HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Smarthostel-Berlin

Hostel | Genter Str. 53 a/b, Berlin, Germany 13353

86.1% Overall Rating

53 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Sandra Schmidt thinks…

"Friendly staff (had to print my online booking and they helped me with it), spacious rooms, very quiet, clean, access to underground (1min walk), bakery and supermarkets in walking distance (1min…"

Read all Smarthostel-Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be informed that groups more then 10 people have the possibility to book a bed for EUR 9. This is always on request and you have to contact groups department first. SPECIAL PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION CONDITIONS FOR FOLLOWING DATES:: - 05.02. – 07.02.2014 Fruit Logistica - 04.03. – 08.03.2014 ITB - 16.05. – 18.05.2014 DFB-Pokal - 01.07. - 05.07.2014 Bread & Butter - 05.09. – 10.09.2014 IFA - 27.09.2014 Berlin Marathon - 22.09. – 26.09.2014 Innotrans - 02.10. – 05.10.2014 Tag der Deutschen Einheit - 30.12. – 02.01.2015 Sylvester For these dates we have following conditions:: It is possible to cancel up to 7 days before arrival. After that we charge 50% of the whole reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Jugendgästehaus Berlin-Mitte
34.30 USD

Hostel 78.0% 14 reviews
LaVie
30.34 USD

Apartment 81.9% 3 reviews
Main Station Hostel
16.62 USD

Hostel 87.5% 203 reviews
Hotel Saks Berlin Mitte
24.20 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
16.70 USD

Hostel 85.4% 88 reviews
Jugendgästehaus Hauptbahnhof
19.79 USD

Hostel 82.5% 27 reviews
Amstel House
15.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1031 reviews
CAB City Apartments GmbH
20.45 USD

Apartment 88.2% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

53 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smarthostel-Berlin'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thita kirkland

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 thita would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , very good value for money.

Disliked: thita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Friendly and helpfulness staffs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JOSE LUIS BUENDIA

Alone

Business / conference

20 December 2013 JOSE LUIS would recommend this property

Liked: Está limpia. Es grande. Las instalaciones son nuevas. Tenía un precio razonable.

Disliked: Un poco lejos del centro (si no vas al centro, como era mi caso, es perfecto). Luz muy tenue en las habitaciones. No hay instalaciones de cocina.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Schmidt

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (had to print my online booking and they helped me with it), spacious rooms, very quiet, clean, access to underground (1min walk), bakery and supermarkets in walking distance (1min walk)

Disliked: some of the light switches didn't work and the key to the bathroom was missing so you couldn't lock the door, which makes you feel uncomfortable when you share a room with strangers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shau Chuan Cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013

Liked: Offer a good stay with reasonable price.

Disliked: The lift malfunctions when I was there. Would be a problem for travelers with bulky luggage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was all round great

Disliked: The location was not ideal, but it was a quick subway trip to get into the heart of the city

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It all depends on what room you get. 6-bed dorms are actually divided to a 4-bed dorm and 2 single bed room. If you end up in the first one, it's cramped and small, nowhere to sit but the lower bed. If you get the second option, you're lucky because the room is much bigger and better equipped.

Disliked: Bathroom cannot be locked so you'd just have to trust your fellow travellers that they won't come in. Lockers have to be locked with own lock. There are kind of kitchens in the dorms (without the actual stove though) but it's strictly prohibited to cook.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed it. It's far from nightclubs, but that means a quiet, comfy sleep. Breakfast a bit pricey at 6 euro but it's a full German meal (cheese, sausage, yog, cereal, coffee, etc.)

Disliked: It's accessible by transport but obviously not downtown. I walked to the city centre (1 hour) and found it interesting to browse shops on the way.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the reception they were so friendly and they gave us some party discount card and free enterance cards!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and quiet, the six person bedroom was separated into a 4 person and a 2 person room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am a professional travel writer and I stay in hostels around the world. I Stayed one night in 6 bed dorm. Beds very good, towel provided, clean attached shower, plenty of hot water, room very nice sized. The staff I met were excellent and friendly. Great place to stay and close to Tegel Airport and U-Bahn is 3 minutes at most. From my limited experience I would recommend this hostel to any traveler

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Reyes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a nice quiet area, close to public transport, and clean hotel-like feeling.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms with friendly staff, very secure and in a great location.

Disliked: No kitchen or cooking facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YANG ZHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 YANG would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean. The area it located is quite, which is good to a tired city walker.

Disliked: YANG left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness!!! very friendly staff

Disliked: bed was shaking violently when the person lying in the top bunk moved

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: good sized room

Disliked: location wasnt great and staff werent that helpful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Maria Araos

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 August 2012 Ana Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great, we had more than we had expected. It is more like a hotel and very cheap.

Disliked: Ana Maria left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCOS AMARAL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 MARCOS would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, calm neighborhood and excellent room. You have everything you need nearby and 1 block away from metro.

Disliked: a bit away from downtown, but just a few stations so it won't be an issue if you are not staying long.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen chelo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are lovely and the hostel rooms have plenty of space it was a grate stay

Disliked: no wifi in rooms only in common area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Not a "party" hostel.

Disliked: Shower not brilliant

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean and spacious rooms. its almost more like an hotel

Disliked: if you are looking for the hostel vibe it's the wrong place to go but if you are looking for a place to sleep with a great quality/price balance this is the one to go.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were clean and comfortable

Disliked: My bag and all other personal belongings were moved to reception because roommates did not check out properly and for some reason they had to clear the entire room. Fortunately I didnt lose anything important but my bag was opened before by housekeeping which I feel it is not right to do so. Situation could be handled much more carefully.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a good location, close to the center using the S-bahn. I booked a 4 bed room with my couple and we were alone all the weekend and we had a nice bathroom inside the room so it was very nice.

Disliked: There was a broken light on the room and I said it to them, but they didn't fix it. But it wasn't a big deal... also, if you want internet, you should go downstairs up to the recepcion area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

svenja schiffler

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 July 2012 svenja would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Professionell.cheap.

Disliked: more like a hotel. No cosy public rooms where its easy to meet people from sll over the world.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waseem Ahmed

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Waseem would recommend this property

Liked: The services: cleaning the rooms when we're out, the friendly and helpful receptionists, breakfast they served is good. The location is good, near to the tourist spots.

Disliked: The only thing is that no internet connections in the room.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels