We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Metropol Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany 10961

69.9% Overall Rating

243 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Sean Turner thinks…

"Spacious and comfortable. Good showering facilities and breakfast was ample. Excellent staff."

Read all Metropol Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.78
  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

- cancellation free of charge until one week upon arrival - later cancellations will be charged with the full amount of reservation From 01.01.2012 for linen and a small towel there will be charged 2€ and € 2.50 ( Groups more than 8 pax) per stay in a dorm. Due to sanitary reasons, using your own sleeping bags is not permitted and the hostels linen has to used.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hotel-Transit
23.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.39 USD

Hostel 81.8% 54 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
14.26 USD

Hostel 89.7% 974 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.2% 361 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.66 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
16.66 USD

Hostel 84.7% 622 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.9%

Overall Rating

243 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metropol Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 264 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 July 2011

Liked: I liked the staff, they're nice, but nothing more...maybe the location of the hostel, convenient for me...

Disliked: The building is quite ugly (from the inside and the outside) and the atmosphere is rather poor ... An hostel is generally intended to welcome youngsters (meaning, old teenagers or young adults) but this one welcomes any body at any age (including an old woman in her late 60's pissing me off in my dorm)... I had to change my room in the middle of the week...(and the new one was not as comfortable as the previous) The bathroom was not well designed : water spreads inevitably from the shower to the floor, the ventilation was no efficient enough so there was always a lot of humidity in the bathroom.... There was 1 (yes, only one) power plug in my room (a dorm of 8 persons...) making it difficult to charge my phone during the night... The beds and mattresses are from poor quality so it was not comfortable at all, the curtains are too thin so the sunlight could light the dorm as soon as it rised up (that is to say 4-5am in July)... The Wi-Fi was not working very well and the internet connection was quite slow... No free services were provided by the hostel/staff (except for the breakfast) and every single thing was in extra... And some many unsignificant things (but becoming significant when added up)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Alexander

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cleanest and friendliest hostel I have been to. The staff were helpful and spoke many languages. The hostel is only walking distance from the main sights, bars and gig venues and is close to a number of late night take aways and shops. Also liked that there was no deposit for a locker or padlock, you simply buy a padlock at reception for 3 Euros to use on a locker in your room

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, location in front of metro station

Disliked: Messy Showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jimena Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Maria Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was good and the staff very helpful

Disliked: the surrounding area was not the best neighbourhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ksenia Kucherova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Ksenia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with very good stuff in a great area pretty close to subway.

Disliked: A noise of construction @7 am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good. Staff were kind, knowledgeable, and helpful. The hostel had a nice common area (with a bar and television) where it was easy to meet people.

Disliked: The hostel was sort of far away from the city center...but it was nice to have a metro stop close by. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm, which was fairly comfortable, but this meant that I had to use the communal women's bathroom/showers. The bathroom was not very clean and it smelled bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, the atmosphere of the hostel it self and outside area was very interesting and good for visiting new people, but it should be noticed that its a little far from the sights and you have to use the local transports. It was clean, the bathrooms and showers! Breakfast was complete buffet with lots of variety.

Disliked: the location was a little far from sights and you couldn't get there by walk. also the bunk beds were very noisy and unstable! I think they should definitely change the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hao Jiang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Hao would recommend this property

Liked: very good, every thing is perfect, we spend 12 euro per person to live in a 6-bed room and the free breakfast is very very good, I can never imagine such a good place can be booked in such a low price.

Disliked: nothing is bad, everything is amazing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, right near metro stop, 24 hours, relatively clean, secure

Disliked: no atmosphere, not really a 'youth' hostel, no socialising or young people around looking to meet others, so wouldnt be a good hostel for solo travellers, lots of big groups travelling together

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap

Disliked: uncomfortable bunk bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Wiborn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast! (open until 11 or 12 on the morning=) Helpful staff, good price and a nice feeling over the hostel. Fresh and nice rooms. Realy good hostel!

Disliked: Nothing worth to be mention.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Sisco

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very accommodating to our travel plans and were willing to be flexible, which was much appreciated. Great location - right next to the metro on a pretty centrally connected line.

Disliked: Not much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie MacLeod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: It was RIGHT THERE as soon as I got out of the metro station; so thankful for that! It has a nice lounge area with a nice atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Oh and free breakfast... Amazing! Lots to choose from and it was always fully stocked and lasted for a good chunk of the morning.

Disliked: Shower situation was not ideal. Also had a shower in our room but the drainage system didn't work well so bathroom would always flood. Also, hostel was filled with many noisy school groups (young teenagers) so it wasn't always as relaxing as it should have been.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It wasn't too loud. The breakfast buffet was very nice.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, everything was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Very helpful and had a great attitude. Extremely clean and lots of space. Excellent breakfast! Very convenient. And an excellent kebap shop just outside the hostel!

Disliked: Nothing! (The elevator up to the 3rd floor where the hostel check in desk is a bit scary at first. That's all)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast and the comfort of the bedroom

Disliked: The hostel is very big

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice staff. Good facilities.

Disliked: Not enough hot water. The first room didn't have hot water at all. But we got a new room, where it was a bit better. Too small towels. The free internet didn't work in the rooms but only in the lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful breakfast, all facilities as other people have described, literally on top of the metro station. and the kebab and curry just downatairs is all you ever want to eat!!

Disliked: i was in a 10-person dorm but we had 13 in our room at one point and some people had to sleep on the floor. rather inconvenient and unfair to the rest of us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Poole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, good place to meet new people, good breakfast!

Disliked: Showers got very dirty very early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean! Large lounge with comfy chairs and plenty of tables. The breakfast was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very fair price, great location, clean, nice rooms and bathing facilities.

Disliked: I was very satisfied. I did not dislike anything in speciel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011

Liked: The breakfast is great, i am so full with that.

Disliked: They put 12 people into a 10 people room without tell you before. It is so "AMAZING" . How can they do this??

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. We were offer 4-bed room. although we heave booked a place in 10-bed room :) 2. Excellent breakfasts 3. Very good location - near the U-Bahn station and close to the center

Disliked: 1. It works more like a hotel, not hostel so rooms are separated and there is no hostel-like atmosphere, but it may be seen as an advantage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Nemes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything! I would definately recommend this hostel. The room was clean and modern, the breakfast was a nice surprise of good varieties considering it was free, and the location is great! It's really easy to find and RIGHT beside the subway station so getting around the city was not a problem. The staff were EXTREMELY nice and very helpful. When my friends and I didn't know where to find a certain bar or city attraction the check-in staff always looked it up for us.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that our bathroom shower would turn into a small pool 5 minutes into showering. Considering we shared that shower with other travelers that we didn't know, I wasn't about to stick my hand in there to clean it out. It would have been nice for the cleaning staff to change the garbages and check the shower every other day. BUT considering everything else was amazing, the shower clog was not a big deal :).


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels