HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Generator Berlin Mitte

Hostel | Oranienburger Straße 65, Berlin, Germany 10117

89.1% Overall Rating

166 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"The hostel was very clean and the staff were exceedingly helpful when one of our party had her phone stolen (on a night out, NOT from the hostel)."

Read all Generator Berlin Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91
  • Towel USD 8.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Don’t forget that everyone checking in to Generator will need photo ID and Generator Berlin Mitte only accepts guests who are aged 18 or over We reserve the right to collect a full deposit for bookings from 30th December 2014 to 1st of January 2015. These period is also non-refundable. A team member will contact you after you book to arrange for payment. Important Terms & Conditions (for group bookings) • A group booking consists of 10 people or more • VAT is included at the current level (accommodation 7%, meals/services 19%). In case of tax changes, we reserve the right to adjust the room rate. • Should a group be cancelled after the requested deposit has been paid this payment falls to Generator Berlin but can be re-used for a new booking. • The following charges apply if a group is cancelled within 28 days: same day 75%, 1-4 days 60%, 5-7 days 50%, 8-14 days 35%, 15-21 days 20%, 22-28 days 10%. • Cancellations of confirmed bookings should be made by fax and must be counter signed and faxed back to you by us. If you do not have a document signed by us reconfirmed a cancellation then that cancellation is not valid and charges will apply as above. • No charges will generally apply if a group is cancelled more than 28 days prior to arrival. • Reductions in size of up to 10% of a group can be made without charge any time prior to the day of arrival. Groups arriving with fewer persons than we have been notified of will however be subject to full charges as if the whole group had stayed. • Reductions in size in excess of 10% of a group within 28 days of arrival will be treated as if they were cancellations and charges will be levied on the whole reduction, i.e. There is no concession on the first 10% cancelled as applied above. • Where a group is booked for a large number of nights it is the date of arrival (relative to time of cancellation) that determines the charge to be applied to all nights. • We reserve the right to request a security deposit on arrival. FULL pre-payment is required when booking for stays between 30th – 1st January 2015 inclusive (for all bookings). Generator Berlin Mitte will contact you on the e-mail given when booking in order to arrange payment. A receipt for this payment will be given upon request. No cancellations, amendments, refunds or cash alternatives for the booking are applicable * A 5% City Tax will be collected at Check-in for all bookings made after January 1st 2014 (Exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
12.44 USD

Hostel 86.1% 817 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
17.97 USD

Hostel 89.9% 149 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
13.82 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1146 reviews
Circus Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 84.7% 513 reviews
Citystay Mitte
14.10 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1173 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.06 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

166 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Berlin Mitte'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: The hostel was very clean and the staff were exceedingly helpful when one of our party had her phone stolen (on a night out, NOT from the hostel).

Disliked: Our check in took about an hour to sort out. The staff were very flustered and make a few mistakes charging us. It all worked out in the end, but staff acted very inconvenienced despite it being their error. The private 4-bed room hardly had enough space to turn around (and we were only 3!) and was quite expensive, but at least was very clean. Also, there was some misinformation about 30 minute airport train listed on the bulletin board which caused a lot of stress when it turned out it was actually a 60 minute ride with two changes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: It was very convenient, like 15 steps to the S Bahn.. There's this very nice restuarant just beside the hostel called Aufsturz. That place is open till midnight and you can get good affordable food and beer. Just to the right when you exit the hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful, room were of acceptable size. Really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Room card alway had a few problems but it was solved easily at the reception

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom McDonough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a twin room, I was really impressed by the size of the room. The bathroom facilities were excellent when compared to other hostels I've stayed in. The general hostel facilities were also great - the bar and cafe were reasonably priced and very convenient.

Disliked: Should be warned that the smoke alarms in rooms are very sensitive, ours was set off after it detected steam coming out of the bathroom after a hot shower

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for a short stay in this vibrant, expansive city. Great to have services such as wifi, and an affordable Bar in the building. Also such a great help to be able to store luggage on the last day before late flights.

Disliked: The lack of towels, with the option of hiring them at a 4 EUR charge, is a shame and is something that could perhaps be addressed by the hostel (even if just the hire price were lowered to say 1EUR). Also televisions in the rooms, and the ability to open the windows for better ventilation would be a great addition.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Jarecki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had such a cool vibe, great decorations and really friendly staff who helped us with everything. Would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: The rooms were on the smaller side

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situato in posizione centrale, per dare un'idea, l'isola dei musei si raggiunge tranquillamente a piedi. L'ostello è nuovo e moderno, di buon gusto e molto giovanile, gli ambienti sono accoglienti. Le camere hanno solamente lo stretto necessario, ma sono comunque carine, comode e pulite. Giudizio tendenzialmente positivo anche per lo staff.

Disliked: Le camere all'arrivo sono linde e splendenti, ma le pulizie non vengono effettuate quotidianamente. Le camere non sono fornite di telefono e nel bagno non si trovano né asciugamani né sapone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teiso Yhokha

Alone

Business / conference

14 March 2014 Teiso would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean and well maintained - an impression any traveler would be happy about. the place is located at a walkable distance from the metro point - very convenient the place have a pleasant environment - you feel at ease basically because of the management's effort to maintain that. lots of options nearby for a meal apart from the 24 hrs coffee/tea/beer desk in the house.

Disliked: none

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: The lobby and cafe are bright and cheerful-looking. The Wi-Fi is free and worked well in our room.

Disliked: My stay wasn't exactly typical, since the room next to ours caught fire around 2 am and all the hostel guests had to stand outside for an hour or two. My boyfriend and I waited at a bar across the street until a hostel worker came in and announced to everyone (since we weren't the only ones with a bright idea to spend the emergency drinking) that people could go back in, except guests from a handful of rooms that included our own. So we waited until everyone else seemed to have wandered back inside and the chaos died down to go to the lobby and see what the plan was. A receptionist told us to wait in the lobby, which we did, past the shift change where evidently no one passed on the message that we were waiting for a place to sleep. Around 4 am I nudged my boyfriend -- who, unlike myself, speaks fluent German -- to ask about another room, and the receptionist obliged. The only concession they offered for our troubles was that we could check out at 1 pm instead of 10 am. Unfortunately, they dropped the ball on that too. A cleaning lady pounded on the door and then barged into our room at 10 o'clock sharp shouting that it was past check-out time. Generator, I hate to break it to you, but this is not a "wake-up call" is supposed to work. I know the circumstances were abnormal (at least I hope they were) and I give one of the workers credit for waking us up and hustling us out during the fire, since we both fully planned on ignoring the alarm, assuming it was a false alarm like one a few hours earlier. But dealing with mishaps and mistakes is a big part of running a hostel or hotel, and the failure to communicate with us and each other after the fire makes me think they don't have any procedures set up for handling disasters, minor or major. We paid 80 euros a night for our spare little room. Paying that much in the first place was probably a bad call on my part, but if I'm overpaying, I'd at least like to be taken care of.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

daniel zietek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very nice

Disliked: nothing at al

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra de Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I wish all hostels were like this one, friendly helpful staff, premises very well thought out, clean, all age groups, helpful staff with train timetables & directions.

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Xuecheng Zhao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Xuecheng would recommend this property

Liked: everything is nice and clean

Disliked: during my stay, the bathroom make water, but after contact with the reception, they deal with it efficiently.:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice decor, friendly welcoming staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacek Wróblewski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2014 Jacek would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, nice lights, friendly people

Disliked: There's nothing to complain about:)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, new and clean.

Disliked: Nothing, exept maybe the stairway smelled kinda wierd

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are comfortable with good clean linen. Good lockers in some rooms, others you have to slide out. Met some great people and had a good time. Freddie is particularly helpful.

Disliked: Pricey washing machines and driers at 3€ a wash and 3 for drying. I had to move halfway through my stay and was moved to a room with the seam amount of beds, but less space.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siew Kit Kwong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Siew Kit would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. good location and helpful staff

Disliked: Room is a little small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Ramirez De Leon

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, staff and atmosphere of the place is top notch. Loved the 24hr desk and the many available amenities.

Disliked: No kitchen and the laundry service is super expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern design, well thought out layout of the building as well. The location is fantastic and very easy to get to places. Strong metal bunks which don't creak, with very secure storage boxes underneath. Bathrooms were very clean. WiFi was generally quite fast and reliable.

Disliked: Some rooms seem very small - ours was 103 and there was virtually no space to store larger bags that didn't fit under the bed. Also you were inches away from someone opposite you. For some reason the water was cut off from 12am-6am while we were there which made the toilet stink during the night as it couldn't be flushed. While the general layout of the hostel is good, the bar is quite vast and not conducive at all to meeting people sadly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eloise McCrea-Steele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Eloise would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulously located in the cool area of MItte, hotel like facilities and friendly staff all for a frightfully low cost!

Disliked: The 'hostel' atmosphere was lacking due to the hotel like structure of the hostel. The bar was nice, but if you're looking to meet people it can be hard due to the clinical feel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014

Liked: I enjoyed the friendliness of the staff! They were very helpful. I enjoyed the courtyard in the middle of the property and the cafe and bar. Just knowing that if nothing else, I could eat on the property and having a bar to meet other people was certainly the way to go.

Disliked: I thought the rooms were crowded and hot. I did not like the the bathrooms were directly connected to each group hostel room. It made it hard to sleep. Felt more like a party hostel/place to crash for a night than an comfortable/inviting place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSIN-LAN KAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 January 2014 HSIN-LAN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! Super helpful and friendly staff, very clean, good location, everything is very organised. Probably the best hostel I have been stayed!!!

Disliked: Customer left absolutely no negative feedback

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AVINASH SHANKAR RAMMOHAN SUBRAMANIAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2014 AVINASH SHANKAR would recommend this property

Liked: If you are staying in Berlin, Generator Mitte is just the best. Honestly, the best hostel ever: clean, crisp sheets and bed, safe, very modern and posh, great facilities and staff, great location near all the great attractions, pub crawl right outside. My mate stayed at golden hearts and it sucked compared to this. Just choose this and leave everything else.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHINHEE LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 SHINHEE would recommend this property

Liked: just good.

Disliked: SHINHEE left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Anguiano

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: its a clean, moderna and well located hostel, very professional.

Disliked: Francisco left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels