We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of CHECK IN HOSTEL

Hostel | Markgrafenstraße 68, Berlin, Germany 10969

79.2% Overall Rating

282 out of 334 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2015)

Julie Neyman thinks…

"The location other than that nothing, one employee was nice the others I would not want to deal with again."

Read all CHECK IN HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We accept credit cards, debit cards and cash payment on arrival. The Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. earliest check in: 15:00 latest check out: 11:00 PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1st 2014, the City of Berlin will charge an extra tax of 5% on every night. This applies to all bookings made after January 1st 2014. Our rates include the tax which means the total amount you see here is the actual final amount. Special Cancellation Policy for New Year's Eve: For the period from the 27.12.2014 to 02.01.2015 the following cancellation policy applies: If cancelled up to 7 days before arrival will lead to a cancellation charge of the first night of the booking. If cancelled within 7 days will lead to a charge of 50% of the total amount. Please note that we will charge 50% of the total amount on your credit card as soon as we receive the booking. If we have difficulties with the credit card we will contact you immediately.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Cityhostel Berlin
14.09 USD

Hostel 74.7% 970 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.92 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 83.5% 52 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
15.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
14.36 USD

Hostel 91.4% 968 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.67 USD

Hostel 72.0% 272 reviews
Hotel-Transit
23.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
8.95 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

282 out of 334 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CHECK IN HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 217 of 327 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leo Bartolec

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Leo would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, safe and staff are great

Disliked: lack of kitchen on second floor, lack of some kind of living room

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Julie Neyman

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015

Liked: The location other than that nothing, one employee was nice the others I would not want to deal with again.

Disliked: The showers are cold, I had one hot shower the first day I got there then 7 days of cold water, the last day I had a scalding hot shower with freezing cold water. I want my money back!!! The manager after having the cleaning lady-maid scream at me telling me to wash my pan when I was one of the only people there that did her dishes the other kids left a mess and I am an adult and pick up after myself, she purposely picked me out and went off on me, there is no over-site of the help, the manager only refunded %25 of what I paid I am sorry but that's nothing and that was if I left, so I had to lose the money I paid to hotelbookers.com and had to pack quickly and go to another hostel, thank goodness the next hostel was worth its weight in gold. They also throw all your new food away and do not have anything to mark with unless you ask, which I had to because they lost there key to my room ask every time I needed to go to the bathroom or do anything! So it sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would not stay there again... the laundry is also a rip off and they broke a button off my coat!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very good wifi even in the rooms, best thing about the place and the location, right around the corner from the centre!

Disliked: Terrible bedding, we were there for winter and the quilt was threadbare and the pillow so lumpy, invest in some new linen!! Kitchen disgusting, no bowls?? God knows how you are supposed to have cereal, out of a mug, and staff not helpful when we asked. We are not snobs but come on if you have spoons why not bowls? Showers always going freezing cold and boiling hot so takes about half an hour. It´s cheap though and it did us for what we needed, the wifi makes it and meant we could be out all day and then plan our future travel in the comfort of our room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

09 February 2015

Liked: Proximity to Checkpoint Charlie. Free Wifi. Overall pretty clean.

Disliked: I visited in February (winter) and the boiler was broken. Cold showers every night. They assured it me next week it would be fixed (after I had left unfortunately).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Piotr Zareba

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 February 2015 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, perfect location. Staff speaks english.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, but roommates were very noisy: cant blame the hostel for that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franko Arenas Diaz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Franko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, very clean and near to the u bahn

Disliked: Franko left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Yon Hau Tay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015

Liked: The location is above average

Disliked: Basic amenities like wifi is not working all the time There is no consistent hot water in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Reis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: The restaurant which offered breakfast was closed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexander toro

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 September 2014 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean,safe,central,people friendly and all facilities I needed

Disliked: I can't complain

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014

Liked: open 24 hrs. lidl shop on back

Disliked: noisy, uncomfortable bed, not so near the city centre. have to change metro twice and walk alot to get to city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap breakfast

Disliked: Internet is really bad sometimes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Lockers available in the room.

Disliked: Noisy: I could hear music from outside at night, and the cleaning lady vacuums the corridors early in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big lockers in rooms. Location near Checkpoint Charlie.

Disliked: Kitchen dirty due to people not cleaning up after themselves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were enthusiastic

Disliked: One of the cookers didn't work, but then again one did, sign couldn't hurt :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Arnould

Alone

City break

11 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well maintained

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

David Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Basic hostel but cheap

Disliked: The Americans

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ajinkya Sase

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Ajinkya would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Supermarkets on next street.

Disliked: Ajinkya left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and clean rooms and really friendly atmosphere

Disliked: It was quite loud at night if trying to get a good sleep and the wifi was rather poor on the second floor. Also the ladies showers were freezing cold on the second floor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Susan Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 July 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, near an U-Bahn stop, and within walking distance of so many sights, parks, places to eat and there is a LIDL grocery store is directly behind the building! Dorm bed was comfy and the lockers were large. Bring your own lock.

Disliked: I can't fault the cleaning staff as I was up early every day and witnessed them work hard, but the lack of disrespect from all the young irresponsible guests appalled me. The kitchen was a disgusting mess, the showers full of water on the floor, the lack of soap in the ladies room -- everything others have said I will say as well. A suggestion might be to invest in some shower curtains that actually fit the showers, possibly avoiding all the water on the floor outside the basins. Ran out of dish soap in the kitchen early in the evening and I was told from the gal at the reception, "There is nothing I can do. You will have to wait until the morning to get more." Be aware the place is crawling with gap year students and young people on summer holidays and they are not the quietest nor the most respectful of guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Charlton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Second time I've stayed in this hostel (it was good enough to come back) great location, aldi underneath, warm showers, friendly people

Disliked: Sometimes the internet plays up a little

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap and friendly atmosphere and staff

Disliked: the second floor showers would be freezing until someone turned another tap on then it would be boiling or the opposite would happen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely clean and spacious.

Disliked: It was quite plain in its appearance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who were super helpful with any problems.

Disliked: The location is average, there weren't too much happening within walking of the distance of the hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lucia viña

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! A few blocks of the attractions in Berlin. Big showers, and very clean! Nice sheets included. Big rooms with lockers. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Noisy at night. One of the reception girls know nothing about the city.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels