HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Lehrter Strasse 12-15, Berlin, Germany 10557

85.0% Overall Rating

76 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

"Hostel felt decent. Room was clean, towels, linen and soap were provided. Big lockers were provided, and padlocks can be borrowed at a 5euro deposit, except there were only six lockers in a 8-bed dorm. Electrical points…"

Read all A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.86
  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Cancellation Period: Until the day of arrival until 6 o’clock pm (local time hotel/hostel) free of charge. There is a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the first night, should the client cancel the room(s) after the aforementioned cancellation period or in a case of non-arrival. It’s the same for short-term bookings, within two days before arrival. Any discounts or special offers booked through online booking engines are irreversible. Bed linen for Dorms: 3€ (from July 2014: 3.50 €) Breakfast: 6 € (from July 2014: 7€) Credit card fee (for total amount under 200€) : 2.95 € Late Check Out: 7.50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Jugendgästehaus Hauptbahnhof
18.98 USD

Hostel 82.9% 28 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.1% 757 reviews
Hotel Saks Berlin Mitte
21.09 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
baxpax Mitte Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 84.3% 521 reviews
Wallyard Hotel & Hostel
18.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Main Station Hostel
13.95 USD

Hostel 85.0% 205 reviews
Smarthostel-Berlin
12.62 USD

Hostel 85.1% 59 reviews
Jugendgästehaus Berlin-Mitte
32.89 USD

Hostel 78.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

76 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Emma O'Connor

Alone

Business / conference

28 July 2014

Liked: Near train station.

Disliked: I booked and paid extra for an all female dorm and I was with 6 men instead. I felt unsafe and cheated out of the extra money I paid and when I complained and asked for a refund they said I would be contacted by the supervisor and I was not.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel felt decent. Room was clean, towels, linen and soap were provided. Big lockers were provided, and padlocks can be borrowed at a 5euro deposit, except there were only six lockers in a 8-bed dorm. Electrical points were conveniently located at the side of the bed. Staff was friendly, except a little understaffed when I checked in. Pretty near to Berlin Hauptbahnhof, making it very convenient. However, the S-Bahn was under construction which made foreigners like me somewhat confused on how to get there initially. Not saying it's their fault.

Disliked: Many groups of young people hung around all day. Could be a little noisy and rowdy if you preferred the peace.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Orchard

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2014 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: I wanted a place that was very close to the Haubtbahnhof, and this Hostel was the perfect one. I only needed a room for one night, but this place was the kind of place I would easily come back to. It is very clean, with very nice, comfortable, clean rooms. I really liked the private bathroom and toilet in each dorm room. I also liked that they provide you with towels and nicely fresh cleaned sheets, that was a nice bonus. You are very close to a plethora of food options, inside and around the Hauptbahnhof. You are also only a 20 minute walk to the Brandenburg gate and the Reichstag. As a recommendation, I would say if you pay €20 or less for an 8 bed dorm, this hostel is a great option.

Disliked: I didn't like that you had to pay use the computers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014

Liked: very clean and lift

Disliked: too long corridor and not good staffs most of people are in group. they made noise and delays. not suitable for self-catering not that close to the main station too slow Wifi

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nikolaus Mann

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 April 2014 Nikolaus would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: X

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syed Abbas Sabbir Rizvi

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Syed Abbas Sabbir would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to train station and super clean

Disliked: Not a good restaurant nearby

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and in room bathrooms in 8 person rooms.

Disliked: Further away from the middle of Berlin than expected. See previous comment about not as advertised. Very big and really was catering more to large tour groups than the FIT market.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antony cartmell

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2014 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice big clean rooms

Disliked: Beer was a bit pricey in bar

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location, close to the main station. Free parking in the area (not that they would tell you about it , they will charge you for using their parking spaces...)

Disliked: I booked a female only dorm and woke up in the middle of a night to the sound of a snoring guy. Not the best surprise... But not a big deal either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Murphy

Alone

City break

30 December 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very big and clean. Showers really good and always warm. Reception area and bar really nice and with good speed wifi

Disliked: Crowd is quite young mostly and so a little noisy at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap but basic. Same-day availability. Comfy bed. Bar in the lobby. Good German breakfast for 6 Euros.

Disliked: Had to pay for linen (why not just include in price?). Free wifi only in Lobby, for pay in rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: That the breakfast is not included

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Sharkey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very welcoming. A ticket and shower between about eight people. Big rooms. Comfy beds. Good size lockers in the rooms (if you remove the shelf) but take own padlock. Nice bar area cheap ish drink good pool tables. Good breakfast, near to the station only a two min walk and quite well signposted. Easy to use, good quality showers

Disliked: Oh my god, turn the heating down. So hot everywhere. I little too far away from the centre of city but good public transport nearby. Six euros is a bit expensive for the breakfast. Also, you should just supply linen for free or just up the price and always supply it, instead of us having to buy it and put it on ourselves. A little noisy in the corridors at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian Richardson

Alone

City break

18 February 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get to, nice mix of people staying. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The "slamming" of the doors. The doors are difficult to close and so people slam them, the walls are also very thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Priyadarshini Kachroo

Alone

Business / conference

21 January 2013 Priyadarshini would recommend this property

Liked: Surrounding area is quite and peaceful. Room is comfortable and hotel does not look like deserted, It is lively. Hotel is open 24 hours a day so there are no check in timing problems in case you arrive late in night. The best part is its proximity to station, just walking distance which was the main reason I chose this hotel. if you walk fast, you can reach in 8-10 minutes. Overall, I found everything good for over night stay.. !! And also if you want to stay more, i think it is good option.

Disliked: I did not find the curtains as good. They were not of good quality and kind of transparent.. I think it is bad for privacy. Outside the room was a bit noisy which could be a problem if room is on ground floor. But still it is not a big problem considering all other points. Another thing was breakfast is not included. Usually at other places I found the breakfast is included at least something just to start with.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucyna Adamowska

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 January 2013 Lucyna would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harold Jack

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Harold would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff; property was bright and clean, with a cheerful ambience. Excellent "eat all you want" breakfast. Internet terminals available in the reception area. I recommend this hostel very highly.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the main station, free wifi in lobby and pretty cheap wifi in rooms.

Disliked: The cleaning staff were too noisy in the mornings.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Dingwall

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay. Very clean and new. Friendly, helpful staff. Can't fault this hostel. Would definately come back.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL VENTURA RODRIGUEZ

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 October 2012 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: We arived to the hostel late at night and we were attended by the staff at the reception desk. We were staving because of the travel and we also had the chance to get some pizzas from the bar at the hostel. The property is quite amazing. wide areas, very good breakfast, en-suite rooms AND, what I consireded the most important thing, THE LOCATION.

Disliked: Actually I liked it all. The staff was execellent and the property was very well located. I´m afraid I don´t have anything bad to say.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: You didn't have the option to book a female only dorm, the place was farther than described, you were charged to use your credit card at check in (which has not happened in any other hostel I have been to), staff was unhelpful and internet was way too expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ma Lai Man

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Ma would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in lobby, clean and friendly staff

Disliked: no free breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, its clean. It was worth the cost paid.

Disliked: no negative experience

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Todd

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Easily one of the very best low cost facility that I have stayed in. Very nice and large rooms, showers & beds. Great reception area, free Wi Fi in the lobby. Great location, not too far from the Haut Bahnhoff. Great staff.

Disliked: I liked everything.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels