HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Amstel House

Hostel | Waldenserstrasse 31, Berlin, Germany 10551

85.7% Overall Rating

905 out of 985 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

Brendan McKenna thinks…

"Amstel House is very clean and well kept. They offer breakfast, dinner, cheap Happy Hour drinks, and other convenient accommodations. The staff was very friendly."

Read all Amstel House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy during periods with a minimum stay (e.g. NEW YEAR'S EVE) During periods with a minimum stay, e.g. New Year’s Eve period from December 27th to January 2nd , cancellations announced more than 28 days before arrival are free of charge. Cancellations announced less than 28 days or no shows are charged with the originally booked grand total (100%). Cancellations have to be announced in written form, only (no phone calls!). In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to the given credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting to withdraw the grand total prior to arrival (less than 28 days) and these special cancellation terms. // REGULAR Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time) in written form, only. Cancellations via phone are not acceptable. In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to the given credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting to withdraw the first night costs as a cancellation/ no show fee and these cancellation terms. Generally, payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Anlema
17.97 USD

Hostel 83.4% 15 reviews
CAB City Apartments GmbH
21.42 USD

Apartment 89.9% 61 reviews
Main Station Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 84.9% 184 reviews
LaVie
31.79 USD

Apartment 81.9% 3 reviews
Villy-Berlin
20.73 USD

Apartment 90.4% 14 reviews
Quentin Messe
78.78 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel
21.77 USD

Hostel 93.5% 67 reviews
Jugendgästehaus Berlin-Mitte
35.94 USD

Hostel 78.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

905 out of 985 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amstel House'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 577 of 775 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Bed and Toilets

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Amstel House is very clean and well kept. They offer breakfast, dinner, cheap Happy Hour drinks, and other convenient accommodations. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from the city center. Public transportation wasn't a hassle but it would have been nice to have been closer to the center.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Doris Pashko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: The happy hour beer offers.

Disliked: It was the biggest Hostel I had ever been in. It sorts off detaches you from people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people and clean rooms.

Disliked: The property is located really far for anything exciting and you have to take the metro to get anywhere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hector Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014

Liked: The staff was always willing to help.

Disliked: Some parts of the hostel were a little bit dirty. There are not enough electrical connections (not even in the dormitory).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Max Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, washing machines for 6 euros plus drying, clean kitchen, staff very helpful.

Disliked: Room kind of smelled need to be cleaned annoying you have to put your own linen on your bed, not great wifis in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly, price of drinks very reasonable. Rooms and private bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Internet connection only in foyer (and connection is not very reliable), price of breakfast a bit high when compared to other hostels with similar buffet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Auty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A 4 person room only costed me 12 Euros a night, and it had a private bathroom as well. The bathroom was small but functional and clean.

Disliked: There is no internet in the individual rooms, but there is free wifi in the lobby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seamus Talbot

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Seamus would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the kitchen and its cleanliness. The bar with happy hour was really cool as well. If you are looking to travel with a group of friends and you are under 30 looking to drink and be merry, this is a fantastic place for you.

Disliked: I was with my girlfriend and wanted to explore the city, the location wasn't fantastic for walking so we had to ride public transportation everywhere. At the end of the day I dreaded having to come back to the hostel because I felt like it was a long, long trip back.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bilal Huneidi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 January 2014 Bilal would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, and cost worthy, recommended..

Disliked: Bilal left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arpit AGARWAL

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Arpit would recommend this property

Liked: I was in berlin for my New year celebration and stayed in this hostel.. This hostel is a true value of money, magical ambience, beautiful and friendly crowd, full of energy. I will recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Arpit left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Tichota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The lobby area is a great place to hang out,especially with such friendly staff happy to chat with you during quiet nights.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, so I could easily sleep with my jet lag. Clean both in the room and the bathroom. Easy to find from the tube station and easy access to the airport by bus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bad maintenance and the whole hostel smelled. Poor ventilation in the rooms

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nadia Cummins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013

Liked: friendly staff, lots of cheap eateries around if you like kebabs

Disliked: lack of kitchen, bad wifi and only one shower for my whole floor by the looks of it. its fine though, i just think you can do better in berlin.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For my purposes the location close to Tegel airport was convenient. Facilities were decently clean and in a good condition, staff was friendly. In enjoyed the many Turkish and Lebanese restaurants in proximity. Plus there are a few shops and supermarkets where you can get daily necessities.

Disliked: To me everything looked rather functional but faceless - not much atmosphere. I felt reminded of my old school when walking through the corridors.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dirk Loose

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 August 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr sehr günstig und für den Preis einfach unschlagbar. In einer Gruppe für den Preis kommen wir definitiv wieder!

Disliked: Dirk left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy hostel with friendly staff, cheap prices and urban/modern atmosphere. I'd recommend it for pretty much everyone, backpackers, couples etc. Nearest U-bahn stop is 5 minutes walk from the hostel.

Disliked: For some reason wifi didn't work in my room. Maybe it was too far from the spot?!?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

frieza putri

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 frieza would recommend this property

Liked: big hostel, more like a hotels. many bathrooms and showers. there's elevator too

Disliked: the atmosphere in the playing room is good however pool table was not available during the day and night after dinner because it has been used to be a dining table instead. Great interior in the eating area but guess are not allowed to bring their own food. Wifi does not work in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere.

Disliked: I had to purchase a lock in order to secure my stuff. That should have been free, a deposit, or they should have warned me online that I needed to bring a lock.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and friendly treatment from the staff, very good dormitories for a low price

Disliked: The distance from downtown and the main train station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Coleman

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Good valur for money and a great atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere there is always music and thungs going on

Disliked: Shared shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very convenient to Tegel airport. The prices are very fair and everything seemed clean. The staff was very friendly. It seems like it would be easy to meet people in the common areas which can be fun at a big hostel.

Disliked: This place is really big and had some pretty crazy teenage student groups in it when I stayed which isn't my favorite atmosphere. I didn't have to share a room with any teens though so it wasn't a big deal.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels