HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Berlin International Youth Hostel

Hostel | Kluckstrasse 3, Berlin, Germany 10785

81.6% Overall Rating

535 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2013)

Diego Boass thinks…

"Muy buen desayuno que viene incluido en el precio de la habitación.. Muy buen internet, hasta en la habitacion."

Read all Berlin International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

To stay with us Hostelling International Membership is required. For guests without membership there is a surcharge of 3.50 Euros for the first 6 nights in any HI HOSTEL.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Potsdamer Hof Berlin am Potsdamer Platz
41.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews
My-Gay Hostel
24.87 USD

Hostel 91.4% 3 reviews
Quentin Design Hotel Berlin
40.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jugendhotel Berlincity
24.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 96.2% 3 reviews
GAY HOSTEL
30.39 USD

Hostel 87.5% 94 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof
18.65 USD

Hostel 89.7% 726 reviews
Air in Berlin Hotel
40.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 16 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
20.31 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

535 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Berlin International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 364 of 391 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Diego Boass

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen desayuno que viene incluido en el precio de la habitación.. Muy buen internet, hasta en la habitacion.

Disliked: Muy pocas toma corrientes en la habitacion. Es muy, pero muy familiar, a la noche el hostel no tiene vida. Hasta me pidieron que baje la voz cuando estaba hablando con un amigo. Me cobraron 18€ cuando llegue por no ser miembro del hosteling. ESO NO LO DICE EN LA PAG Y TE LO COBRAN IGUAL, SINO NO TE PODES QUEDAR. No tiene cocina.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 August 2013

Liked: Breakfast was ok, it was close to my placement, staff are mostly friendly. I can imagine in it being ok for large groups but it was a nightmare alone.

Disliked: I had to wake up early for a placement I had everyday, but you can forget a good nights sleep at this hostel. The walls and especially doors to the corridor are so thin they may as well not be there - you can hear everything. Everything needs renovating - the beds and lockers creak, the showers are disgusting and old, the paint is coming off everything. I though I had booked 8 nights all in the same bed but it turned out I had to move rooms once, and the sta ff weren't ver Helpful at all - they said if the other room wasn't free by when I had to lor work I would have to carry my suitcase down 3 flights of stairs and back up again when I was back (yeah, no elevator), rather than offering to leave it in my room or the room I was moving to for the couple of hours or anything else that could have helped. In the end the room was free (but had been since the night before so they really could have made it easier by making me move sooner, but ok) so I just had to move my things across the hall.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dis the job.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Not much aside from the closeness to potsdammer platz.

Disliked: The people, thy have old men traveling alone staying in rooms and using the common rooms, and they look down upon the younger travelers. School groups and families with infants are running around and screaming at breakfast, which runs on German time and not backpacker time. Don't stay here if you're backpacking. Girls in our room were told they had a kitchen but they don't. The bar was very overstated on the site, there is no real bar. Common areas are generally locked or used by school groups. You have to pay extra for everything including an extra fee of you are not part of youth hostel international which is for people aged 16 to 26. Limited laundry, expensive to use and the Internet is not reliable even though you are required to pay for it. It's not worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 May 2013

Liked: It had all the main provisions I required.

Disliked: It did seem a bit empty and drab in terms of its atmosphere in all honesty...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: the way student groups were allowed to rampage through the hostel all evening and most of the night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Fernandes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing.

Disliked: No free wifi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricardo Gontijo Fernandes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi is not free, no free break-fast.

Disliked: See above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the youth hostel! Breakfast and atmosphere!

Disliked: Paid internet. They changed shower rooms since the last time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Asuncion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Winter

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2013 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and the bathrooms in there were very clean, the stuff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great minus minor things.

Disliked: There were so many families with kids and older people. I think thats a negative thing on a YOUTH hostel, we were lucky that in our dorm there were just young people but I think when you don´t go there on new years eve it can happen to you that there are older people in your room as well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel. The management provide a great facility. This hostel really is punching above its weight!

Disliked: Nothing. It makes you want to live Germany!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Allen

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: For the 2 years I've been returning here I have loved the experience, the staff are lovely and mixture of people staying for a range of reasons is great it's truly international! Can#t wait to return next year for the 40th Anniversary of the Berlin Marathon.

Disliked: Nothing, it is what it is!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

somlakh hiranburana

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2012 somlakh would recommend this property

Liked: High standardize in management system.

Disliked: A new policy of room registration fees per person as my last visit was not charge. Is it a new regulations among the international hostel or the municipal act? Even it is a small money but it should be state as an amount of money shown since the reservation has been made.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and character of the sfaff. All of them were fantastic, but Ingo just made a two star stay turn into into a four star one. The breakfast was also nice.

Disliked: The prices for the internet (as everyone) and I would suggest not letting in men over 50 to the hostel by themselves, or putting them into a room by themselves. They normally are heavy and snore too loud, disrupt everyone with different vibes/lifestyle and simply do not fit into the atmosphere, especially on the dorms (they make almost everyone feel uncomfortable). I have nothing against older men, but those at the hostel seemed really strange indeed (and the staff can always see if an older men has a youthful vibe, then they can be let into a dorm full of younger people).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 July 2012

Liked: Good location right in downtown berlin

Disliked: Room door was very hard to open, had to pay for internet

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Celina Staples

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: The hostel was extremely dirty - mud all over the floor, lots of scum in the shower like it has never been cleaned before. The bar was attached to the receptionist. Horrible snacks to order.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: security, all you can eat buffet for breakfast, good location

Disliked: dirty (rooms/toilet/shower), staff did not speak english very well/ not very helpful, heating was not working in my room (very cold!), many stairs, no free wifi

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUNA CHOI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 YUNA would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfest (Best!!) and comfortable bed and clean!

Disliked: no free internet. not good location.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vivian Zanchin

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked you have lockers in your room. Also, there is shower and a sink inside the room. Very clean and a awesome breakfast!

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, clean, friendly and good value for money.

Disliked: No self-catering kitchen for guests that want to cook their own food.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Großes Frühstücksbuffet inklusive / Big Breakfast Buffet included Very central location!

Disliked: -


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels