HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

94.5% Overall Rating

260 out of 265 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Very helpful and lovely staff. Great atmosphere. Spacious rooms and close to the U-Bahn. Cheap bikes to rent and a well equipped kitchen to cook in. Loved it!"

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 82.6% 354 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
19.80 USD

Hostel 66.4% 333 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.20 USD

Hostel 76.2% 259 reviews
Comebackpackers
19.34 USD

Hostel 88.3% 218 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
23.66 USD

Hostel 73.0% 450 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
27.63 USD

Hostel 94.6% 44 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
28.26 USD

Hostel 88.9% 403 reviews
East Side City Hotel
45.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

260 out of 265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becky Feetham

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013

Liked: Every single member of staff was amazing - so knowledgeable and friendly, going out of their way to answer any question in so much detail from the best way to get somewhere, personal recommendations for bars and clubs, and opening hours of sights and museums. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm but it didn't feel like one as there was a lot of storage space and the room wasn't at all cramped. Lovely wet room style bathrooms with huge shower heads. What a hostel should be and more! Great coffee at reception for 1.50 euros - better than some of the cafes we went to!

Disliked: Becky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very modern, very nice graffiti paintings on every floors. It feels more like a hip-hotel than a hostel! Kitchen and breakfast are also great!

Disliked: STEPHANIE KA YING left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Rodrigues

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and friendly, the hostel was very clean, people were friendly, and the location was good. I really enjoyed it :D

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New hostel, located near the subway, good breakfast..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The location is great, 6 stops to Alexanderplatz with U-bahn and there's a shopping centre next to it, also lots of cheap places to eat. The breakfast is great and you don't have to pay extra for anything! It is clean and modern, rooms are very comfortable, wifi was in the room, every bed has a personal light and power socket, which was great. And it is cheap. Would stay there again anytime and it is very suitable for a longer stay.

Disliked: everything was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junko Shimada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013 Junko would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and beautiful hostel. It has big kitchen. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Share rooms are for 8 person, so for some person it may be unconfortable. The hostel fronts on the wide street and it is very loud at night, too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Janek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel ! It was such a pleasure to sleep there. Everything new and clean, nice design, toilet and shower in every room, comfortable beds, breakfast included in the room price. Moreover: nice and willing to help staff, wifi, two computers with internet you can use, close to metro station: Hermannplatz. I totally recommend it! :)

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Brandenburg

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: This is a practically brand new hostel so that was nice - the staff was sooo helpful, the kitchen is huge. The atmosphere was so hip -- loved the seating and the music always playing. Super cool that at check in you can purchase, beer or water : ) A huge bonus was the location -- not a far walk at all from the metro and not far from things to do. We stayed in a private double -- the cost was fantastic and the room was very trendy and cool. Loved the graffiti and the whole vibe.

Disliked: Seriously, not a thing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has charm and character, and almost everything you could wish for. Bed was comfortable, linen and towel provided, lovely lounge area leading onto spacious, clean kitchen where a dishwasher is provided so you don't even have to wash up if you don't want to! Rooms have individual small lockers (need own padlock) and individual cubby hole for larger case/bag. Each bed has own reading light and plug socket, a real plus in my opinion. There are also lots of plug sockets in the lounge, free wifi and 2 pcs available for free use. Just 2 minutes from the u-bahn, 10 minutes direct to Alexandraplatz, where you can get either bus, tram, s-bahn or u-bahn to pretty much everywhere from. There are nearby shops, bars and very cheap takeaways, but my tip is look up where lidl is, only 10 minutes walk and the cheapest way to shop if you're wanting to prepare your own meals. I highly recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

Disliked: When I visited it was extremely hot and although the room had a fan and a large window, it did little to help. I was in the worst position for the heat (top bunk, top floor) but if you are not a fan of the heat, sadly it may mean you're better off staying elsewhere if coming in summer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hutton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. Our 4 bed dorm was brilliantly designed with many thoughtful touches that made it a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Nothing... all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Long

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, modern hostel! Great facilities and even had a make up room which was great when sharing a bathroom between six girls! Loved it :)

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean with big kitchen. Good breakfast.

Disliked: nth

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and clean hostel. I couldn't believe that one night in this hostel is only 18~20 euro. Free towel, free breakfast, good location. I would stay again if I come to Berlin another time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kitti Barna

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Kitti would recommend this property

Liked: I adored this hostel. Seriously, it's more like a hotel. I loved that it was so clean, the shower was like in the movies, the stuff was really really nice. Oh and the bed.. it was so so so soft!! They design was supertrendy and comfy.

Disliked: For this money? NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I've stayed in. Clean, secure, quirky with a fab breakfast and excellent communal areas to chill out in.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean place to stay a few nights in Berlin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Halliday

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a private bathroom. All beds had a bedside lamp and power outlet which was great. Lockers in the room.

Disliked: Location a bit far from city centre but metro is nearby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel we stayed in during our entire 2 months travelling. The room was clean and fresh, and the bathrooms were spacious with good showers. The kitchen was really well equipped (it even had an oven) with plenty of room to sit around to eat and drink. The breakfast was very simple but still enough to fill you up, with cornflakes, coffee and bread with jam. The hostel was really close to the metro station and there were lots of supermarkets / takeaway shops nearby. Free wifi Lockers in the room as well as big lockers for free downstairs to store your backpack if you need to.

Disliked: Can’t really complain about this hostel as it really was the best one we stayed in. Only things I would say is the twin room had bunk beds which was a bit annoying as we went as a couple. Quite far out of the city centre but luckily the metro is really close and it was worth it to stay in such a good hostel.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good rate

Disliked: wifi connection is not good in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sarah macdonald

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It's the perfect blend of hotel meets hostel. A comfortable and cool place to stay.

Disliked: It did feel a little less personal than the average hostel. And is unexpectedly "upmarket" for the area it's in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly & helpful. Great kitchen facilities & free breakfast. the dorm rooms are set up really well with nice private bathroom & toilet. The hostel is super easy to get to thanks to its great transport connections.

Disliked: The rooms were really noisy due to the location on a main road and whilst the hostel is really well connected by transport the location is average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolle Zimmer und Atmosphäre sowie super freundliches Personal. Ich komme auf alle Fälle wieder!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EMMA SLESSER

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this hostel at the start of June 2013 and travelled as a couple. We stayed in the two bed dorm which was a modern, small room with good sturdy bunk beds. We had a shared bathroom which was brilliant. We were away for a month and the quality of the shower here was the best we had on our trip. I also never had any problems waiting for the bathroom. The kitchen was fantastic and was again, the best I experienced on our trip; I just wish we used it more. The free breakfast was basic but adequate and definitely worthwhile attending. The staff in the hostel were really friendly and gave great advice on places to eat and see. I wouldn’t describe this hostel as a “party hostel” , it was quite a chilled atmosphere but we still managed to make some friends and had fun. The hostel is quite far out of the main tourist attractions, we personally felt we needed to get the metro everywhere but this didn’t bother us as it was a great hostel and it was cheap. Also I think because Berlin is so big, no matter where you stay , you will most likely have to get the metro at some point. The area was nice area and I didnt feel it was touristy at all which was great, there were nice bars and restaurants locally. I also felt perfectly safe in the area (despite hearing sirens a lot…) I definitely recommend staying here but I would advise that if you want to party, find a pub crawl tour group as the hostel don’t organise anything like that.

Disliked: My only gripe with the room was that the hostel is on a main road which is busy all through the night and on the first night I struggled with the noise but I did get used to it. However, if the room had air con we could have closed the window and got a good nights sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Nedelchev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Aboslutely fantastic! Great character, great staff, great rooms, great people

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern comfortable facilities and friendly relaxed atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels