We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Metropol Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany 10961

72.6% Overall Rating

241 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Sean Turner thinks…

"Spacious and comfortable. Good showering facilities and breakfast was ample. Excellent staff."

Read all Metropol Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

- cancellation free of charge until one week upon arrival - later cancellations will be charged with the full amount of reservation From 01.01.2012 for linen and a small towel there will be charged 2€ and € 2.50 ( Groups more than 8 pax) per stay in a dorm. Due to sanitary reasons, using your own sleeping bags is not permitted and the hostels linen has to used.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
13.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 965 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Big City Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 68.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

241 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metropol Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 260 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and comfortable. Good showering facilities and breakfast was ample. Excellent staff.

Disliked: The size of it removed some character however that of course comes with whoever is staying there

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a 4-bed dorm and was there alone. It was good value. Clean place, very close to a subway station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Westher

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

04 May 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is satisfactory. Availability good.

Disliked: Upper floor naigbour playing music every afternoon and evening, very loudly.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Wifi doesnt work. The room was very dirty.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Budhesh Dhamija

Alone

City break

02 January 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Wifi is really really bad and no wifi at all on teh 4th floor. Bathrooms are not clena at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and big! Breakfast was amazing!

Disliked: The Internet was rubbish. Continually dropping out! Very frustrating as we had a lot to get done via the net. Atmosphere was very quiet but we liked that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Continental breakfast is really good! It is also right next to a metro station so location is very good and easy to find. The main sights are also within walking distance. The common room is nice and provides a good atmosphere to meet people. Staff are helpful and friendly. We had a great time here in Berlin and met some great people and I would recommend it for travellers

Disliked: No kitchen! No facilities to cook or eat anything so we had to eat out every day. The wifi is not great it only works in certain places in the common room and occasionally in dorm rooms. There are computers but you have to pay to use them. You also have to pay to use the table football game. Only one girls bathroom which got quite smelly at some times of day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Slawomir Wacewicz

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013

Liked: Next to a subway station. Breakfast. Nice staff.

Disliked: Although they're making an effort, this place is too big and busy to work well. Showers are busy, so even if they clean them, they're soon dirty again. The internet not always working and not in all rooms. No kitchen facilities. Coffee machine broken, mistakes at the reception, etc. etc. Very big, with many large groups of young ppl - noisy and NO atmosphere at all. Not that it's a bad place, but definitely would not stay there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Boyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect - literally less than 5m from the metro stop. Beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The lockers were very large; I was able to easily fit my entire pack in one which I appreciated very much. I met some amazing people while staying at Metropol hostel in Berlin and though it wasn't the best hostel in the world I would definitely recommend it to others. Plus, who doesn't love free breakfast?

Disliked: The wifi access was terrible. I was not able to get wifi in my dorm and even in the lobby the wifi only worked about 50% of the time. The rooms were only cleaned every other day which was a problem because the showers got very dirty and they did not remove the old linens when new guest arrived on the day they didn't clean. The shower did not drain well. There were definitely flaws but they did not completely ruin the experience.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2013

Liked: helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: In my room some strange people were in fact living there permanently, behaving quite possessively. Staff explained to me that those were cases sent to them by the dptm. of social welfare - really bad move for a hostel.. The so-called "ensuite bedroom" are in fact without separate bathrooms. Those were located outside the room on the aisle and were to be shared with several other rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious rooms with shower and bathroom in each dorm. Helpful staff and 24hr reception

Disliked: Dirty shower and insecure locker facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eloise Hartung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Eloise would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great spot as the metro is literally at the door step and takes you anywhere you need in minutes, rooms are big and spacious, bed are comfortable and it was cheap! Good kebab shop just below the hostel too!

Disliked: The wifi is a bit up and down but worked 80% of the time. The need air conditioning, as our entire stay was over 30 degrees so our room was very hot. Also they should play music in the common room at night, I think the atmosphere would be 100% better!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Breakfast! Also, good location...near the U-Bahn but still within walking distance of most areas!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and breakfast.

Disliked: No atmosphere at all, surrounded by school children. Wi fi was awful, only worked when near reception and was constantly resetting itself. Staff were pretty unhelpful and the shower was freezing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

09 May 2013

Liked: Most of the Staff members were friendly and helpful, which is always great to see... It was kept clean, and had a good atmosphere, particularly considering it's location.

Disliked: The problems we had with noise, but in particular with no hot water for a couple of days, and problems with the drainage in our en-suite shower (water began leaking into the room!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rasika Samarakoon`

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Rasika would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean and big. Bath room also big. Very near to the U train station. Very easy to find. Breakfast also good.

Disliked: Rasika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paloma de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice staff, good breakfast.

Disliked: Bathroom didn't have enough place to put clothes while bathing and during the 2 days I was there they didn't clean it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's easy to find, park nearby, the staff were kind and helpful. Placed in the center, metro station is almost in front of the entrance.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atomsphere! Great value for money. Nice bunks with big rooms. The lockers were a good size aswell. Breakfast had a lot on offer. One of the girls on reception was really helpful :)

Disliked: Interent doesn't work! No one we spoke to could get on so it wasn't just us. Unhelpful dude behide the bar who was too busy looking at shoes then to help us get to the airport.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Krista Salo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok except the cleanliness or the "free wifi"..

Disliked: I answered this in the question number 2.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katharine Bustamante

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what we needed for a price that couldn't be beat. The rooms are pretty sparse but the beds are comfortable and many of the rooms have private bathrooms. Ours unfortunately did not but the bathroom down the hall was clean and the showers were hot, so I couldn't complain. The lounge was definitely my favorite part, very cozy after long days out in the cold. Staff was very friendly as well.

Disliked: I would've liked the staff to have had more knowledge of sites or restaurants in Berlin that were good and well-priced. There could've been more outlets in the room and the wi-fi only really worked in the lounge.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Niedzwiedz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 November 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff good facilities cheap bar

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012

Liked: I like the staff and the location of the hostel. Also sitting room was realy shiny and warm.

Disliked: I hate people who was living together in one room. It's my fault that i choosed mix room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gary Collins

Alone

City break

14 September 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location for underground. Good bars locally. Excellent modern lounge and bar area. Good size rooms.

Disliked: quite a big hostel - you can feel a little anonymous at times


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels