HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Comebackpackers Berlin Hostel

Adalbertstrasse 97, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 88%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 1.69USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.
Please note that if you do not show up 2 hours after your stated arrival time we will give the bed to someone else.
Please note that we do not accept any bookings for 6 or more people, even if you can process the booking on the website. Any such bookings will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the 12% prepayment. we do not host groups which are larger than 6 people. We have the right to cancel groups witch are larger. The fee from Hostelbookers is may not refundable!

NYE bookings are not refundable. You cannot cancel or change bookings made for the time between 28-12 and 2-01. We will charge the full amount.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 88%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

Showing 41-32 of 32 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very accommodating and willing to give advice about the local area and events. The communal area was a great way of meeting lots of people.

Disliked: The sink was on the other side of the communal kitchen to the stove, which proved a danger as you had to carry your hot pans through the room to the sink. There was also only one stove for the entire hostel, which meant you had to wait for up to 30 minutes for space.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved everything about my stay at the comebackers, the hostel itself is in an area with loads of personality and the hostel reflects that as well. Really good vibe and the people where laid back and friendly. The people running the hostel were fabulous and went up and above my expectations to make my stay memorable. Definitely a joint not to be overlooked.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the reception guy was nice and helpful. wifi works perfect.

Disliked: it's definitely not for you who just need a place to crash in between your trip. no privacy at all. the room wasn't that comfortable either. the location might be a bit too quirky for those who come to berlin for the first time.


The property's response is

The first time we have to answer:
1) No privacy... so you should not book a 16 bed Dorm or if you do so book all 16 beds ;)
2) Too quirky... you shoudn`t come to Berlin at all!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty good location in the Turkish district, close to nightlife and with a lot of cheap food. The communal room is big and a nice place to meet people.

Disliked: The hostel is old and somewhat dirty. It needs to be kept up a little more. Can also be a little cramped in the 16 bed rooms. The top bunk is very low, making it impossible to sit up on the first bunk. The shower turns off automatically every 10 seconds, which can be annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Area appears slightly dodgy at first but very central, clean enough hostel, and very nice roof terrace with friendly people. A bit DIY (I personally like this). It was surprisingly quiet and I had a decent sleep.

Disliked: Better window blinds would be a real plus as the sun was shining right into the room early in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Originally, I booked five nights at Comebackpackers for April 2013. Upon arrival, however, I knew that I wanted to stay in Berlin much longer than originally planned. I ended up adding on three extra nights to my stay, and later, when I had a few extra days on my backpacking trip without any plans, I decided to return to Berlin (and Comebackpackers) for another four nights. The hostel itself is great for its location and its layout. It's at the epicenter of Kreuzberg, arguably the most interesting place to stay in Berlin. There are a million cheap restaurants (and the best place in Berlin for kebab, in my opinion) all within a five minute walk from the hostel. Same goes for bars and clubs, although a few of the clubs might be easier to get to by metro than walking (which is fine; most of the clubs aren't near any hostels anyway). Rose's is an awesome bar nearby; literally around the corner. The metro can literally be seen from your room, though you won't hear it or be bothered by it. There's a grocery store across the street, if you're more interested in cooking at the hostel. Cooking there is perfectly fine too; the kitchen always seemed to be available when I was there. The central area (along with the terrace) allows everyone staying there to come together for a few beers, with the staff joining in on occasion. Ultimately, however, it's the staff that make this hostel the pinnacle of my three-month-long backpacking trip. Paul (the owner) and the rest are very, very helpful and quick to assist with directions, coffee, etc. If you get to talking with them, they're very interesting people as well. Matthias (probably infamous at this point) is one of the best people I met on my trip. He usually works the night shift, but will stay up to chat about anything and everything. He learned early on (as did many) that I was crazy for Ritter Sport. The last night of my second stay in Berlin, he pulled out a few Ritter Sports for me to take back to the US from my travels. Really, really take the time to get to know the staff; they're honestly some of the coolest people I've met in a really long time. In short: this is the absolute best bang for your buck when it comes to booking a hostel not just in Berlin, but maybe in any major city of Europe.

Disliked: Honestly, as ridiculous as it sounds, I can't think of one thing I didn't like.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel had great, friendly staff who were young and gave good advice on the hot-spots in Berlin. The highlight of the hostel is the amazing roofterrace which is perfect for a sunny day where you can drink beer/have bbqs. We stayed in a 16 bed dorm which was very spacious and clean. Also the hostel is in a great location, many foodspots, nightlife, train station, supermarket all on your doorstep, i would stay again!

Disliked: Perhaps they could have provided more information on what to do in Berlin- like had a notice board with whats going on in the area, main attractions etc.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: the position is one of the best, the room are big and the terrace is a very good place to stay

Disliked: internet wifi work only on the living room and first 2 room. the kitchen was incomplete, the ambient to much casual, or for the wallpaper and the funny headline in front of the room, but the scotch on the wall, the lack of trash cans wassnt good

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly and young atmosphere

Disliked: I didn't really like the showers, not enough privacy

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Its a good location, superclose to the u-ban. It has a great big room/kitchen to hang out and meet other people. Cool neigbourhood close to some great restaurants.

Disliked: Felt a bit old, but at the same time thats what I liked to.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability