We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Hostel Die Etage East

Hostel | Langhansstraße 8, Berlin, Germany 13086

81.3% Overall Rating

241 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

Szymon Wojdat thinks…

"Service was really nice, managed to stay after work to give us the key. Our room was very tidy as well as bathrooms."

Read all Hostel Die Etage East reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please let us know your approximate time of arrival at hostel as we are not open 24 hours! The reception is open from 10am until 10pm in case you plan to arrive later please let us know, so we can wait for you!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Green-Hostel-Berlin
15.18 USD

Hostel 74.7% 14 reviews
Pension Odin
34.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Generator Prenzlauer Berg
15.81 USD

Hostel 78.7% 3500 reviews
Hotel Transit Loft
26.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 5 reviews
Intervarko
26.88 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 74 reviews
Lette'm sleep Hostel Berlin
13.92 USD

Hostel 76.9% 116 reviews
Alex Hotel
47.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 64 reviews
Pension Reiter
21.09 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

241 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Die Etage East'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 156 of 241 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Szymon Wojdat

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 September 2014 Szymon would recommend this property

Liked: Service was really nice, managed to stay after work to give us the key. Our room was very tidy as well as bathrooms.

Disliked: A little far from the city centre so travelling takes pretty long.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Purtell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 September 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, nice and clean.

Disliked: Quite a trip away from any sights or sounds.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Rather dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Frim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 June 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest Hostel I've ever been! Very friendly staff!

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quiet environment.

Disliked: The location.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff and very close to the centre and a tram line.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atomosphere

Disliked: one staff is not so good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpfull stuff, price is okay. kitchen has dish washer.

Disliked: kitchen & cleanliness. they have several ovens, but most of them dirty beyond safe-use. a dissappointing contrast between "your mess is unacceptable" signs on kitchen walls and overall kitchen hygiene, but not due to guests.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free parking zone, tram stop, shop, restaurant - all in walking distance. The staff was also friendly.

Disliked: Water dripping on the locker from the floor above, which got my stuff wet. Seemed like not a very recent problem, judging by the peeled wall paint and the absent suspended ceiling block above.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it had a kitchen facility available

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a good wifi conection. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constantin Koblmiller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Constantin would recommend this property

Liked: totally friendly and helpfull staff. the rooms where not crowded at all

Disliked: Constantin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaux Le stunff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Margaux would recommend this property

Liked: La gentillesse du personnel tout particulièrement

Disliked: Nous n'avions pas regardé l'emplacement de l'auberge, ce qui nous faisait beaucoup prendre les transports en commun. Par contre, l'auberge très proche des arrets de tram nous a permis de voyager tout de meme à notre guise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice! I would really recommend this hostel to every traveler! There is a direct tram to go to Berlin Center, very convenient!

Disliked: The fire thing cannot be used in the kitchen so I cannot cook noodles for myself, but the oven and microwave are nice :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jagna Nieuwazny

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2013 Jagna would recommend this property

Liked: it is located in a very convenient spot-pretty easy to get around berlin. the room was nice and clean and the staff very welcoming.

Disliked: big group of noisy young men, active 24/7. but you might expect it when staying at a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Choho Agri

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Choho would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: the cleanliness of the shower and the toilet at the first day (arrival) was really not nice at all...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mie Yoshiura Masuda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Mie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful since the beggining. Also, the hostel has a kitchen with microwave, fridge, toaster, little stove and kitchen utensils. It is good if you a looking to save some money with food (instead of eating outside everyday) and there is a supermarket (Kaiser) close to the hostel. The bathrooms were nice, although there were only 2 toillets for women and 2 showers (unissex) on my floor, there was never a problem in finding one free to use. Also, I liked the fact that the toillets were separate (one room for each toilet, which gave us more privacy), not one of those 5 cabins "side by side" common to other hostels.

Disliked: There were no computers there, but there was free wifi. Also, the location is not very good, it is far from the city center and there is no subways around. However, there is a tram station very close to the hostel (about 5 min walking). There, you can take a tram that goes to alexander platz, which one very important spot in the city center and has a lot of subways lines. It is about 8 stops from the hostel to alexander platz by tram, and the trams run 24h a day.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

loic zaccaro

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 November 2012

Liked: The room. The hostesses friendliness.

Disliked: Men Toilets cleaning (twice in 4 days) Window in men toilets: buildings forward could see inside! Friendliness of the owner... The Fake kitchen The unclean dinning room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: -Clean and quiet. -Has a minifridge on every floor.

Disliked: -Far from the center (It's in zone B). Not suitable for young people looking for night life also due to the majority of guests (in our experience) being 40 year old Germans. -Unprofessional staff behavior: --The staff couldn't keep track of the beds and had to wake us up every morning to ask which beds are free, who is checkng out, etc. If we do your job maybe we should get paid as well? --One day we locked the door for 3 minutes while getting dressed and the staff person (Vanessa?) told us we can't do that, if we want to get dressed we should do it in the floor's bathroom (so I guess we should go to the bathroom undressed and get dressed there. Great logic.), and "If you want privacy, rent a private room". This is absolutely unacceptable and outrageous, as well as rude. Cannot recommend a property where the staff are being dicks to people for no reason, so DON'T GO TO THIS HOSTEL. There are plenty of other, cheaper hostels in the city's center where the staff are not assholes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SANJEEV BANSAL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 SANJEEV would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms

Disliked: Not very close to the city centre, but still fine.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big shower, nice room, tram nearby so good connection with the centre

Disliked: The kitchen was not very clean, and there also was no gas

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dirk Reynen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Place to keep the bicycles inside safely. rooms where clean, staff are very helpful.

Disliked: The local area is a bit 'rough compared to the rest of Berlin but once you are inside and all your goods are safe its fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean bathrooms

Disliked: kitchen did have coking facilities but could be improved

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, friendly and welcoming staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :-)

Disliked: :-)


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels