We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Metropol Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany 10961

72.6% Overall Rating

241 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Sean Turner thinks…

"Spacious and comfortable. Good showering facilities and breakfast was ample. Excellent staff."

Read all Metropol Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

- cancellation free of charge until one week upon arrival - later cancellations will be charged with the full amount of reservation From 01.01.2012 for linen and a small towel there will be charged 2€ and € 2.50 ( Groups more than 8 pax) per stay in a dorm. Due to sanitary reasons, using your own sleeping bags is not permitted and the hostels linen has to used.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
13.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 965 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Big City Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 68.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

241 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metropol Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 260 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 August 2011

Liked: nice place good location, friendly staff free breakfest

Disliked: NO KITCHEN which is madness, It is a standard thing that HOSTEL should have a kitchen, that means that you have to buy food either from the hostel or somewhere else, seems like to trying to get more money off you which defeats the friendly hostel arpproach,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel, nice breakfast!

Disliked: beds are a bit creaky, but comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Bashmakov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included

Disliked: bad wifi internet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hüseyin Degirmenci

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Hüseyin would recommend this property

Liked: I was totally surprised,it was really good location and wonderful breakfast

Disliked: nix

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the bar lounge, the bike rental, the subway access and the breakfast.

Disliked: There was only a small towel for each person (which wasn't changed during our stay) and the water was normally tepid or cold. Moreover, there was much noise at night (because of the other guests) and the morning light entered the room (the curtains were made from thin material).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 August 2011

Liked: The first room i was in!

Disliked: because i was moved around many times!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing kebab shop outside.

Disliked: Many things were only partially functioning, such as the broken plugs in the room. There were moldy peaches left in our room too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location,

Disliked: This is a BIG Hostel, so it sometimes seems Noise Internet cost 1eur but WIFI for free

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Weng Lun Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Weng Lun would recommend this property

Liked: next to a train station so everything was easy to get to if u can get use to the maze that is the public transport network.

Disliked: small shower cubicles

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecka Fogelquist

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 August 2011 Rebecka would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfeast was very good, great even whrn you compare with the price, the atmosphere were nice, it was located right next to the subway station and close to both stores and restaurants.

Disliked: Their should be an age limit.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: It was cheap and linen, breakfast and towels were included. (We weren't provided with towels until we asked for them though, and they were really really small, so we ended up paying extra for another one in the end!) One great thing was the fact that there was an underground station right outside the front door of the hostel.

Disliked: The communal bathroom was definitely one of the worst things about the hostel. It was often dirty, the showers did have shower curtains most of the time (although while we were there they disappeared for about 24 hours, and although we complained in the evening, they were not replaced until midday the day after - well after most people had checked out or left the hostel for that day. Which made it impossible to have any sort of shower, as that was the only bathroom and even the disabled toilet's shower was broken!) The showers were not separate from the rest of the communal bathroom, and because the towels provided were so tiny, it was extremely difficult to get dry/changed in privacy, and the only way you could was to do so in the shower itself. We chose the hostel also because breakfast was included. The breakfast was quite basic, but absolutely fine, except that even though it was meant to go on until 11am, everything was pretty much packed away by this time, and even if you arrived half an hour earlier, most of the food had gone. Would not come back to stay at this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mieke Snijder

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2011 Mieke would recommend this property

Liked: It's huge, but it has a nice atmosphere, a great place to meet other people. The breakfast is really good, with boiled eggs, and delicious little baquettes. The location near the subway station is really nice and in front of the entrance is a kebab seller, a place where you can buy pizza, chinese and currywurst :)

Disliked: There's no kitchen.. But in front of it are some places where you can buy cheap (not-healthy) food.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce atmosphere in the lounge at night

Disliked: No cooking facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots family, cheap, good location, mostly will be arranged with same gender even at mix dorm

Disliked: Wifi only in common room, no working plug inside rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manli Joëlle Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Manli Joëlle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. 3min from the metro station. Really good donner Kebab just in front of the hostel. Breakfast not so bad. REally good experience

Disliked: Internet is slow in the rooms. Sometimes, there's no connection.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness, kind staff and good variety of breakfast products.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast included in the price helpful reception staff

Disliked: a bit further from the city centre than it seems the wifi isnt that reliable, as its always on and off, which is apparently normal there

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dave Cruickshank

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 July 2011 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably close to where we needed to be, so very convenient

Disliked: Difficult to locate lift - outside view of building is a bit dosconcerting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in front of subway station, with many fast food restaurants just below the building. Very convenient location! Also, the lobby at night is full of people to meet.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Gowan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excelletion - right near U-bahn and outside best kebab shop in Germany which always has a big line. Comfortable beds, good value.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in our room - we had to go to reception. Some noise during the night, especially coming from the courtyard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty close to the metro station, the rooms are clean ans the breakfast is amazing! I loved everything!

Disliked: Beds...such noising, but this wasnt a big deal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Sjogren

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: Bicykle rent, near the metro station.

Disliked: Boring breakfast, small room, slow service in the reception.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in one of Berlin's most colourful areas - Kreuzberg. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Showers and toilets were really dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 July 2011

Liked: I liked the staff, they're nice, but nothing more...maybe the location of the hostel, convenient for me...

Disliked: The building is quite ugly (from the inside and the outside) and the atmosphere is rather poor ... An hostel is generally intended to welcome youngsters (meaning, old teenagers or young adults) but this one welcomes any body at any age (including an old woman in her late 60's pissing me off in my dorm)... I had to change my room in the middle of the week...(and the new one was not as comfortable as the previous) The bathroom was not well designed : water spreads inevitably from the shower to the floor, the ventilation was no efficient enough so there was always a lot of humidity in the bathroom.... There was 1 (yes, only one) power plug in my room (a dorm of 8 persons...) making it difficult to charge my phone during the night... The beds and mattresses are from poor quality so it was not comfortable at all, the curtains are too thin so the sunlight could light the dorm as soon as it rised up (that is to say 4-5am in July)... The Wi-Fi was not working very well and the internet connection was quite slow... No free services were provided by the hostel/staff (except for the breakfast) and every single thing was in extra... And some many unsignificant things (but becoming significant when added up)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Alexander

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cleanest and friendliest hostel I have been to. The staff were helpful and spoke many languages. The hostel is only walking distance from the main sights, bars and gig venues and is close to a number of late night take aways and shops. Also liked that there was no deposit for a locker or padlock, you simply buy a padlock at reception for 3 Euros to use on a locker in your room

Disliked: Nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels