HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

91.8% Overall Rating

283 out of 289 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Gennady Karasev thinks…

"The location is great. It's clean there. Every morning there is a breakfast in the kitchen. Stuff was very kind."

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
23.88 USD

Hostel 80.9% 360 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
19.01 USD

Hostel 63.3% 337 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.92 USD

Hostel 73.9% 274 reviews
Comebackpackers
21.23 USD

Hostel 91.0% 224 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
16.28 USD

Hostel 70.2% 459 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
26.54 USD

Hostel 95.1% 49 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
27.15 USD

Hostel 89.7% 411 reviews
East Side City Hotel
43.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

283 out of 289 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 285 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was just amazing, during my travel through europe this place was the best i have seen. this staff is amazing and very friendly, they music they playing around a clock just kicked my ass!!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013

Liked: the bathrooms where very clean

Disliked: The neighbourhood wasn’t very nice and the noise from outside traffic and people was dreadful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly with great travel information provided. Clean room with stylish decoration. Plenty of storage space provided. Great breakfast and sufficient kitchen facilities.

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Hof

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Huge commercial grade kitchen with 3 full sized refrigerators meant room for everyone to make their own meals, but the breakfast provided in the morning was good too. I had requested a lower bunk because of my age and size (large) and when I arrived there was none left, they gave me a private room for the night at the same price and next morning held a lower bunk for me. The staff were so helpful in planning my days, allowing for the lower mobility of a senior compared to their usual young clientel. They were fun and lively but totally professional and efficient. The location seemed a bit far from the center, but just one bus ride from the main train station and you are less than a block away. After that, the U-Bahn from Hermanzstrasse took you right to the main sights, and the S-Bahn for a view of the city from above.

Disliked: NOTHING. I really hope more hostels like this become available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul blackburn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I have stayed in thus far. Good price, good showers, good comfy bed, free wifi and breakfast. The hostel is clean and had a large kitchen for communal cooking with plenty of fridge space too. Location not the best however the u bahn is very close (literally 1 minute walk)and therefore this is inconsequential. The shop was also literally 2 mins away which sells most things you would need.

Disliked: If I'm being really fussy the staff on a couple of occasions when I had queries they continued talking however I suspect the girl was training and this is only a very minor issue and I would nt hessitate to book again should I venture to Berlin at some point In the future

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, with really friendly staff in a convenient location. Would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private twin room and it was really nice and clean - nicer than lots of hotels we've stayed at. The location was also very convenient - close to a U-Bahn station (takes about 15 minutes to get to most tourist sites in the city, but very convenient for the restaurants/bars in the Kreuzberg and east side gallery areas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kevin Chan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

21 September 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful

Disliked: very noisy at night time , a lot of people at the backyard to smoke, drunk, etc

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandy Raup

Alone

City break

18 September 2013 Sandy would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, Great Location...

Disliked: Sandy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, nice and comfortable, good breakfast included, definitely reccomend!

Disliked: The only slight downside is that you have to get the tube to most of the main things as it's slightly out of the centre but I would still rather have paid for the tube and stayed here than anywhere else!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's definately worth the money, and the swedish buffet breakfast will make your morning.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elissia Diego

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Elissia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Very luxurious as hostels go. Comfy beds, stylish throughout and bed linen, towels and breakfast are even thrown in too. The staff is great and extremely informative on whats going on in berlin. Well done and a big thank you!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Farhati Ahmad Tajuddin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Farhati would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Ambience 2) Inclusive of breakfast 3) Location - easy to find

Disliked: BED BUGS spoilt the stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becky Feetham

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013

Liked: Every single member of staff was amazing - so knowledgeable and friendly, going out of their way to answer any question in so much detail from the best way to get somewhere, personal recommendations for bars and clubs, and opening hours of sights and museums. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm but it didn't feel like one as there was a lot of storage space and the room wasn't at all cramped. Lovely wet room style bathrooms with huge shower heads. What a hostel should be and more! Great coffee at reception for 1.50 euros - better than some of the cafes we went to!

Disliked: Becky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very modern, very nice graffiti paintings on every floors. It feels more like a hip-hotel than a hostel! Kitchen and breakfast are also great!

Disliked: STEPHANIE KA YING left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Rodrigues

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and friendly, the hostel was very clean, people were friendly, and the location was good. I really enjoyed it :D

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New hostel, located near the subway, good breakfast..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The location is great, 6 stops to Alexanderplatz with U-bahn and there's a shopping centre next to it, also lots of cheap places to eat. The breakfast is great and you don't have to pay extra for anything! It is clean and modern, rooms are very comfortable, wifi was in the room, every bed has a personal light and power socket, which was great. And it is cheap. Would stay there again anytime and it is very suitable for a longer stay.

Disliked: everything was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junko Shimada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013 Junko would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and beautiful hostel. It has big kitchen. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Share rooms are for 8 person, so for some person it may be unconfortable. The hostel fronts on the wide street and it is very loud at night, too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Janek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel ! It was such a pleasure to sleep there. Everything new and clean, nice design, toilet and shower in every room, comfortable beds, breakfast included in the room price. Moreover: nice and willing to help staff, wifi, two computers with internet you can use, close to metro station: Hermannplatz. I totally recommend it! :)

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Brandenburg

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: This is a practically brand new hostel so that was nice - the staff was sooo helpful, the kitchen is huge. The atmosphere was so hip -- loved the seating and the music always playing. Super cool that at check in you can purchase, beer or water : ) A huge bonus was the location -- not a far walk at all from the metro and not far from things to do. We stayed in a private double -- the cost was fantastic and the room was very trendy and cool. Loved the graffiti and the whole vibe.

Disliked: Seriously, not a thing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has charm and character, and almost everything you could wish for. Bed was comfortable, linen and towel provided, lovely lounge area leading onto spacious, clean kitchen where a dishwasher is provided so you don't even have to wash up if you don't want to! Rooms have individual small lockers (need own padlock) and individual cubby hole for larger case/bag. Each bed has own reading light and plug socket, a real plus in my opinion. There are also lots of plug sockets in the lounge, free wifi and 2 pcs available for free use. Just 2 minutes from the u-bahn, 10 minutes direct to Alexandraplatz, where you can get either bus, tram, s-bahn or u-bahn to pretty much everywhere from. There are nearby shops, bars and very cheap takeaways, but my tip is look up where lidl is, only 10 minutes walk and the cheapest way to shop if you're wanting to prepare your own meals. I highly recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

Disliked: When I visited it was extremely hot and although the room had a fan and a large window, it did little to help. I was in the worst position for the heat (top bunk, top floor) but if you are not a fan of the heat, sadly it may mean you're better off staying elsewhere if coming in summer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hutton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. Our 4 bed dorm was brilliantly designed with many thoughtful touches that made it a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Nothing... all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Long

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, modern hostel! Great facilities and even had a make up room which was great when sharing a bathroom between six girls! Loved it :)

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels