We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Generator Berlin Mitte

Hostel | Oranienburger Straße 65, Berlin, Germany 10117

90.6% Overall Rating

258 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

"There as a kitchen and a grocery store near super close. Rooms were cleaned everyday, whch is nice. There was a bar but I never really saw anyone there... This place has mostly hotel rooms and some dorm rooms. If youre…"

Read all Generator Berlin Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.50
  • Towel USD 6.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

• This is an over 18 property, no underage guest allowed. ID will be requested at check-in. • We reserve the right to request a security deposit on arrival. FULL pre-payment is required when booking for stays between 30th – 1st January 2015 inclusive (for all bookings). Generator Berlin Mitte will contact you on the e-mail given when booking in order to arrange payment. A receipt for this payment will be given upon request. No cancellations, amendments, refunds or cash alternatives for the booking are applicable • Bookings for 10 beds for 2 nights or more are considered group bookings. Group Terms & Conditions will apply (please contact the hostel for additional information). • VAT and City Tax is included at the current level (accommodation 7%, City tax 5%, meals/services 19%). In case of tax changes, we reserve the right to adjust the room rate . City Tax exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information) • Guest under the age of 18 are not allowed to stay in shared dormitories, they must book private rooms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
10.46 USD

Hostel 86.3% 884 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
17.06 USD

Hostel 88.3% 176 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
14.31 USD

Hostel 87.8% 1199 reviews
Circus Hostel
28.62 USD

Hostel 93.6% 177 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.51 USD

Hostel 83.2% 525 reviews
Citystay Mitte
16.84 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1213 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.56 USD

Hostel 74.6% 976 reviews
Hostel Aloha
18.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 747 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

258 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Berlin Mitte'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 264 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Lamb

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness. Plenty of social areas to meet people

Disliked: Everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syamimi Husin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 Syamimi would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, ambience, friendliness of the staffs

Disliked: Syamimi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: This hostel is well situated. There is a nice bar where you can hang around.

Disliked: This hostel is quite expensive. The bed cost about than 25€/night which would be ok if it was all included. But you have to pay an extra 5€ for towels and another 5€ for the breakfast. Also on the first night, one girl in the dorm had to wait about 2h for someone to come and change the linen of her bed from the previous occupant. The guy finally came at midnights and basically wake up the whole dorm...

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There as a kitchen and a grocery store near super close. Rooms were cleaned everyday, whch is nice. There was a bar but I never really saw anyone there... This place has mostly hotel rooms and some dorm rooms. If youre looking to party I would suggest a different hostel. Though they did recommend a pub crawl that wasn#t too hard to find. Clean,quiet, and close to a lot of shops and tram station. Staff was nice and spoke English well.

Disliked: slowest eleveator I have ever encountered.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 March 2015

Liked: Good location, close to U Bahn and a few restaurants and bars. The bedrooms have their own bathroom and shower.

Disliked: The 6-beds room is very tiny. You can only sleep there basically and the space is so narrow between the beds close to the window that two people can't fit. The bedrooms have their own bathroom and shower. I know that can be an advantage, but if the room is full, you have to wait for the other people, because you can't go somewhere else. Another unfortunate event is that they lost/stole my sweater. One morning the cleaning lady thought that I checked out, so she made my bed. A few days later, I realized that my sweater was gone. When they asked the cleaning lady, she didn't remember anything. Another thing is that you have to pay for everything: padlock, towel, breakfast and the price is still higher than other places that include these things.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really helpful friendly staff, just a great place to hang out after a long day of sight seeing. Rooms are clean and styled well too.

Disliked: The drains had a funky smell coming from them, had to keep the bathroom door shut but it wasn't a major problem (I have a sensitive nose) and the bathroom light never turned off either. But absolutely nothing apart from that.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe, well located, great atmosphere and most importantly the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet. Reception area was bright and welcoming. Staff were friendly nothing too much trouble. We felt safe and secure within the hostel

Disliked: Pillows! Could be a bit firmer. Unable to open windows - room sometimes v hot.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berlin Goss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Berlin would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone there was helpful and kind. And for this being my first experience with hostels it was better than what I was expected. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Berlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Boakye-Danquah

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 March 2015 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: My deficient brother loved the toilets.

Disliked: That we had to leave.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Gutiérrez Alliende

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: El ambiente del lugar era muy bueno. Ademas, la seguridad era excelente. 100% recomendable.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajni Dugar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2015 Rajni would recommend this property

Liked: Good connectivity with the City Centre. Rooms & washrooms were very clean. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Individual Lockers under the bed were quite troublesome. They were kind of big boxes under the bed which were very difficult to take out - more so when full with stuff. Also there was not space to keep luggage in the room as there wasnt much space remaining after putting the bunk beds and dressing table.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, the toilet, the bathroom etc, everything was very clean.

Disliked: I really don't know anything that I disliked about the property.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, affordable and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Unger

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2015 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: nice relaxing room

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Healy

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 January 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: General atmosphere. Security

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah sayles

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and homely but comfortable, decent toast and cereal for breakfast, comfy beds and good showers, nice lounge, cant ask for anything more! feels a little bohemian

Disliked: perhaps not as secure as it could be, as it is in an apartment building but still fine

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAEEUN SONG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 JAEEUN would recommend this property

Liked: At first I canceled my booking and rebooked this hostel because first time I did, it was almost 4EUR expensive than other day. Even you had to waste your deposit money, it was cheaper to book again. After that I arrived here, it looked so nice. Big and fancy, clean and tidy, organized and kind staff, slience and cozy room which has private toilet and bathroom(I used 4 beds room - I booked 8 beds room but they changed it !! How nice of them haha). Location is good near to one big part of important part of Berlin. 2 subway stations near there and tram is just in front of the building. They have pub, cafe and breakfast place(quite nice meal I guess). Not that nice common room if you want to hang around with people but whatever it was kind of perfect :)

Disliked: Not really. No. If you want to kitchen, just take another hostel. It's just about choices.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gonzalo santini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Good four young people. Modern. Big spaces

Disliked: Some guys from the staff didn't help and no friendly.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, friendly atmosphere and the bar on the ground floor is ideal.

Disliked: The rooms are decorated very basic and the wall was black which does not give it a nice feel. Also there was no safe in the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aidan Carter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were really good, our room had 2 showers for 6 people which was awesome. great bar, nice staff, cool atmosphere etc.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't great, and pretty expensive as well. I'd expect something like that to be included or a much better breakfast.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jättefräsch hostel med trevlig personal! Vi reste 9st och bodde alla tillsammans, så om jag måste säga något som kan förbättras så var rummen lite trånga. Men annars skönt med egen toa och dusch på rummet, god mat på caféet!

Disliked: Trångt rum.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, clean, very good location/connection to public transport, very nice design

Disliked: Heating/airconditioning difficult to handle, twin room quite expensive for a hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels