HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bremen hostels

Reviews of GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | Emil-Waldmann-Strasse 5- 6, Bremen, Germany 28195

79.8% Overall Rating

197 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Mara Runde-Pearson thinks…

"If your priority is not extra comfort but a good concert in the OVB Arena, then this Hostel is the best place to stay - aound the corner, through the "Bahnhof" and there it is. Also for a simple…"

Read all GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.98
  • Linen USD 4.15
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bremen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bremen

City Hotel Bremen
38.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 44 reviews
Hostel-Posty
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 96 reviews
Townside Hostel Bremen
22.81 USD

Hostel 93.0% 232 reviews
Southend Hostel Bremen
20.04 USD

Hostel 73.4% 294 reviews
Jugendherberge Bremen
36.63 USD

Hostel 88.0% 5 reviews
Eureka Bed&Breakfast
33.17 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 94 reviews
The Grand Hostel Bremen
20.73 USD

Hostel 81.3% 45 reviews
Muellers Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 74.9% 94 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

197 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014

Liked: The location was really good, the staff was really helpful also.

Disliked: I have booked a single private room for myself and paid 36 euros including breakfast. I at least expected them to put on the sheets for this price, and not do it myself. Also the room was not really high quality, there was a strange smell and the walls' color was really ugly. Besides, the showers were like gym showers (everyone has shower together, without seperators) and the place was probably not cleaned for years (there were spider nets, and an actual spider also). The toilet seat was dirty, the kitchen had also a strong smell. All in all, I did not like this place, and I would not recommend it to someone in the future.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rafat Jalabi

Alone

City break

17 March 2014 Rafat would recommend this property

Liked: it is quite good

Disliked: you have to bring your own bedding

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mara Runde-Pearson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: If your priority is not extra comfort but a good concert in the OVB Arena, then this Hostel is the best place to stay - aound the corner, through the "Bahnhof" and there it is. Also for a simple shopping or sightseeing tour it is extremely comfortable: the tram around the corner, city centre 10 min walk. Elementary necessary things: a bed, nicely ironed sheets and shared clean shower. What else one can desire for this price.

Disliked: Nothing to comment.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irene Flack

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 February 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious rooms, good kitchen facilities [just no microwave]. Free teabags available but no milk or coffee - bit odd. Comfortable lounge area, wifi reception good there but not available in our room [2nd floor]. 5-10 mins walk into city centre, 2 mins to main station for trams, trains and buses. Staff spoke good English and were very friendly and informative.

Disliked: It was quiet when we stayed but I can imagine that in high season there might be queues for the bathrooms - a sink in each room would be handy.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing to say about the hostel - clean, tidy, and nice.

Disliked: There was not so much atmosphere, but I guess that it is hard to build an atmosphere when the hostel is empty!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Federico Viola

As a family with children

Business / conference

03 December 2013

Liked: the location es very good

Disliked: is not a sutitable atmosphere for young people or student. I dislike also that you have to pay for bedline (It´s ridiculous to travel with my own bedline). The first floor don´t have showers. There´s no lift. They offer a breakfast for € 6,50 wich is ridiculous expensive for a hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very good location, good price

Disliked: WiFi does not reach the rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

aydin kutulaman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 aydin would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere can be good if you go there with your friends

Disliked: The staff is lil bit rude but.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

XIAO REN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 XIAO would recommend this property

Liked: I like the kitchen and the place for reading~

Disliked: XIAO left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013

Liked: Good location, near the station. Nice kitchen.

Disliked: One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff were incredibly rude. I hand washed my plate and saucepan one evening and the owner moaned at me for not using the dishwasher. When I pointed out that it was already in use and therefore unavailable she didn't offer any apology at all. When I checked out I asked if I could hang around in the common area until my train departed later that day. The young lady at reception said this was fine, but an hour later the same young lady told me I must leave as I had already checked out. I have stayed at over 50 hostels in the last three months and it has never ever been a problem anywhere else! Simply ridiculous! Also, the facilities were quite dated and in the showers you had to push the button every five seconds to get the water. I'm not exaggerating; they were the most frustrating showers I've ever used! There were no locks on any of the rooms so it really didn't feel very safe to leave things in the rooms. I would definitely not recommend this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Lewis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Superb friendliness and help at hand until 1am. Large rooms which were well heated.

Disliked: The only negative feedback i can offer is there was limited information regarding local attractions, however we were given a map however in german.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zandro Concepcion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Zandro would recommend this property

Liked: the place is few minutes walk from the central station and city center... very convenient if you would like to walk around or take the tram or train. the staff are accommodating and the place is decent and clean.

Disliked: a little secluded but not that hard to find... :) wi-fi is only available in the lounge area... no lifts, fine with me but would be nice to have one. dorm rooms can't be locked and shower is off after 10secs...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2012

Liked: Very clean, tidy and quiet.

Disliked: A little difficult to find, not much atmosphere, hardly saw anyone else when I was there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: There were no locks on the dorms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

John Brooks

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, very central to train station. Friendly staff, always willing to please.

Disliked: Price discrepency between amount on Hostelbookers and that charge at the Hostel. Amount for Linen is more expensive than shown on Hostelbookers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Igor Miyahira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Near the mai trains station, the city center is not far away. The hostek has kitchen and good Wi-Fi at the louge. Rooms are of good size.

Disliked: No comments

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: It was *really* close to the train station, which was great. It's also only a short 10-minute walk to the center of town. The free wi-fi was decent as well, which I appreciate.

Disliked: The showers were a bit of a walk across the building from the dorms. The dorm rooms themselves didn't lock either, which I thought was odd. There also weren't that many people to meet, but I know that has more to do with the time of year than the hostel itself.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: Location was good - very close to bus/train station, a walking distance from the oldtown.

Disliked: We had to leave a document as a deposit for the key but we hadn't known that before so we brought only our passports. And any at least aware traveler won't leave his/her only document for someone else to keep. We had to leave 50 euro deposit. That one hell of an expensive key, isn't it? And the price of the stay isn't that cheap; if you add up a fee for linen, towels, breakfast, toiletries, probably you could stay in a nice little in/hotel for the same price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wan-Wei Ho

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2011 Wan-Wei would recommend this property

Liked: nice location and nice kitchen.

Disliked: it's good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to train station

Disliked: Although near to train station, 15/20 mins walk to old town/ bar area near river.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 March 2011

Liked: Big rooms, almost alone in a 6-bed dorm, Quiet at night.

Disliked: Staff was really unfriendly and unhelpful. I had to walk all the way back to the central station just to get some cash because they dont accept EC-Cards. Its by far the most uninviting Hostel I have ever been to. People were grumpy and quiet, nobody ever said hello or greeted at all. Staff is unmotivated and changing every 3 or 3 hours. We both had a itchy rash after staying there. Dont know exactly know from what, but probably from their way of washing the linen or so.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Helpfulness staff.

Disliked: Bathroom and toilet were outside room.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and near the central station

Disliked: showers were a big room in common, like in a gym

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Emanuel Viveiros

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2010 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean!!!

Disliked: just on spot to internet!


See all Bremen hostels