HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Berlin Mitte Berlin Hostel

Oranienburger Strasse 65, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.00EUR
  • Towel 6.00EUR

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].



• This is an over 18 property, no underage guest allowed. ID will be requested at check-in.
• We reserve the right to request a security deposit on arrival. FULL pre-payment is required when booking for stays between 30th – 1st January 2015 inclusive (for all bookings). Generator Berlin Mitte will contact you on the e-mail given when booking in order to arrange payment. A receipt for this payment will be given upon request. No cancellations, amendments, refunds or cash alternatives for the booking are applicable
• Bookings for 10 beds for 2 nights or more are considered group bookings. Group Terms & Conditions will apply (please contact the hostel for additional information).
• VAT and City Tax is included at the current level (accommodation 7%, City tax 5%, meals/services 19%). In case of tax changes, we reserve the right to adjust the room rate . City Tax exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information) • Guest under the age of 18 are not allowed to stay in shared dormitories, they must book private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 194 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean and convenient

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
It's great that you enjoyed your stay at the Generator.
We would love to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice food, clean, modern, secure, helpful staff, tram and U Bahn close by. Fantastic restaurant next door.

Disliked: Bar closed before 2am (too early) and it wasn't clear the bar was closed. No pool/snooker tables in the bar, so not much to do. Not great facilities in the local area. Very few shops and those that were open were VERY expensive. Needs more information on Bus tours.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi David,
thank you your review. It's great that you had a good stay in general. We are sorry that our common spaces were not satisfying for you.
See you soon.
Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cafe

Disliked: 8 beds in room that has space for 4.


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
We are deeply sorry that your stay wasn't like you expected.
Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was close to the S Bahn and the location was good

Disliked: It was very noisey

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bar was pretty cool and the rooms are great for a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time at the Generator and enjoyed our bar.
See you soon.

Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Generator is always the best hostel stay...I'm glad they are expanding throughout EU

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Carlo,
Thanks so much for your review. We'll be looking forward to hosting you again, and hoping to impress you with our upcoming locations.
Best wishes,
Sean
Front of House

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is near and strategic to the attraction

Disliked: request for iron but always not available

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Generator.

We would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Can't say much

Disliked: The room was insanely cramped for 6 people. You could bearly walk between the beds let alone have space to put your luggage. The hostel as a whole was crammed. Bad smell in the corridors. We unfortunately purchased breakfast one morning as they don't Allow you to take food in the hostel and there are no kitchen facilities. Breakfast was old and stale with an expensive price tagThis hostel was not worth the money we paid, over populated and loud Wish we stayed somewhere else


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are deeply sorry that you stay wasn't like you expected.
We'll check how we can improve on the situation.
Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's close to everything. The computers are excellent (but they reset to "update" every night at midnight, no stopping it...and they are unusable for hours!).The evening staff are fantastic. Not the morning staff.

Disliked: Thebar is INSANELY expensive. Since they are a short ride away from Charlottenburg area of Berlin, where beer is ultra-cheap, I think that there is little reason other than profiting from us under the excuse "Mitte is an expensive area of town." I was SHOCKED that a pint of beer is 6 euros here. 1.50 if you go East just a little bit in the city! The morning staff are frantic and unpleasant. Lockers are too small after checking out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jason,

thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are glad you had a good stay in general.
We are sorry that you think 6.00€ for a pale ale brewed in berlin is to expensive our regular pilsener is much cheeper, just to let you know for the next time. We'll train our staff to improve our service in the morning.

Kind regards,
Melanie
AGM

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great facilities and staff, comfortable bed and located at walking distance (about 15min) of main places

Disliked: Only thing I would change is to add shower curtain in the bathroom so the whole floor doesn't end up wet

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks so much for your feedback. Great to hear that you had a good time in Berlin, and in the hostel with our staff. Thanks for your suggestion about the showers. We'll forward your comment along to the housekeeping department.
Thanks!
Sean- Front of House Team

Check Availability