We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel

Hostel | Hardenbergstr. 21, Berlin, Germany 10623

90.9% Overall Rating

82 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

"The hostel was immaculate with comfy beds and a nice modern kitchen to cook in. Also shower room always clean with great showers!"

Read all Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Quentin Boutique
63.11 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Youth Apartments - Ku'damm
36.93 USD

Apartment 93.8% 11 reviews
Hotel Eden am Zoo
38.06 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hostel City Bed am Kurfürstendamm
15.86 USD

Hostel 85.8% 69 reviews
Hotel Pension Funk
53.60 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.7% 5 reviews
Apartment Diana am Ku´Damm
19.03 USD

Apartment 94.6% 17 reviews
Amaryl City-Hotel am Kurfürstendamm
38.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.7% 89 reviews
Nikol-Berlin-Nürnberger
20.30 USD

Apartment 91.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

82 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 85 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014

Liked: The hostel was immaculate with comfy beds and a nice modern kitchen to cook in. Also shower room always clean with great showers!

Disliked: The wifi is very temperamental and as there is no real communal area, there is definitely a hotel feel over a real hostel atmosphere making it very hard to meet people- I would avoid if looking to meet fellow young travellers. Also staff had no idea about the free walking tour available in Berlin and didn't seem too helpful when asked about what to see in Berlin

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014

Liked: It was an insecure building and a group of people broke into the building in broad daylight to steal items from all the rooms on my floor. They went past the front desk and easily snuck into rooms and broke locks off the doors to steal many valuable items for guests. It has been almost two weeks since this happened to the hostel, and I have not had one returned phone call, email, or explanation of how they would assist with over $1,000 US dollars being stolen within the first few hours of my stay. Very disappointed with their staff, but the building itself is great if their business was managed correctly.

Disliked: Very poor customer service by management. The front office staff was very nice and friendly. I did have issues with security as over $1,000 stolen from my room that was secured I lockers. The theft was caught on camera but it has been over 2 weeks since the incident and management has not returned one phone call or email or evn tried I reach out to assist. They are legally required to hold insurance for problems like this, but my guess is that they do not want their premium to raise by making a claim. I was just one of many guests on my first day staying there thy had issues. The line of guests with stolen items was very large and we were informed that we would be speaking with the police and the insurance would cover the costs since the act was caught on camera. None of that was true. Each time I am lucky enough to get catch somebody on te phone, they reply with "call back in an hour, we are busy." It has forced me to change my trip plans drastically. My hope is that other guests will Atleasr read this so they can hæe a heads up before considering staying with Aletto.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredric Biltz

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Fredric would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Fredric left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Perdomo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Good food, good people, clean, comfortable

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samuel Thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to zoo station

Disliked: Screaming talkative young girls drinking all night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Hand

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great rooms from simple double rooms to dorms for large groups. The breakfast was amazing, so much choice and plenty to do around the hostel. The staff were great and helpful in giving advice on places to go etc. They also speak many languages. The hotel is in the best locating you can imagine. Right beside the zoo and tiergarden and train station so getting around the city is easy. The hotel also rents out bikes for guests which is a must for seeing the tiergarden. This was my second time staying in the hotel and the price is great. Would defiantly recommend

Disliked: The bar does not make white russians.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Sawyer

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in the basement of a HUGE hotel. The great thing about this is that all the dining facilities for this upmarket hotel are available for the backpackers and the bathrooms are really modern and clean. There are so many places to relax and eat there. The breakfast buffet is cheap and delicious.

Disliked: I was the only girl in a mixed dorm and ended up sharing the room with 7 drunk farty men. One morning at 7:30am, 2 of the men started yelling at each other and nearly had a fist fight!! Thankfully I left that day. Mixed dorms must have at least 2 females in it to feel comfortable...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is veru clean and central, so I would recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darko Mladinic

Alone

Events / festivals

09 April 2014 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time at HOSTEL. Nice and quite location.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Per Terje Borowski

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Per Terje would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was great good, friendly and attentive staff. Lay really good and central, in terms of transport communications. So it was great good and tidy.

Disliked: Per Terje left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jose Luis Fernandez Ruiz

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2014 Jose Luis would recommend this property

Liked: We could cook inside the hostel and we had all that we need

Disliked: Any members of the staff didn´t explain me very well some questions

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Walter Cai

Alone

Business / conference

19 February 2014 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to a large train station and also close to a TU Berlin

Disliked: The cheap dorms were in the basement

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not sure if it is their hotel policy. All the guests in the 6-bed dorm were males. We started talking and introducing ourselves, where we are from and what we do. One of them is a magician and we said "oh yeah? Show us some tricks". And he was sportive! He showed us some tricks. Another guy is a professional striptease. Again, we asked him to perform. Another sportive guy. He really performed. We got more than what we asked for. After he stripped, he did not put his clothes back on again. When sleeping, he masturbated on his bed. He did not realize that we were still awake and watching him! LOL!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Diego Villamero

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Carlos Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice Hotel Staff & reasonable room price.

Disliked: Its location because it's being shielded Front & Back

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It's a pretty good location, only about a half hour walk to the Brandenburger Tor. Lots of good places to eat near the hostel and a small mart is about a 3 minute walk away. Breakfast is included and is all you can eat. They offer a lot of food and is pretty good.

Disliked: It has the slight feel of a hotel and is a bit harder to socialize with other travelers. Free wifi is only in the main lobby. You can purchase wifi access for your room, but it is expensive, and I don't think it's worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: The 10 bed dorm didn't have sufficient ventilation so the room smelled pretty bad

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First thing : I stayed here 4 nights so I can tell some stuff. Big locker : you can fit a 40L backpack and a laptop bag but they are not in the room, in the corridor. The place is right next to the Zoologischer garten station (S+U), it's only a few station away from the central station (Hbf). ALL the facilities are new, modern and clean. Each bunk bed have an electricity outlet and a LED lamp (the lamp become quite annoying with the people switching on during the night because it's quite bright). There are a little park and a terrace on the property. The breakfast is astounding : bread, crescent, yogourt, fruits, jam (even nutella!), sliced meat, cheese; it's a awesome good all-you-can-eat buffet especially when it's included in the price. If you want to relax a bit more from all the hotel noise, there are a laundry room with small kitchen in the basement, it's the door next to the girl shower room ; it's quite weird the entrance. It's far away from everything (but again here no Wi-Fi unless you pay for). In the dinning/bar room there are electricity outlet at differents place so you can plug easily your stuff

Disliked: This place is huge : it's a mix between a hotel and a hostel. All the hostel stuff are in the basement. Wi-Fi is not working in the rooms (you have to pay if you want it and if I'm correct it's 1euro/hour or 10 euro for a week). There are free Wi-Fi in the communal room (bar/dinning room on ground floor). Sometimes it works at the breakfast room in the basement . If you want to meet people this is not the place to go because according to what I saw it's all the time student group or older people at the hotel area. It's still seems to be a young place but the environnment is more a hotel side than hostel. Staff are friendly but it looks like they care less if you are in the hostel area. No air in the room : need to open the windows so the noise from outside come in easily. There are only one washing machine and one dryer and you need to ask for special coin at the reception (take in mind it's often taken by people so the best time to do it, is during the night)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was open a long time

Disliked: Stuff on the breakfast table were finished. for example scrambled eggs, and croisants. Staff only shook there head...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is super clean, they clean everything, everyday...you can practically eat off the floor. The kitchen was superb! New state of the art equipment with all the utensils you will ever need. The breakfast would have to be one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in a hostel. It is a full buffet every morning, with a late risers breakfast on weekends (Until midday) that includes scrambled eggs with bacon! Unrivalled in the breakfast department! The location is a bit out of Mitte but it is right next to the S-Bahn and U-Bahn so it's really easy to get around.

Disliked: This place is a hostel, but it's also a hotel and we felt as though we were treated with a bit of disregard because we booked in the hostel section. The hostel section is tucked away, basically underground. The particular staff member that checked us in was uninviting and unhelpful when it came to questions about the city (although most of the other staff members were pleasant). He seemed to have a distain for us because we were backpackers and we didn't speak German. There is not a hostel vibe here so if you are looking to meet people, have fun and get some tips about the city try a traditional backpacker hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really nice common kitchen, staff friendly and helpful, room quite and so clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, quiet room

Disliked: Smell of mould in room, no good desk/chair, breakfast quality rather below average

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Went with a group of students. Our accommodation was more like a hotel than hostel; absolutely fantastic. Excellent value for money. Superb choice at the buffet breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff , clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: Car park cost extra 13 Eur per day. No electric kettle in the room. Window view. Smelly room.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels