HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Southend Hostel Bremen Bremen Hostel

Jakobistr. 23 A, Bremen, Germany

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 60%

Location 86%

Safety 63%

Staff 76%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.49USD
  • Linen 2.33USD
  • Towel 1.16USD

Important Information

Check in times Mo-Sat: 3.00 pm – 9.00 pm. general holidays: 3.00 pm – 7.00 pm. If you are later than 9 pm (7pm), call us 15 min before your arrival at the hostel! A member of staff will be there to greet you upon arrival. The latest check in time is 00:00 h. If you don’t arrive on time we charge a late-arrival fee of € 10,00 Any cancellations must be made 48 hrs before the arrival. Any cancellations made after and all no-shows can be charged their full booking.You must pay on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bremen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 60%

Location 86%

Safety 63%

Staff 76%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff and value

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: all was fine

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: calm and quiet

Disliked: nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved it because I had a room with a kitchenette inside the room. The staff was very kind more than helpful that they have upgraded my room free of charge.

Disliked: Well I had to climb 5 stairs with all my belongings since the elevator was broken. I guess they are not going to fix it. But now that I am backpacking and I had a chance to work out which I didn't have time to do. So not a major problem, but for girls it might be.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly stuff, very helpful for us

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner is friendly

Disliked: wifi. room facilities (shower sucks the toliet sucks)Bed not comfortable.broken elevator

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, very close to a lot of significant things but on a small street so you don't get too much traffic noise. The room itself was clean, pretty and welcoming, including the bathroom. The guy on the desk was helpful and friendly, and available even though we unexpectedly arrived after check-in time.I would recommend the property as long as you go aware of the pitfalls and there's nothing better available.

Disliked: Hidden costs: city tax (not much) for over-18s not on business trips (see here: http://www.bremen-tourism.de/city-tax) and a charge for paying the remaining cost by card (3.6% for visa, even debit).The hostel outside of the rooms was quite dilapidated, with loose and worn carpet on the stairs. The pillows were poor quality and the duvet covers didn't actually cover the whole duvets (ended about a foot from the end), and the mattress was maybe 5 inches of foam. Available towels were hand-towel size.The room we got was completely different to the one we booked: a double rather than a twin. Not a problem in our case, but a surprise, certainly!No real "atmosphere" encountered.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Only the location. And for the state the property and everything inside is in, the hostel was fairly clean.

Disliked: The atmosphere

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: easy

Disliked: nothing

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The hostel was easy to find and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were perfect for our needs- clean, quiet and the showers were nice and powerful. Also, they were named after beers, which we all liked.

Disliked: No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability