HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Eastern Comfort Hostelboat

Hostel | Muehlenstrasse 73 - 77, on the river SPREE, Berlin, Germany 10243

88.9% Overall Rating

382 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"This was a really fun place to stay, with loads of character. I stayed in a private cabin and though it wasn't too spacious I absolutely loved it. The staff were young, friendly and very helpful, giving great advice…"

Read all Eastern Comfort Hostelboat reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.90
  • Linen USD 6.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash only. Please note that our Eastern Boat has ensuite cabins and the Western Boat (5min walking from the Eastern Boat) has shared showers and toilettes.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

East Side City Hotel
45.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 33 reviews
Industriepalast Hostel Berlin
17.39 USD

Hostel 88.0% 89 reviews
PLUS Berlin
13.80 USD

Hostel 92.2% 1830 reviews
Sunflower Hostel
13.94 USD

Hostel 79.1% 250 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
27.61 USD

Hostel 94.6% 44 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
41.41 USD

Hostel 78.6% 80 reviews
Hotel Comenius
29.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee
14.58 USD

Hostel 89.9% 513 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

382 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Eastern Comfort Hostelboat'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 256 of 308 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really fun place to stay, with loads of character. I stayed in a private cabin and though it wasn't too spacious I absolutely loved it. The staff were young, friendly and very helpful, giving great advice about the city and answering all my questions. It's a short walk to the train to get into the centre of Berlin, otherwise it's a 40min walk (I was told). The wifi worked remarkably well.

Disliked: Nothing! It was fabulous, I didn't want to leave!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, great experience to live on a boat

Disliked: it was very cold in the bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we're very friendly and helpful. The cabin felt cosy and warm and was quiet so could get a decent amount of sleep!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy-going Check-in/ Check-out very friendly and helpful staff great location and extraordinary atmosphere on the boat

Disliked: a bit more light in the cabin maybe the towels should be a bit thicker :-) coat hooks in the cabin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callum Watson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly, it was cool to stay on a boat and the bar was nice with a fireplace!

Disliked: Rooms are very basic, but you get what's needed!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Maltitz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, kind and helpful staff unique location good place to start trips

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a nice private cabin, 3 nights on waterside, 2 on the land side.. Quiet most of the time, which is what I wanted - except when there was a party one evening on the deck. Well, its a hostel. The staff are very warm and helpful. The cabins on the waterside are a dream.

Disliked: The cabins on the land side are problematic, because there you are 2-3 meters away from the waterside pavement and the east side gallery which is quite busy with tourists and passers by, so you have to leave the curtains closed most of the time unless you want onlookers peeping casually into your cabin, so it becomes stuffy and depressing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice experience to actually live on a boat! It is located right next to the East Side Gallery (an international memorial for freedom, 1.3 km long section of the Berlin Wall painted by over 100 artists!)

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Steidle

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was great and the boat was very nice. The room is very small but itis more than enough for sleeping. The staff was incredibly helpful and very nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great boat can't fault it

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boat has a great atmosphere, it was a pretty cool place to sleep. The staff is superfriendly and had great tips on what to do and where to eat. Loved it!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere on the houseboat is very pleasant. Staff is extremely helpful and it's a perfect location just on the River Spree along the remains of the Berlin Wall.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iman Behzadirad

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2013 Iman would recommend this property

Liked: Location & staffs

Disliked: rooms where a little cold!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying on a boat is awesome! I get the best sleep because of the rocking. In one way, you can't beat the location of this place. It's in the heart of East Berlin literally adjacent to the East Side Gallery, which is really cool. The staff is nice, beds are comfy, and you're on a boat!

Disliked: A little far from downtown, but I found the area around the hostel to be more interesting anyway. You can catch the S / U-Bahn downtown and see all the sights in one day, so it's hardly a downside.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Wood

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 November 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The uniqueness of seeping on a boat.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Maconachie

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 October 2012 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, helpful staff, nice rooms, good value, decent breakfast

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky to stay on a houseboat. Rooms are a bit small in second class however. If you can afford it go for the cabins on the upper deck as they are bigger with proper beds rather than the bunks below.

Disliked: Not much. It's a bit heavy on price for what you get room wise but I guess you're paying for the novelty of staying on the spree.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The idea of running a hostel on boat. The romantic scenary from the room and the deck. The stuff gave us a good instruction about Berlin.

Disliked: The bedroom, the shower room, and the washroom are small. But this was obvious when I booked the room, since it's on boat. I could not used WiFi in my room. And I had to go to deck to get internet connection. But it was quite cold outside at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice! Different from any other hostel!

Disliked: In September it got pretty cold sometimes. Radiator weren´t turned on...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Waddell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: It's very quirky and has lots of character - it's not often you can say you slept in a boat in the middle of a city. The staff were incredibly helpful and pointed out all the best things around the hostel and spent quite a bit of time talking to us when we first arrived. The room was small (as expected) but surprisingly it never felt cramped and we had enough space. You don't have to worry about seasickness as the boat barely moves and you can only notice it if you really try to, and even then it's just a tiny bit of rocking.

Disliked: The location isn't the best as you are too far from the main sites (Bradenburg Gate, Museum Island, etc) to walk, but the public transport is very good in Berlin so you don't feel too out the way.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Jelinkova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2012 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff they ere friendly, helpful, fluent in english.

Disliked: Nothing, really. The whole stay was a bliss.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Jameson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2012 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was on a boat Immediate proximity to East Side Gallery Good transport links nearby Modern art installation in bathroom

Disliked: Room was a lot smaller and not as modern as the picture that is shown- false advertising? Saxophonist playing late at night Breakfast not free Swaying of boat

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Wozniak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: location and unique experiance of sleeping on a boat.

Disliked: a bit claustrophobic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, and interestingly different accomodation.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels