We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Generator Berlin Mitte

Hostel | Oranienburger Straße 65, Berlin, Germany 10117

89.8% Overall Rating

268 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Katherine Foppoli thinks…

"Great location, close to major public transport, the staff were really friendly and happy to help and I liked that the toilet and shower were separate."

Read all Generator Berlin Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.63
  • Towel USD 6.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. • This is an over 18 property, no underage guest allowed. ID will be requested at check-in. • We reserve the right to request a security deposit on arrival. FULL pre-payment is required when booking for stays between 30th – 1st January 2015 inclusive (for all bookings). Generator Berlin Mitte will contact you on the e-mail given when booking in order to arrange payment. A receipt for this payment will be given upon request. No cancellations, amendments, refunds or cash alternatives for the booking are applicable • Bookings for 10 beds for 2 nights or more are considered group bookings. Group Terms & Conditions will apply (please contact the hostel for additional information). • VAT and City Tax is included at the current level (accommodation 7%, City tax 5%, meals/services 19%). In case of tax changes, we reserve the right to adjust the room rate . City Tax exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information) • Guest under the age of 18 are not allowed to stay in shared dormitories, they must book private rooms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
14.36 USD

Hostel 90.6% 903 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
19.15 USD

Hostel 88.5% 181 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
16.90 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1213 reviews
Circus Hostel
29.29 USD

Hostel 92.0% 182 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.90 USD

Hostel 81.5% 530 reviews
Citystay Mitte
16.08 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1224 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.83 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Hostel Aloha
24.78 USD

Hostel 75.0% 754 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

268 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Berlin Mitte'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 275 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans Oskar Kont

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2015 Hans Oskar would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were soft, quiet and nice roommates

Disliked: a bit hard to put the bed sheets on if you are sleeping on the second story

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katherine Foppoli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to major public transport, the staff were really friendly and happy to help and I liked that the toilet and shower were separate.

Disliked: We were there for three nights and during this time the bathroom wasn't cleaned once - not sure if this normal or not for a hostel. The position of our shower meant that when it was turned on it wet the whole bathroom floor so it became really dirty. Our shower also smelled a lot - mainly due to one of the other guests peeing in the shower but it still should have been cleaned. The bins in the bathroom and the room weren't emptied and toilet paper wasn't replenished. Also the storage boxes under the bed were quite awkward to use. Overall it's not a bad hostel and if the room had been cleaned we wouldn't have had any issues.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for access to public transportation, and is also right across the street from the big pub crawl meet up spot. The Generator had the best facilities of any hostel I've seen, with very secure lockers below each bed. There were also separate rooms for the toilet and shower, which made waiting time shorter. A+

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Generator has a lovely courtyard, bar and cafe which is a perfect way to relax and meet new people. Two plugs next to all beds was amazing!!

Disliked: The room was sooooo hot it was unbearable, you could hire a fan but these were fans that stood from the floor; I was on the top bunk so this was not suitable. Also most of the fans had gone even if I did want to hire one. The weather wasn't hot, it was the building that was hot.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edel Scally

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2015 Edel would recommend this property

Liked: Location Staff very helpful

Disliked: Cleaning staff walked in on 2 occasions without knocking, just barged into the room. There were 4 of us and we had a four bed door and requested and paid for late check in but this was not communicated to cleaning staff and the morning of check out we had 3 different cleaners enter the room and tell us to check out eve though we had explained late check out

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: The room was far too hot

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2015

Liked: clean, beds had lights and plug sockets

Disliked: quite far from everything, no community feel in the hostel, expensive

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bertil Bartholdson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Bertil would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, the staff is friendly and helpful, it is clean and you get a proper breakfast.

Disliked: I don't dislike much about this place, maybe it was i little bit too noisy at night in the inneryard if you have the bedroom window in that direktion.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, Clean, Fast check-in/out, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay. Super helpful staff, especially Daniel. He was really helpful and professional. Gave us amazing tips about places to eat and dance, since that's what we were after. I would go back just to hang out with him!

Disliked: Not a single thing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Lamb

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness. Plenty of social areas to meet people

Disliked: Everything was good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syamimi Husin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 Syamimi would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, ambience, friendliness of the staffs

Disliked: Syamimi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: This hostel is well situated. There is a nice bar where you can hang around.

Disliked: This hostel is quite expensive. The bed cost about than 25€/night which would be ok if it was all included. But you have to pay an extra 5€ for towels and another 5€ for the breakfast. Also on the first night, one girl in the dorm had to wait about 2h for someone to come and change the linen of her bed from the previous occupant. The guy finally came at midnights and basically wake up the whole dorm...

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There as a kitchen and a grocery store near super close. Rooms were cleaned everyday, whch is nice. There was a bar but I never really saw anyone there... This place has mostly hotel rooms and some dorm rooms. If youre looking to party I would suggest a different hostel. Though they did recommend a pub crawl that wasn#t too hard to find. Clean,quiet, and close to a lot of shops and tram station. Staff was nice and spoke English well.

Disliked: slowest eleveator I have ever encountered.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 March 2015

Liked: Good location, close to U Bahn and a few restaurants and bars. The bedrooms have their own bathroom and shower.

Disliked: The 6-beds room is very tiny. You can only sleep there basically and the space is so narrow between the beds close to the window that two people can't fit. The bedrooms have their own bathroom and shower. I know that can be an advantage, but if the room is full, you have to wait for the other people, because you can't go somewhere else. Another unfortunate event is that they lost/stole my sweater. One morning the cleaning lady thought that I checked out, so she made my bed. A few days later, I realized that my sweater was gone. When they asked the cleaning lady, she didn't remember anything. Another thing is that you have to pay for everything: padlock, towel, breakfast and the price is still higher than other places that include these things.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really helpful friendly staff, just a great place to hang out after a long day of sight seeing. Rooms are clean and styled well too.

Disliked: The drains had a funky smell coming from them, had to keep the bathroom door shut but it wasn't a major problem (I have a sensitive nose) and the bathroom light never turned off either. But absolutely nothing apart from that.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe, well located, great atmosphere and most importantly the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet. Reception area was bright and welcoming. Staff were friendly nothing too much trouble. We felt safe and secure within the hostel

Disliked: Pillows! Could be a bit firmer. Unable to open windows - room sometimes v hot.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berlin Goss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Berlin would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone there was helpful and kind. And for this being my first experience with hostels it was better than what I was expected. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Berlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Boakye-Danquah

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 March 2015 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: My deficient brother loved the toilets.

Disliked: That we had to leave.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Gutiérrez Alliende

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: El ambiente del lugar era muy bueno. Ademas, la seguridad era excelente. 100% recomendable.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajni Dugar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2015 Rajni would recommend this property

Liked: Good connectivity with the City Centre. Rooms & washrooms were very clean. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Individual Lockers under the bed were quite troublesome. They were kind of big boxes under the bed which were very difficult to take out - more so when full with stuff. Also there was not space to keep luggage in the room as there wasnt much space remaining after putting the bunk beds and dressing table.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, the toilet, the bathroom etc, everything was very clean.

Disliked: I really don't know anything that I disliked about the property.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, affordable and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels