HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Metropol Hostel Berlin Berlin

Hostel

Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 62%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 74%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 3.00USD
  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

- cancellation free of charge until one week upon arrival
- later cancellations will be charged with the full amount of reservation

From 01.01.2012 for linen and a small towel there will be charged 2€ and € 2.50 ( Groups more than 8 pax) per stay in a dorm. Due to sanitary reasons, using your own sleeping bags is not permitted and the hostels linen has to used.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 62%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 74%

Value 66%

Showing 11-18 of 18 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: In my room some strange people were in fact living there permanently, behaving quite possessively. Staff explained to me that those were cases sent to them by the dptm. of social welfare - really bad move for a hostel..The so-called "ensuite bedroom" are in fact without separate bathrooms. Those were located outside the room on the aisle and were to be shared with several other rooms.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect - literally less than 5m from the metro stop. Beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The lockers were very large; I was able to easily fit my entire pack in one which I appreciated very much. I met some amazing people while staying at Metropol hostel in Berlin and though it wasn't the best hostel in the world I would definitely recommend it to others. Plus, who doesn't love free breakfast?

Disliked: The wifi access was terrible. I was not able to get wifi in my dorm and even in the lobby the wifi only worked about 50% of the time. The rooms were only cleaned every other day which was a problem because the showers got very dirty and they did not remove the old linens when new guest arrived on the day they didn't clean. The shower did not drain well. There were definitely flaws but they did not completely ruin the experience.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very spacious rooms with shower and bathroom in each dorm. Helpful staff and 24hr reception

Disliked: Dirty shower and insecure locker facilities

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a great spot as the metro is literally at the door step and takes you anywhere you need in minutes, rooms are big and spacious, bed are comfortable and it was cheap! Good kebab shop just below the hostel too!

Disliked: The wifi is a bit up and down but worked 80% of the time. The need air conditioning, as our entire stay was over 30 degrees so our room was very hot. Also they should play music in the common room at night, I think the atmosphere would be 100% better!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good Breakfast! Also, good location...near the U-Bahn but still within walking distance of most areas!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and breakfast.

Disliked: No atmosphere at all, surrounded by school children. Wi fi was awful, only worked when near reception and was constantly resetting itself. Staff were pretty unhelpful and the shower was freezing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Most of the Staff members were friendly and helpful, which is always great to see... It was kept clean, and had a good atmosphere, particularly considering it's location.

Disliked: The problems we had with noise, but in particular with no hot water for a couple of days, and problems with the drainage in our en-suite shower (water began leaking into the room!)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room is clean and big. Bath room also big. Very near to the U train station. Very easy to find.Breakfast also good.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's easy to find, park nearby, the staff were kind and helpful. Placed in the center, metro station is almost in front of the entrance.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: Good atomsphere! Great value for money. Nice bunks with big rooms. The lockers were a good size aswell. Breakfast had a lot on offer. One of the girls on reception was really helpful :)

Disliked: Interent doesn't work! No one we spoke to could get on so it wasn't just us. Unhelpful dude behide the bar who was too busy looking at shoes then to help us get to the airport.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability