HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Comebackpackers

Hostel | Adalbertstrasse 97, Berlin, Germany 10999

88.3% Overall Rating

204 out of 218 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

eric wong thinks…

"The location is great, and easy to access from public transit. There was a 24hr market right below the hostel when I stayed, which was nice getting fresh fruit when ever I wanted. The common area is…"

Read all Comebackpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only. Please note that if you do not show up 2 hours after your stated arrival time we will give the bed to someone else. Please note that we do not accept any bookings for 6 or more people, even if you can process the booking on the website. Any such bookings will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the 10% prepayment. we do not host groups witch are larger than 6 people. We have the right to cancel groups witch are larger. The fee from Hostelbookers is may not refundable!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
15.22 USD

Hostel 82.6% 354 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
23.88 USD

Hostel 73.0% 450 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas Hostel
22.13 USD

Hostel 94.5% 265 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.22 USD

Hostel 77.6% 258 reviews
Violet am Alexanderplatz
20.75 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Singer109 Apartment - Hostel
14.86 USD

Hostel 90.9% 343 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
41.50 USD

Hostel 78.6% 80 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
21.44 USD

Hostel 88.3% 531 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

204 out of 218 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Comebackpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 208 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

eric wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 eric would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and easy to access from public transit. There was a 24hr market right below the hostel when I stayed, which was nice getting fresh fruit when ever I wanted. The common area is nice and roomy, and most everyone was super friendly.

Disliked: you have to hold the button in the shower down to get water, which sucked in the fall. Wifi can be kinda slow at times. The pillows (if you can call them that) were tiny and kinda gross (not the cleanest). I stayed in the 6 person room street side where the "Comebackpackers" sign is outside, it gets kinda noisey in the morning and late night, and you can hear it pretty clearly, which sucks if your jet lagged and tired.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tara Oar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Great cozy common room area with free tea and coffee and friendly staff. Great showers and large, open dorm rooms. The rooftop terrace is awesome and would be great in the summer!

Disliked: The location if right by an ubahn stop with two lines servicing it, but it is really difficult to get anywhere from there without stopping 3-4 times and changing trains.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor was fun and had a lot of character. The staff were very eager to help. Free tea & coffee was a plus!

Disliked: People were sticking to themselves a lot - but this is not a reflection on the property as they provided good communal areas if people wanted to hang out and chat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica churchill

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 January 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and large, the staff really friendly and fun, and the lounge and cooking area were great places to meet people. really great roof top terrace and a safe hostel. great location too with lots of good places to eat and good nightlife

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff....good location...great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coffee, internet, smoking and socializing on the roof patio, communal shower

Disliked: For some people, breakfast is a must. Lack of German backpackers or noisy school groups.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome. Not tiny, not huge, but just right. The common area and terrace are stellar. Everyone is always hanging out in the common area so it's very very easy to make new friends. The location is right in front of 2 different U lines and there is grocery across the street and food shops below. Staff is quite friendly (except for one slightly surly dude who works in the mornings typically). Also Kreuzberg is the a fun neighborhood (saw two riots/protests in the area in front of the hostel, lots of bars/clubs close by). The staff keep the place clean. Overall, this is one of the best/most fun hostels I've stayed in. Free tea/coffee is nice too.

Disliked: Can you have a larger beer selection please?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Great staff. Matt is an absolute legend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to the metro

Disliked: Difficult to find

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rowan hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 rowan would recommend this property

Liked: Fun party hostel with loads of travelers looking for fun

Disliked: rowan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sheikh mohammad nadeem zaffar

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 September 2013 sheikh mohammad would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the staff. I had great time and I Love the bar and the enviorment.

Disliked: Nothing 2 dislike sorrry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a good hostel! Heaps of fun in the common area meeting other travelers and making new friends. The hostel was cleaned thoroughly everyday and the staff were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The shower room could be better, with shower doors instead of curtains for more privacy and no 5 second timer on the water, as constantly pressing the button gets annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alisoun Townsend

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Alisoun would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, it has to be one of the best i've ever stayed at. it's laid back and so easy to meet and talk with people, but also it's easy to go out with these people, plus more. the main common area includes the kitchen and dining room, so you can talk to everyone. the rooms are clean, and comfortable. the terrace is such a great addition! you'll meet so many people here, and it's hard not to, which is a good thing. everything i wanted to see was super accesable due to the u-bahn being right there, and you can walk most places anyway. the instructions to get there may sound like a pain, but kreuzberg is the best place in berlin, trust me! amazing fun, night and day, food is cheap, there's a lot of different supermarkets and food stalls. i could have stayed months there!

Disliked: Alisoun left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice roof terrace and homely place to cook and eat

Disliked: Rooms were a bit sweaty and the fan was broken, plus the showers were pretty much communal

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly staff,lovely roof terrace, in the middle of best part of Berlin

Disliked: it was too hot in the rooms and we staid in 6 bed dorm , need at list a floor fan or something, also ou room smelled weird not sure why as its been cleaned everyday may be it the old sofa

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate Murray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Really quirky and in a great area of Berlin. Loads of great food places and bars nearby, right next to the metro line to get to everywhere in the city. Staff are very helpful. The rooftop terrace is great to chill and socialise.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very accommodating and willing to give advice about the local area and events. The communal area was a great way of meeting lots of people.

Disliked: The sink was on the other side of the communal kitchen to the stove, which proved a danger as you had to carry your hot pans through the room to the sink. There was also only one stove for the entire hostel, which meant you had to wait for up to 30 minutes for space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, really chilled vibe... mint roof terrace! easy to meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystina Fleming

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about my stay at the comebackers, the hostel itself is in an area with loads of personality and the hostel reflects that as well. Really good vibe and the people where laid back and friendly. The people running the hostel were fabulous and went up and above my expectations to make my stay memorable. Definitely a joint not to be overlooked.

Disliked: Krystina left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: the reception guy was nice and helpful. wifi works perfect.

Disliked: it's definitely not for you who just need a place to crash in between your trip. no privacy at all. the room wasn't that comfortable either. the location might be a bit too quirky for those who come to berlin for the first time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Severance

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Originally, I booked five nights at Comebackpackers for April 2013. Upon arrival, however, I knew that I wanted to stay in Berlin much longer than originally planned. I ended up adding on three extra nights to my stay, and later, when I had a few extra days on my backpacking trip without any plans, I decided to return to Berlin (and Comebackpackers) for another four nights. The hostel itself is great for its location and its layout. It's at the epicenter of Kreuzberg, arguably the most interesting place to stay in Berlin. There are a million cheap restaurants (and the best place in Berlin for kebab, in my opinion) all within a five minute walk from the hostel. Same goes for bars and clubs, although a few of the clubs might be easier to get to by metro than walking (which is fine; most of the clubs aren't near any hostels anyway). Rose's is an awesome bar nearby; literally around the corner. The metro can literally be seen from your room, though you won't hear it or be bothered by it. There's a grocery store across the street, if you're more interested in cooking at the hostel. Cooking there is perfectly fine too; the kitchen always seemed to be available when I was there. The central area (along with the terrace) allows everyone staying there to come together for a few beers, with the staff joining in on occasion. Ultimately, however, it's the staff that make this hostel the pinnacle of my three-month-long backpacking trip. Paul (the owner) and the rest are very, very helpful and quick to assist with directions, coffee, etc. If you get to talking with them, they're very interesting people as well. Matthias (probably infamous at this point) is one of the best people I met on my trip. He usually works the night shift, but will stay up to chat about anything and everything. He learned early on (as did many) that I was crazy for Ritter Sport. The last night of my second stay in Berlin, he pulled out a few Ritter Sports for me to take back to the US from my travels. Really, really take the time to get to know the staff; they're honestly some of the coolest people I've met in a really long time. In short: this is the absolute best bang for your buck when it comes to booking a hostel not just in Berlin, but maybe in any major city of Europe.

Disliked: Honestly, as ridiculous as it sounds, I can't think of one thing I didn't like.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location in the Turkish district, close to nightlife and with a lot of cheap food. The communal room is big and a nice place to meet people.

Disliked: The hostel is old and somewhat dirty. It needs to be kept up a little more. Can also be a little cramped in the 16 bed rooms. The top bunk is very low, making it impossible to sit up on the first bunk. The shower turns off automatically every 10 seconds, which can be annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Area appears slightly dodgy at first but very central, clean enough hostel, and very nice roof terrace with friendly people. A bit DIY (I personally like this). It was surprisingly quiet and I had a decent sleep.

Disliked: Better window blinds would be a real plus as the sun was shining right into the room early in the morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

AMY LUC

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 AMY would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great, friendly staff who were young and gave good advice on the hot-spots in Berlin. The highlight of the hostel is the amazing roofterrace which is perfect for a sunny day where you can drink beer/have bbqs. We stayed in a 16 bed dorm which was very spacious and clean. Also the hostel is in a great location, many foodspots, nightlife, train station, supermarket all on your doorstep, i would stay again!

Disliked: Perhaps they could have provided more information on what to do in Berlin- like had a notice board with whats going on in the area, main attractions etc.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels