HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Jetpak Alternative

Hostel | Görlitzerstraße 38, Berlin, Germany 10997

94.6% Overall Rating

44 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Friendly staff made sure that we were comfortable and looked after. Atmosphere was amazing; they even made really cheap, delicious cocktails before our night out. Bunks, rooms and bathrooms were spotless! Cool location…"

Read all Jetpak Alternative reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Important*** Please read all the information here before booking*** As we are a small hostel aimed at solo travelers and small groups, we do not accept groups larger than 4 people. We want to create a friendly, social atmosphere, that makes it easier for travelers to meet other guests, and find that with large groups this is not possible. As most of the bars and clubs in the area have a 21 y/o age requirement, we also require all guests to be between 21 & 40 years old *Please do not book if you do not meet these requirements* PLEASE NOTE: During the New Years period (27th of December 2013 to 2nd of January 2014), we have a minimum stay of four nights. Booking for this period require payment in full, prior to arrival. This will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking. During this period we have a 14-day cancellation policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
28.28 USD

Hostel 88.9% 403 reviews
East Side City Hotel
45.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 33 reviews
Industriepalast Hostel Berlin
17.41 USD

Hostel 88.0% 89 reviews
PLUS Berlin
13.82 USD

Hostel 92.2% 1830 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.20 USD

Hostel 76.2% 260 reviews
Sunflower Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 79.4% 251 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
41.46 USD

Hostel 78.6% 80 reviews
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 82.6% 354 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

44 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jetpak Alternative'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff made sure that we were comfortable and looked after. Atmosphere was amazing; they even made really cheap, delicious cocktails before our night out. Bunks, rooms and bathrooms were spotless! Cool location near awesome bars. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariel Navarro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Ariel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is by far the greates hostel probably ever. The locations is amazing and Kreuzberg makes you truly fall in love with Berlin. This is the hostel for young travellors trying to honestly experience the culture of a city. The people who work there are the cutest most wonderful people on the planet. This hostel attracts the best kind of travellors because its in Kreuzberg not in a touristy area so making friends is super easy.

Disliked: That I can't live here forever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, especially for the nightlife. The hostel staff were very friendly and were always playing great music! - Fresh cupcakes each day and amazing coffee (by Melbourne standards) added to the good vibes. I was traveling in a pair, but seemed to be an ideal hostel for solo travellers. Definitely coming back in the summer!! such a happy place!

Disliked: Nothing! We wished we could have stayed longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Geilinger

Alone

City break

24 February 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayden Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Jayden would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 5 nights but I could have stayed for a month and it still wouldn't have been enough. Great location for bars, clubs, and the east side gallery. Public transport to the centre is very simple. The staff were enthusiastic, helpful and welcoming, and they regularly do dinners and cocktail nights for guests. The staff, combined with the intimate layout of the common room and 1Euro beers, create the perfect setting for meeting other travellers and having a great time whether chilling out or getting one's drink on. I met some great people here and will be back for sure.

Disliked: The location is perfect for seeing the alternative core of Berlin, but perhaps other hostels are more ideally located for seeing the main tourist attractions?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexander Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the night life area of Berlin. Plus the kind of people who stay here are the kind who want to go out and experience both the day attractions and the nightlife.

Disliked: A bit more expensive than other hostels in Berlin, but worth it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Seeney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities, location and mix of people were all great. Loved my stay and would really like to go back!

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great location near to bars, cafes, restaurants and clubs. Everyone was really friendly and sociable, both staff and fellow travelers. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim De Rijck

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The concept of only taking in small groups works perfect! We whent out every day with a large group of 15 to 20 people we met at the hostel. It was great. The neighborhood looks shady and rough, but I never felt insecure.

Disliked: De bathrooms weren't very clean, which was not the hostel's fault, more the travelers who stayed there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Jetpak Alternative. Everybody was really nice and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: The only thing that was a bit annoying was that the wi-fi in the rooms was on and off, it didn't always work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well equipped hostel and helpful, friendly staff. The common area is always buzzing with games, conversation and beer but it's far enough from the rooms so noise is not an issue. The hostel is a short walk away of an area packed with bars, cafes and small shops.

Disliked: Service: There is a laundry service but the drier is very slow and laundry is sometimes just forgotten by the staff. Location: be prepared for a 15 min walk to the nearest U-Bahn stations. The description notes the hostel is far from the central areas, but it's even a bit far away from central Kreuzberg. The park next to the hostel has some dodgy characters loitering but it seemed safe in general. Room: The overhead lamp was broken (I didn't really need it) and there were no more padlocks available for the lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, made my first experience travelling alone an easy and pleasant one. Common area isn't open too late so sleeping isn't a problem and there's so many bars around so noone minded. Cheap beer, great coffee and the staff were always more than happy to chat/help. You'd be silly to go to any other hostel in Berlin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Siddhi Lama

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Siddhi would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel. It was absolutely phenomenal. The people were really swell-- both those that worked there and those who were visiting. All the local things were great-- awesome restaurants and bars and things to do in walking distance. Everything was clean and comfortable and functional. This might easily be my favourite hostel I've ever been to.

Disliked: I wish that the communal areas didn't close at midnight because it means you have nowhere to hang out except the rooms/outside when its cold outside, but you don't want to go out yet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and awesome location in Kreuzberg! We'll be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly. Wanted to go out with you and wanted to be helpful about the local amenities. Hostel was not busy so I had a room to myself.

Disliked: Hostel was a little quiet in the off season - gave me my own room, but I would have liked to meet more people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Crawford

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2013 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks Julian, Francisca(sp?) and the rest of the team. Really laid back but professional hostel. Great set-up. In the top two hostels I have ever stayed at. There was somehting about it that just made it really easy to get along with the other people staying there. Would heartily recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the Kreuzberg/Fredreichshain area.

Disliked: I arrived after midnight and couldn't work out how to get to the courtyard for night service. I think you need a clearer sign, but then again maybe I'm a bit blind. I would say that the walk there is a bit dark so if that bothers you you might want a taxi - but it is pretty clear on the description that it is in a less salubrious area of Berlin... but that's why you'd choose this hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable, floor heating, amazing showers, amazing staff, nice style

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hillary Woodcroft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 December 2012 Hillary would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place! The best hostel I stayed at on my whole trip. Grant, Julien, Bernard, Gülner all fantastically fantastic and helpful! The rooms are so clean, and the beds are like heaven. So amazingly comfortable. It's close to all the best clubs, food stores and bars. Just an all round friendly place.

Disliked: Nothing. It's totally accessible, friendly, warm, clean, value for money!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emil Schroder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who run this were fantastic. Knew everything about the city and were really friendly about it. Fantastic facilities as well. Bernard's beard is a credit to the hostel

Disliked: Emil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tess Lancaster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled atmosphere, everyone was really friendly, especially the staff (could not have asked for nicer people), rooms were the cleanest I have had, basis breakfast but just what you need, great hot chocolates, cool neighbourhood. Wash/dry was pretty cheap seeing you didn't do it yourself! 10/10!

Disliked: Tess left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, very helpful. Loved the common area but could have been a touch larger. The included free breakfast is really handy. The rooms are clean and there is a good crowd that comes through.

Disliked: It is a bit out of the way from transportation (about a 10 minute walk to the closest U-Bahn station and then 10 - 20 minute train rides to most of the major sights).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Julian and the rest of the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The facilities and location were great. It's a smaller hostel so it created an atmosphere that promoted friendship. Everyone there went out to explore berlin together. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: The price was a bit expensive for both Berlin and the off season (20euros) but the people and facilities more than made up for it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was really chilled and cheep beer, FIFA , trusting atmosphere, unlike all the other big hotel hostels in berlin, the staff are not ball bags.

Disliked: 5minutes is to far to walk to get to the u bahn

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is brilliant in every way.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! The staff are brilliant. They are happy to help in anyway they can, even making you coffee when you are feeling slugish after a night out. The atmospher of the hostel encourages you to meet other travellers and make some great friends. Location wise it was perfect for people in their 20's and 30's. It's a bit further out of the "town center" (on the U banh & S banh you can get almost anywhere though), but some of the best restaurants and nightclubs are within walking distance. It's clean and well looked after. I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Kitchen facilities would be good, but in saying that the restaurants around the area have good food for low prices. For the size of the hostel, if the common area was larger, with additional seating it would encourage more people to hang out together.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels