We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of CHECK IN HOSTEL

Hostel | Markgrafenstraße 68, Berlin, Germany 10969

79.5% Overall Rating

274 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Susan Lee thinks…

"The location was excellent, near an U-Bahn stop, and within walking distance of so many sights, parks, places to eat and there is a LIDL grocery store is directly behind the building! Dorm bed was…"

Read all CHECK IN HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We accept credit cards, debit cards and cash payment on arrival. The Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. earliest check in: 15:00 latest check out: 11:00 PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1st 2014, the City of Berlin will charge an extra tax of 5% on every night. This applies to all bookings made after January 1st 2014. Our rates include the tax which means the total amount you see here is the actual final amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
13.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 965 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

274 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CHECK IN HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 316 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location, very close to checkpoint charlie and the underground.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't great and at the time there was a group of noisy French kids running up the hallways. Toilets/showers weren't cleaned frequently

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfiya Rakhimberdina

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 October 2012 Alfiya would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly, good location

Disliked: Alfiya left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bruno Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, that's worthy. good beds too

Disliked: bad wifi, no kicthen, only a microwave, cold bathrooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked location of hostel/

Disliked: There are no hot water in the morning or in the evening. I had to make my bed by myself, coz staff forgot to make it for me. For the first day, we didnt had a roomkey.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap. Rooms had lockers.

Disliked: Very basic. Not much around it, and takes some walking to get to nearest train station.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ARUN SREELALAN IYER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 ARUN SREELALAN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, excellent location and friendly and helpful staff. Fun and friendly co-hostelers who meet up for a drink and a game of foosball every night!

Disliked: There need to be better kitchen and bathroom facilities. Also, there weren't enough keys to enter the rooms for everyone, so needed to go to the reception to ask them to let me in. Can be painful if you're just setting out for the day and need to go in and out of the room several times (WC, forgot something etc).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect locaction, easily accessible by metro and bus, many cafes, bars and shops nearby

Disliked: breaks in hot water accesibility, the first room we stayed at was terribly smelly but we fortunately could changed it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Little room for chilling

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, it was good hostel for what I paid for (ie 8 euro in a 6 bed room). The beds were large and room spacious. Close to Check Point Charles and all the action. Plus the train station was close by and supermarket 3 blocks away.

Disliked: The place was dirty and the staff member that checked me in was very rrude and not helpful. Made alot of excuses. For example when I asked him about the locker key. He said that he already told me that there was a 5 euro deposit. Funny that he never mentioned it. Thank god the other staff members were better and more helpful. Also there is no kitchen.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: See above.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is a great deal! Super cheap and delicious. Very cheap price per night so can't complain too much.

Disliked: We had to wait a long time to get helped to check-in and out. Lockers are too small, and the entire place lacks atmosphere. The bathrooms, common areas, and rooms are pretty dirty and are not cleaned on a daily basis. The few chairs in the lounge area are broken.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Stamp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and tremendously cheap.

Disliked: The lockers were not actually lockers, you could open them with paper-clips! The staff seemingly tried to overcharge us but it may have just been an honest mistake...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomáš Herman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Tomáš would recommend this property

Liked: Value, location, friendly staff

Disliked: Almost nothing, maybe there could be always toilet paper...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marlon Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2012 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: localization

Disliked: The specifications how to find the hostel was really poor, the hoste was so noyse, the toillets were dirty and totally wet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: facilities and no character

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a good location, very central.

Disliked: There weren't enough keys for everyone to have one which meant that the door was left open alot- annoying from a noise, light and safety point of view. There was nowhere to put your dry stuff in the showers. There was often not enough toilet paper in the ladies cubicles.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Donner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good bunks and pillows, lockers in rooms, near supermarkets & other stores & metro.

Disliked: Shower curtain doesn't keep water in shower, no kitchen faclities. Hot water heater provided but no cups or glasses. Microwave available but no utensils. Cheapest rate in Europe, so bring a fork and cup.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ema Babosek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, good hostel to stay in. Close to checkpoint Charlie and an exibition about the Berlin wall.

Disliked: Location is pretty bad, but the Metro isn't that far. There's no kitchen, not even a microwave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwan Fu Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Kwan Fu would recommend this property

Liked: It's really beautiful. The room is clean.

Disliked: Nope

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Louise Caldara

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

25 September 2012

Liked: Originally it was the prices of the rooms.

Disliked: Instead of three 4 bedrooms for single use we only got one because of a mistake made by hostelbookers in the original booking. But the price was set for three. When I accepted the booking I looked at the price and thought everything was ok. When we arrived at the hostel they didn't have three rooms available and the receptionist had changed our booking price because he thought we only wanted one 4 bedroom. He obviously saw the price was too high for three persons in a 4 bedroom and reduced it. We paid, got a receipt and thought everything was ok. The following day the same receptionist had changed his mind and now he suddenly wanted us to pay the original price but he still couldn't offer us three rooms. He wanted us to pay four times as much for a bed even though he himself had changed the price the night before because it didn't match the hostel prices. We asked to talk to the manager twice and made two appointments he never showed up for. We ended up not paying even though they tried getting the money again at check out. When I got home I discovered Check!NHostel had drawn the money from my account anyways without my acceptance. Of course I contacted my bank and made them take care of the matters.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Matczak

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: Locatnion, service.

Disliked: My only remark is lack of kitchen & fridge and no hot water at late evening.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Lapierre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: The room is not to small and really clean. Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing much

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McInerney

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location in Mitte, close to U-bahn, space, clean rooms, reasonable price.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen/food prep or refrigerated storage, poor security, most of the toilets (3 out of 4) seemed to be out of order much of the time I was there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easily accessible to transport links and on foot. Rooms and hostel were very clean and spacious.

Disliked: Toilets could have been cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tadeu Lanna

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Tadeu would recommend this property

Liked: good bed matras, very clean, spacy and light rooms, great location.

Disliked: Tadeu left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels