We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Ella-Trebe-Straße 9, 10557 Berlin, Berlin, Germany 10557

86.7% Overall Rating

754 out of 788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2015)

"Location was perfect. Very close to the central train station where you can access whatever you need until midnight. The rooms (i.e., size, security, cleanliness) were ok, not better/worse than most of other hostels."

Read all MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!
Special cancellation & payment conditions:

CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Jugendgästehaus Hauptbahnhof
23.66 USD

Hostel 82.4% 32 reviews
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
25.77 USD

Hostel 83.0% 98 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.90 USD

Hostel 81.5% 530 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 85.0% 624 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.83 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Wallyard Concept Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 96.5% 14 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
16.90 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1213 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
15.77 USD

Hostel 89.8% 281 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

754 out of 788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 594 of 764 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015

Liked: Location was perfect. Very close to the central train station where you can access whatever you need until midnight. The rooms (i.e., size, security, cleanliness) were ok, not better/worse than most of other hostels.

Disliked: I was unable to obtain a locker for the drawer in the room. The reception staff told me that there aren't any lockers left so I can "buy" one from the city center... which I found awkward (why should I spend my limited time trying to find a locker that would be hopefully suitable for the drawers in the room... and why should I pay for that?). Secondly, although I was satisfied with the general cleanliness, at the second day of my visit I've seen that people had to change the "already used bed sheets and pillows" by themselves (staff didn't change them in advance... so why do we pay for late checkout?) Besides, the blankets were never changed (I've realized that mine was also dirty, so I didn't use it afterwards). In general, I wasn't happy with the staff. They were hardly friendly and informative... and one of them infact was quite aggressive (giving quick answers, not listening, interrupting, ignoring...). So after a few tries at my arrival, I stopped asking questions to the staff and rather discovered myself, which was OK but not what I had expected. Lastly, I didn't buy breakfast which I found too expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place nice staff

Disliked: It's less comaptible for travelers who travel alone The breakfast is too expenisve for what you get

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location right by the Hauptbanhoff. I was arriving after midnight so it was perfect as there is 24h reception. The room/facilities were clean and fairly large.

Disliked: The fire alarm went off at 2:30 in the morning... it may have been unavoidable but I've stayed in a lot of hostels and that was a first. Apart from that, the only thing I would say is that the service staff when I checked in at night weren't very friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location by the Main Train Station. It's also very clean and has a lift.

Disliked: Would be good if they can also provide lockers in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wun Chun Tong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Wun Chun would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Wun Chun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station and easy to find when I arrived late at night.

Disliked: It's more like a hotel than a hostel, so it's rather big and impersonal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Girgis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Awais Abbasi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I was greeted by a rude girl whose name was Sandra Sturzebecher (The name i got from the receipt she issued me). She was extremely angry. As I found the 4 bed dorm very congested so I decided to change my room to Single room but she said only double room is available for which she would charge me 100 euro per night. I agreed to pay that, upon which she got pretty much grumpy as if she was giving me room for free!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: the elevators are slow and small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohamed Mostafa

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2015 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Cleaniness

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to find and very central to all my needs. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Made things easier for me as I don't understand German clearly as yet.

Disliked: The bathroom did not appear to be cleaned on a daily basis... This should be a must in a hostel room with 4 beds. People come and go and the bathroom should be cleaned daily.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and modern-feeling, and I especially liked the free-to-use towels! The location was also great and the wifi was nice and fast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station which means good connections to everywhere, clean, staff is helpful and speaks good english, well sized room, drawers under the bed, value for money but don't add any extras (like breakfast) since the train station has such a good selection of restaurants which also are cheaper.

Disliked: Nothing in particular. I was the only guy in the room when I arrived then two more ladies checked into the room, don't know if they were asked if they're ok with that (since I left early and never met them), but depending on your culture that might come as strange. You may therefore want to ask for a ladies only room. if this applies to you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bumkyu Kang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2015 Bumkyu would recommend this property

Liked: Location and clearliness

Disliked: Room was too small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2015

Liked: Dirty

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's proximity to the hauptbhanhoff and femal dormitories and rooms are much better sound proof than other hostels

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nigel Leach

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2015 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, very helpful staff, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teemu Vaarakallio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2015 Teemu would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: expensive breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Evans

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monu Kaushik

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Monu would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and breakfast

Disliked: quite compactly placed bunk beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelson Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2014 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to central station, just 2mins walk. Check-in is quite smooth. Definitely value for money. Shower water pressure is good, washroom is spacious with several hooks.

Disliked: Room is a little small but still is bearable. Other than that, nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAURICIO SOUZA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2014 MAURICIO would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD, NEXT TO TRAN STATION, EXCELLENT BREAKFAST, GOOD ROOMS.

Disliked: NONE

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HUGO ALBERTO RAMIREZ GEORGE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

15 September 2014 HUGO ALBERTO would recommend this property

Liked: Hlocation

Disliked: Atention

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Connor Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - 1 min from train station and less than ten from main attractions like parliament and Brandenburg Gate. Comfy bed and good ensuite bathroom with shower in dorms. Fairly spacious in dorms.

Disliked: We booked together through hostel bookers but ended up in separate rooms. There was only two of us. Breakfast seemed expensive so we didn't bother.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, great showers, quiet to sleep in, not a "banging door " place excellent value for money

Disliked: Nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels