We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

93.6% Overall Rating

319 out of 325 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"Great hostel! It has a great lounge area, fantastic kitchen, and very nice backyard/chill area."

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
16.78 USD

Hostel 79.0% 372 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
63.60 USD

Hostel 56.2% 347 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
18.46 USD

Hostel 77.3% 301 reviews
Comebackpackers
16.78 USD

Hostel 88.3% 236 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
27.17 USD

Hostel 70.5% 466 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
30.20 USD

Hostel 95.4% 57 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
21.26 USD

Hostel 85.9% 432 reviews
East Side City Hotel
45.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

319 out of 325 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gennady Karasev

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014 Gennady would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It's clean there. Every morning there is a breakfast in the kitchen. Stuff was very kind.

Disliked: I've liked everything.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kyle Wilkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool and nice looking, big room and even had balcony

Disliked: Internet wasn't great and often disconnected and building work opposite was annoying

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and staffs.

Disliked: It is good for using transportation but it takes 15min to the main city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annabel Everett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellently presented hostel

Disliked: My room had no cooling and I didn't sleep well with the heat either night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ailish Foy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Ailish would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and fun

Disliked: Air con in rooms wasnt very good so it got very hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very cool common area. Clean beds with a light and charger for each one. Nice bathroom and shower facilities too. Kitchen is big and open. Lots of cheap food options near by, and close to the subway. Also the direct bus to/from the main train station is convenient. The staff were also very cool.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Tawnya Hoff

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Tawnya would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful kitchen with lots of space for cooking, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not very clean. Located very close to a hospital so expect loud ambulances passing every ten minutes a all day and night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is close to train station and shopping centre and not far from city

Disliked: Breakfast could be a little better but still ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and our private double room was very good value for money!

Disliked: The building site right next door woke us up every morning at 7am but of course - that isn't the hostels fault!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly staff and the clean room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Lenk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: sehr freundliches Personal, geschmackvoll eingerichtet, sehr sauber, U-Bahn gleich nebenan, sehr gute Gesamtatmosphäre

Disliked: Astrid left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, kitchen, dorm facilities. Clean new.

Disliked: Pillow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: First appearances - a very trendy looking reception and common room area, some books to read, an interesting layout and a fantastic kitchen. Oh and the showers in the dorm rooms were excellent, good pressure, and not one of these annoying showers you get in places like St Christophers, where you are not trusted to not leave the shower on (you have to press the button every 5 seconds in those hostels) Location - far from the centre but is only about 15 minutes away by underground, the Turkish area it is in is very cool with lots of places to grab your donner kebabs, seeshas, etc, also some really cool pubs around. Staff - despite the hostels short-comings, the staff are fab, especially the Spanish fella who works the night shift.

Disliked: Firstly as a long time backpacker, I know what should be provided to a solo backpacker. Do not expect a classic hostel experience here, this is very much a more formal commercial style hostel and as a result there are no group activities to encourage solo travellers to mingle, no walking tours being arranged, no pub crawls, just your bed, a common room that was largely empty for my entire stay, despite the hostel being booked out. Also do not expect other features like a TV, or the ability to play your own ipod music, etc. To sum up here are some bullet points. Poor atmosphere - absolutely no social interaction encouraged by the hostel, for the solo traveller, this is absolutely CORE, especially when the atmosphere is such that I witnessed well over 10 people sitting around in the evening on a Friday, glued to their phones. Despite being very social and outgoing, I think meeting people in this hostel is completely down to chance, something the hostel could do much to alleviate but for whatever reason do not. Poor organization - complete lack of RFID keycards for the amount of guests they have, claiming the ones they had left were broken, so basically not enough keycards for guests, as RFID cards hardly just break at such a level that several people had to ask the receptionist to let them into their room. This issue was resolved when people checked out, but I suspect the issue was passed on to another set of guests. Blatantly high prices - Lose your cheap room key card? 30 euros please (yes 30). The beers at the reception are charged at above both shop and pub prices. 2 euros 20 for a small beer, 1 euro 80 for a tiny 200ml fake cola, no wonder why people do not hang around for long. This is the first hostel I have stayed in that charges bar prices for shop beer out of the fridge (this was my 24th hostel in 18 months). Bad presentation - my bed had not even been looked at before my late arrival (11pm) and was still in a mess from when the last person took off their bedding, resulting in me deciding to sleep in my clothes that night (it was too inconsiderate to be sorting my bedding out at such a late hour). Security - Anyone can walk in from outside and go straight to the lockers, I would be very surprised if the receptionist would be able to remember over 100 guests faces, when they are suppose to of left, etc. Did I mention 30 euros if you lose your room key? Despite everything said, if they charged a bit less to reflect the location and features, and you were in a group, you will do just fine here, however this is not a hostel I would recommend to independent solo traveller looking for the perfect hostel experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and lovely staff. Great atmosphere. Spacious rooms and close to the U-Bahn. Cheap bikes to rent and a well equipped kitchen to cook in. Loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff. Always very friendly and helpful. Nice and easygoing hostel. Huge common kitchen.

Disliked: The WiFi was way too slow and it kept disconnecting. I tried the connection in the lobby, 2nd floor and 4th floor. It was actually one of the reasons why I chose that specific hostel due to a good review about the WiFi. WiFi sucks! I recommend they change something about it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are generally helpful. Hostel is clean and modern. The bed and pillow is comfy. Like it that it has hanger for clothes and separate shower and toilet in the en suite room.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work for one morning but it's fine. The room is generally small. And well.. To be fussy, I hate that I have to make my sheets myself and bring it to the reception when checkout. I have never experience that in any other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in 😊

Disliked: Nilb

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Margare Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2014 Margare would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The place was clean. The location is convenient for nice cafes and bars, and it's right next to the train station.

Disliked: Margare left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor, the facilities, the artwork, the cheap beer, the security, the price.

Disliked: Nothing! The area isn't the best, but it's fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: smtg

Disliked: expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice atmosphere. Really comfy beds and nice breakfasts. Friendly & helpful staff + good wifi

Disliked: Can't actually think of any negatives

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raquel Mota

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014

Liked: The facilities were really amazing.

Disliked: Raquel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, simple and efficient service

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sweet facilities, cool decor, clean and well run

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky decor,relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels