was not very clean- Lockers are by themselves NOT secure - you have to rent a padlock for five euros unless you have a very large padlock with you. I had two different padlocks with me and neither would close around the locker because of the lock size. - You also have to rent a key for a 20 euro deposit which is ridiculous considering it is a simple metal key- Breakfast was poor - you are allocated three small slices of bread. There is very little variety of meat/cheese. There were no bowls for cereal. - Overall I was glad to leave!!


The property's response is

just to clear up some things:
we did not meant to ignore anyone, sorry for this feeling. foreign ids and passports are always welcome, fitting padlocks can be rented for 5€ deposit, for breakfast you can have as many bread rolls and slices as needed, we are well equiped with bowls and there are 3 sorts of each organic meat and cheese.
sorry also for the noise, that weekend there was a festival in our street which takes place once a year.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Spacious rooms

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability