HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of GAY HOSTEL

Hostel | Motzstr. 28, Berlin, Germany 10777

87.5% Overall Rating

90 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

"Great to stay in gay hostel. It's clean, well located and had good facilities, although the lack of a proper common area to socialise is the on my downside."

Read all GAY HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days till 3 p.m. before arrival (local time). Beyond this time the first night will be charged. For "no show" the whole amount of the stay will be charged. This Hostel is for gay men only, age limited till 38 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Quentin Design Hotel Berlin
40.72 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
My-Gay Hostel
24.85 USD

Hostel 91.4% 3 reviews
Air in Berlin Hotel
40.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 16 reviews
aletto Schöneberg Hotel
20.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 95.0% 12 reviews
Hotel de Ela
22.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.1% 44 reviews
Nikol-Berlin-Nürnberger
26.23 USD

Apartment 91.1% 8 reviews
Apartment Diana am Ku´Damm
20.71 USD

Apartment 94.6% 17 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 81.6% 606 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

90 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'GAY HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to stay in gay hostel. It's clean, well located and had good facilities, although the lack of a proper common area to socialise is the on my downside.

Disliked: Silly policy of one breakfast provision for people staying in dorms but something different for the other rooms - it would be better if it were the same for everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Linter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly crowd and how easy to get around place from hostel

Disliked: Showers could be better and more powerful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is gorgeous, looks as depicted and is in a very convenient location

Disliked: It was difficult at times to arrange with reception, and we had to wait for over an hour to check-in...things improved after that initial experience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel de Farias Sandberg

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 September 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very clean, the entrance is very nice and the rooms are large.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good neighbourhood. Hostel is in a regular building and feels like you're living there. Easy to get to things on the train. Good wifi and comfortable beds. Met some nice ppl and fun atmosphere. Close to bars but not too noisy.

Disliked: This hostel is possibly "too gay" and I wonder if my Berlin experience would have been different if I stayed at a different location. The atmosphere varies depending on the guests (Party/Quiet/Etc). The share shower is somewhat confronting. This hostel may not be everyone's cup of tea.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, great atmosphere, spacious rooms with lockers and a common room area to meet other travellers.

Disliked: None noted

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Wilson Chang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 July 2013 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and GREAT location

Disliked: Wireless connection sucks. Not strong enough

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, and there was a lot of space in each room even if there were 4 bunk beds (8 total beds) inside.

Disliked: Not much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel, since its designed for a specific group of people, pulls in an atmosphere that can only be described as an apartment with friends. The hostel itself is in fact a converted apartment, and very comfortable.

Disliked: The main shower is a group shower, which I didn't expect. I imagine it could be a selling point for some people, but I wasn't expecting it. Luckily there is a private shower down the hall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dongqian Li

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Dongqian would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, clean, roommates are friendly, had an amazing time here

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like it because it is more living with friends in a shared appartment rather than a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value, nice company

Disliked: A bit confusing to check in, make sure you go to the Hotel first. But it wasn't a hassle at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Rodriguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED EVERYTHING. Wifi was great, met cute gay young guys there that we went out with, good location in the gayborhood. If you're young, cute gay and fun, definitely check this out. Was in the 8 bed dorm and was fun. Even the house keeper was a cute greek guy. Cute design, cute kitchen, common area, the guys that checked me in were fun. Free lockers

Disliked: Nothing, Really. Maybe included breakfast would have been nice but not necessary to make my stay great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like living in a cosy flat, great people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Ehnen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: If you are obviously gay, this hostel is in an amazing location. It is located between two of the bigger subway stations. Some of the best gay bars in Berlin are located within a 5-10 minute walk for the location. They offer free wireless, free secure lockers, and free coffee in the morning. It was very easy to make friends. Everyone got a lone very well.

Disliked: It would have been nice if staff could have carried luggage up the stairs as a courtesy. Just a reccomendation. Check-in was at 2pm. I arrived in Berlin at 9am. They let me leave my luggage in a secured room, but I had to walk around the city with full jetlag for 5 hours before i could officially check in. THEY DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS!!!!! BRING ENOUGH EUROS!!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and a warm friendly atmosphere - a great place for meeting new friends and relaxing. I highly recommend staying here when in Berlin, and I shall definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing negative whatsoever! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Campbell

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel that's more like a communal apartment than a hostel, there's only about 20 beds so it's fairly quiet. There was quite a few Aussie guys there while I stayed, most of the guys were in there mid 20's to early 30's but some guys were 40ish. Really social place, where everyone was happy to chat and go out for dinner or drinks.

Disliked: I would recommend the 4 or 6 bed dorms, the 8 bed dorm was off the lounge so people in the lounge may disturb sleep for a light sleeper. The hostel could do with a washing machine and dryer but otherwise everything was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and there is a metro station close by.

Disliked: I think the people in charge can provide better information about Berlin, events, things to do, etc..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

max Hall

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 June 2012 max would recommend this property

Liked: Large,apartment style hostel. Clean and spacious with good facilities. Multiple toilets,showers,tv,wi fi and a communal pc. Kitchen with free tea and coffe etc. Will def stay here next time.

Disliked: For the gay night life I thought the hostel was great but the tourist activies are not within great walking distance (40mins to reichstag) but I think all this is negated by the fact the hostel and shoneberg area are excellant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tone Stimpfel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Tone would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the midle of gay area.

Disliked: Tone left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great neighbourhood. Clean and comfortable hostel.

Disliked: Staff not overly helpful. Don't try and sleep before 1am because you won't- especially if you're int he dorm off of the lounge (6 bed).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At the beginning I was a little bit afraid about booking at this hostel, because gay hostel sounds in my mind like "sex hostel". Well... you can have sex if you want, of course, but it's your choice: if you only want to sleep, you'll sleep. If you want to know your mates at the room, all the people (just in my case) is easygoing. Aaand if your like something more with someone, maybe you'll be lucky. I mean, it's the same than another hostel :))) I had a really wonderful time here at 2011's summer, so I recommend this. Have fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DEAN MORRISON

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 DEAN would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Brauer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ...clean beds , kitchen, bathroom , location , everything was amazing my next trip to Berlin will be here .

Disliked: Honestly nothing , big locker that all my luggage fit in so no worries there ...free WiFi ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels