We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Amstel House

Hostel | Waldenserstrasse 31, Berlin, Germany 10551

91.8% Overall Rating

955 out of 1044 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2015)

Xiao Yue Wang thinks…

"Amazing place to stay, such friendly atmosphere and great staff! Would recommend to everyone!"

Read all Amstel House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

**DIFFERENT/ SPECIAL CANCELLATION POLICY** New Year 2014/2015 During the New Years Eve period from December 28th, 2014 to January 2nd, 2015 reservations with a minimum stay will be accepted, only. Please note that there is no check out on January 1st, 2015. Cancellations announced more than 28 days are free of charge. Cancellations announced less than 28 days before arrival or no shows are charged with the originally booked grand total (100%). Cancellations have to be announced in written form, only (no phone calls!). In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to your credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting these special cancellation terms. REGULAR Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time) in written form, only. Cancellations via phone are not acceptable. In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to the given credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting to withdraw the first night costs as a cancellation/ no show fee and these cancellation terms. Generally, payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Anlema
18.98 USD

Hostel 83.0% 17 reviews
CAB City Apartments GmbH
20.24 USD

Apartment 87.1% 68 reviews
Wallyard Concept Hostel
17.43 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews
Main Station Hostel
16.74 USD

Hostel 84.3% 206 reviews
LaVie
22.77 USD

Apartment 81.9% 3 reviews
Villy-Berlin
16.45 USD

Apartment 87.1% 16 reviews
Quentin Boutique
79.91 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel
19.92 USD

Hostel 89.7% 89 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

955 out of 1044 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amstel House'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 607 of 834 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiao Yue Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Xiao Yue would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay, such friendly atmosphere and great staff! Would recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Xiao Yue left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

orhan aytekin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 January 2015 orhan would recommend this property

Liked: pretty nice

Disliked: nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2015

Liked: Atmosphere and offers

Disliked: bathrooms, charging stations in the big bed rooms (to less of

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

benjamin scott

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 December 2014

Liked: was easy to get to from tegel

Disliked: not much atmosphere. showers were 'out of order' close to my room so i had to walk quite a way to get washed. was just a bit far out of the centre of berlin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Kolárik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, safe and close to the center. You just take one U-train and you're there. The hostel is close to the Westhafen S-Bahn station, from where you easily get almost anywhere. The staff was very helpful as well.

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tena Marusevec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Tena would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big lockers, helpfull staff, free wifi, nice neigbourhood, bike friendly, gaming room, kitchen

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danilo Escobedo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very kind and very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable according to price.

Disliked: The only problem I found was my room window was an inner part of the building. When catering/food downloads supplies., trolleys to move them are noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit of a way from the centre. But plenty of public transport options to get to main places.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe. Location is easy to get to alexanderplatz and zoogarten (so anywhere). Showers were always hot and clean. Wifi only in lobby but works quite well.

Disliked: Couldn't use kitchen till 10am unless you ordered breaky with the hostel. So we ate breaky out all the time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ehsan Gharaei

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Ehsan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect

Disliked: Bathroom was really small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were what you would expect and the price for your staff very reasonable.

Disliked: The kitchen for residents did not open until 10am which was not good enough if you were thinking about making an early start to your day. I had to go without breakfast most days of my stay. Also the breakfast offered was not very good although to be honest it was cheap at five euros. I think the kitchen should be open 24 hours a day and cleaned whenever it needed as that was the reason for it not to be open when asked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Legg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and I have to I loved this place. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful! I can say nothing but good things about them. The location is great at the metro is a 4 minute walk. The rooms are good and the beds are comfy as well. The wifi is only downstairs not in your room which some people would dislike but it makes you come down and socialise. I actually stayed an extra night I enjoyed it so much. If you are debating about booking, don't! You will love it too.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

litang chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 litang would recommend this property

Liked: Fully equipped kitchen with plenty of space to eat and enjoy your food. Clean rooms and shower rooms. Near to the U bahn and convenient. Friendly and helpful staffs

Disliked: Wifi is slow even in lobby. Rooms does not have wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Ilewicz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff especially! The cleanlinrss and breakfast.

Disliked: Small apples for breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014

Liked: The staff is helpful and rooms are celan.

Disliked: It's not in a very good location to stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: the location is so good,and there is a large local market nearby, and some other kind market not far away, the U9 line is not far.t

Disliked: first,the wifi is not good enough, and you had to get the code paper per 24h, seriously it always lost the signal. second.one of the staff is not patient , when i did understand about the wifi thing. i mean it just do this in this hostel, others dont. why should i have to understand when i heard about this weird rule......yes, My English is not good as you, so i have to receive the treatment like this. i feel so awful about. third, there is not any socket in bathroom to use hair-dry. i could use it in the shared room only, but when someone is asleep, i cannot use it because of the loud noise. so i didnot dry my hair one night. fourth, the sockets in room are not closed to the bed, so i cannot charge my phone in bed, it is so inconvenient !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very, very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, but I am an early riser and I wish the kitchen opened before 1000.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lubalan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Amstel House is a very friendly property. The staffs are ready to help you anytime 24hrs a day which is very important for all the travellers, especially for the first timers. :)

Disliked: No internet connection in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was lovely, wifi only in the lobby though that forces you to be social and to meet new people.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, well organized.

Disliked: WiFi is only in the lobby and it is painfully slow, very frustrating

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Mant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: N.a.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Hinz

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 June 2014 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful and professional staff. Great rooms with spacious rooms. Very good breakfast. Everything perfect.

Disliked: Evelyn left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are clean, the beds are from ikea and they are comfortable. The people working the front desk are amazing and all of their beers are only 1.50 :)

Disliked: The location is not great, I think that the hostels that are closer to AlexanderPlatz are better.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014

Liked: They had the World Cup playing in the lobby.

Disliked: They didn't have WIFI in the rooms-- only in one section of the downstairs lobby and it was slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had beds and staff was polite

Disliked: It was too warm inside and the Wifi did not work properly


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels