We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bremen hostels

Reviews of Southend Hostel Bremen

Hostel | Jakobistr. 23 A, Bremen, Germany 28195

68.0% Overall Rating

261 out of 317 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Yoonjae Song thinks…

"I loved it because I had a room with a kitchenette inside the room. The staff was very kind more than helpful that they have upgraded my room free of charge."

Read all Southend Hostel Bremen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.34
  • Linen USD 2.23
  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Check in times Mo-Sat: 3.00 pm – 9.00 pm. general holidays: 3.00 pm – 7.00 pm. If you are later than 9 pm (7pm), call us 15 min before your arrival at the hostel! A member of staff will be there to greet you upon arrival. The latest check in time is 00:00 h. If you don’t arrive on time we charge a late-arrival fee of € 10,00 Any cancellations must be made 48 hrs before the arrival. Any cancellations made after and all no-shows can be charged their full booking.You must pay on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bremen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bremen

Jugendherberge Bremen
30.06 USD

Hostel 90.0% 6 reviews
Eureka Bed&Breakfast
26.72 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 102 reviews
City Hotel Bremen
30.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.9% 48 reviews
Hostel-Posty
21.15 USD

Hostel 84.3% 119 reviews
GastHaus Bremen Backpacker Hostel
22.78 USD

Hostel 81.3% 237 reviews
Townside Hostel Bremen
20.24 USD

Hostel 94.1% 271 reviews
The Grand Hostel Bremen
20.04 USD

Hostel 79.2% 54 reviews
Muellers Hostel
15.59 USD

Hostel 71.5% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

261 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Southend Hostel Bremen'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 268 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all was fine

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoonjae Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Yoonjae would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it because I had a room with a kitchenette inside the room. The staff was very kind more than helpful that they have upgraded my room free of charge.

Disliked: Well I had to climb 5 stairs with all my belongings since the elevator was broken. I guess they are not going to fix it. But now that I am backpacking and I had a chance to work out which I didn't have time to do. So not a major problem, but for girls it might be.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm and quiet

Disliked: nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monika Walas

As a family with children

City break

15 June 2015 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, very helpful for us

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2015

Liked: The owner is friendly

Disliked: wifi. room facilities (shower sucks the toliet sucks) Bed not comfortable. broken elevator

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to a lot of significant things but on a small street so you don't get too much traffic noise. The room itself was clean, pretty and welcoming, including the bathroom. The guy on the desk was helpful and friendly, and available even though we unexpectedly arrived after check-in time. I would recommend the property as long as you go aware of the pitfalls and there's nothing better available.

Disliked: Hidden costs: city tax (not much) for over-18s not on business trips (see here: http://www.bremen-tourism.de/city-tax) and a charge for paying the remaining cost by card (3.6% for visa, even debit). The hostel outside of the rooms was quite dilapidated, with loose and worn carpet on the stairs. The pillows were poor quality and the duvet covers didn't actually cover the whole duvets (ended about a foot from the end), and the mattress was maybe 5 inches of foam. Available towels were hand-towel size. The room we got was completely different to the one we booked: a double rather than a twin. Not a problem in our case, but a surprise, certainly! No real "atmosphere" encountered.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 January 2015

Liked: Only the location. And for the state the property and everything inside is in, the hostel was fairly clean.

Disliked: The atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Magdalena Nalskowska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: easy

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allan Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 August 2014 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was easy to find and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were perfect for our needs- clean, quiet and the showers were nice and powerful. Also, they were named after beers, which we all liked.

Disliked: No complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dong Jun Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Dong Jun would recommend this property

Liked: I MET VARIOUS KINDS OF PEOPLE I LIKE THAT

Disliked: I LAKE TO COOK.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap.

Disliked: No lockers, not so clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2014

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Very worn down and lamps in corridors were broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Southend hostel is a nice and quiet hostel not far from the city centre and there is a nice blues bar 15 metres from the hostel entrance. The rooms are tidy and the beds were ok and you have lockers to store your bags in. This is a nice place for the people who rather enjoy quiet and calm athmosphere at their sleeping places.

Disliked: Wifi only works at the social room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and ready !

Disliked: If there would had been a vending machine with food/drinks, it would had been perfect.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Renate Herrmann

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2013 Renate would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, but quiet street

Disliked: The shower curtains were very moldy and smelly. Staff was available to very limited times only, therefore one was not able to leave the bag

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location in the city center

Disliked: - reception opening hours - you can't lock the bathroom - cleanliness

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 August 2013

Liked: They had said that I could arrive late in the evening but when I arrived there was no one around. I called mobile number and a young woman from their team very kindly got out of bed to let me in.

Disliked: Bathroom filthy, dingy entrance and common areas

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aini Ülper

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Aini would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi was not always available.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013

Liked: location is good that is close to main station

Disliked: old facilities and not very clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013

Liked: Good location, potential for much better service!

Disliked: Hidden fees, cigarette smelling sheets. They smoke next to the sheet and towel storage so all of them smell.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ģeogrāfiskais izvietojums

Disliked: Piesmēķētas telpas

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarmite Reke

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

25 January 2013 Sarmite would recommend this property

Liked: Pozitīvi- atrodas centrā. 10 Euro līdz lidostai ar taxi.

Disliked: Negatīvi-piepīpēts, nolietots.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Irene L. Cop

Alone

Business / conference
City break

24 January 2013 Irene L. would recommend this property

Liked: easy reach from station and right down-town; great staff

Disliked: Irene L. left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samir Khanukaev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Samir would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. 2 minutes to the main street and square. very good price

Disliked: It seems like staff usually works only in first half of day. also the beds and pillows are awfull


See all Bremen hostels