HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of CHECK IN HOSTEL

Hostel | Markgrafenstraße 68, Berlin, Germany 10969

82.2% Overall Rating

262 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Susan Lee thinks…

"The location was excellent, near an U-Bahn stop, and within walking distance of so many sights, parks, places to eat and there is a LIDL grocery store is directly behind the building! Dorm bed was…"

Read all CHECK IN HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We accept credit cards, debit cards and cash payment on arrival. The Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. earliest check in: 15:00 latest check out: 11:00 PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1st 2014, the City of Berlin will charge an extra tax of 5% on every night. This applies to all bookings made after January 1st 2014. Our rates include the tax which means the total amount you see here is the actual final amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Cityhostel Berlin
16.88 USD

Hostel 82.1% 958 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
21.10 USD

Hostel 84.1% 454 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
20.26 USD

Hostel 83.4% 41 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
21.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 11 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
25.08 USD

Hostel 91.8% 963 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
30.95 USD

Hostel 72.3% 267 reviews
Hotel-Transit
28.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
14.74 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1162 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

262 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CHECK IN HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 199 of 302 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: See above.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is a great deal! Super cheap and delicious. Very cheap price per night so can't complain too much.

Disliked: We had to wait a long time to get helped to check-in and out. Lockers are too small, and the entire place lacks atmosphere. The bathrooms, common areas, and rooms are pretty dirty and are not cleaned on a daily basis. The few chairs in the lounge area are broken.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Stamp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and tremendously cheap.

Disliked: The lockers were not actually lockers, you could open them with paper-clips! The staff seemingly tried to overcharge us but it may have just been an honest mistake...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomáš Herman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Tomáš would recommend this property

Liked: Value, location, friendly staff

Disliked: Almost nothing, maybe there could be always toilet paper...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marlon Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2012 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: localization

Disliked: The specifications how to find the hostel was really poor, the hoste was so noyse, the toillets were dirty and totally wet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: facilities and no character

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a good location, very central.

Disliked: There weren't enough keys for everyone to have one which meant that the door was left open alot- annoying from a noise, light and safety point of view. There was nowhere to put your dry stuff in the showers. There was often not enough toilet paper in the ladies cubicles.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Donner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good bunks and pillows, lockers in rooms, near supermarkets & other stores & metro.

Disliked: Shower curtain doesn't keep water in shower, no kitchen faclities. Hot water heater provided but no cups or glasses. Microwave available but no utensils. Cheapest rate in Europe, so bring a fork and cup.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ema Babosek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, good hostel to stay in. Close to checkpoint Charlie and an exibition about the Berlin wall.

Disliked: Location is pretty bad, but the Metro isn't that far. There's no kitchen, not even a microwave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwan Fu Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Kwan Fu would recommend this property

Liked: It's really beautiful. The room is clean.

Disliked: Nope

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Louise Caldara

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

25 September 2012

Liked: Originally it was the prices of the rooms.

Disliked: Instead of three 4 bedrooms for single use we only got one because of a mistake made by hostelbookers in the original booking. But the price was set for three. When I accepted the booking I looked at the price and thought everything was ok. When we arrived at the hostel they didn't have three rooms available and the receptionist had changed our booking price because he thought we only wanted one 4 bedroom. He obviously saw the price was too high for three persons in a 4 bedroom and reduced it. We paid, got a receipt and thought everything was ok. The following day the same receptionist had changed his mind and now he suddenly wanted us to pay the original price but he still couldn't offer us three rooms. He wanted us to pay four times as much for a bed even though he himself had changed the price the night before because it didn't match the hostel prices. We asked to talk to the manager twice and made two appointments he never showed up for. We ended up not paying even though they tried getting the money again at check out. When I got home I discovered Check!NHostel had drawn the money from my account anyways without my acceptance. Of course I contacted my bank and made them take care of the matters.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Matczak

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: Locatnion, service.

Disliked: My only remark is lack of kitchen & fridge and no hot water at late evening.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Lapierre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: The room is not to small and really clean. Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing much

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McInerney

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location in Mitte, close to U-bahn, space, clean rooms, reasonable price.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen/food prep or refrigerated storage, poor security, most of the toilets (3 out of 4) seemed to be out of order much of the time I was there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easily accessible to transport links and on foot. Rooms and hostel were very clean and spacious.

Disliked: Toilets could have been cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tadeu Lanna

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Tadeu would recommend this property

Liked: good bed matras, very clean, spacy and light rooms, great location.

Disliked: Tadeu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved being at the Plus hostel in Berlin. The atmosphere, the location and it was amazing clean. For this price I can´t think of any better accommodation.

Disliked: seriously- nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good Location, information and was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina Piatkowska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok.

Disliked: People screaming at night on the corridor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in a nice neighbourhood. Very simple hostel but has everything you need for a pleasant stay (attention, no kitchen). Great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiaying Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Jiaying would recommend this property

Liked: I like it very much! Not only for its facilities but also its guests and staffs are really kind!

Disliked: The shower is out of order the night I went there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Bennett

Alone

City break

01 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value, clean, central

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Bennett

Alone

City break

01 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value, clean, central

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic and no-nonsense, but value for the money is good. Dorms were spacious and beds were good. Located in a quiet neighbourhood at a few minutes walk from checkpoint charlie. Supermarket (lidl) around the corner.

Disliked: Slightly boring and empty. Doesn't really have character. Not much more than a place to sleep. Bed lights are missing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was low-key and safe. I don't like party-hostels by noisy bars.

Disliked: No place to prepare food and the lockers in the room didn't have keys (the reception desk staff didn't mention lockers or whether we could access them). Also, there were half the number of toilets for women as for men but men take less time in the bathroom so it should be the reverse. The showers only worked for ten seconds and I kept needing to push the tap to get water to come out making it difficult to wash etc at the same time.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels