HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

93.0% Overall Rating

276 out of 282 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

"It had a very cool common area. Clean beds with a light and charger for each one. Nice bathroom and shower facilities too. Kitchen is big and open. Lots of cheap food options near by, and close to the subway. Also the…"

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
24.24 USD

Hostel 80.7% 358 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
19.29 USD

Hostel 63.3% 337 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
16.16 USD

Hostel 75.4% 268 reviews
Comebackpackers
22.89 USD

Hostel 91.0% 223 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
16.35 USD

Hostel 71.8% 454 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
29.62 USD

Hostel 94.7% 48 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
27.55 USD

Hostel 89.8% 408 reviews
East Side City Hotel
44.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

276 out of 282 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 279 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I've stayed in. Clean, secure, quirky with a fab breakfast and excellent communal areas to chill out in.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean place to stay a few nights in Berlin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Halliday

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a private bathroom. All beds had a bedside lamp and power outlet which was great. Lockers in the room.

Disliked: Location a bit far from city centre but metro is nearby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel we stayed in during our entire 2 months travelling. The room was clean and fresh, and the bathrooms were spacious with good showers. The kitchen was really well equipped (it even had an oven) with plenty of room to sit around to eat and drink. The breakfast was very simple but still enough to fill you up, with cornflakes, coffee and bread with jam. The hostel was really close to the metro station and there were lots of supermarkets / takeaway shops nearby. Free wifi Lockers in the room as well as big lockers for free downstairs to store your backpack if you need to.

Disliked: Can’t really complain about this hostel as it really was the best one we stayed in. Only things I would say is the twin room had bunk beds which was a bit annoying as we went as a couple. Quite far out of the city centre but luckily the metro is really close and it was worth it to stay in such a good hostel.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good rate

Disliked: wifi connection is not good in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sarah macdonald

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It's the perfect blend of hotel meets hostel. A comfortable and cool place to stay.

Disliked: It did feel a little less personal than the average hostel. And is unexpectedly "upmarket" for the area it's in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly & helpful. Great kitchen facilities & free breakfast. the dorm rooms are set up really well with nice private bathroom & toilet. The hostel is super easy to get to thanks to its great transport connections.

Disliked: The rooms were really noisy due to the location on a main road and whilst the hostel is really well connected by transport the location is average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolle Zimmer und Atmosphäre sowie super freundliches Personal. Ich komme auf alle Fälle wieder!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EMMA SLESSER

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this hostel at the start of June 2013 and travelled as a couple. We stayed in the two bed dorm which was a modern, small room with good sturdy bunk beds. We had a shared bathroom which was brilliant. We were away for a month and the quality of the shower here was the best we had on our trip. I also never had any problems waiting for the bathroom. The kitchen was fantastic and was again, the best I experienced on our trip; I just wish we used it more. The free breakfast was basic but adequate and definitely worthwhile attending. The staff in the hostel were really friendly and gave great advice on places to eat and see. I wouldn’t describe this hostel as a “party hostel” , it was quite a chilled atmosphere but we still managed to make some friends and had fun. The hostel is quite far out of the main tourist attractions, we personally felt we needed to get the metro everywhere but this didn’t bother us as it was a great hostel and it was cheap. Also I think because Berlin is so big, no matter where you stay , you will most likely have to get the metro at some point. The area was nice area and I didnt feel it was touristy at all which was great, there were nice bars and restaurants locally. I also felt perfectly safe in the area (despite hearing sirens a lot…) I definitely recommend staying here but I would advise that if you want to party, find a pub crawl tour group as the hostel don’t organise anything like that.

Disliked: My only gripe with the room was that the hostel is on a main road which is busy all through the night and on the first night I struggled with the noise but I did get used to it. However, if the room had air con we could have closed the window and got a good nights sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Nedelchev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Aboslutely fantastic! Great character, great staff, great rooms, great people

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern comfortable facilities and friendly relaxed atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Stafford

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fun, quirky place with adorable décor. I enjoyed hanging out in the kitchen as everyone cooked and ate. I loved the fact that all ages now stay in hostels as I am over 50!

Disliked: You can only pay in cash (no credit cards).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Clean and nicely decorated. Friendly atmosphere and employees that were happy to help us work out transport, plans, etc. Free breakfast was also handy.

Disliked: The location is not ideal. Took about 10 minutes on the train to get to the central area of Berlin which we had to do often either to see sites there or to change train lines.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great central location, newly refurbished and spacious. Bathrooms were really good also.

Disliked: Did not like how they described that we have our own bathroom, when it was shared. We just about coped because there was a sink and hairdryer outside the room and another toilet 4 doors away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean, new stylish, hip place.

Disliked: we arrived at 10 am and were told our room would be ready after noon. went back at 3 and had towait until 4:30 for our room to be ready...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carsten Jansen

Alone

City break

10 July 2013 Carsten would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Mason

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant value for money the staff were absolutely lovely and always willing to help and with free breakfast, a great kitchen and a very high standard of cleanliness this was definitely an amazing hostel.

Disliked: Lots of traffic noise outside at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ariane Borgniet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2013 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's reqlly new, the kitzchen's amazing and the shower is great. Even though bit's not exactly in the cebter it's extremely reachable by metro (which is so easy to use)

Disliked: Ariane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ferry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely helpful and polite. It is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The downstairs room is great to just sit and drink or serve the web. It has a great garden and great food making facilites. If you stay anywhere else in Berlin you are making a huge mistake.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Gagnon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

01 July 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom recently renovated and it was big and clean! The staff was friendly.

Disliked: As a couple, we disliked that the room for two had a bunk bed and not a double bed. The second bed was very high in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was really big and the hostel was very clean and new. It was right next to an Ubahn station and if you're taking the bus from Schonefeld airport then it takes you almost right to the door!

Disliked: It was 35 degrees when I was there and unbearably hot. Definitely would have appreciated some AC or a fan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and has been designed to be a hostel (plugs everywhere, wifi, tea and coffee and breakfast!). A big big thank you to the woman who is in charge of this place!

Disliked: Well, its a touch girly I would say, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rannva Jacobsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Rannva would recommend this property

Liked: Det lå rigtig godt placeret, meget venligt personale samt gode værelser og gennemgående god atmosfære

Disliked: Der var ikke noget jeg var utilfreds med

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan McGarry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful! Above average breakfast, clean showers, and just clean and a good vibe all around!

Disliked: The hostel is a bit far away from city centre, but is located right next to a subway stop.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Great new hostel on the border of Kreuzberg and Neukoelln, best 6 bed dorms I have stayed in over 6 months of backpacking. Pretty good breakfast in the morning, plenty of common areas, and the staff are amazing. Easy to get to the city center on the metro, and plenty happening nearby anyway.

Disliked: Little hard to get to know other people staying at the hostel, as although there are plenty of common areas, no one seems to be interacting. Maybe a happy hour or communal dinner could fix this!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels