We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Hostel Aloha

Hostel | Tor Strasse 60, Berlin, Germany 10119

76.5% Overall Rating

702 out of 747 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/04/2015)

David Stark thinks…

"Really friendly atmosphere, quirky, but clearly well-run. We're probably going to stay there again next time we're in Berlin."

Read all Hostel Aloha reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

In the case of not showing up without cancelling 24 hours before, the 2 first nights will be charged from your credit card Please note that we do not accept bookings for more than 4 people. All bookings for more than 4 people may be cancelled without a refund of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
22.29 USD

Hostel 94.7% 818 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
11.03 USD

Hostel 91.1% 1125 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
15.21 USD

Hostel 90.7% 385 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
24.06 USD

Hostel 94.9% 901 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
18.39 USD

Hostel 86.2% 270 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
38.88 USD

Hotel 92.9% 4 reviews
Circus Hostel
28.98 USD

Hostel 93.6% 177 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
17.55 USD

Hostel 83.2% 345 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

702 out of 747 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Aloha'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 613 of 729 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suet Ying Ching

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Suet Ying would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Will would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very friendly place, with a community atmosphere, and down to earth also. Relaxed, informal but surprisingly well organised behind the scenes. I would happily stay here for a month or more. There is a nice big kitchen, a couple of big communal living areas, a cinema room, a lot of computers you can use anytime. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, and chill out with everyone else. This is the kind of place that makes you want to be part of it!

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Steinman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really cool. It's on a really funky street that's filled with great clubs and bars and restaurants as well as nice unusual stores. The way that the place is decorated is also really cool. The staff is really helpful and friendly, the common area is awesome and it's so easy to meet people. I really can't say enough good things about this place!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eve Abela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place, very original with a good location

Disliked: rooms are not very safe (doors can't be closed with keys)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly social atmosphere among staff and hostelers

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a friendly atmosphere, most of the other guests were awesome and the staff were great. the location was excellent and they had a kitchen which is helpful and breakfast was good.

Disliked: there was a large group travelling together which made it seem a bit like i was interupting thier stay, but that is not the hostels fault

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location. nice part of the city to go to cafes and restaurants.

Disliked: Stange entry hallway, rather unsettling the first time entering, but the hostel itself is nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Raffaela Weyman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Raffaela would recommend this property

Liked: Just as promised, Aloha was right near the Metro station and although there were a couple flights of stairs, one of the staff quickly ran down to help carry our bags. The hostel felt safe (we never locked up our stuff and it was totally fine), it was in a wicked location, and EVERYONE was incredibly friendly. Because of the minimum 3 nights rule, you are able to develop friendships with people around you and often end up partying with people from the hostel (even the staff) or watching movies and hanging out in the common room (they really do have an amazing selection of DVDs though....'I Love You, Man' and 'Super Troopers...enough said) Also, it is rare to find a hostel that has free breakfast AND coffee and delicious snacks available whenever AND a kitchen that is available 24 hours of the day. I've traveled a lot and stayed at tons of different hostels across the world, but Aloha is definitely in my top 3 favorites.

Disliked: There really is nothing to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ahad Elley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Ahad would recommend this property

Liked: Halloween party was sweet, stay here if u wanna meet people and have fun.. I wouldn't really recommend it to people who like keeping themselves to themselves. Staff are helpful and friendly and late breakfast is a bonus.

Disliked: The front door, but ur not staying in the front door

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, free breakfast in the mornings, a good place to meet other travelers. Also, really great to have a kitchen for everyone to use, makes things a lot cheaper.

Disliked: No complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. It is a small hostel and they don't allow big group, so it is a perfect place to meet other people.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Madeira

Alone

City break

01 November 2011 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: El mejor lugar para alojarse con la mejor gente con la buenisima ubicacion con increible y buenisima energia y atencion de sus trabajadore limpio y comodo sin duda recomiendo aloha!!!

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Madden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was maybe the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It seems to draw cool and open people, I came alone and it was so easy to make friends. Simon and everyone that worked there did there absolute best to answer any questions, give you good advice and show you a good time. The hostel itself is really nice with everything you could need, the beds are nice and the noise is blocked pretty well. They threw a Halloween party on the last night I was there which was really fun as well. Thanks guys for helping make the Berlin experience the best it could be! Will definitely be back at Aloha when I come back with friends! Cheers.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Chesher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Great common areas, friendly vibe, easy to meet people, good location, lots of great places to eat around and quite cheap

Disliked: Not big things, but the bathrooms had combined shower/toilet, so sometimes you could wait awhile when you just needed the toilet, staff were very helpful and friendly, but on our last night when we had told them we had to get up early for a flight they were making a lot of noise in the dorm room next door with the door open, we had to ask them to please move to the common area after 11pm

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very close to the center of berlin, easy walking distance to the tv tower

Disliked: no sign out front and not a very welcoming entrance

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, friendly, interactive staff. Great overall vibe. One of the best hostels I've stayed in in all of Europe.

Disliked: beds were a bit uncomfortable. Thin mattresses and what not.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, friendly and helpful, very clean also which is a relief coming from some others hostels! Free breakfast and free internet, nuf said.

Disliked: finding it, they cant put up a sign so look for the street number!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean kennedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 sean would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels ive ever stayed at. Freindly and informative staff, good atmosphere, comfy beds, spacious rooms, hot showers, wi-fi in every room and close to the city centre!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, met nice people. The bloke there was a legend, he new about alot of the touristy stuff hahaha like a tourguide

Disliked: not really anything I didn't like

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Zhao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good here but I liked the staff the most. They are so friendly that I believe I can't find a better hostel then this.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere this place has is amazing. Everyone that stayed there was really friendly and it's not uncommon for the staff to chill out with the guests. There was a common room with a projector also which was welcomed. Overall a really relaxed and fun atmosphere to be in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Givon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and the facilities are awesome. The common room has many books to offer and over 200 dvds and a wide screen projector for those nights when you just cant be bothered to go out. Also, the location is incredible the kebab shop downstairs is great, you have all kinds of trendy, tasty and inexpensive Thai and Vietnamese noodle houses to choose from right around the corner. I f you feel like cooking then you have a very cheap super market and a very very well equipped kitchen to meet all of your needs. And the free breakfast is so good and goes from 8-12!! great breakfast too!! I stayed there 10 days cause i ended up having a cold and needed some rest and boy did I ever feel safe and at home. The washrooms are clean available and the staff is super friendly and helpful.. you kind of feel like your at a good friends house.. By far one of the best hostels i've ever stayed at in all of Europe Please dont think just go you wont be dissapointed..

Disliked: nothing at all..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, clean bathroom, big rooms, LOCATION!!! , friendly staff.. big store and metro station nearby...

Disliked: i missed table in kitchen and only one toilet for two rooms/12 people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simon was the best! Heaps of good advice.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ermina Cham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Ermina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not bad. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. The staff there are very friendly and helpful indeed.

Disliked: nothing.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels