HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Townside Hostel Bremen Bremen Hostel

Am Dobben 61-62, Bremen, Germany

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.68USD
  • Towel 1.82USD

Important Information

Cancellations:
Cancellations for non-group bookings (up to 5 people) are required to be faxed or sent by email to the Townside Hostel till 10:30 am one day prior to arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a one night no show fee which will be charged to the given credit card number.
Cancellations for group bookings (5 or more people) are possible till 3 weeks prior arrival. After that the whole amount will be charged. Groups have to make a prepayment of 50 % which will be charged to the given credit card.

The hostel reserves the right, to confirm a degoration cancellation fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bremen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

Showing 51-37 of 37 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff, good airport connection

Disliked: very loud (some drunk people :(

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good, value, freindly staff, good security and comfortable beds, warm rooms, etc.Most Hostels in germany are fantastic and are better than those in most european countries.

Disliked: We are given keys to our shared rooms and a key to the main door whenever the reception is closed. The main door is locked at all times, however it is opened by the staff at the reception via a door bell during reception opening times.My key wouldn't open the main door and I was forced to use the bell on several occasions.Unfortunately at 6am I was woken up by a guest outside who banged on our lower windows in order to get someone to open the main door. Fortunately I heard it and let him in, he was very thankfull having only a thin sweater to protect him from the -1 temperatures.It annoyed me a little because the reception didn't let me know about the change in locks on the front door, and should at least have been aware of the change in locks by their management. I made it clear to reception about the keys and the 6am wake up call by an annoyed guest, and to ensure they let all their guests know about this problem.Other than that small problem I would still recommend Townside.Especially as it is a great way of meeting interesting people on their journeys, and to save money on expensive hotels in around bremen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

first of all thanks for your stay and your rating. We are very sorry that the key wasn´t working in this night. We havent´t changed the lock at any time! These two keys didn´t work very well, because the lock had a problem. We fixed the problem directly on the next day and we bought a new lock (same keys are working with this, too).

We apologise for any inconvenience and hope you enjoyed your stay!
Wish you all the best and hope to see you another time in Bremen!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway

Liked: Nice and helpfull staf, good facilities, free wifi.

Disliked: 9bed dorm is close to the street and tram line, so some noise in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: friendly staff, clean room and warm

Disliked: bathroom and toilet too small, no female only rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

thank you very much for your stay and your review. We offer our guests one female dorm (5 bed room). This room was available at your stay. (But the room rate is different to our 9 bed room.) I hope you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to have you here!

Best regards

Melanie

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel was easy to get to from the airport - directions were clear from the website - take the number 6 tram then transfer to the number 10 tram, then walk for two minutes. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm room, was clean and roomy. Each bed had its own reading light. The single bathroom and toilet on the third floor were separate and very clean. There was also a mini-kitchen with a sink and kettle on the third floor as well. Liked the free coffee and tea on offer too (on those cold days). Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. It was located near a cluster of restaurants so won't go hungry and it was a 10 minute walk away to the main town centre.

Disliked: The "buffet" breakfast consisted of bread, one type of cereal, yoghurt, fruits (apple, pineapple, grapes), selection of cheeses and meat, cucumbers and tomatoes, and fruit juices. Though it was a good selection, it wasn't really worth the 6 euro. The breakfast area is also the common area which isn't very big and could get cramped. The spiral staircase could be a problem for those carrying luggage up a few flights of stairs (I had a backpack so it didn't bother me). Not much information offered in English - in particular the "things to do in Bremen" folder at reception contained information only in German. I also wasn't provided with a detailed receipt upon check-out despite being told that I would be given one (again not a big deal), but if you are after a detailed receipt, maybe ask one once you check-in. No individual lockers to keep your belongings in. Had to pay extra for linens (had to make your own bedding).

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: everything was o.k.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, very clean and very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good Kitchen, friendly staff, clean rooms.

Disliked: In some room there are no lockers, so you have to leave your belongings in the reception strongbox.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super nice and helpful and it was very close to lots of shops and bars.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Pleasant staff, convenient location, very clean.

Disliked: Netbook in common room not working, so no internet access

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability