We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel

Hostel | Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 34, Berlin, Germany 10178

83.2% Overall Rating

306 out of 343 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2015)

"Rooms were everything we needed, they were clean and had what I expected. And staff was very helpful and friendly."

Read all PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.68
  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
33.27 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
17.68 USD

Hostel 90.2% 607 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
9.91 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1116 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
13.36 USD

Hostel 94.7% 814 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
16.37 USD

Hostel 89.3% 382 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
14.48 USD

Hostel 86.2% 270 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.14 USD

Hostel 84.2% 740 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 95.0% 895 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

306 out of 343 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 329 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew combe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: great modern hostel, everything is clean and new looking, good bar with cheap beers, great breakfast

Disliked: no common area other than bar

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennie Beventorp

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011

Liked: New and fresch, clean. Close to the tram and the u-bahn. Clean toilets and showers. Comfy beds and pillows.

Disliked: I do not like the area where it`s located, Mitte. It is a tourist trap. I would choose to live in Kreuzberg, for example, instead. The breakfast was ok, but not good. Can get better at another resturant for that price. Noisy if you live at the 6 th floor where the bar is located. The staff can get better in english. No crisps at the bar. Really hot in the rooms when the sun is shining.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariah Stonehewer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Mariah would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and modern. They had a bar and "living room" on every floor. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and new looking.

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean and at the centr of the city

Disliked: strange elevator...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the beds were good.

Disliked: Nothing:-)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy to find, central location, clean dorms, modern bathrooms, keycards for the rooms, bar upstairs which makes it easy to meet people- also the drinks are cheap!

Disliked: Rude staff, slow lifts, showers are badly designed so everything you take in there gets soaked, always a long wait at reception.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is quite new and clean. huge bathroom and shower.

Disliked: no kitchen and no common room whatsoever. only has a bar which only opens for a few hours for the breakfast (5.50 euros for all you can eat) and after 6p.m. its impossible cooking anything or just sitting down to kill some time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Vert afordable. I met fun people.

Disliked: The common kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a much better place than most hostels. It's pretty newly done so it's modern. And is made to be a hostel, yet is almost like a hotel. Really good bar.

Disliked: extremely slow Internet at times

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers and toilets were clean, as was the room. The breakfast is a good deal--you get a bigger variety of food than at other hostels.

Disliked: We had a 4-person room--there were only two electrical sockets in the room, and no reading lights. We were down the hall from the bar (where smoking is allowed), so it was loud and a bit smokey at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Appleby

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. Everything was brand new. Breakfast was abit expensive but good. The staff were very good and spoked very good english.

Disliked: We were staying on the floor under the Bar and it was very loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Redmond

Alone

City break

14 July 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: simply a very classy operation for the backpacker. made me feel i had one up on the ramada and park people next door.

Disliked: the guests kitchen isn't really operational yet and breakfast at 5euro 50 for the full monty is a bit excessive. a cheaper version of just menu items, say a bowl of cereal for a euro would help. i couldn't face 5 euros worth of food in the morning but at the moment it is that or nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was in a great location, bit difficult for me to find at first but that is probably my own uselessness with directions. Everything is brand new so it is clean and the bathrooms were clean. Internet was pretty useless everywhere but for the bar. Overall, really good!

Disliked: they could have vaccuumed the rooms. cleaning meant changing the bin liner and there was a girl in my room who had stayed there for three weeks without the room being cleaned.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is new and clean, and the staff was friendly~

Disliked: the outlets are not easy to find and to use for charging your electronics.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Oliver brill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: clean spacious rooms, staff helpful, shared bathrooms were very well kept

Disliked: location wasnt amazing had to hire bikes to see everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean hostel, in one of the coolest most central places in Berlin, definitely recommend it quick walk to loads of very trendy bars, shops and cheap restaurants, good check out time of 11 also

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price, and located in the center (very near to alexandre platz)

Disliked: No light in each beds. (that day, I still had to read something so I had to turn the light on, I hope the travelers who stayed there did not complain about that.) There were no socket In the upper bed,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, right in the centre. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were always really clean and there were plenty of showers, we never had to wait. The all you can eat breakfast for 5euro50 was great.

Disliked: No air conditioning so had to sleep with windows open and being situated on a main road can be noisy. The bar tender is rude and arrogant!! Guest kitchen was not ready when we arrived.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and very clean accomodation, the bar is relatively cheap and the evening atmosphere is great! Very good location

Disliked: a couple of members of the staff were rude and not very helpful and the breakfast is expensive

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marcus Liddicoat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011

Liked: The rooms were fantastic and beds really comfortable , with nice clean sheets :) great lockers in the rooms , with plenty of space to move about :) awesome location , with a short walk to Alexanderplatz which links you to everything ! Great value beds , but I believe I got an opening special !

Disliked: The staff were a bit weird and not generally the most helpful ! On first there was a fire alarm set off by some drunk fools , although not the properties fault they didn't handle it very well ! Very casual about when they should have been trying to sort it out and not sit on their backsides and wait for it to clear up ! If there had of beena reall fire in the end no one would have known ! Also consistently they ran out of toilet paper , gee a simple thing to keep replenished ! Doors locks were also a pain in the back side , having to make at least ten attempts sometimes to get in !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean showers and toilets.

Disliked: That somebody turned on the alarm.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2011

Liked: The location was good, and the beds and linens were comfortable.

Disliked: I would encourage any travelers to pick a different hostel. This hostel is poorly laid out and poorly run. The bar (which plays loud club music until 4am) is situated on a floor with adjacent rooms, as well as directly above other rooms. If you are unlucky enough to be next to the bar you will not be able to sleep - you might as well party all night and skip paying for the hostel. There is only one shower room per floor, shared between about 15 rooms. The hostel is new and the bathrooms looked nice but they didn't work very well, the floors were always very wet and half of the showers had no lights in them. We booked a private twin (and paid extra for it) and were given a 4-bed room, which we were told would be private. Instead they ''added'' another person, and didn't even apologize when we went down to the reception to sort it out. All in all, don't bother, there are better and cheaper hostels in Berlin.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: Right down the road from Alex = great. Furnishings appeared quite new. Locked luggage storage before/after check-out. Cheap internet (1 Euro/day)

Disliked: Fire alarm went off all night long. Bar is obnoxiously loud for being as empty as it was. Short on staff/long waits. Linens were not clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011

Liked: everthing is new and modern, real nice bathrooms. great location

Disliked: there is not much security, anyone can come in at night because there is a bar in the 6th floor, so the staff cant tell the difference between guests and no guests, n my stay this caused and inconvenienece, somene used the fire extingushers and caused the fire alarm actiation, this situation happened arund 2 am in the morning and disrupted our sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, awesome breakfast buffet, nice and clean rooms :) perfect!

Disliked: nothing, everything was perfect


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels