We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

92.8% Overall Rating

302 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2015)

"We were in a double room. The hostel provides everything you need, it was a very pleasant stay. And it has a lot of character - modern design combined with art - e.g. graffiti related to "cat" topic by…"

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
10.89 USD

Hostel 79.0% 365 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 57.8% 341 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
16.33 USD

Hostel 73.0% 284 reviews
Comebackpackers
16.33 USD

Hostel 89.7% 230 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
19.49 USD

Hostel 69.8% 461 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
21.77 USD

Hostel 94.6% 53 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
17.81 USD

Hostel 86.6% 420 reviews
East Side City Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

302 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 305 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Lenk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: sehr freundliches Personal, geschmackvoll eingerichtet, sehr sauber, U-Bahn gleich nebenan, sehr gute Gesamtatmosphäre

Disliked: Astrid left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, kitchen, dorm facilities. Clean new.

Disliked: Pillow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: First appearances - a very trendy looking reception and common room area, some books to read, an interesting layout and a fantastic kitchen. Oh and the showers in the dorm rooms were excellent, good pressure, and not one of these annoying showers you get in places like St Christophers, where you are not trusted to not leave the shower on (you have to press the button every 5 seconds in those hostels) Location - far from the centre but is only about 15 minutes away by underground, the Turkish area it is in is very cool with lots of places to grab your donner kebabs, seeshas, etc, also some really cool pubs around. Staff - despite the hostels short-comings, the staff are fab, especially the Spanish fella who works the night shift.

Disliked: Firstly as a long time backpacker, I know what should be provided to a solo backpacker. Do not expect a classic hostel experience here, this is very much a more formal commercial style hostel and as a result there are no group activities to encourage solo travellers to mingle, no walking tours being arranged, no pub crawls, just your bed, a common room that was largely empty for my entire stay, despite the hostel being booked out. Also do not expect other features like a TV, or the ability to play your own ipod music, etc. To sum up here are some bullet points. Poor atmosphere - absolutely no social interaction encouraged by the hostel, for the solo traveller, this is absolutely CORE, especially when the atmosphere is such that I witnessed well over 10 people sitting around in the evening on a Friday, glued to their phones. Despite being very social and outgoing, I think meeting people in this hostel is completely down to chance, something the hostel could do much to alleviate but for whatever reason do not. Poor organization - complete lack of RFID keycards for the amount of guests they have, claiming the ones they had left were broken, so basically not enough keycards for guests, as RFID cards hardly just break at such a level that several people had to ask the receptionist to let them into their room. This issue was resolved when people checked out, but I suspect the issue was passed on to another set of guests. Blatantly high prices - Lose your cheap room key card? 30 euros please (yes 30). The beers at the reception are charged at above both shop and pub prices. 2 euros 20 for a small beer, 1 euro 80 for a tiny 200ml fake cola, no wonder why people do not hang around for long. This is the first hostel I have stayed in that charges bar prices for shop beer out of the fridge (this was my 24th hostel in 18 months). Bad presentation - my bed had not even been looked at before my late arrival (11pm) and was still in a mess from when the last person took off their bedding, resulting in me deciding to sleep in my clothes that night (it was too inconsiderate to be sorting my bedding out at such a late hour). Security - Anyone can walk in from outside and go straight to the lockers, I would be very surprised if the receptionist would be able to remember over 100 guests faces, when they are suppose to of left, etc. Did I mention 30 euros if you lose your room key? Despite everything said, if they charged a bit less to reflect the location and features, and you were in a group, you will do just fine here, however this is not a hostel I would recommend to independent solo traveller looking for the perfect hostel experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and lovely staff. Great atmosphere. Spacious rooms and close to the U-Bahn. Cheap bikes to rent and a well equipped kitchen to cook in. Loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff. Always very friendly and helpful. Nice and easygoing hostel. Huge common kitchen.

Disliked: The WiFi was way too slow and it kept disconnecting. I tried the connection in the lobby, 2nd floor and 4th floor. It was actually one of the reasons why I chose that specific hostel due to a good review about the WiFi. WiFi sucks! I recommend they change something about it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are generally helpful. Hostel is clean and modern. The bed and pillow is comfy. Like it that it has hanger for clothes and separate shower and toilet in the en suite room.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work for one morning but it's fine. The room is generally small. And well.. To be fussy, I hate that I have to make my sheets myself and bring it to the reception when checkout. I have never experience that in any other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in 😊

Disliked: Nilb

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Margare Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2014 Margare would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The place was clean. The location is convenient for nice cafes and bars, and it's right next to the train station.

Disliked: Margare left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor, the facilities, the artwork, the cheap beer, the security, the price.

Disliked: Nothing! The area isn't the best, but it's fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: smtg

Disliked: expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice atmosphere. Really comfy beds and nice breakfasts. Friendly & helpful staff + good wifi

Disliked: Can't actually think of any negatives

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raquel Mota

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014

Liked: The facilities were really amazing.

Disliked: Raquel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, simple and efficient service

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sweet facilities, cool decor, clean and well run

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky decor,relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Cristina Del Valle Díaz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Amanda Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so nice, and the girl at the reception is so kind...everything clean and cute

Disliked: Anything, the whole hostel was so cool

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how trendy and industrial the hostel was, the staff were also really helpful and really attentive. The free breakfast was a plus, bread, cheese and cereal, not a massive selection but perfect for a freebie. The kitchen was also wonderful, plenty of space to cook, and also to hang. I stayed with my boyfriend in a 4 bed dorm which was fine, the beds we're clean, comfortable and plenty of space for storage.

Disliked: The location was something that bothered me a bit. I didn't mind the fact that it's about 15/20min train ride to most attractions, it's the surrounding area of the hostel I didn't like. It felt a little unsafe and dirty, it's just there were no nice places to eat (only Turkish fast food and bakeries), and no cool places to drink (bars or pubs), so we generally spent the entire day out and stayed out in the centre of berlin for our evenings too.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

evangelia sachini

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2014 evangelia would recommend this property

Liked: Character and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cat themed decor, the friendly staff, clean and spacious room

Disliked: the breakfast was not the best

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Close

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in - fantastic facilities, SO easygoing, fantastic staff, beautiful decor and rooms. Big common room and well-equipped kitchen. Right next to U bahn Hermannplatz! I absolutely loved it, I could have stayed there for weeks. Breakfast included too which was amazing!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Donohoe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe And the free breakfast was great

Disliked: They only accept German cards which was a bit annoying

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHAO WU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 ZHAO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect

Disliked: ZHAO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pin Pin Kok

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Pin Pin would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere very near to U Bahn

Disliked: Pin Pin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a peaceful sanctuary in Berlin. It is modern, but chic. It adds a special personal touch to your stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels