HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Hostel Aloha

Hostel | Tor Strasse 60, Berlin, Germany 10119

87.2% Overall Rating

680 out of 717 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

john cunningham thinks…

"Cool chilled out friendly hostel, enough people for everyone to know each other so its got a great atmosphere. Beds are comfy, good location and great value for money."

Read all Hostel Aloha reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

In the case of not showing up without cancelling 24 hours before, the 2 first nights will be charged from your credit card Please note that we do not accept bookings for more than 4 people. All bookings for more than 4 people may be cancelled without a refund of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
26.28 USD

Hostel 92.8% 797 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
10.93 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1046 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
13.69 USD

Hostel 89.8% 351 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
29.87 USD

Hostel 97.8% 859 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
22.13 USD

Hostel 86.7% 265 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
41.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Circus Hostel
26.28 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
20.33 USD

Hostel 86.6% 320 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

680 out of 717 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Aloha'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 594 of 700 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Zhao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good here but I liked the staff the most. They are so friendly that I believe I can't find a better hostel then this.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere this place has is amazing. Everyone that stayed there was really friendly and it's not uncommon for the staff to chill out with the guests. There was a common room with a projector also which was welcomed. Overall a really relaxed and fun atmosphere to be in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Givon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and the facilities are awesome. The common room has many books to offer and over 200 dvds and a wide screen projector for those nights when you just cant be bothered to go out. Also, the location is incredible the kebab shop downstairs is great, you have all kinds of trendy, tasty and inexpensive Thai and Vietnamese noodle houses to choose from right around the corner. I f you feel like cooking then you have a very cheap super market and a very very well equipped kitchen to meet all of your needs. And the free breakfast is so good and goes from 8-12!! great breakfast too!! I stayed there 10 days cause i ended up having a cold and needed some rest and boy did I ever feel safe and at home. The washrooms are clean available and the staff is super friendly and helpful.. you kind of feel like your at a good friends house.. By far one of the best hostels i've ever stayed at in all of Europe Please dont think just go you wont be dissapointed..

Disliked: nothing at all..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, clean bathroom, big rooms, LOCATION!!! , friendly staff.. big store and metro station nearby...

Disliked: i missed table in kitchen and only one toilet for two rooms/12 people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simon was the best! Heaps of good advice.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ermina Cham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Ermina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not bad. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. The staff there are very friendly and helpful indeed.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea, coffee and biscuits was nice and the staff are helpful as well. The graffiti on the walls give it a nice touch and there's a tv room with dvds to watch and lots of guide books. Clean bathrooms and rooms which is great too.

Disliked: There are no locks on your bedroom doors but there are locks on the main doors to get so it is semi-secure, there are lockers for hire though for about 3 euros for your entire stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Louise Docking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Emma Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really quite cosy, the staff are lovely, helpful and really friendly. The facilities are great, I felt completely at home. Total value for money.

Disliked: Only two showers could be a bit problematic but you just had to time yourself right.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rajat marwaha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 rajat would recommend this property

Liked: best value for money hostel i have stayed in. different experience from yr normal big hostels.highly recommended

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets and good value for money.

Disliked: The main entrance and the building from outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEKSANDRA MALOLEPSZA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 ALEKSANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Aloha was a great place to stay at, it was so easy to meet other people here the staff made my stay very enjoyable and where on hand to answer any questions i had , It was very close to the U-Bahn station, and made it very easy to get around Berlin, I would recommend this place to any backpackers/travellers who are goin to Berlin, Thankyou Hostel Aloha :-)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people and good location.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a good place to meet people, it was nicely decorated, and the staff interacted a lot with the guests.

Disliked: The entrance was very dirty and was not marked at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melvin Frans Vermeulen

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

09 September 2011 Melvin Frans would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really great, the staff is very friendly, you can acces internet at any time, next to U-Bahn station... Just great, and good value for money!!! Oh, and breakfast included!!

Disliked: .......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most fun hostel I have ever stayed at! The staff become your friends along with everyone else in this homey-feeling place. It's full of character and the rooms are spacious and the kitchen equipped. It's walking distance to everything and there's a grocery store nearby.

Disliked: There's a lot of stairs to walk up but the staff carry your bags up for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Alcock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 September 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Berlin is the coolest city in the world and this hostel is the coolest hostel in Berlin. I've stayed here twice now and will continue to stay here each time I go to Berlin. The manager Simon is awesome :)

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed 4 nights at this place and had a really good time. not far from alexanderplatz, and the staff were really helpful, friendly and encouraging of everyone getting to know each other. cheers guys

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the free breakfast untill 12. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. This place really felt like a home away from home. Has a relaxed atmosphere and a good lounge to hang out in.

Disliked: The staircase up to the hostel..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing, fun and laid-back hostel. It's quite small and the staff makes you immediately feel welcomed. Definitely going back, thumbs up!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Sparrow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

22 August 2011 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels we have stayed in based on the atmosphere, easy to meet and chat to people as there is a nice big commonroom, a guitar and a projector for a massive collection of movies. Breakfast is good and its not far on the metro to the centre of town. Simon (the manager) is awesome, very helpful and a good laugh.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

millette nunez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 millette would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely easy to get to (I arrived from airport) and it was also very easily accessible since the metro is a block away. There is ALOT going on in the neighborhood, like a famous bar right downstairs and a great falafel place on the corner (which seems to always be open!). Besides being in a great location, the place is clean! I saw the staff cleaning the bathroom regularly, which made me oh so happy! Breakfast always had cereal, cake, fruit, toast, various jams, peanut butter and even nutella! The best part is that is is included in the price. Great kitchen facilities and probably the best internet connection I have had in a hostel thus far. As if this were not enough, the staff is also AMAZING! Simon and Andressa were so helpful and always made themselves available. I will be back in Berlin for sure and Hostel Aloha is definitely where I would stay again, even if only to hang with the staff!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tarryn Priestly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Tarryn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, locate was fantastic, price was good, helpful staff, great people, common roo This place didn't feel like a hostel, it was like a big family. It was perfect. You will easily meet people here. Simon will help you with anything and everything. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and it's a really nice change to the bigger hostels like Wombats etc. STAY HERE

Disliked: They provided us with free biscuits and tea- I ate so many!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very clean an not too far away from all the main sights - about 10 mins walk. Rooms were all very clean and the place had heaps of character. Although it is being renovated it was still a great place to stay.

Disliked: not much. they just need a sign out the front cos we had a little trouble finding it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011

Liked: I booked for four nights, but ended up with leaving after the first night. People, including the staff (Simon) and fellow travelers were nice and helpful, but the facility is too old. I wanted to have a good sleep for the first night, but people came back to the dorm very late (4-5am), although they tried to keep quiet, the floor and bed shaked when people moved around. So I didn't have any sleep for the first night. Not wanting to ruin my stay in Berlin, I moved to a hotel on the second day.

Disliked: Old floor and unsteady beds.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels