We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel & Café

Hostel | Venloer Str. 196, Cologne, Germany 50823

82.7% Overall Rating

224 out of 239 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

Colin Cheong thinks…

"Nice area even though it is a little further out, the main street it is on is filled with resturants and shops. The staff were super friendly and helpful - good clean sheets and facilities like…"

Read all Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel & Café reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.83
  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

"Linen is included. Please understand that for hygenical reasons we will not allow the usage of sleeping bags. A towel can be rented for a singular extra cost of 1 Euro, as of three days it would be inclusive. Breakfast for 4 Euro is offered from 8.00-12.00. For the room key we will retain a deposit of 20 Euro in cash. The cancellation policy for bookings of 1-4 people is 1 week. Cancellations must be made in written form (i.e. via email). For non-arrivals and late cancellations after this period a one-night charge may be applied. Our hostel is a non-smoking home. You can smoke only outside the house. We ask all guests urgently to abide by this rule. Check-in time is from 2pm to 8pm, check-out before noon. Early arrivals do have the possibility to store luggage in our hostel. Later arrival only after prior consultation. Between midnight and 7am the reception is closed, during this period check-in or -out is not possible." PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROPERTY WILL PRE-AUTHORISE YOUR CREDIT CARD PRIOR TO ARRIVAL

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cologne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cologne

die wohngemeinschaft
25.89 USD

Hostel 96.8% 84 reviews
MEININGER Cologne City Center
20.71 USD

Hostel 77.7% 931 reviews
Shiva´s CitySleep
25.89 USD

Hostel 80.6% 47 reviews
A&O Köln Neumarkt
13.90 USD

Hostel 83.4% 170 reviews
Bermuda Triangle B&B
103.57 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 65 reviews
Black Sheep Hostel
26.83 USD

Hostel 85.6% 364 reviews
King Georg
49.20 USD

Apartment 89.1% 42 reviews
A&O Köln Dom (HBF)
34.43 USD

Hostel 82.4% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

224 out of 239 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Weltempfänger Backpacker Hostel & Café'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 231 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciaran Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed the building and the staff

Disliked: Smelt like cake, but I had a toothache :) the place was great

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paul leonard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 paul would recommend this property

Liked: good sized rooms

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Roxanne Conlon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: - Free wifi - Socket and lamp for each bed

Disliked: - Receptionists were rude - they ignored people waiting at the counter for many minutes before bothering to help them. When I arrived the two receptionists were too busy feeling each other up to answer me. Then when I gave one of them my I.D she looked at it as if it were a turd I had picked up off the street and asked me if I had a "real" (I assume she meant "German") ID card because there was apparently no number on my I.D (there was; it was on the line marked 'licence number'). - Rooms are VERY badly sound-proofed - there was music playing in the street all night and i could still hear it with the windows closed and earplugs in. - The toilet was in what can only be described as a cupboard - a small room that smelt bad and was not very clean - Lockers are by themselves NOT secure - you have to rent a padlock for five euros unless you have a very large padlock with you. I had two different padlocks with me and neither would close around the locker because of the lock size. - You also have to rent a key for a 20 euro deposit which is ridiculous considering it is a simple metal key - Breakfast was poor - you are allocated three small slices of bread. There is very little variety of meat/cheese. There were no bowls for cereal. - Overall I was glad to leave!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014

Liked: not really

Disliked: noisy..near the road and above the pub can't sleep well

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Song Yi Back

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Song Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Good people, clean room, good common kicten

Disliked: Bad wi-fi, not secure locker

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYEONGJU PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 HYEONGJU would recommend this property

Liked: atmoshere

Disliked: stair

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aiste Gumbaragyte

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Aiste would recommend this property

Liked: The greatest advantage of this hostel is late check out time!! It's by 12:00pm.

Disliked: Aiste left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Cheong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area even though it is a little further out, the main street it is on is filled with resturants and shops. The staff were super friendly and helpful - good clean sheets and facilities like kitchen/common room. Midday checkout great for sleep in.

Disliked: Wifi was really spotty in Room 1. Only 1 toilet on the floor!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gennady Karasev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Gennady would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cafe, good stuff people. The rooms are clean. There is all you need in the kitchen.

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds were comfortable and clean. No smoking in the building and a lovely cafe on the first floor.

Disliked: The street outside was noisy late into the night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We (3 of us) stayed in a 6 bed dorm, which was in very good condition and clean, so no problems on that front. the staff were friendly and the internet was free. They have 1 euro coffee's and 1.50 euro beers for people staying at the hostel, so that was a definite plus! recommend stay overall. Also to add, it was a 20 euro deposit for key and 5 euro deposit for a locker key (which is quite steep but if you don't lose it you get the money back right?).

Disliked: Only problem is it would be perfect of a bit closer to cologne, and if the deposit for the lock and key were cheaper. Also the internet only worked in the cafe, and not in the hostel rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Scott Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Decent kitchen, rooms were nice, bathroom was nice, the hostel bar/cafe ruled.

Disliked: A bit expensive, the location was out of the way, I felt like the atmosphere wasn't very social.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value

Disliked: Terrible Internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arnout De Temmerman

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 April 2013 Arnout would recommend this property

Liked: worth for money

Disliked: Arnout left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine, nothing special. The bar / cafe downstairs is pretty cool and the staff are very friendly, albeit very blunt (as is the German way).

Disliked: The hostel itself lacked atmosphere. There is a common room where I met a couple of people but it felt very underused and not in a great location within the hostel to encourage people to go there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is perfectly situated next to the Ubann and a quick walk to the center of town. The people are extremely nice and friendly! The cafe downstairs is very welcoming and a great place to hang out. Also, the rooms are great and clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room i stayed in was fairly large and the property was clean. there was an issue with the toilet but the staff fixed it right away

Disliked: the location is a bit far

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jukka Lindfors

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 October 2012 Jukka would recommend this property

Liked: Even though bathroom and showers were shared I liked the availability of them at any given times. Downstrairs bathroom was awesome.

Disliked: Jukka left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1 Euro coffees, friendly staff and an awesome breakfast for the 4 Euro. Cheap beer at the cafe/bar

Disliked: Didn't have such a busy hostel feeling. The common room is relatively small meaning that anymore than 8 or so people and you need to find elsewhere to hangout, this means it ends up being a bit more difficult to meet people. I would recommend this place to couples or groups, being a solo traveller it could have been somewhat difficult if looking for people to go out drinking with in the evenings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GUIDO ROMERO

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 GUIDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. The hostel is not downtown but it's just 4 or 5 U-Bahn stations from any place you'd like to visit in Cologne and if you like walking it's just 15-20 minutes. The building, facilities and services are great, clean and neat! Loved the café they hace downstairs. Worth the money. I definetely recommend it and will stay there again in my next visit to Cologne.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been in Europe, clean, great staff, nice kitchen, great.

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Howie

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 October 2012 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: A great friendly hostel with very helpful staff. Easy to find right next to underground station, also makes getting around Cologne easy. A good variety of good veriety of places to eat at reasonable prices in the area. Breakfasts are well worth having and there is a good atmosphere there. Will gladly stay there again when visiting Cologne. would highly recommend.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spencer Lukens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, very clean, cheap beer, good showers & really just a solid all around hostel. I can't think of any obvious issues; though I'm sure some would prefer lockers under the beds. Speaking of which, very comfortable beds with included linens, and a towel for only 1 euro. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Disliked: Everything was fine, no complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were very helpful and straight-up, they were great and described the area, what to see and where to get good food etc... . The beds were VERY comfortable,even sleeping in a top bunk was nice. Some of the best beds I have ever slept on. It was very easy to get trains to and from the main station, direct to the door of the hostel! Free wifi! The outer door security was better than the room security.

Disliked: The door to the dorm did not shut, or lock, yet a 20 Euro 'key-bond' was taken. I didn't use my key even once in 3 days ! I am glad I didn't have any valuables, as literally anyone staying in the building could have just walked into the room if they had chosen to.