HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Hostel | Urbanstr. 84, Berlin, Germany 10967

94.5% Overall Rating

260 out of 265 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Very helpful and lovely staff. Great atmosphere. Spacious rooms and close to the U-Bahn. Cheap bikes to rent and a well equipped kitchen to cook in. Loved it!"

Read all The Cat's Pajamas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 82.6% 354 reviews
RIXPACK Hostel
19.80 USD

Hostel 66.4% 333 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.20 USD

Hostel 76.2% 259 reviews
Comebackpackers
19.34 USD

Hostel 88.3% 218 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
23.66 USD

Hostel 73.0% 450 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
27.63 USD

Hostel 94.6% 44 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
28.26 USD

Hostel 88.9% 403 reviews
East Side City Hotel
45.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

260 out of 265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cat's Pajamas Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nil

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Bond

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 October 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Near the train which allows easy access to all the sights. The building is newer, which means quiet rooms, nice beds, secure & safe, and modern showers/toilets. Combine this with being clean and having friendly and helpful staff, and it's a great place to stay. It also has a lot of character, which makes for fun either lounging around or socializing in the evening.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diah Ayuningtyas

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Diah would recommend this property

Liked: I've got to say that this is the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. It is big, spacious, the price already includes breakfast, linen, and towel. Room is really comfortable and safe, and I'm a fan of the private bathroom -- it is small, but definitely enough. The room itself, other than the bunk beds, fits as a hotel room. The common room has big sofas and books that you can enjoy. Kitchen is really big too.

Disliked: The location is not in city center, but if you get the day ticket, I don't think it will be a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dafne Silva

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Dafne would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very clean, nice and big kitchen, comfortable room with lots of space to put your stuffs,free lockers, great shower. The staff is really friendly and helpful. 5 min from the u-bahn, close to restaurants and bars.

Disliked: They could have chocolate or juice in the breakfast, the coffee in Germany is not really good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Mugridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great as were the facilities and staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Gustafsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: I´m glad I chose The Cat´s to stay at. What a hostel! My dorm room was very spacious and clean. I liked, that the shower and toilet were separated. At check in I got a set of spotless white linen and a towel free of charge!! Internet and breakfast is also free and if you don´t like it you can use the huge communal kitchen to prepare your own dish. It was also nice to stay in this part of Berlin. Lots of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from and public transportation brings you to all the sights in no time. Last but not least: Thanks to all the staff who made me feel welcome, recommended cool places and answered all my questions patiently! You guys rock!!

Disliked: Nothing, I will come back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

masahito sugimoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 masahito would recommend this property

Liked: u7.u8のturminal staton、Hermmanprats駅から徒歩1分。何処に行くにも至便。建物新築、清潔、キッチン広く設備も充実、スタッフ親切フレンドリー。ベルリンのベストホステルです。

Disliked: Wifiはエントランスロビーだけ快適、私が泊まった4階の部屋はだめでした。

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Metro en la puerta prácticamente. Un centro comercial enfrente. Las habitaciones son casi nuevas, la cocina es super grande y hay de todo, el desayuno está incluido...

Disliked: No todas las habitaciones están igual de cuidadas

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely designed hostel, long enough beds, good curtains, lockers, bed lights, extremely helpful staff, good breakfast, free internet, nice common room, book exchange, large kitchen with everything you need, free coffee and tea, close to the metro, bars, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: It was a perfect stay and this is just a suggestion to keep this hostel as nice as is; The bathroom, toilet and beds where really nice but could do with some cleaning. There was a layer of dust on the cabinet of the top bunk and the tiles and mirror of the bathroom where pretty dirty. It's also pretty hard to make contact with other travelers because they find their iPhone/iPad/laptop more interesting then real life but that's not something the hostel can change:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: seriously one of the best hostels I've ever stayed! Super friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and great facilities. And which is really rare those days, breakfast and linens are included!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in Cat's Pajamas two times, and I love this hostel. Staff is super friendly, hostel (common area and the rooms) is new and clean, and it's definitely value for money. Buffet breakfast is a big plus (after clubbing the whole night in Berghain ;) ) and there reception is open 24/7. Hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood Kreuzberg, next to a metro station, which makes it very easy to get around Berlin. I would definitely recommend to stay in this safe, clean and friendly hostel.

Disliked: This time hostel was running out of keys, as people had lost so many of them. We needed to share one key with four people. Last time when I stayed in this hostel, they did not have any problems with keys. And staff will let you to your room 24/7 if you do not have a key.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was just amazing, during my travel through europe this place was the best i have seen. this staff is amazing and very friendly, they music they playing around a clock just kicked my ass!!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013

Liked: the bathrooms where very clean

Disliked: The neighbourhood wasn’t very nice and the noise from outside traffic and people was dreadful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly with great travel information provided. Clean room with stylish decoration. Plenty of storage space provided. Great breakfast and sufficient kitchen facilities.

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Hof

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Huge commercial grade kitchen with 3 full sized refrigerators meant room for everyone to make their own meals, but the breakfast provided in the morning was good too. I had requested a lower bunk because of my age and size (large) and when I arrived there was none left, they gave me a private room for the night at the same price and next morning held a lower bunk for me. The staff were so helpful in planning my days, allowing for the lower mobility of a senior compared to their usual young clientel. They were fun and lively but totally professional and efficient. The location seemed a bit far from the center, but just one bus ride from the main train station and you are less than a block away. After that, the U-Bahn from Hermanzstrasse took you right to the main sights, and the S-Bahn for a view of the city from above.

Disliked: NOTHING. I really hope more hostels like this become available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul blackburn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I have stayed in thus far. Good price, good showers, good comfy bed, free wifi and breakfast. The hostel is clean and had a large kitchen for communal cooking with plenty of fridge space too. Location not the best however the u bahn is very close (literally 1 minute walk)and therefore this is inconsequential. The shop was also literally 2 mins away which sells most things you would need.

Disliked: If I'm being really fussy the staff on a couple of occasions when I had queries they continued talking however I suspect the girl was training and this is only a very minor issue and I would nt hessitate to book again should I venture to Berlin at some point In the future

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, with really friendly staff in a convenient location. Would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private twin room and it was really nice and clean - nicer than lots of hotels we've stayed at. The location was also very convenient - close to a U-Bahn station (takes about 15 minutes to get to most tourist sites in the city, but very convenient for the restaurants/bars in the Kreuzberg and east side gallery areas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kevin Chan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

21 September 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful

Disliked: very noisy at night time , a lot of people at the backyard to smoke, drunk, etc

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandy Raup

Alone

City break

18 September 2013 Sandy would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, Great Location...

Disliked: Sandy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, nice and comfortable, good breakfast included, definitely reccomend!

Disliked: The only slight downside is that you have to get the tube to most of the main things as it's slightly out of the centre but I would still rather have paid for the tube and stayed here than anywhere else!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's definately worth the money, and the swedish buffet breakfast will make your morning.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elissia Diego

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Elissia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Very luxurious as hostels go. Comfy beds, stylish throughout and bed linen, towels and breakfast are even thrown in too. The staff is great and extremely informative on whats going on in berlin. Well done and a big thank you!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Farhati Ahmad Tajuddin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Farhati would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Ambience 2) Inclusive of breakfast 3) Location - easy to find

Disliked: BED BUGS spoilt the stay.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels