HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Amstel House

Hostel | Waldenserstrasse 31, Berlin, Germany 10551

87.5% Overall Rating

938 out of 1024 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Craig Legg thinks…

"This was my first hostel experience and I have to I loved this place. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful! I can say nothing but good things about them. The location is great at the metro…"

Read all Amstel House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.63
  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy during periods with a minimum stay (e.g. NEW YEAR'S EVE) During periods with a minimum stay, e.g. New Year’s Eve period from December 27th to January 2nd , cancellations announced more than 28 days before arrival are free of charge. Cancellations announced less than 28 days or no shows are charged with the originally booked grand total (100%). Cancellations have to be announced in written form, only (no phone calls!). In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to the given credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting to withdraw the grand total prior to arrival (less than 28 days) and these special cancellation terms. // REGULAR Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time) in written form, only. Cancellations via phone are not acceptable. In case of cancellations with costs, the according fees will be charged to the given credit card. By confirming your booking you are accepting to withdraw the first night costs as a cancellation/ no show fee and these cancellation terms. Generally, payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Anlema
19.90 USD

Hostel 83.0% 16 reviews
CAB City Apartments GmbH
23.08 USD

Apartment 88.2% 65 reviews
Main Station Hostel
14.63 USD

Hostel 87.5% 203 reviews
LaVie
30.51 USD

Apartment 81.9% 3 reviews
Villy-Berlin
23.88 USD

Apartment 87.1% 16 reviews
Quentin boutique
84.89 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Aletto Kudamm Hotel & Hostel
25.07 USD

Hostel 92.2% 84 reviews
Jugendgästehaus Berlin-Mitte
34.49 USD

Hostel 78.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

938 out of 1024 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amstel House'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 596 of 814 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Legg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and I have to I loved this place. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful! I can say nothing but good things about them. The location is great at the metro is a 4 minute walk. The rooms are good and the beds are comfy as well. The wifi is only downstairs not in your room which some people would dislike but it makes you come down and socialise. I actually stayed an extra night I enjoyed it so much. If you are debating about booking, don't! You will love it too.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

litang chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 litang would recommend this property

Liked: Fully equipped kitchen with plenty of space to eat and enjoy your food. Clean rooms and shower rooms. Near to the U bahn and convenient. Friendly and helpful staffs

Disliked: Wifi is slow even in lobby. Rooms does not have wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Ilewicz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff especially! The cleanlinrss and breakfast.

Disliked: Small apples for breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014

Liked: The staff is helpful and rooms are celan.

Disliked: It's not in a very good location to stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: the location is so good,and there is a large local market nearby, and some other kind market not far away, the U9 line is not far.t

Disliked: first,the wifi is not good enough, and you had to get the code paper per 24h, seriously it always lost the signal. second.one of the staff is not patient , when i did understand about the wifi thing. i mean it just do this in this hostel, others dont. why should i have to understand when i heard about this weird rule......yes, My English is not good as you, so i have to receive the treatment like this. i feel so awful about. third, there is not any socket in bathroom to use hair-dry. i could use it in the shared room only, but when someone is asleep, i cannot use it because of the loud noise. so i didnot dry my hair one night. fourth, the sockets in room are not closed to the bed, so i cannot charge my phone in bed, it is so inconvenient !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very, very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, but I am an early riser and I wish the kitchen opened before 1000.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lubalan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Amstel House is a very friendly property. The staffs are ready to help you anytime 24hrs a day which is very important for all the travellers, especially for the first timers. :)

Disliked: No internet connection in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was lovely, wifi only in the lobby though that forces you to be social and to meet new people.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, well organized.

Disliked: WiFi is only in the lobby and it is painfully slow, very frustrating

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Mant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: N.a.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Hinz

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 June 2014 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful and professional staff. Great rooms with spacious rooms. Very good breakfast. Everything perfect.

Disliked: Evelyn left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are clean, the beds are from ikea and they are comfortable. The people working the front desk are amazing and all of their beers are only 1.50 :)

Disliked: The location is not great, I think that the hostels that are closer to AlexanderPlatz are better.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014

Liked: They had the World Cup playing in the lobby.

Disliked: They didn't have WIFI in the rooms-- only in one section of the downstairs lobby and it was slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had beds and staff was polite

Disliked: It was too warm inside and the Wifi did not work properly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast and a good location in this beautiful city!

Disliked: They said everybody should be quiet at 22:00 o'clock in the evening, but every night we woke up in the middle of the night because there was a lot of noise downstairs at the bar of the hostel. It was like there was a party every night!! We didn't sleep at all! Very bad.. Also the shower was terrible.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kay Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 kay would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Staff not friendly and quite slow in responses

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: The rooms were quite good, the beds we're comfortable whilst the room was spacious.

Disliked: The building lacked atmosphere. You could only drink alcoholic drinks bought at the bar, with no drinking allowed in rooms. The kitchen was tiny, whilst the allocated eating area (you were not allowed to eat in the main area) was very small. Thehostel toilets were dirty with a lack of loo paper and paper towls. The music was loud in the day but then quite in the night. Overall I probably wouldn't recommend this place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lipsa Nag

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Lipsa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and a bar that's open all day :)

Disliked: Bathrooms were outside the shared rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good common area, good kitchen.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only in the lobby and location is not really a highlght. The closest subway station has only one line that goes to a not so interesting point for tourists, so you have to change lines to get to the center.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Bed and Toilets

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Amstel House is very clean and well kept. They offer breakfast, dinner, cheap Happy Hour drinks, and other convenient accommodations. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from the city center. Public transportation wasn't a hassle but it would have been nice to have been closer to the center.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Doris Pashko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: The happy hour beer offers.

Disliked: It was the biggest Hostel I had ever been in. It sorts off detaches you from people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people and clean rooms.

Disliked: The property is located really far for anything exciting and you have to take the metro to get anywhere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hector Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014

Liked: The staff was always willing to help.

Disliked: Some parts of the hostel were a little bit dirty. There are not enough electrical connections (not even in the dormitory).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Max Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, washing machines for 6 euros plus drying, clean kitchen, staff very helpful.

Disliked: Room kind of smelled need to be cleaned annoying you have to put your own linen on your bed, not great wifis in the room


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels