HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of CHECK IN HOSTEL

Hostel | Markgrafenstraße 68, Berlin, Germany 10969

79.5% Overall Rating

274 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Susan Lee thinks…

"The location was excellent, near an U-Bahn stop, and within walking distance of so many sights, parks, places to eat and there is a LIDL grocery store is directly behind the building! Dorm bed was…"

Read all CHECK IN HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We accept credit cards, debit cards and cash payment on arrival. The Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. earliest check in: 15:00 latest check out: 11:00 PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1st 2014, the City of Berlin will charge an extra tax of 5% on every night. This applies to all bookings made after January 1st 2014. Our rates include the tax which means the total amount you see here is the actual final amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 76.8% 963 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.84 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
15.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
14.89 USD

Hostel 91.4% 965 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
17.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1178 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

274 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CHECK IN HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 316 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi was free and in the rooms, there is an Aldi right around the corner. Also very close to Checkpoint Charlie and the Jewish History Museum.

Disliked: The bathrooms were consistently dirty for our 3 night stay, and there was only one bathroom per gender per floor, with lots of multi-bed dorm rooms. There was a banquet hall/club in the alley underneath the hostel, so it was always very loud throughout the night. There is only one kitchen and definitely not enough refrigerator space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricardo Velarde Arredondo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: beds

Disliked: slow internet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fatih Erkin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Fatih would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value

Disliked: Fatih left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Shawn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean.

Disliked: There is a event venue near the hostel and party goes on every night. It is a bit annoying in the night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ANA KAREN GARCIA GONZALEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 ANA KAREN would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: ANA KAREN left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jane rothman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 jane would recommend this property

Liked: It was central, walkingdistant to historical sights , easy to find, and a supermarket next door. white and fresh sheets and newly painted walls what eles do you need.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Bikes available for rent, a kitchen to cook in, clean sheets.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAVIER RAMIREZ QUIJADA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: Is is huge and well organized

Disliked: The common area

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013

Liked: Die Lage ist sehr in Ordnung und über den Preis kann man sich in Deutschland wirklich nicht beschweren! Unterhaltung war auch geboten, man erlebt schließlich nicht alle Tage ein Pfurz-Konzert beim Verlassen des Zimmers oder Kackspritzer-Paintball auf der Gemeinschaftstoilette...

Disliked: Man fühlt sich wie in einer Fabrikhalle (was das Hostel früher wohl auch mal war?) und der Aufenthaltsraum hat das Flair einer räudigen Knastkantine. Es wäre zudem von Vorteil, wenn die Kunden an der Rezeption nicht nur höflich wären, sondern auch wirklich Deutsch sprechen könnten! Die Schließfächer in den Zimmern kann man übrigens auch vergessen, da man dafür noch selbst ein Vorhängeschloss mitbringen muss.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013

Liked: my hostelmates happened to be fantastic and it had wifi in all rooms.

Disliked: they don't seem to clean the bathrooms frequently and their showers had a hard time staying a constant temperature. The doors are all still unlocked by key so that was a very loud obstacle for many people in the hostel. The location of the hostel isn't exactly in the safest neighborhood, so be sure you're prepared for that or are travelling in a group. The staff did their job... that was it. Not very friendly. But then again, you get what you pay for.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

H Rahim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: Cheap. And warm enough.

Disliked: We arrived a day late because of our delayed flight. The person at the reception desk was rude, demanding that we're staying in a hostel so don't bother asking too much. We can't open the door using the keys, and had to keep asking for that rude person to open it for us, much to our dismay. Then a group of school students came, and make a lot of noise at night until 4 in the morning outside our room because theirs don't have any internet connection. Was happy to leave the hostel after a few nights of misery.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CENK ASIK

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 CENK would recommend this property

Liked: Shower so confortable

Disliked: Noting

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marvin Gadiana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Marvin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, not far from the train. Having a grocery just below you makes everything great. Its nice and simple for a day or two trips.

Disliked: Nothing bad really. Its a hostel people come and go, people/room mates leaving in the morning will kind a wake you up like I did lol It would be nice to have laundry.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's just a cheap and simple hostel in a pretty good location of Berlin. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Been here twice, would come back again!

Disliked: Not that many toilets + showers. Pretty often queues in the mornings and evenings.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just around the corner of Checkpoint Charlie. The hostel is super clean!

Disliked: This hostel feels like a hospital. It's like your on a set of a horror movie. Pretty creepy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only there's one girl with glasses who is doing here job well, but I miss here kindness for hospitality.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Carmona

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ho Man Yue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Ho Man would recommend this property

Liked: Quite gd.

Disliked: Ho Man left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013

Liked: Only Location was nice

Disliked: Only one girl at reception was nice, she sounded Spanish. There was this very+2 rude guy who was arguing on everything and was almost fighting with us. Hotel was very dirty especially toilets. There was no bar or some place to eat. If you will come before check in you will have to stay outside and wait. The whole building smell like a factory with oil.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, There is a kitchen, Close to a supermarket, the place is really safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013

Liked: Prise, place, clear, good receptionist

Disliked: We have a problem with numbers of bed, our was already used by someone. But receptionist give us new bed linen and we must change it ourselves.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Daniele Barcelos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: It doesn't have a kichten and charges on the breakfeast and everything else they have to offer, even for the locker. The rooms for where too small for 8 beds, there was no space to put the bags. And it looks like an hospital. No elevators.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and it's very cheap; the staff was okay too.

Disliked: Bad wifi signal; we stayed there for four nights and I took 2 freezing showers, it was really cold, right in the middle of the winter - I was afraid of taking a shower, always running to clean fast before the water got cold; they say they have towels to rent, but we got there and on the first night there wasn't any towels available - one of our friends didn't have a towel and couldn't take a shower on the first day; we were a group of 4 but they only gave us two keys to the room, which is an absurd - they said they didn't have more (???).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Xueying Dong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: there is not hot water!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karolina meribe

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 karolina would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the place and the atmostphare

Disliked: what i dislike is the fact that i wanted to stay more days but i was asked to move out because of the fact that i have a daughter that is 1 year and 10 months with me in a six dom bed so they told me we could stay if i could book a two dom bed or we look else where

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Perfect location in the heart of Berlin for very low price.

Disliked: It could be quite ok but the are hordes of drunken British. After the night of partying it is better not to go into the toilets.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels