We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of CHECK IN HOSTEL

Hostel | Markgrafenstraße 68, Berlin, Germany 10969

79.3% Overall Rating

310 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

"What I enjoyed the most was the staff. Very helpful. I also liked the athmosphre in the reception, good to chill out."

Read all CHECK IN HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We accept credit cards, debit cards and cash payment on arrival. The Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. earliest check in: 15:00 latest check out: 11:00 PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1st 2014, the City of Berlin will charge an extra tax of 5% on every night. This applies to all bookings made after January 1st 2014. Our rates include the tax which means the total amount you see here is the actual final amount. Special Cancellation Policy for New Year's Eve: For the period from the 27.12.2014 to 02.01.2015 the following cancellation policy applies: If cancelled up to 7 days before arrival will lead to a cancellation charge of the first night of the booking. If cancelled within 7 days will lead to a charge of 50% of the total amount. Please note that we will charge 50% of the total amount on your credit card as soon as we receive the booking. If we have difficulties with the credit card we will contact you immediately.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Cityhostel Berlin
11.83 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
13.01 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
23.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 14 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
15.07 USD

Hostel 89.3% 977 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.20 USD

Hostel 69.5% 277 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
16.90 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1213 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

310 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CHECK IN HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 239 of 357 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jillian Jacobs

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly and clean and had hot water and cozy beds.

Disliked: Jillian left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it has a good value for money. accommodation in Berlin is expensive and this hostel has fair prices (in the big rooms) and nice showers and bathrooms. the kitchen is quite small though. it has a great location! 2 U-bann stops from fridreich street \unter den linden. and it's a great advantage that there's a supermarket behind the hostel (LIDL)

Disliked: i love my hostels smaller and more famillier, this hostel runs as a business, the staff doesn't know you and you have to pay extra for anything. I couldn't us their pc for 5 min to check something.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was fairly clean and all we needed was provided in a nice and kind way.

Disliked: there were no curtains in the rooms and all of them with huge windows. that fact made all of our room wake up at 7am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, good wifi

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas King

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Did not spend too much time in the hostel, but everything was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this Hostel. Very good Value in a good area

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I have ever stayed! There was plenty of space in the room, which was more comfortable than the average.

Disliked: The location is not bad, but is definetly not the BEST in town!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap place to stay, it's located very near to the Jewish Museum, the Berlinische Gallery, Checkpoint Charlie and many of the tourist spots. There are several shops within easy reach. It was very clean and the showers were hot everytime I used them.

Disliked: There were no blinds or curtains on the windows of my room on an east facing wall which meant that in the morning we had a green house effect that was extremely warm even with the windows open. For some reason there was only cuttlery in the kitchen on the final day (I stayed for a whole week) which was a bit of a pain. The cleaners would start cleaning rooms out before people had checked out meaning they might come and bang around in the room several t.imes if you were trying to sleep, not much fun if you are trying to sleep off a night of clubbing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Close to transit and some interesting art galleries (although they were closed when we were there), supermarket around the corner so it was easy to get food to eat on budget.

Disliked: The kitchen was small for such a large hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

turhan Atar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 turhan would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite central, it is easy to get everywhere, the linend were clean and the showers were convenient but their secret is their stuff, the receptionist Tarik Sert( he helped us a lot, he solved problems even not related with our stay), it is good to know that people like him still out there. Thanks a lot Tarık sert for everything, you should have no suspecion to book this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SUNMIN KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 SUNMIN would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Central clean and everyone was friendly!!

Disliked: The kitchen didn't have very many cooking supplies but everyone made do!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013

Liked: The showers were really good and the staff was helpful

Disliked: The kitchen was awful. Not impressed with the paper plates and plastic knives and forks. There were no cooking utensils whatsoever. The hostel seemed to attract a teenage party crowd and a couple weirdos.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Phantira Waranukrohchok

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: It is only a few minutes from the metro station. There is free locker in the room. The common room is ok.

Disliked: The kitchen is too small and there was sewage water leaked into my room which is right across from the kitchen. The water stink the whole floor and we were so upset that we might not be able to sleep that night but the manager fixed the problem really quick and offered a free breakfast the next day. The bathroom was not well cleaned. There was no soap in the toilet to wash hands. The tables in the common room were dirty from all guests eating there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Louis Masseron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Table football. Ask at reception for the ball, and you can just play your heart out. Rooms were clinically-looking clean. Location is astounding, especially for how much rooms cost. Right in the center, within (a decent) walk to some clubs, although the trains run until 5 on weekends, so you can get anywhere, whenever. Staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, and pleasantly strict (they kicked a group out for being loud and messing up the kitchen), so you don't end up with any unpleasant people breaking the rules. People at the hostel are all very young (mostly 18-23ish, which included our group) so is a fantastic place for young people to meet and make friends. Not so great for older people looking for a quiet hostel.

Disliked: No ventilation in the main corridor, so bad smells kind of stagnate in there, so it often smells bad. The showers were frequently flooded, and the kitchen is under-equipped and too small. They have no permanent cutlery or plates, so you have to ask at reception for plastic plates and cutlery, which is both annoying and wasteful. However, it also makes sense, as to have plates would mean for them to get broken frequently, as people do often treat the kitchen utensils quite badly. Also, fridge raiders are always present, waiting to steal your bacon (literally in our case), just as a warning to fellow travelers. Also, the directions are very very vague on the website. Had to turn on mobile data (abroad!) to get actual directions from google maps.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Farkas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: good location for this price

Disliked: Anything that is not locked away may be stolen...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christophe CLARET

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Christophe would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: One of the staff members was very rude and blamed our group for things that they had not done. Quoting her own words, not friendly towards French...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2013

Liked: Location. There are many other hostels in good location too.

Disliked: Poor quality, everything falling into pieces including unscrewed toilets, windows, door handles. Toilet doors- impossible to close- broken lock. Light bulbs burned out. Drinking any alcohol in your room- forbidden- member of staff was telling us off about this as soon as we paid, in front of other guests. You can drink in a near by place which looks like is their second business. View on roof of a production hall. No airconditioning, no window blinds, dirty bedding. Shower with no light once you are in it and no space for soap or towel. No working Wifi. Awful experience. Absolut rip off. Never again.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Wifi in the Room. Most of the attractions are in walking distance.

Disliked: Everything else. The room is not very clean, the bed is shaky, and the kitchen is so tiny that wouldn't fit 2 people in there. There is only half portion of curtain in my room that cannot cover the whole window. So everybody was waken by the sun in the very early morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

olivia logue

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, location, safe, good wifi and facilities

Disliked: no sinks for washing yourself just showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my second stay at Check In Hostel, so this express well enough my impressions. There are tens and tens of hostels around Berlin, but this one fits exactly to all my needs when visit the city. Best location - everything is reachable by walk, or in short trip by public transport. Staff at the reception are very very helpful and friendly! Special thanks to Elsa!

Disliked: there is a kitchen with a cooker and 2 or 3 microwaves, el. kettle and so on, but a toaster might have been a nice touch; and they seriously need a bigger fridge, or at least one more - for over of 150 ppl 2 small fridges are more than inadequate

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: the location + price

Disliked: too many teenagers making mess in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Tuite

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Bed wasn't good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Barreto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff and amenities..

Disliked: sometimes the bathroom had something broken and there's no spoons/knifes/forks in the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap. Big tv for watching soccer. Location is fine.

Disliked: You have to ask for everything if u need to cook. Even utensils are made in plastic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap and rooms are quite simple. Staff is extremely helpful.

Disliked: Too much kids.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels